Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 7
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
132,399 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Honda CR-V electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #50

Aug 072015


  • 170,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. after the vehicle was serviced per NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V370000 (air bags) and 15V320000 (air bags), the SRS warning light continued to remain illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that there was a defect with the electrical system. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 170,000. 

- Grass Valley, CA, USA

problem #49

Jul 032016


  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact had difficulty inserting the key into the vehicle. In addition, the rear passenger and front driver side windows did not operate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The diagnosis was not provided. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not provided.

- Clover, SC, USA

problem #48

Jun 152016


  • 175,000 miles
I had parked my car outside grocery store and went shopping. When came back I can smell something burning. By looking around, I found smoke coming out from power window switch panel on driver side. I haven't even inserted my keys. After that I lost the ability to turn up down passenger side window. Searching online shows 2002cr-V had the recall for same problem but my car wasn't included. Contacting Honda and dealer says my car doesn't carry the faulty part but yet same thing happened to my car. I am scared if it's parked in garage and fire may start. Vehicle was not moving and no keys were in ignition. It was a scary situation.

- Grayslake, IL, USA

problem #47

Nov 012012


  • miles


I was wondering my 2002 Honda CRV isn't up for a recall for the power master window switch like the other 2002 Honda crvs? while I was driving I smelled something burning and it was coming from the window switch and after looking up the recalls I found out my car could set on fire without it even being on! but when I type in my VIN that specific recall doesn't come up but yet it is the same malfunction and it is obviously dangerous and I have been driving without being able to roll down any windows for going on nearly four years now it is ridiculous. I had to unplug the window switch harness for fear of fire and my life

- Lakewood, CA, USA

problem #46

Mar 152015


  • 101,000 miles
This is for my Honda CRV 2002, we have enough trouble for this car from airbag to power windows and now is the ignition key thats losing contact, the car wont start after 5 or 6 times of trying to turn the key to start mode. I searched online and found that this is a known problem for this car. I called Honda and they said that they're not aware of this issue. Im writing this email to get some help from you to address this issue. I dont know why Honda always play this game of not helping out the consumers right away, they always wait until someone gets hurt or die before they act on this kind of issue. This ignition switch is very dangerous, what if my car stall in the middle of the freeway? this is very very dangerous and scary... thanks for your help

- Sunnyvale, CA, USA

problem #45

Mar 312015


  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V70000 (air bags), 14V351000 (air bags), 12V486000 (electrical system, visibility) and 12V136000 (exterior lighting); however, the parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #44

Jan 152015


  • 180,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that the vent controls failed, the electrical door panel on the drivers side failed, and the key fob failed to lock and unlock the doos. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed that the ECM needed to be replaced. The contact went to another independent mechanic for a second opinion, who informed that there was an electrical short in power going into the ac/compressor. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact also stated that the part was not available for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V351000 (air bags). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 180,000.

- River Bank, CA, USA

problem #43

Mar 142015


  • 160,000 miles
While driving, I felt excessive smoke and heat coming from the power window master switch. I immediately took it to a mechanic and he told me that for some reason excessive heat was generated in the switch and this could have potentially melted the switch or could have caused a fire. I discovered Honda CRV year 2002-2006 have a "NHTSA campaign number: 12V486, Honda's campaign id: S61" for recall on power window master switch. But my specific VIN number isn't covered under it. I contacted Honda "product concerns" department as I experienced exactly the same what the NHTSA campaign number: 12V486000 is covering. I wanted Honda to acknowledge my issue and initiate an engineering analysis for my VIN# and provide me with their findings. But they told me they can register my complaint (#N012015-03-1601127) but they won't do anything as mine isn't identified in affected vehicles under campaign id 12V468. The regional manager of product concerns also told me that they don't know if any past work was done on my vehicle that caused this. I am the owner of this vehicle since March 2008 and did not get any work done on master switch and it worked fine until Saturday, March 1, 2016. Not only this, my complaint asks for an engineering analysis, a proper technical diagnosis to identify what if there is another batch manufactured at a different plant/vendor/country that is also potentially at risk as what campaign 12V486 was. We won't know until Honda does the diagnosis but as of now, they seem to be least bothered. In Texas, you cant live without windows when A/C isn't working. This vehicle is almost useless without windows. Please initiate an engineering analysis with Honda and have them look into it as my experience was exactly the same listed in campaign 12V486. Smoke, excessive heat, risk of potential melt/fire. Need your help to enforce quality and safety of vehicle owners.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #42

Jul 102012


  • 84,580 miles
I started having problems with the driver's side door lock actuator. The remote key fob quit working and the key would get stuck while trying to open it manually. I notified garcia Honda on 06/06/12 and they gave me an estimate of $210 plus tax. On 07/10/12 I had it repaired at another shop for $159 plus tax. I kept having problems and had it repaired again on 07/26/13 for $187.50 plus tax. I recently read that there is a class action suit for this problem because Honda knew about the problem and never admitted it or notified the owners. Also I noticed that I was never notified of 5 of the recalls for my vehicle: 1. seat belt pretensioner 11/26/01 - this was before I bought it, so I'm not sure if it was taken care of. 2. front seat anchorage 09/17/02 - I bought it on 10/24/03 and have always had problems with the driver's seat rocking back and forth. It feels wobbly and not secure. 3. metal particles in ignition 10/27/03 - I had just bought my car 3 days before and never received a recall for this problem. 4. curved tempered glass 12/11/07 - never received this recall either. 5. driver power window switch 10/5/12 - I remember having problems with my window at some point but I can't remember when. I never received this recall either. On 09/27/04 I was on the highway doing 80mph and the gas pedal disengaged and I had no control of the acceleration of the vehicle. I waited until I saw a rest area and pulled over. My boyfriend and son fixed a cable and we were able to get home. Dealer said it wasn't related to the shift cable recall. I also received a recall for the driver's side air-bag in May 2011, had it checked on 7/21/11 and they said no replacement was needed. Apparently they lied!! I have been driving around for 4 years with several safety hazards. I am very upset and frustrated and would like help with my complaints. Thanks.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #41

Feb 272015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
Sub: Honda CR-V 2002. Ref; outstanding recall recently, in year 2014, we bought used Honda CR-V 2002 from gwinnett place Nissan, duluth, ga and was trying to find any outstanding recalls for the vehicle. We contacted Honda motor company usa through phone and fax line for recall (claim no: [xxx]) they informed me, they have no any record or any information for particular vehicle as per their representative acknowledgement. They also informed us that we have to find any recall by ourselves. Now, we don't know how to handle this kind of problem. Our and other people's safety is very important for us. Manufacture is not willing to give any co-operation for the recall or guide us what we can do to solve this matter. Please guide us, what kind of an action or process to handle these problems. Thank you for your time and consideration motor company usa

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #40

Feb 042015


  • 140,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that the front passenger side window would not operate and failed to close. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that the front passenger side power window switch failed and a burning odor was present coming from the switch. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 140,000.

- West Milford, NJ, USA

problem #39

Dec 012014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 169,000 miles
I just discovered that this vehicle had a recall for the master switch. I deliver mail with this vehicle. As I was driving from one mailbox to another the smell of something melting was overwhelming. The window on the passenger side was not rolling up anymore and I then realized something had gone wrong. As I never owned this vehicle during this recall I never received a notice. I ended up discovering what was wrong myself and replacing the switch. This vehicle no longer had a warranty.

- Bowman, ND, USA

problem #38

Nov 012013


  • 162,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that the front passenger side window failed to open. In addition, the motor became hot when the switch was activated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 162,000. Mailed out 01/13/15

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #37

Jun 062014


  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. while driving 25 mph, the instrument panel flickered and the vehicle stalled. In addition, the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who was unable to diagnose the cause of the failure. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 88,000.

- Margate, FL, USA

problem #36

Aug 012014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
2002 Honda CR-V. consumer writes in regards to vehicle electrical problems. The consumer stated she would always put the keys in the seat, while at the gas station. The vehicle locked automatically if they keys were in the vehicle, but not in the ignition. The consumer stated she was locked out several times, just by laying the keys down. There was no signal or alert that the headlights were on, as she accidentally left them on. Also, the interior light would never come on, when she opened the door, the headlights were replaced, the seat belt would not retract. The air bag light illuminated. The consumer received a recall notice, regarding the issue. The dealer informed the consumer, she would have to pay $100 diagnosis fee, to determine, why the light was still on.

- Yukon, OK, USA

problem #35

May 012014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 96,000 miles
We bought this car in March, 2013. Now in 2014, we noticed the ac wasn't working we attempted to recharge it with freon, but I was told the compressor needed to be replaced. The compressor was replace, the condenser, lines, ex valve, even a sensor. Pretty much all the ac system has been replace. Now we have noticed that once the compressor is on. It causes the engine to stall while driving or making turns. It feels as if the compressor will cause the engine to turn off. As if not bad enough once the car is on park with ac on the compressor will shut-off and the ac will start blowing a humid-smelly air. Once it does this, the compressor's emergency valve will open and flush some freon. It is a very serious safety hazard. I don't feel safe driving the car with my family in it. Specially now that I've read about all the other recalls and complains. Doing my research now (which is too late), I found that Honda was sued due to this issue. Ac compressor malfunction is to be found in 02-04 Honda crvs. Our CRV has been back at the mechanic 3 times the last month, and yet the issue cant be resolve. The mechanic says it has to do with the way the system was design. Alternator and compressor share the same band. I'm afraid and concerned that at somepoint both things will give-out while driving.

- Modesto, CA, USA

problem #34

Apr 012014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 124,800 miles
As, I was backing our car out of our garage on the morning of 4/1/2014, I noticed a foul odor, looked down and saw smoke coming out of the master window switch (mws). My husband said he saw smoke also coming out of the speaker as well. I stopped the car and we all jumped out of the car thinking it might catch on fire! the smoke eventually subsided, although a terrible, toxic-like smell remained. We feel fortunate that at least that I was only backing our car out of the garage when the switch started smoking. If I had been driving on they freeway, I could have crashed. For a couple of weeks before this incident, the mws hadn't been working correctly: The front right passenger window could be unrolled from the mws but would not always roll back up from the driver's side switch. This had happened before and I had to pay to get a new mws installed on 3/4/2010. I am aware that there was a recall for this part and that our VIN number wasn't included, however it obviously should have been! I was told by a service advisor at Honda of escondido that if the mws gets wet, the moisture can cause the part to short out, overheat, and the grease gets really hot and smokes, smelling terribly. Our switch did get wet from rain both times before the switch malfunctioned because the switch is in a car door, and when it rains, it's going to get wet! both the original mws that came with the car was faulty and the mws that I paid to replace it in 2010 was faulty as well. I do not feel safe with the new mws I've just had to buy to get installed again, because I fear the same thing will happen again. This part should obviously not be used in cars as it is potentially dangerous. The part should be recalled and replaced with a mws that will withstand moisture from rain and/or snow without malfunctioning.

- Carlsbad, CA, USA

problem #33

Mar 272014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 127,000 miles
Upon exiting parking garage, needed to lower front LH window with power window switch in order to swipe gate key pad. Upon pushing the front drivers switch to lower front LH window a very strong smell (like something burning) was immediately noticed. Window did lower, occupant was able to access keypad, passed thru gate and then proceeded to raise drivers window. Pulled over to the side, raised engine hood to inspect if a fluid leak was visible and none noticed. Proceeded to drive home and instructed my husband that I had a bad smell/odor emitting in the cabin. We next found that the front rh passenger window was not operative. After extensive internet searches, we pulled the front drivers side switch, popped the door bezel first, then took the 3 screws that holds switch to bezel. My wife walked up while I was disassembling and she said "that's it, that's the smell" !!!!!!!!!! I then proceeded to take off the window lock button and then the 3 screws holding back plate onto switch, and further disassembled. Once I had the control board in hand I immediately noticed the "melting" of the drivers side window switch. It appears the front LH and front rh electronic mechanisms arced and melted. I have photos if interested. I ordered a new switch from Honda dealer at a cost of $200. I also contacted Honda customer relations and they recorded my complaint but would not help us in terms of compensating us (full or partial) for new switch. This vehicle was not part of the recall 2002-2006 for melting door switches, maybe it should of been. I would ask NHTSA to re-evaluate the initial recall and widen the scope of vehicles affected. Clearly our situation shows that there are vehicles outside of the recall that are suspect. The risk of fire of a component that has been clearly described as "high risk" is not acceptable, to me, my family or others that own similar vehicles.

- Plymouth, MI, USA

problem #32

Sep 072013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 91,700 miles
2002 Honda CRV: I was making a turn from a stop light, into the freeway on ramp, and I heard a loud gear dragging sound from the engine compartment. I lost power steering and the car and it was pulling to the right. I immediately attempted to pull over just as I was ascending on to the on ramp, however the engine stalled and smoke was visible coming from the engine bay before I could safely pull over to the shoulder. I had to put the gear on neutral and push the car to the shoulder. It was nerve racking with my wife and two kids in the car. I noticed that fluid was leaking underneath the car. I inspected all the fluid levels and realized that it was from an air conditioner compressor failure, which caused the accessory belt to drag and stall the engine. The vehicle restarted but ac was not functional.

- Chula Vista , CA, USA

problem #31

Jun 082009


  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that they heard a loud bang come from under the hood on the vehicle just as the air conditioner stopped working. The contact took the vehicle to a mechanic where it was determined that the compressor had failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was unknown and current mileage was 168,000.

- Carrollton, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?