Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 7
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
132,399 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Honda CR-V electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #30

Jul 252013


  • 2,090,000 miles


The drivers side power window control is shorting out. The front passenger window would not go up all the way about a week ago it was manually fixed by my husband but the controller on driver's side was shorting out. There was a recall on certain CRV's but we never got one and now our car is acting up just like the recall. When I called both the local Honda dealership that we got the vehicle from and called directly to Honda I was told that my vehicle didn't qualify since it was not recalled. I feel that since my car is doing what the recall said, it should be part of the recall repair since this is now a safety issue. Could you please let me know how best to handle my car situation. I have been a loyal Honda owner for years and really love my CRV. I plan on sticking with Honda because we have always been very satisfied. Look forward to hearing back from someone on this matter.

- South Ryegate, VT, USA

problem #29

Jul 172013


  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact was attempting to start the vehicle when he noticed that the driver's side door buttons were melted and all four windows failed to open. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 160,000.

- Nottingham , NH, USA

problem #28

Jun 202012

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
The driver's side door actuator failed. I have to open the driver's door with a key and the remote doesn't work on the driver's side. The other doors lock with the remote but only after the driver's side door is locked by key. This has also affected the interior lights which don't light when the door is open.

- Hempstead, NY, USA

problem #27

Dec 032012

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles


Door lock does not work with the remote or manual key. Door locks sporadically move up and down with out touching door lock switches. I spent $300 on genuine Honda parts and had my mechanic install a new actuator and lock mechanism, and the problem is exactly the same. I want to take the car to Honda and ask for a total reimbursement and a final repair. I am surprised there has not been a recall on this particular problem because of the number of complaints about the key locks on these models. A local television station ( with a problem solving segment recently covered this problem.) can you please help me in any way? thank you [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Johnston, RI, USA

problem #26

Mar 072013


  • 250,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph, the contact smelled fire coming from the driver's side power window switch. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 12V486000 (electrical system, visibility). The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 250,000.

- Lisle, IL, USA

problem #25

May 152010

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,962 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that while parked, she noticed smoke and a burning odor coming from the driver side door panel and vents. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnosis. The technician stated that the driver side master switch would have to be replaced. After the repair, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V486000 (electrical system, visibility). The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 88,962. Updated 5/9/13

- Goleta, CA, USA

problem #24

Dec 152011


  • 90,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that the front driver's side control module failed while trying to operate the windows. The contact also stated that the door became hot. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 12V486000 (electrical system). The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Montclair, CA, USA

problem #23

Jun 252012

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 60,920 miles
On June 25, 2012, started engine and lowered driver-side power window. Noticed smoke rising from the driver-side power window switch. Contacted local Honda dealership within 20 minutes. Did* receive a recall notice (NHTSA campaign number: 12V-486) from Honda Motors (Honda campaign recall number: S61) since the vehicle was manufactured in December 2001 (I.e., vehicle was manufactured before the February 19, 2002, through July 28, 2006 recall dates).

- Fort Collins, CO, USA

problem #22

Sep 112012


  • miles
Replaced my ac compressor for the second time in less then two years.

- Westerville, OH, USA

problem #21

Apr 292008


  • 106,101 miles
The A/C compressor has failed twice. The first time at 106101 miles in 2008 and the second time at 135567 miles on May 3, 2012. So it lasted just 29466 miles. This is unacceptable and upsetting. The new one is already starting to act up but at least it's under warranty since it has only been 3 weeks since it was installed. Honda needs to redesign the compressor so people can at least get a reliable replacement part. Honda should lose their reputation for building quality cars and I will never buy another one because of this.

- Charlottesville, VA, USA

problem #20

May 052012


  • 60,000 miles


On May 5, 2012, the window control panel on the driver side of my 2002 CRV sparked in flame and emitted smoke and fume that smelled like burnt plastic and toxic chemicals. I had to pull over on the freeway because the fume stunk up the interior of the car. My husband and daughter in the back passenger seats were terrified by the incident. I observed the flame burnt the plastic of the control panel and I was unable to use the automatic buttons to open/close the windows. I believe this is the second time my CRV experienced this problem with the window control panel.

- San Leandro, CA, USA

problem #19

Nov 192007

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 105,452 miles
Multiple problems with low beam headlights going out - high beams continued to work in all instances. First incident 11/19/2007 replaced part of wiring harness due to the wiring harness had melted. 9/20/2010 low beams went out again - replaced the headlight switch. 3/7/11 low beams out again - replaced the headlamp switch. 6/2/11 low beams out again - replaced the multiplex control module. 12/2/11 low beams out again - in shop disconnected and connected wiring - low beams working. 12/24/11 low beams went out. 12/25/11 low beams came back on by themselves. 1/4/2012 low beams out again - in shop checked connections. Picked up car low beams working. 1/5/2012 - low beams out again. Approximately 3 other visits to a mechanic - connections unplugged and replugged to get low beams working again. Also at least 5 other instances where the low beams went out and came back on before I could get the CR-V to a mechanic. 9/2011 motor trends magazine reports issue of low beams headlights going out on Honda CR-V models 2002 - 2005. I have spent over $1000 trying to get this issue resolved. Issue with wiring harness melting sounds very much like the recall that Honda issued for the fit - 'wiring harnesses for the headlamp control switch - the connector could overheat and fail, rendering the low-beam lamps inoperable. Honda notes that high-beam headlamp functionality is not impeded by this issue.'

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #18

Dec 082011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Low beam on passenger side headlight browned out to almost no light. It has taken several light bulbs over past few years. Upon my inspection, found harness plug for light bulb was charred and damaged.

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #17

Nov 282011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 155,054 miles
Both low beam head lights went off intermittently. And returned on within a short time later.this continued over a dozen times on each of two occasions.

- Mahopac, NY, USA

problem #16

Nov 102011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
While driving my low beam head lights went out and I could smell something burning I immediately pulled off on the shoulder of the highway at 1:30 am. The burning smell was coming from around my steering column. I checked my high beam head lights and they worked so that is how I got home. My husband got on line and checked for any recalls and found non just complaints about other people having the same issue. My husband checked where the burnt smell was coming from and found the issue and called the dealer ship and they said that we had to pay for it and gave us a crazy amount to fix it. My husband as handy as he is did a temporary fix on it. I hope Honda fixes this issue before someone gets killed or hurt.

- Atwater, CA, USA

problem #15

Oct 272011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 164,000 miles
Detected a burning smell, similar to an electrical smell like something melted. I did have the headlights on, but it was bright enough in the morning that I couldn't tell that they had failed. I stopped immediately and looked around the cabin, etc. For smoke. I didn't see anything, but I turned around and drove directly to the dealer. The dealer did diagnostic tests, etc and couldn't figure out the source of the burning smell other than it wasn't coming from the vents. I guess he didn't check the headlights. I am not pleased. After leaving the dealer during the daylight hours, I later detected on the evening of Friday, Oct 28, that the headlights were not working. I recently within two weeks ago had replaced one of the front headlight bulbs that had burnt out, so I figured that couldn't be the problem. I eventually checked the fuses and they looked fine. I swapped them out for replacement fuses, but it didn't make a difference. I went online and saw from online discussions that there is a headlight switch issue that the NHTSA is investigating at this time. The issue with my 2002 Honda CRV and it's low beam headlights surely seems to be part of the problem that's being investigated. I plan to contact the dealer on Monday morning (Oct 31) to get my issue looked at, again. But, it won't be during the nighttime hours or when it's precipitating, since it's illegal to drive without my low beams on during those times. Updated 11/17/11 according to the service invoice, the headlight switch had an electrical failure. Updated 11/30/11

- Reston, VA, USA

problem #14

Oct 152011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 123,000 miles
The low beams stopped working while driving and the plastic wire harness connector that plugs into the headlight switch started smoking and burned up. The headlight switch I can get through Honda but I can't find the plastic wiring harness connector. It is not safe when your low beams both go out when driving cause the wire for the low beams burns up in the connector for no reason. Updated 11/25/11 updated 11/30/11

- Newton , NJ, USA

problem #13

Sep 242011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 110,895 miles
Both low beam headlights just quit working - I checked the bulbs and they were in working order. There was a burning rubber type smell leading up to the headlights not working. The high beam lights do work.

- Pasadena, MD, USA

problem #12

Jun 082011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 150,000 miles
My wife and I own an 02 Honda CR-V that has headlight failure problems. I have researched online and found that there is an issue noted at different forums concerning the steering column electrical connection at the dimmer/turn signal switch. Our headlights failed during normal use in June of 2011. I took my steering column cover off and looked at the electrical connection to the dimmer/turn signal switch and found it to be partially melted. I cleaned the connections and reinstalled the connector. The repair lasted only temporary (2 months) and then the lights failed again. I have determined that the replacement of the wiring connector is the only complete repair, but since I have heard there is an investigation, I wanted to acknowledge that my 02 Honda suffers this problem of a faulty wiring connector from the manufacturer at the dimmer/turn signal switch. Updated 09/07/11 updated 2/23/12

- Fall River, MA, USA

problem #11

Aug 012011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 137,000 miles
On 8/1/2011, while driving our 2002 Honda CRV, I noticed a strange smell. When darkness fell, I realized that the low beams on my vehicle were not working, through the high beams and every other light on the vehicle worked. This has happened twice before - once in November of 2009, and once in March of 2010. When it happened previously, I first checked the bulbs and fuses. They were all fine. I then researched the issue on the internet, and looked into a wiring harness behind the steering wheel. I found a wiring harness that contained some corrosion between connectors that had melted somewhat. I scraped off the corrosion and applied some dielectric to inhibit future corrosion, and the lights came back on. I spoke with the service attendants at my local Honda dealership (with pictures that I took of the offending harness), and after checking their computers, they told me that there was nothing on record regarding the issue. I have not yet made the (obviously temporary) repair for the most recent occurrence of this issue. I'm thinking that I may take it to the dealership service to see if they can come up with a more permanent solution..... updated 01/17/12

- Norristown, PA, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?