Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
18 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
17 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,744 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Honda CR-V seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 4 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #42

Feb 242015

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact received NHTSA campaign number: 14V349000 (air bags) however the part for the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- San Marino, CA, USA

problem #41

Feb 132015

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V700000 (air bags) and 14V351000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- South Dayton , FL, USA

problem #40

Jan 302015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 128,355 miles
The contact owned a 2002 Honda CR-V. while driving 35 mph, the vehicle in front of the contact's vehicle suddenly stopped, causing the contact to rear end the preceding vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained injuries to the chest, ribs, sternum and back that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags). The failure mileage was 128,355... updated 02/19/15 updated 02/20/15

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #39

Feb 042015

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags) however, the parts needed were unavailable to perform the repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #38

Feb 022015

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V the contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id numbers: 14V351000 (air bags) and 14V349000 (air bags) and stated that the parts needed were unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Belleview , WA, USA

problem #37

Dec 312014

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V349000 (air bags) however, the part to do the recall was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- East Brunswick, NJ, USA

problem #36

Nov 032014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My Honda CR-V has been the subject of a recall due to a problem in the airbag inflators (passenger side). I have been waiting since Nov for the parts to be available. I recently got a second notice, but there are not parts.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #35

Jan 202015

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V700000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Kingshill , VI, USA

problem #34

Sep 052014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 31,000 miles
I received my safety recall notice in September 2014 and immediately made an appointment to have my air bags replaced. It is now December 2014 and the parts have not been received by my dealer (king auto in lihue, hi 96766), a high priority tropical area. I feel this lengthy delay is irresponsible.

- Lihue, HI, USA

problem #33

Nov 252014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 160,000 miles
I was traveling on 91 North, exit 14 in West springfield, MA on the road that lead to the mass turnpike. There was heavy traffic due to impending snowstorm the next day and thanksgiving. A car in the lane next to me slowed and put his right directional on. I slowed to allow him into my lane. He then changed his mind, canceled his directional and proceeded on toward rt. 5. for an instant, I glanced down at my lap and when I looked up the row of cars in front of me came to a complete stop and I crashed into the car in front of me. The passenger air bag was deployed but not the driver's bag. I had no passengers in my car.

- Chicopee, MA, USA

problem #32

Nov 182014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags) and stated that the parts needed were unavailable. The dealer was uncertain when the parts would become available to service the vehicle under the recall. The manufacturer informed the contact that the parts had not been ordered and was uncertain when they would become available. The contact had not experienced a failure...updated 12/29/14 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. Updated 01/20/15

- Sara Sota, FL, USA

problem #31

Jun 062014

CR-V

  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. while driving 25 mph, the instrument panel flickered and the vehicle stalled. In addition, the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who was unable to diagnose the cause of the failure. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 88,000.

- Margate, FL, USA

problem #30

Jun 102013

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 13V132000 (air bags). The dealer could not repair the vehicle for eight months because the parts were not available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Santa Fe, NM, USA

problem #29

Jul 132010

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 23,705 miles
This was a Honda recall for driver side airbag inflator kit.no charge to me the owner.. another Honda recall for the passenger airbag inflator kit was done on July 31 2013 again no charge to me the owner..spring of 2008 I received a warranty extension for the occupant position detection system extending the warranty for 10 years.or 150000 miles..I have less than 35000 miles on car.my SRS lite went on in early Feb 2014 so I made an appointment with holman Honda.they told me it was out of warranty. The charge to check would be $60 and I would have to pay for repairs. Since this has been a problem for Honda I refused to pay..a call to Honda of America was fruitless as they said the car was out of warranty..of course this will be my last Honda. They did not seem to care..

- Plantation, FL, USA

problem #28

Jan 172014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 166,000 miles
No accident occurred. Notified via dealership inspection that front airbag sensors faulty. Approximate cost of replacement $800. Possible failure of airbags deploying upon impact. Feel since this is a required safety feature that manufacturer should be responsible for replacement.

- Salem, OR, USA

problem #27

Jul 012013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
2002 Honda CRV. Consumer writes in regards passenger front air bag recall notice. The consumer stated the dealer wasn't willing to pick up the vehicle, or even supply money for gas, time and mileage.

- Southborough, MA, USA

problem #26

Apr 142013

CR-V

  • 140,000 miles
What has happened is that a safety recall has been ordered for my car's passenger side airbag and safercar has not posted it here!

- Shngle Springs, CA, USA

problem #25

Jul 272012

CR-V

  • 191,103 miles
I responded to a recall notice for the airbag inflator. I had noticed, immediately thereafter, that my horn and cruise control is inoperable. I contacted service advisor who asked to bring the car back in. She agreed that the mechanism for these inoperable parts is in "close proximity to the air bag inspection areas", for the recall. However, they claim they "... are not liable for the cable reel" and will charge to have it fixed. And just yesterday, in the process of getting my window fixed, the same dealership left out the moisture shield and disabled my door locks which are superficial issues that they somewhat resolved. However, I still do not have a working horn or cruise control because these were consequentially damaged after innocently responding to an airbag recall inspection.

- Antioch, CA, USA

problem #24

Jun 292012

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
Left rear tire blew out on highway at 70mph, driver lost control of vehicle and it flipped and rolled multiple times. Passenger air bag deployed (no passenger in vehicle) but driver air bag failed to deploy. Driver had broken bones, cuts and abrasions. Deployment of driver air bag would likely have reduced injuries to driver.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #23

Jan 062012

CR-V

  • miles
My 35 year old daughter was in a single auto accident in her 2002 Honda CRV on Jan. 6 in wytheville, va returning from knoxville, tn to frederick, md. She blacked out and her car ran off the road, impacted a mile marker sign, struck an embankment and her car overturned four times. Her car was totaled but neither the front, nor side airbags deployed. The airbags were checked as part of the airbag inflator recall on July 27, 2011 at a Honda dealer in knoxville, tn. She miraculously survived the accident but had a concussion and a severe laceration to her left ear. She was unconscious when the rescue team arrived and was airlifted to roanoke for medical care. Since the accident she has been suffering from post concussive syndrome (constant headaches, memory loss, insomnia, difficulty concentrating). According to a trucker who saw the accident she never hit her brakes and was traveling at 70 mph. She never received any notice from Honda and was only made aware of the recall when taking her car in for other maintenance. While her injuries were not fatal, nor did she have any broken bones, she did suffer a concussion and has had headaches for three months. Perhaps she would not have suffered the head injury had her airbags functioned properly. We have pictures of her car which can be provided.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?