Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
13 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,997 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Honda CR-V seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #34

Nov 262014

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. the contact received notifications for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V700000 (air bags) and 14V351000 (air bags). However, the parts needed were not available. The contact was not able to schedule a recall repair after contacting the dealer for weeks. The dealer indicated that the drivers side and front passenger side air bags were ordered but the parts were still not available for the repair. The manufacturer was contacted and was not able to provide a specific date for when the parts would be sent to the dealer. The contact was not experiencing a failure.

- San Lorenzo, PR, USA

problem #33

Oct 012014

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V700000 (air bags); however, the part needed was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bonita, FL, USA

problem #32

Jan 122015

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 12V486000 (electrical system, visibility) and 14V351000 (air bags); however, the parts needed were not available. The dealer was contacted. The contact believed that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bonitaspring, FL, USA

problem #31

Jun 022014

CR-V

  • 115,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that the SRS warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where he was notified that if the vehicle was involved in a crash, the air bags might not deploy and that the SRS unit needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 115,000.

- Novato, CA, USA

problem #30

Nov 012014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
SRS light came on and remains on. Dealer diagnosed problem as defective SRS control module. Dealer says this part of the restraint system is not covered under any warranty. A call to Honda's 800 number resulted in the same conclusion and no monetary assistance could be offered for a repair that would cost approximately $1000.

- Wailuku, HI, USA

problem #29

Oct 172014

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. the contact received notifications for NHTSA campaign number: 14V353000 (air bags) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags). The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The dealer stated the parts were unavailable for recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- St Petersburg , FL, USA

problem #28

Oct 212014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There is a recall on my car but when I called the dealer said they did not have info to tell me if my car is affected.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #27

Oct 022009

CR-V

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that while driving at approximately 55 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated. The failure occurred on several occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Katonah, NY, USA

problem #26

Jul 012014

CR-V

  • 116,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. when the contact started the vehicle, the SRS indicator continuously illuminated and caused the seat belts to malfunction. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing, but the part that needed to be replaced was unknown. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 116,000.

- Huntington Valley , PA, USA

problem #25

Jul 012014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 116,500 miles
SRS light recently and currently remains on in my 2004 Honda CRV. I took my vehicle to avalon Honda NJ dealer 2 times after speaking to them 3 times, they procastinated to obtain the part. I was informed they will get it soon and will cost me $693. After I performed a consumer research of the vehicle, this is a high safety alert issue that should be a priority for Honda to announce to the public for road safety and consumer safety. Therefore, the consumer should not have to pay monies out of the pocket as this major safety item that should be guaranteed for the life of the car, not the consumers expense. This includes there life.

- Huntingdon Valley, PA, USA

problem #24

Feb 182013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 106,917 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Update to the July 2013 and December 2013 vehicle safety complaints (NHTSA id numbers 10523929 and 10555723 respectively) concerning the SRS dashboard light coming on permanently while operating the vehicle and resulting in the shut off of the side airbag. In April 2014, the SRS light with the dtc 15-2 code came on permanently and would not clear with my code reader. The vehicle was returned to the Honda dealer on 5/27/2014. The mileage was 121,133. The Honda tech diagnosed the problem as a failed printed circuit in the dashboard gauge control module after being unable to clear the SRS diagnostic code. A new gauge control module was installed on 6/16/2014. I retained the old part. So far the SRS dashboard light has not come back on permanently again. Updated 08/18/14

- Fairbanks, AK, USA

problem #23

Feb 182013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 106,917 miles
Update to July/2013 complaint regarding SRS light coming on permanently. 9/11/13 SRS light came on permanently again. Dtc 15-2 code. The Honda dealer replaced the SRS control unit on 10/1/13. Mileage 114,126. I have the old SRS control unit in my possession. 10/21/13 SRS light come on permanently again. 11/4/13 Honda dealer reset the SRS light. Dtc codes were different than the dtc 15-2. mileage 114,925. No charge by dealer. 11/24/13 SRS light came on permanently again. Honda dealer diagnosed problem as a short in one of the wiring harnesses triggering the dtc 15-2 code. Dealer reset the SRS light. No charge for 4 hours of work. Dealer would not give me any paperwork on service visit. Mileage approximately 115,437 at time of visit. The dealer tech suggested I clear the code with a code reader until it would no longer clear rather than blindly replacing at this time the 4 wiring harnesses to locate the short. The consumer also stated the head lights burned out prematurely, and he had to replace them several times. Updated 01/29/14

- Fairbanks, AK, USA

problem #22

Nov 042013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 55,200 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. the contact was driving 50 mph when the SRS warning lamp illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where the contact was informed that the SRS sensor was not responding and could cause the air bag deployment to fail in the event of a crash. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 55,200. Updated 12/26/13

- Zionsville, IN, USA

problem #21

Feb 132013

CR-V

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that the SRS warning light illuminated. In addition, the low beam headlights would fail frequently where the bulb required replacement. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the SRS unit needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000 and the current mileage was 143,000.

- Novato , CA, USA

problem #20

Feb 182013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 106,917 miles
The SRS dashboard light stayed on while operating the vehicle. The vehicle went into the Honda dealer on 2/18/2013. The dtc code read by the technician was dtc 15-2 (faulty side airbag indicator circuit). The opds unit (occupant position detection system) was replaced on 2/25/2013. Per the Honda service bulletin 06-009, the vehicle VIN number was outside the VIN numbers for the 2004 CR-V's eligible for the extended warranty in the class action settlement. On 6/6/2013 the SRS dashboard light again stayed on while operating the vehicle and was returned to the Honda dealers. The mileage was 110,242. The dtc code detected was the same code as the previous visit, dtc 15-2. the opds sensor was determined to be faulty and it was replaced on 6/28/2013. Since the last visit to the Honda dealer, the SRS light has not stayed on permanently. For your information, I purchased the vehicle new from the Honda dealer in 2004.

- Fairbanks, AK, USA

problem #19

Jun 152009

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. the contact stated the vehicle was included and repaired under NHTSA recall campaign number: 11V260000 (air bags). After the vehicle was repaired the air bag light continued to illuminate intermittently. Additionally, the contact stated the front and rear driver and passenger side doors locked on their own while the vehicle was parked and the engine was on. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 56,000.

- Beltsville, MD, USA

problem #18

May 212013

CR-V

  • 104,500 miles
I was traveling at approx 55 to 60 mph on the fwy. I started to slow down when I saw 2 cars that were at a dead stop in my lane way ahead of me, they just sat there so I hit my brakes harder & my brakes locked up. My car then went out of control and I tried my best to control it. I did manage to keep my car from rolling. My car was going back and forth on 2 wheels on the drivers side and the passengers side. I was also spinning and fishtailing and the back end of my CR-V (passenger side) hit the back end of the driver side of a sedan in the #3 or #4 lane. That impact sent my CR-V straight into the cement center divider of the freeway. I hit the center divider head on and went up and it felt like I was going to go over it onto the other side of the freeway but my CR-V came back down right in front of the center divider with the smashed up bumper facing the center divider. My CR-V hit the center divider hard enough for my body to bend the steering wheel back. Not one of my 4 air bags went off. I had this CR-V in the Honda dealer 14 days earlier to repair the airbag recall (I have all of the paperwork detailing this) I have pictures of the injuries from hitting and bending the steering wheel. I also chipped 3 teeth. I have pictures of the airbag sensor and the bent metal around it. The chp officers, tow truck driver, the person that I hit and the body shop personnel all have the same question that do; the airbag should have gone off, why didn't it and why was I injured? I could have been killed. Honda has had several problems with this year and model of CR-V, yet they do nothing about them. The seat belts, & the airbags definitely malfunctioned. I have had 2 other similar problems with the brakes locking up on me and I think that there may be a problem with the brakes or wheels. This car needs to be looked at. I have never had any problems w/any of my 4 Honda past.

- Yorba Linda, CA, USA

problem #17

Nov 112006

CR-V

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that the SRS light illuminated while the vehicle was on. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The contact was not aware of the necessary repair. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000. The VIN was not available.

- Springfield Gardens, NY, USA

problem #16

Nov 182012

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 176,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda CRV. The contact was driving 45 mph and crashed into a deer. The frontal air bags failed to deploy. There were no injuries. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 176,000. Updated 01/09/13 updated 1/14/2013

- Cedartown , GA, USA

problem #15

Sep 082011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda CRV. The contact stated that while driving various speeds the driver's side air bag warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and repaired under a recall associated with the NHTSA campaign id number 11V260000 (air bags: Frontal: Driver side inflator module). The malfunction recurred after the repair was performed. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000. Updated 12/19/12 updated 1/9/2013

- Morristown, NJ, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?