NHTSA — Unknown Or Other Problems

2015 Honda CR-V (Page 3 of 5)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: Mercedes-Benz vehicles may come with an "Attention Assistant" to alert you if you fall asleep behind the wheel, but the 2015 Honda CR-V has a different approach: just shake the heck out of you so you never fall asleep in the first place.

Owners have complained that the popular SUV shakes violently both while idling and while driving. Buyer beware.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
2,468 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Honda CR-V miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #53

Oct 242015

CR-V

  • 65 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There's annoying vibration on the driver's seat when I stopped in a red light. I was driving yesterday in very nice highway at 65 mph. My 24 year old daughter at the back seat telling me that the car is so bouncy and asked me if it needs tire rotation. I'm so worried and mad that don't have a time to bring this back to the dealership with another problem since I brought it in the dealership for vibration when accelerating in 65 mph 2 weeks ago. Can I get my $ $34,000 plus back? please help me !!!

- Coon Rapids, MN, USA

problem #52

Sep 282015

CR-V

  • miles
I bought 2015 Honda CR-V ex just 4 week ago, it has a huge vibration that you can feel and see inside the vehicle especially when its stop and in idle mode or drive shift. Vibration can feel in the seating, steering wheel, side doors, brake and gas pedals, shift knob and even the back passager seat. I bought this car for my family to enjoy their daily rides but their not, and keep asking me why has it. Psychologically and emotionally my driving concentration are always affected, and that is unsafe for our everyday driving and to anyone who has this issue. I always feel sick every times I get out of this car, I feel my hand like I use a jack hammer after a while. Dealer's service dept. Confirmed to me that there are three issues that cause the vibration and there is no fix yet about the issue. I love Honda eversince, it my favorite brand. I hope they can do something to fix it fast before any can get hurt..

- National City, CA, USA

problem #51

Oct 032015

CR-V

  • miles
I purchased a 2015 CR-V. on October 1st noticing significant vibrations at idle which became more pronounced under way especially between 60 and 70 miles / hour. Brought the vehicle, to the dealer, on October 3rd to determine what the cause of the vibration might be. The vibrations were confirmed by the mechanic during a test drive. The front wheel alignment and balance were checked and found to be within specs. A service bulletin was found instructing the mechanic to perform a software update. A second test drive showed no improvement. Honda technicians were called who acknowledged that they were aware of the issue and that Honda was working on it (apparently since 2014). The technicians indicated that the issue was thought to be related to "harmonic distortions" associated with the use of the drive train, found in the Honda Accord, in the 2015 CR-V. the Honda technicians offered assurances that there were no safety issues. I then took the vehicle to a different dealer who checked the same mechanical parameters including the software update with no improvement. The matter has been further acknowledged, by Honda, as evidenced in a youtube video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?V=vej45wx9yci). A cursory search of the web shows quite a number of reports of the issue. Apart from the effect on driveability and no resolution in sight, my concerns are the potential long term effects on the vehicle especially with regard to the drive train and other possible safety related effects.

- Medfield, MA, USA

problem #50

Oct 142015

CR-V

  • 10 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car has a terrible vibration issue when stopped at a light or in traffic with your foot on the brake and the car in drive. This vibration is felt on the inside throughout the car. Having to place car in N, at stoplights (many are now doing it, and some Honda dealers are advocating it ! they also suggest turning the ac on high, turn the lights and radio on, etc.) all of this is very distracting. If one forgets to put the car into D in order to accelerate, he could get rear ended, or get stranded under a light; driving in S, however, one must be very careful doing this in traffic, as the car accelerates very quickly, and it tends to lunge a bit ! in this instance, it is very easy to rear-end a car in front of you. In addition, driving in S cuts fuel economy (I have learned ) about 25-30%. where did I learn to try S instead of D ? a Honda dealer !! so, this idea that this issue is not a potential safety concern is not true for all drivers who are trying to reduce the fatiguing, annoying effects of these vibes, shudders, and shakes.

- Powder Springs, GA, USA

problem #49

Sep 152015

CR-V

  • 5,000 miles
My new 2015 Honda CRV is vibrating when stopped at the traffic light. Vibration is uncomfortable and nauseating. The vibration get worst everyday. Took the car to dealership and they couldn't fix it.

- White Hall, AR, USA

problem #48

Mar 252015

CR-V

  • miles
I have owned two previous CR-V's and Honda is known as smooth, quiet vehicles. Since owning this car in late March, I have had vibration noises when the car accelerates at any speed. I have contacted the dealer twice, and during the last visit in mid-August, I was told that Honda is aware of this problem, but hasn't come up with a solution to fix it. I was also told the vehicle is safe to drive. However, hearing this noise every time I drive, doesn't make me feel like a happy Honda owner, and having remorse on trading in my 2012 CRV for this car.

- Schenectady, NY, USA

problem #47

Apr 042015

CR-V

  • 8,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The truck vibrates alot when it comes to a stop, at a traffic light.

- Poughkeepsie, NY, USA

problem #46

Oct 122015

CR-V

  • 1,400 miles
Bought the CRV 2015 a month ago, started experiencing vibration when idle, at traffic lights, when parked. Took it to the dealer, they said it's normal, they don't see a problem. I researched the issue and many, many people have the same problem with Honda not having a solution for it. Very concerned about the safety of the car. No help at the dealer, treated me as if I was crazy.

- Framingham, MA, USA

problem #45

Apr 202015

CR-V

  • 7 miles
Vibration is felt in the steering wheel and in the driver's seat (bottom and seatback) both when stopped and when driving. Vibration is more pronounced when in drive with foot on the brake and the car is stopped. We have concerns over the safe control of the car, given this vibration. In addition, the real annoyance of the vibration means we take our hands off the wheel as much as possible, exascerbating safety concerns. This condition was there when the car was driven home and has been confirmed by service consultant at curry Honda, atlanta.

- Brookhaven, GA, USA

problem #44

Sep 122015

CR-V

  • 500 miles
I purchased my Honda CR-V touring 2015 on August 29, 2015, approximately five weeks ago. It has a vibration when stopped while in drive (like at a stop light or stop sign) it also has an intermittent strong vibration in the steering wheel on highways. I am very unhappy with my purchase and as I searched this problem on the internet, I've seen a lot of people are experiencing this problem. They all say when they take it back to the dealer it does not get repaired and apparently Honda is acknowledging that there is a problem now. Being that I work, I do not have time to go back to the dealer and sit there knowing (from other people's experiences) that it will not get corrected.

- Bensalem, PA, USA

problem #43

Aug 142015

CR-V

  • 50 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While the car is running and stopped in gear, there is a strong vibration felt and seen on the driver and passenger seats. ( I bought this car on a day with hot weather, the dealer had the air conditioner running on the test drive. The vibration problem does not occur while the air-conditioner is on ! ). I was not told the car had the vibration problem at time of purchase. Honda knew about this problem before selling me the car ( $25,000 ). it is an ongoing problem for this particular 2015 year and model, going on since 2014, with no fix for the vibration problem.

- Swansea, MA, USA

problem #42

Feb 062015

CR-V

  • 100 miles
Car has a vibration problem between 1000 &2000 RPM when in drive. Idle RPM sometimes drops to about 500 RPM. Loses power when vibration occurs. This occurs in city or highway travel.

- Bel Air, MD, USA

problem #41

Oct 012015

CR-V

  • 300 miles
Purchased Honda CRV AWD ex model on Sep 30 with cvt transmission, after 300 miles now started seeing engine vibration when in idle or stopped at signal, feel the vibrations on steering wheel, dash board, and passenger seat feels very disturbing. Complained Honda but no use.

- Bloomington, IL, USA

problem #40

Sep 222015

CR-V

  • 30 miles
Strong vibration on the front seats when engine is warm and rpms below 600.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #39

Aug 182015

CR-V

  • 10 miles
Car vibrates at stop and/or stop and go traffic. Vibrations cover driver and passenger front seat and dashboard. Idle is rough. Honda claims a software fix is upcoming but no evidence is to whether that's true or when it will be done. No information on what the safety and stability ramifications to the car are coming from the vibrations.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #38

Sep 162015

CR-V

  • 1,100 miles
Car was pulling into a parking spot at a local dept store parking lot. The can was put in park. Then an attempt was made to turn off vehicle. The engine excelerated and starting to push the vehicle opposite our vehicle out its parking spot, my wife tried stopping the vehicle by braking that did not work or did pushing the ignition button. She then turned the car to the right in driving lane toward the store, brakes, horn, or power steering did not work, she was able the turn the vehicle away from store to next turning lane. Engine still racing, grinding sounds can what seemed to be the transmission. The car went another 300ft. Jerk and finally shut down. Vehicle was towed away. The collision shop started it and drove to a spot til the repairs were to be made. I only have a partial police report from town of amherst police rjamq94shd49. The police also did an deployment inspection of the computer, which showed nothing, since the impact to the other vechicle was less than 10mph. The insurance company is leaving this up to me the consumer to go after Honda to get them to take a further look at the other commputers.I dont have the fullpolice report or the results of the deployment report. I hope to have info soon.

- Tonawanda, NY, USA

problem #37

Sep 152015

CR-V

  • 350 miles
Bought the CRV 2015 2 weeks ago and from day 1 felt the vibration when on red lights at full stop. Never bothered untill cold weather came in few days ago when I operated the vehicle without turning the A/C on. It vibrates within few seconds of putting it at a full stop for traffic/ red signals. The vibration has been compared to other similar class different branded SUVS but none showed such behavior. The car feels like a spark plug is gone when it shakes. Its an abnormal issue and the vibration also causes the surpentine belt pulley to make a little noise usually which we see in very old cars having worn out pullies.

- Astoria, NY, USA

problem #36

Sep 032015

CR-V

  • 110 miles
Vehicle vibrates when idling and when traveling at approximately 50 - 55 miles per hour. Honda has been aware of the problem for sometime and they are attempting to come up with a fix for this issue, but the problem still exist. In spite of the vibration problem with the CRV, Honda continues to sell the CRV without disclosing this known defect to the buying public. While Honda says this is not a safety issue, how can a buyer know that for sure.

- Denham Springs, LA, USA

problem #35

Jul 182015

CR-V

  • 100 miles
On May 2nd, 2015, we purchased a 2015 Honda CR-V. at the time of purchase a water stain was noticed on the passenger side B pillar roof. Part of the purchase agreement included removing the stain that seemed to be from a partially opened sunroof during shipping. The stain was removed by the dealership and checked by the dealership and all appeared to be resolved. A short time later another water stain developed in the same area. Again the stain was removed and the vehicle checked. After the CR-V's third visit to the shop it was determined that an "insufficient amount of seal sealer" was used in the assembly of the vehicle at the factory. Our Honda had to be sent to an outside Honda approved body shop for repairs. On discovering the extent of the problem, we no longer had confidence in the quality of our "new" vehicle. Given the fact it had sustained water damage multiple times and had to be taken to an auto body shop to be properly repaired with only a few hundred miles. We had concerns about water being trapped between the multiple layers of metal roof panels. In turn that could lead to rust, which could lead to the release of the seam sealer that helps provide the rigidity needed for rollover crashes. Also, the concern of mold developing in the roof and carpet. Upon hearing our concerns the dealership agreed to trade in our water damaged CR-V for a new one. With less than 100 miles this CR-V also developed a roof leak. Now the dealership and body shop has had our current CR-V two weeks, to fix the leaked caused by Honda not using enough sealer on the passenger side roof panels and rail studs.Honda is now using our CR-V as field report case study to submit to Honda engineers. We would like Honda to issue a recall out of concern for other CR-V owners. Many owners may be unaware of mold dangers and structural roof weakness.

- Nampa, ID, USA

problem #34

May 022015

CR-V

  • 21 miles
On May 2nd, 2015, we purchased a 2015 Honda CR-V. at the time of purchase a water stain was noticed on the passenger side B pillar roof. Part of the purchase agreement included removing the stain that seemed to be from a partially opened sunroof during shipping. The stain was removed by the dealership and checked by the dealership and all appeared to be resolved. A short time later another water stain developed in the same area. Again the stain was removed and the vehicle checked. After the CR-V's third visit to the shop it was determined that an "insufficient amount of seal sealer" was used in the assembly of the vehicle at the factory. Our Honda had to be sent to an outside Honda approved body shop for repairs. On discovering the extent of the problem, we no longer had confidence in the quality of our "new" vehicle. Given the fact it had sustained water damage multiple times and had to be taken to an auto body shop to be properly repaired with only a few hundred miles. We had concerns about water being trapped between the multiple layers of metal roof panels. In turn that could lead to rust, which could lead to the release of the seam sealer that helps provide the rigidity needed for rollover crashes. Also, the concern of mold developing in the roof and carpet. Upon hearing our concerns the dealership agreed to trade in our water damaged CR-V for a new one. With less than 100 miles this CR-V also developed a roof leak. Now the dealership and body shop has had our current CR-V two weeks, to fix the leaked caused by Honda not using enough sealer on the passenger side roof panels and rail studs.Honda is now using our CR-V as field report case study to submit to Honda engineers. We would like Honda to issue a recall out of concern for other CR-V owners. Many owners may be unaware of mold dangers and structural roof weakness.

- Nampa, ID, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?