Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Here's a disturbing trend for the 2002 Nissan Altima: the engine starts burning oil like crazy, the catalytic converter goes bad, the head gasket blows and eventually the entire engine needs replacement. Sound familiar? Like a script from a horror film, these Altimas seem doomed to fail around 95k miles.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
72,438 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Nissan Altima engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Nissan Altima Owner Comments (Page 11 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #54

Jan 242007

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,140 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Nissan Altima. The contact received a recall letter in the mail stating that his vehicle could shut off at any moment. In January of 2007, he brought his vehicle to the dealer where it was repaired. In April of 2007, as he was pulling out of a gas station, the vehicle suddenly shut off. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. He attempted to start the vehicle the next day and it remained on for approximately two seconds. During this time, all of the instrument panel lights illuminated and then the vehicle suddenly shut off. The vehicle was towed to a different mechanic and the vehicle was repaired again. The contact compared the receipts from both mechanics and noticed that the second mechanic repaired the same failure that the Nissan dealer was supposed to have performed originally. Nissan is stating that they properly repaired the vehicle and are refusing to reimburse the contact for the repairs made by the second mechanic. The current mileage is 55,000 and failure mileage was 52,140.

- Copper, FL, USA

problem #53

Sep 012006

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Nissan Altima. The crank shaft sensor was causing the vehicle to shut off. Nissan stated that she could have the vehicle repaired. However, they only reprogrammed the unit and did not replace the sensors. Also, they advised her that they would only repair the vehicle one time. The first time that she called Nissan, they told her that her car was apart of the recall. The Nissan representative told her that the vehicle was not a part of the recall due to the VIN, and later stated that was the reason why they reprogrammed the crank shaft sensor. The check engine light continued to illuminate. The contact is concerned about the safety risk involved. The current mileage was 56,900 miles on her vehicle, and it was related to the power train warranty. Nissan refused to reimburse her for the repairs. The failure mileage was 38,000. The consumer stated Nissan replaced the sensor on May 30, 2007 at the cost of $230. The consumer stated the dealer informed the cause of the engine shutting off was due to a bad speed sensor. The consumer stated the dealer refuse to reimburse the consumer for repairs. Updated 07/06/07

- Fort Scott, KS, USA

problem #52

Sep 012006

Altima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Nissan Altima. The crank shaft sensor was causing the car to shut off. The Nissan representative stated that this vehicle was not a part of the recall due to the VIN, and later indicated that it was related, which was the reason the dealer reprogrammed the crank shaft sensor instead of replacing them. Also, the dealer stated that they would not repair the vehicle again. Nissan refused to reimburse her for the repairs. The failure mileage was 65,000 and the current mileage was 74,000. The consumer states that performance Nissan in duarte, ca did the reprogramming of the sensors and two days later the sensors were failing again. Updated 05/15/07

- La Puente, CA, USA

problem #51

Apr 182007

(reported on)

Altima 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2003 Nissan Altima that shakes and makes noises customer was sent a recall notice but it was a month to late customer wants reimbursement* the consumer stated the problem he experienced with the vehicle, resulted in her being rear ended.

- Unknown, DC, USA

problem #50

Jul 012006

Altima 6-cyl

  • miles
Customer took her car in for service, was told that nothing was wrong but the service engine light was flashing after that the car stopped in the middle of the road, then after that the car would not start at all customer wants to be reimbursed*

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #49

Mar 072007

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Vehicle was taken in for recall # 06V242000. Dealership has reprogrammed ECM. Dealership now states that the crank position sensor is shorting and may cause vehicle to continue to shut down. Vehicle continues to shut down. Is there any way this recall could be related to the sensor going bad??

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #48

Mar 162007

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

- the contact took his 2003 Nissan Altima sl on the first week of March to have NHTSA campaign id number : 06V242000 recall work performed on his vehicle. They perform the recall work, but contact continued to have the same failure that is stated on the recall. The dealer stated that they would need to replace the crank sensor assembly, but it would be at contacts expense.

- Hebron, KY, USA

problem #47

Apr 262006

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,013 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that on 3 or 4 occasions the vehicle shut off while driving 45 mph. The contact stated that each time this occurred the vehicle would not restart immediately. However, on one occasion the vehicle wouldn't restart for an hour. The mechanic serviced the vehicle due to the failure on 04/26/2006. Then, on May 1, 2006 Nissan replaced the crank and cam sensors. On January 4, 2007 the contact received a recall notice for the crank and cam sensors. The contact has an invoice for the repairs. The current mileage is 69,000 and the failure mileage was 49,013 the consumer has since had the vehicle repaired and wants to be reimbursed for expenses. Update 4/30/07

- Anchorage , AK, USA

problem #46

Jul 012006

Altima 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,000 miles
- the contact stated that when she drove the 2003 Nissan Altima;the service engine light remained illuminated. The vehicle shook and rattled generally when she stopped at a light. The road conditions werenormally clear. The contact took the vehicle to the mechanic, and was advised that the crank sensor was the reason that the vehicle shook and rattled. The mechanic advised the contact that there was a recall on the crank sensor. The Nissan dealership advised the contact the crank sensor was not the reason for the vehicle shaking and rattling. The dealership stated that the reason for the vehicle shaking was due to the headlights. The contact stated the dealership repaired the headlight however, the vehicle continued to shake. The contact took the vehicle to the dealership again and they advised her it was the engine angle sensor that was causing the vehicle to shake. The dealership reprogrammed the sensor however, the vehicle continued to shake. The vehicle was taken to the dealership again and they informed the contact that the manifold gasket bearing needed to be replaced. The contact stated the vehicle continued to shake after the repair. The contact took the vehicle to the dealership again and they informed the contact the crank sensor needed to be replaced. The dealership replaced the crank sensor. The vehicle no longer shakes. The contact stated she received a recall notice for the crank sensor however, the dealership refused to replace the crank sensor at no additional cost. The vehicle currently has 81000 miles. Updated 04/12/07.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #45

Feb 202007

Altima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,782 miles
- the contact stated she received recall 06V24200O for the engine and engine cooling. The contact stated that she received the recall on 02/16/06 and had the recall repaired on 02/20/07 for the reprogramming of the electronic control module (ECM) and the perf idle air volume return for the recall at no charge. The contact stated that the vehicle still had stalling problems after the recall repair. The recall stated that the operation of the crank angle sensor was also affected by the temperature due to the unique location. The contact felt that this should have been added to the recall repair. She stated that the dealership informed her that she had to pay to have the crank angle sensor repaired, which cost her $200.83. The contact stated that before the recall the check engine light constantly stayed on and now that the vehicle repair has been performed the light continued to stay on and the vehicle stalled while driving or at a stop light. The failure mileage was 50782 and the current mileage was 51782. The consumer stated the vehicle seems to running ok. Updated 03/19/07.

- Vandemere, NC, USA

problem #44

Jun 122006

Altima

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2003 Nissan Altima with a long list of problems customer has learned about several recalls and wants this matter to be reviewed** three months after purchasing the vehicle, the vehicle needed new tires and an alignment. Three months later the vehicle would not start. On another occasion, the vehicle began jerking and the indicator lights illuminated. The radiator was cracked and had to be replaced. The vehicle overheated again. The consumer was never told the ECM device had some relationship to the temperature of the engine/coolant and may have contributed to the vehicle overheating.

- Hinsdale, IL, USA

problem #43

Sep 242006

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles
- the contact stated that the 2003 Nissan Altima 2.5S, had stalling problems. The vehicle stalled while driving, merging onto the expressway, sitting at a traffic light or when trying to turn the vehicle at a low speed. The vehicle stalled most often when at a complete stop. The contact stated that the check engine light turned on 02/20/07. When trying to restart the vehicle, it took 6-7 times to get the vehicle to start. The contact stated that it sounded as though she had no gasoline in the vehicle, but the vehicle was full of gasoline at this time. She took the vehicle to the dealership, and was informed that the camshaft failed. She found arecall 03V45000 for engine & engine cooling. The contact called the manufacturer and filed a complaint, her case number was 5626245. The failure mileage was 46000, and the current mileage was 50100.

- Malden, MA, USA

problem #42

Feb 012007

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles
I would be driving the car when it would just stall without warning. Then it wouldn't start to get it to the dealership so I had to call a tow truck. The dealership stated they fixed the recall but the was not related to the recall and that would be additional money. Don't quite know why when the recall states the exact problem I was having.

- Salem, NH, USA

problem #41

Jan 012006

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,000 miles
My first problem began at about 37000 miles. I would try to crank my car and it would not crank. This has happened about 10 times. There has currently been no resolution to this problem. My second problem involves the mass air flow sensor. I was merging onto the interstate and suddenly my car began to lose power and buck. The car coming up from behind me changed lanes and passed, so luckily there was no accident. My third problem is with my catalytic converter and O2 sensor. I have just been told that both of these are out.

- Wesson, MS, USA

problem #40

Dec 192006

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,625 miles
I had recall work done and the result is my engine now needs to be replaced. My 2003 Nissan Altima now consumes 1.5 quarts of oil every 100 miles. East charlotte Nissan performed the following recalls P5216 and R0606 in addition to this they replaced the O2 sensor at a cost of $365. Within two days (300 miles) of getting the vehicle back the oil was completely empty and it has needed to be refilled every 200 miles since the original visit to East charlotte Nissan. This is unacceptable. Nissans own recall states that for a number of vehicles and engine replacement will be necessary. They are not honoring their very own recall notice. I have documented regular service on this vehicle that is well within the recommended guidelines. Including an oil change at a reputable retailer at intervals of 3-4000 miles.

- Matthews, NC, USA

problem #39

Jan 102006

Altima

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have a 2003 Nissan Altima 2.5, in Nov. I had problems with my car stalling and not being able to start back. Also, the check engine light came on. I had my car towed to the Nissan dealership and was told the crank shaft sensor needed to be replaced, I paid $175 to have it serviced. On Jan. 10, 2007 I was driving down the interstate and the check engine light came on again this time with no warnings at all, I took my car in to just an oil change place to have the code pulled, showing the code for the crank shaft sensor, I called the Nissan dealer and have been given an appt. To have my car check again has there been a recall on this, this is the second time in 2 months, and I have read so many other complaints from Nissan owners please someone help us we need to have this item added to the list of recalls. Nissan has to be aware that they are losing so many customers. I love my car, but I don't feel its fair for people to have to pay out so much money when the company is aware that there is such a massive issue.

- Summerville, RI, USA

problem #38

Nov 292006

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,000 miles
Had the ECM reprogram done a few weeks ago. Couple of weeks later, check engine light came on, dealer reset the ECM again. Past week, check engine light came on again. Dealer now says the crank position sensor is bad. We had the "stalling engine without warning" issue in Nov 2003. At that time and under severe pressure from me, the dealer replaced the crank and camshaft position...stalling problem solved. Here we are 3 years later back to the bad crank position sensor again and dealer is saying my VIN is not in the range of the sensor recall and I have to pay to have it replaced. In my opinion, Nissan is trying to program the ECM to hide a known problem with the sensors and it's made it more pronounced. The dealer is trying to soften the blow a bit by knocking some off the charges, but I'm still having to cough up $184 for a well known, well documented and aging defect. Come on Nissan, fix the problem....it's a dangerous one.

- Chattanooga, TN, USA

problem #37

Nov 282006

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles
: the contact stated while attempting to start the engine, the vehicle was difficult to start, and the check engine light illuminated. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer, who determined the air flow filter needed to be replaced. Afterwards, the problem persisted. A NHTSA recall, #06V242000 was performed on the vehicle concerning, the engine however, the recall did not remedy the problem. The dealership would not offer a second repair under the recall. The manufacturer was alerted.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #36

Nov 262006

Altima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,750 miles
2003 Nissan Altima 2.5 S. car stalls while driving on highway. Searched online and found that many, many people have had the same problem with the crankshaft position sensor a circuit malfunction and engine speed input circuit causing this stalling. There's a recall for 2002 models, but not for 2003 and this is dangerous.

- Palmer, AK, USA

problem #35

Oct 152006

Altima

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have been having numerous problems with my car moving very slowly, not staying in the road, pulling away from me. I have to drive my car with 2 hands to keep in the road. I have took it back to the dealer numerous times and they have told me many different problems that might be wrong with my car. When I finally decided to take it to another maintenance shop just to make sure I was being told the truth. After 30 min of having my vehicle I was told by a Goodyear manager that I have 3X the wrong size tires on my vehicle. He told me that I should have 205/65/16 tires on my car and I have 225/60/16 tires on my vehicle. I am furious because I purchased this car from the dealership with those tires on my car and have taken my car in there several times to be maintenance and service and they knew that was the problem with the vehicle. My car is not a steady vehicle I feel unsafe in this car. I have to constantly hold it still in the road. When it rain I feel like I wreck at anytime. I have a small child and it hurts me to know that I have taken my car in there several times and not one time have they said anything about my tires. I have had those tires aligned and balance but the tech told me it would do me no good because the tires are 3 times to big. Please help I think they should replace my tires with the right size. Also my seat belts on the car will not extract I have taken this to the dealer several times and they will pull them out but when I leave after about 4 to 5 days my belts will get stuck again I also had my seat belts checked and was told it is a manufacturing problems and Nissan will not fix the problem. They told me flat out it is not there problem I can not pull a seat belt. I have to let my daughter ride in the back at times without a seat belt until I can find someone to fix the problem. The seat belts are getting hung from the core of the entrance but they will not fix the problem. *

- Gray Court, SC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?