Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2005 Nissan Altima has two fairly significant problems with the floor pan rusting through & motor mounts breaking.

Altima owners report that up to a basketball-size hole develops under the floor mats where the floor pan metal rusts through. Average repair cost is over $1,000.

The broken motor mounts are less of a problem - they break at ~75,000 miles average & it's $400 to fix. Still, motor mounts should not break!

4.9

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
20,982 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Nissan Altima wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Nissan Altima Owner Comments

problem #13

Jun 202013

Altima 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Altima with fuzion hri tires, size: 225/60R16. The contact stated that while driving 40 mph, the traction failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage on the vehicle and tires was 50,000.

- Sebastian, FL, USA

problem #12

Apr 012013

Altima

  • 91,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Nissan Altima, equipped with vredestein tires (N/a), line ultrak tecnara (N/a), size: 225/45/18. The contact stated that while driving 45 mph, the sidewall on the front passenger tire became separated. The road conditions were dry and the weather was extremely hot. The contact replaced the failed tire with the spare however, the sidewall on the front driver's side tire also became separated. The retailer where the tires were purchased was contacted and the contact was awaiting a response. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but provided no assistance due to an expired warranty. The approximate tire failure mileage was 3,100. The approximate failure and current mileage was 91,000. The VIN was not available.

- Levittown, PA, USA

problem #11

May 312011

Altima

  • miles
On installation I immediately noticed shimming, shaking and intense vibrations on my vehicle. I assumed it was the conditions of the highway, however, the following day driving on a different highway the shimming, shaking and intense vibrations continued and even intensified. I called the retailer, and explained the experience and they suggested having the tires rebalanced, I did and the behavior continued. I then took my car to my mechanic and had my front end aligned and the drove the car around, and the same results continued. I set my cruise control set at 69 mph and the car literally "danced" across the highway and I momentarily lost control of my vehicle. It also began raining and the traction of the tires was non-existent. These tires steer on their on and pull very hard to the right.

- Cottondale, FL, USA

problem #10

Aug 312010

Altima

  • 78,732 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving North on the muskogee turn pike around mile marker 9 when I heard a noise. I felt shuttering and looked in the rear view mirror and saw a large piece of tire flying through the air. I immediately pulled over and changed the tire. All of the tread was missing and the tire was still inflated. This caused over $1,800 in damage to my car and cause me to have to buy a new set of tires.

- Fort Smith, AR, USA

problem #9

Oct 062008

Altima

  • 24,285 miles
Vehicle was taken in for front end alignment. It wa making a funny whirring noise. Mechanic rotated and balanced tires. Found cupping tires. Vehicle was still making noise. Had two new tires put on front. Vehicle still makes noise. Continental tires touring contact as P215 160R16 94T.

- Lake Havasu City, AZ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #8

Nov 052008

Altima

  • 0 miles
I checked my tires and found that 2 of them that I purchased at bj's wholesale club. The dot number was missing the month of manufacture. They had the first 8 characters but the date was missing. I think it might have been removed. It's probably been a year since I bought them.

- Mechanicsburg, PA, USA

problem #7

Mar 102008

Altima

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I replaced the tires on my 2005 Nissan Altima with a new set of Bridgestone turanza el-42 tires in July of 2007. Within 3 months the vibration in the steering wheel was so bad the tires had to be rotated and balanced every 45-50 days. I got the run around from the dealer ie: Excuses as to why I had to rotate so often which none applied to my driving situations and the car was not out of alignment at all. Finally took a credit from dealer and replaced all 4 tires with new Michelin energy series in May 2008 car drives just like it did off the show room floor!!!!! Firestone needs to address the issues with these tires. They have flat spots, cupping problems they are out of round. I finally took it to another dealer(not Firestone)who confirmed that they could not get them to balance out properly because of all the problems with the tires and the vibration was still there.

- Maryville, TN, USA

problem #6

Jun 012005

Altima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles
I have a 2005 Altima 3.5 sl. I started noticing problems with the tires within the first 6 months. I had the car aligned and the tires rotated around 9,000 miles. This did not fixed the vibration issue. The car feels like I'm driving on marbles at highway speeds and the right front fender is rattling. I called the dealer and they looked at the car. They did not find anything wrong with the tires. I took it to a tire dealer, one by one had each of the 4 tires replaced. I am still having issues at highway speeds-car still feels like riding on marbles. I am contacting the service director at the dealership again on this problem not sure what the problem is-I suspect is it something mechanical.

- Troy, IL, USA

problem #5

Jun 082005

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,852 miles
Please see the following excerpt from a letter addressed to Nissan usa concerning the general tires on my 2005 Nissan Altima 2.5S. Nissan usa is unresponsive. I asked the service advisor what the failure was regarding the wheel bearing but, he did not produce the part. Nissan usa reference # 4966952, general tire file # [xxx], 2005 Nissan Altima 2.5S, VIN # [xxx], Nissan member # [xxx], Continental [xxx] 94T touring contact as [xxx], [xxx], [xxx], [xxx] my initial trip to thornhill Nissan (fort worth) on June 09, 2005, was for a vibration in the steering and a grinding / humming noise in the front suspension. As a transmission repair had previously been done by Nissan, I was not sure if these two events were related or not. I told the service advisor, ron abrahmson (3193) that it sounded like a driver's side bearing to me. Indeed, that was what was found to be the problem and it was subsequently repaired. The service technician, who did the repair, noted that my Altima should have an alignment done. Ron called me and I told him to go ahead and have it done while it was there. When I went in to pick up the car, I was told the front driver's side wheel bearing haupon heading out for home, I noticed the grinding noise and vibration were immediately gone but, there was still a very noticeable hum or drone while driving. I turned around and went back to the dealership. I spoke with ron, told him of my concerns and asked him to take a ride with me. We drove several miles and at various speeds. His conclusion, there is a problem with the tires. He said this has been a common issue/complaint from other Altima owners with this brand of tire and suggested that maybe rotating them would help. I told ron that I would rotate the tires and see if it helped. On, Saturday, June 11th, I did just that. Driving the car over the weekend showed no improvement. Updated 07/19/2012 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #4

Jul 102005

Altima 6-cyl

  • miles
Dealer rotated tires for normal maintenance. Returned home with the car and the next day noticed a vibration. Assumed dealer did not balance, so called and made appointment to return car. Dealer checked car and found the tires to be "feathering". was not told this when tires were rotated. Dealer found maintenance bulletin on the same Continental 16 in tires on 2005 Altima's, but the VIN number of my car was not included in the bulletin. Dealer told me the problem was with the tires to go to a tire dealer and the company would pro-rate new tires. The tire dealer said the problem was with the car, not the tires and refused to take any action. Nissan dealer then referred me to the Nissan co. Talked to Nissan consumer affair's, they also refused to take any action, stating again that it was a tire problem, not a car problem. Then called Continental tire co and they refuse to take any action, sating again, it was a mechanical problem with the car...as evidenced by the maintenance notification published by Nissan. Based on the fact that Nissan has documented the same problem exists with 2005 Altima's regarding feathering of tires, I feel they should be responsible for replacing these tires. Because I don't know for sure if it is a tire problem or a mechanical problem with the car, I have no confidence that if I buy new tires for the car that I won't have the same problem with tire feathering in the near future. What are my options?.

- Benson, AZ, USA

problem #3

Feb 042005

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Contact stated: On 2/4/05, dealer lowered the tire pressure from 41 psi to 34 psi and the car still ran very rough. Took back to dealer on 3/4/05 for a test drive, but could not duplicate problem, so he lowered psi to 27. It felt like the tires were rolling over marbles, very rough and unsafe.

- Matteson, IL, USA

problem #2

Nov 302004

Altima

  • miles
After driving the new car approximately 4 weeks the consumer noticed a golf ball size bubble on the sidewall of the driver's side front tire. The consumer was informed that her tire was defective and shredding on the inside.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #1

Nov 232004

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,400 miles
I purchases a 2005 Nissan Altima on Nov. 2, 2004. On Nov. 23, 2004, my back driver's side tire, now having 1400 miles on it blew out. There were no punctures in the tire, the sidewall just blew out while driving down the interstate. The tires were continentals. Neither superior Nissan, Nissan usa, nor Continental would replace my tire.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

Not what you are looking for?