Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2006 Nissan Altima has a trend of engine problems, both in our data & definitely in the NHTSA's complaint data as well.

Excessive oil consumption is the main problem reported by owners. Nissan did a recall back in 2006 for oil consumption due to bad piston rings, but many owners report to us that the recall didn't fix the problem.

The dealer only had to check the oil consumption rate. Typically 1 qt per 1,000 miles is "acceptable" per OEM standards ... that's a lot of oil!


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
140,541 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Nissan Altima body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Nissan Altima Owner Comments

problem #12

Jun 182015

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the driver side undercarriage panel was corroded and only the floor mat protected him from the ground. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000. Updated 8/27/15

- Grantville, PA, USA

problem #11

Feb 132013


  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Altima. The contact stated there was excessive rust underneath the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the floorboard needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was not provided. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- East Meadows, NY, USA

problem #10

Mar 222014


  • 121,000 miles
I have owned the car for almost 6 years. My boyfriend does the servicing - oil changes, brakes, fluid/belt changes, etc. On a regular, documented basis. When car is lifted, I always do a check underneath. Car had been fine. Oil changed in October 2014, all good. New tires put on by good year in December 2014, all good - just let me know to have back brakes changed soon. March 22, my boyfriend was changing oil and putting new pads/shoes on car. While lifted, I did my check and saw rust hanging underneath on driver's side. After taking off the rust and getting to solid metal, found a approx 5X5in size hole in my floorboard. Rest of base of car looks perfect, so far. Car should not be rusting like this.

- Joppa, MD, USA

problem #9

Oct 142014


  • 101,834 miles


Took my vehicle in for an oil change. Tech brought me back to show me the drivers floorboard was completely rusted through. Let me tell you what safety hazards I can think of with this issue. 1.I do not feel like having my foot go through the floorboard and loosing control of my vehicle due to my foot being stuck I will not be able to brake. 2. the fumes and vapors can enter the vehicle therefore inducing an asthma attack from my two year old son who has severe asthma. 3. if the rust continues it may come to a point where the exhaust pipe can make contact with the carpet initiating a fire.

- Barnhart, MO, USA

problem #8

Aug 202014

Altima 4-cyl

  • miles
While my mechanic was checking my brakes and other things he noticed that the floor under the driver side and passenger side are fully rusted. When I got the call this morning I immediately went online to search for this. It seems like this is an ongoing issue and there is no recall for this (which im not surprise). I have spoken to a body shop since I work for an insurance company and they said this has been a problem with these cars. I also spoke to someone who works for Nissan and they confirmed that this is an ongoing issue.. I have never had any major issues with my car until this. It wont pass inspection which I have to do in a couple of months. I also have a friend who had the same car different year with the same issues and he just ended up getting rid of it. Im hoping to get this fix as soon as possible. Nissan seems to charge roughly $700 a side to get this problem taken care of. This is not fair to the consumer since its a flaw in their design. We should not be paying a dime to get this fix!!!

- Nashua, NH, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #7

Apr 152014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that while the vehicle was being serviced, the technician discovered that the front passenger's side frame underneath the floorboard was severely rusted. In addition, the front driver's side frame underneath the floorboard exhibited a slight rust corrosion. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 67,000. Drrk re-mailed 10/08/14 remailed 10/14/14 updated 10/27/14 updated 4/21/2015 the consumer was informed the rust was casued by wear and tear. Updated 10/14/15. Updated 03/28/16.

- Palatine , IL, USA

problem #6

Apr 222014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 85,000 miles


Took my car in for inspection today and they said it will not pass as the passenger and drivers side floor panel is completely rusted. The cost for repair is $2500 and there are numerous known issues by Nissan for this problem. Nissan should be paying for this repair, the vehicle year is 2006 with 85,000 miles and is not exposed to salt water and has never been in a flood. Defective metal, known issue by Nissan and needs to be on the recall list.

- Quakertown, PA, USA

problem #5

Apr 222014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 850,000 miles
I went to take my car in for inspection today for my 2006 Nissan Altima and found out the drivers and passenger side floor panel is completely rusted. This is a defect in the metal used by Nissan as I have read many issues regarding this. The cost to repair is approximately $2500 and I am filing a complaint as Nissan should be held responsible.

- Quakertown, PA, USA

problem #4

Oct 012013

Altima 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
Rusted floorboards after warranty expired.

- Prospect Park, NJ, USA

problem #3

Jul 202013

Altima 4-cyl

  • miles
Premature undercarriage rusting & rot under passenger & driver side of vehicle. Very common problem for 2002-2006 Nissan Altima's. contacted Nissan of America, was told it cannot be fixed because it is out of warranty. However, this is a problem that has affected many vehicles regardless of location. I cannot imagine this car being safe in a collision, seeing as the undercarriage is rotted out.

- Warwick, RI, USA

problem #2

Jun 282013


  • 51,661 miles
On June 28 2013 took my car to get it inspect and they would not pass the inspection due to there was a rusty hole underneath the floor mat outside the car. A hole right on the driver side they told me they see a lot of older model Nissan with this problem and I would have to get it fix to pass inspection. I call Nissan consumer and told them about it they said there was nothing they could do about it and told me to go to Nissan body shop but I would have to pay for it. I brought this car new 2007 with 12 miles and don't understand why this would happen also for many years I have a water leak where they can't seem to find and I have take to the Nissan dealer ship for at least 2 three years and now there white mold in the car they wont do anything about that.

- Harrisburg, PA, USA

problem #1

Nov 132012

Altima 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Took for inspection. Service dealer said driver side floor board rusted into interior. Car has been serviced at dealership following all safety maintenance checkups, even last month. No one mentioned any form of rust at the time. Dealer said there have been quite a few similar problems from 2002-2006, but they did not think it was important to check this out on last safety maintenance visit. I'm upset Nissan is not covering this obvious defect and only after 5 years plus car had undercoating applied from factory. Next car "?????"

- Shoemakersville, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?