Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2006 Nissan Altima has a trend of engine problems, both in our data & definitely in the NHTSA's complaint data as well.

Excessive oil consumption is the main problem reported by owners. Nissan did a recall back in 2006 for oil consumption due to bad piston rings, but many owners report to us that the recall didn't fix the problem.

The dealer only had to check the oil consumption rate. Typically 1 qt per 1,000 miles is "acceptable" per OEM standards ... that's a lot of oil!


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
83,084 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Nissan Altima body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Nissan Altima Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #25

Sep 112015

Altima 4-cyl

  • 148,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the floorboard underneath the driver and passenger seats were rusted and fractured. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 148,000. The VIN was not provided...updated 10/21/15

- Huntley, IL, USA

problem #24

Aug 032015


  • 159,000 miles
2006 Nissan Altima with rotted and rusted out front floorboards. $1000 to rebuild and another $100 for the dealer to reset the airbags. Why is this not being recalled? it is a safety issue!! those driving an Altima model years 2002-2008 take a look at the underside of your vehicle asap....updated 12/02/15

- Lawrenceburg, KY, USA

problem #23

Jun 182015

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 190,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Altima. While the vehicle was at an independent mechanic for an unrelated repair, rust was discovered on the front driver and passenger side floor panels. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was confirmed that the front driver and passenger side floor panels were rusted through and needed to be repaired. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 190,000. MA 08/14/15 updated 09/02/15 updated 12/7/2015

- East Berlin, CT, USA

problem #22

Jun 182015

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the driver side undercarriage panel was corroded and only the floor mat protected him from the ground. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000. Updated 8/27/15

- Grantville, PA, USA

problem #21

Mar 022015

Altima 4-cyl

  • 172,000 miles
My complaints I have with this car. My first is the floor board is staying soaked with water and molding, which is not good for people with allergies to mold as in this case, and the rusted floorboard problem. The second is with the oxygen sensor and catalytic converters.

- Colt, AR, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #20

Nov 202014

Altima 4-cyl

  • miles
I just want to file a complaint on my 2006 Nissan Altima I tried to trade my car in at colonial Nissan in medford and it got rejected due to rust on the floor boards I was just watching television and I saw that I am not the only one with this issue and that Nissan doesn't care. I am stuck with this car no auction will take it and I can't sell it because of the rust!!! what do I do now"?" thanks, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Medford, MA, USA

problem #19

Aug 012014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles


There is no specific incident, but last summer (August 2014) I had new tires put on and the mechanic noticed that my floor board was beginning to rust out. I now know, through recent news, that it is not just my car, but most Nissan Altima models. I actually complained to them about it last summer and of course they did nothing. This should be a recall if mechanics and professionals are noticing that something is not right. I get regular car washes to prevent rust, as I live in northern Indiana and salt is the way we fight our snow problem. It is not safe for the floor board to rust out. If I were driving an older car I would expect this. However, this should not be happening to a 2006 model car.

- Granger, IN, USA

problem #18

Oct 072014


  • 136,409 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Altima. While the vehicle was being serviced, an independent mechanic discovered that the floorboard behind the front tires was corroded. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 136,409.

- Euclid, OH, USA

problem #17

Sep 152014


  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that while having unrelated repairs performed, the technician indicated that the driver and passenger floor boards were severely corroded causing it to fracture. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Richmond , IN, USA

problem #16

Sep 042014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
Drivers and passangers floor boards rotted out. Nissan needs to recall this issue and stand behind their cars.

- Weymouth, MA, USA

problem #15

Sep 052014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 130,000 miles


I have a 2006 Nissan Altima that I took in for any inspection and the floor board on both the drive and passenger sides are rusting through to the point you can see carpet underneath. Looking around on the internet it became very obvious that I'm not the only one with this problem and a very big safety concern if the floor is just rusting out. I called Nissan and they basically told me too bad there is nothing they can do. They don't want to acknowledge the fact that this is a serious problem and a safety issue if the floor of the car is exposed to the ground. The car has spent the majority of its life in a garage so it must be from driving that they problem has occurred.

- Westbrook, ME, USA

problem #14

Aug 202014

Altima 4-cyl

  • miles
While my mechanic was checking my brakes and other things he noticed that the floor under the driver side and passenger side are fully rusted. When I got the call this morning I immediately went online to search for this. It seems like this is an ongoing issue and there is no recall for this (which im not surprise). I have spoken to a body shop since I work for an insurance company and they said this has been a problem with these cars. I also spoke to someone who works for Nissan and they confirmed that this is an ongoing issue.. I have never had any major issues with my car until this. It wont pass inspection which I have to do in a couple of months. I also have a friend who had the same car different year with the same issues and he just ended up getting rid of it. Im hoping to get this fix as soon as possible. Nissan seems to charge roughly $700 a side to get this problem taken care of. This is not fair to the consumer since its a flaw in their design. We should not be paying a dime to get this fix!!!

- Nashua, NH, USA

problem #13

Jun 172014

Altima 6-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
Put car on hoist and saw the driver's floor pan was rusted totally through. Hole is about 16" X 16". it wasn't there in January of 2014. Body shop says this is not uncommon for Nissan Altima.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #12

Jun 272014


  • 138,000 miles
After a series of hard rains and wet driving conditions, I noticed a wet, musty smell in the cabin interior. After inspecting all door and window seals without finding any leaks, I inspected underneath the car and noticed that the floorpan area beneath both the driver and passenger seats were rusting through with open holes in both areas. This immediately struck me as a defect as the vehicle is otherwise rust-free. Upon researching, I discovered that this appears to be a common issue with 01-06 Nissan Altima. I contacted the dealer who acknowledged the issue. However, they noted that Nissan has not taken action to address this defect. They provided a rough estimate for repairs as they have referred other customers to body shops for repair (~$500-600 per side). Not only is this likely to damage the interior, but it would seem to be a likely safety hazard with the weakened floorpan. I have had my car at a Nissan dealership for routine inspections, and this issue was never noted on the inspection.

- Ankeny, IA, USA

problem #11

Jun 062014


  • 65,163 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that there was severe rust and corrosion underneath the seats in the vehicle. The dealer stated that the front floor pans needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 65,163.

- Bridgewater, PA, USA

problem #10

Apr 152014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that while the vehicle was being serviced, the technician discovered that the front passenger's side frame underneath the floorboard was severely rusted. In addition, the front driver's side frame underneath the floorboard exhibited a slight rust corrosion. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 67,000. Drrk re-mailed 10/08/14 remailed 10/14/14 updated 10/27/14 updated 4/21/2015 the consumer was informed the rust was casued by wear and tear. Updated 10/14/15. Updated 03/28/16.

- Palatine , IL, USA

problem #9

Dec 162013

Altima 4-cyl

  • 100,360 miles
2006 Nissan Altima - car has been kept in very good condition - exterior is in flawless condition with no rust visible. Do not be fooled - the floor boards under the drivers side and passengers side are extremely rusted out. Took in car to Nissan dealership for service to replace water pump and was informed about rotted out floor boards. Despite multiple services at same location this was the first time this was mentioned to me. Conveniently after my 7 year / 100,000 warranty has expired. Something does not seem right - the outside of the car is in exceptional shape yet the underbody is completely corroded?

- West Allis, WI, USA

problem #8

Nov 042013


  • miles
I am writing a complaint about rusted floor pans that seems to be a common problem amongst a lot of other "06" Nissan Altima owners. I found out about this issue after I recently had my oil changed and an employee at the body shop pointed out how bad my floor pans looked. There are literally huge holes in the flooring and if the carpet were ripped out, I would be able to see through them. In addition, I was told that the rust causes mold to form and it's dangerous to breathe that air in. I think Nissan should take responsibility and do a re-call since this seems to be happening to every owner who owns this vehicle.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #7

Oct 012013


  • miles
The floorboards of the driver side have rusted through. This is a common complaint posted about numerous times online, with no response from Nissan. It seems that Altima from atleast 2003-2006 were effected. No recall has been placed that I have found, although many, many complaints and discussions about manufacturing defect.

- Fairview Park, OH, USA

problem #6

Sep 242013

Altima 4-cyl

  • 77,600 miles
Upon taking the car to the dealer for an oil change, the dealer informed me that the floorboards under the driver and front passenger seats are eaten away by rust and each side will cost $1000 to repair by welding a plate to it. It is so severe that the car will not pass inspection and be rejected for safety reasons, according to the dealer...

- Framingham, MA, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?