Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 10
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,545 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Nissan Altima engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Nissan Altima Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #27

Jan 102014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 97,821 miles


On January 10, 2014, I went to get an oil change and was told there may be an oil pan leak by the lube center in frederick md. I didn't really think much of it didn't have any other problems. My car now is making a chaining like noise when driving and I went to get an oil change on 6/20/14 at sunoco in frederick, md they say it is a massive oil leak and that my car will catch fire at the engine if it is not fixed, they could not locate the oil leak and it was not from the oil pan but it needs to be fixed right away. I am afraid that the car will explode, I have children and I have one on the way. I see that there was a recall for this problem at one point but it is closed and many people are going through this now with there vehicle. I still have to pay 7,000 on this vehicle before it is paid off. I took it to Nissan but they will not fix it because the recall is no longer open.

- Frederick, MD, USA

problem #26

Jan 272011


  • 47,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the driver was driving approximately 5 mph when smoke began to rise from the engine. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and the driver was informed that a head gasket might be blown. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure continued and the driver began to notice that the engine was consuming oil at a very rapid rate. The contact expressed concerns over a possible fire or the engine stalling. The failure mileage was 47,000.

- Loltewah, TN, USA

problem #25

Nov 302009

Altima 4-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
I have had several issues with my Nissan 2007 Altima. I bought it brand new with only a few hundred miles. I have had an oil leaking problem ( first it only leaked when parked, got fixed & now leaks when driving only), engine rattle, clicking when driving and not moving(sounds like diesel engine), transmission feels unsmooth sometimes when shifting(since purchased but blamed on cvt transmission & not being used to it), button under brake pedal had to be replaced (car wouldn't start when pushing button and thought it was a battery problem, but button under foot pedal was sticking & wasn't getting contact to start car) belts were rubbing strange, had to be replaced. Tires are too small for car, every speed bump I ground out. Engine hesitates sometimes on highway. I've had this car worked on and maintained perfectly and I have had alot of issues. I want to get a new car but feel bad selling this to anyone.

- Overland Park, KS, USA

problem #24

Oct 062011

Altima 4-cyl

  • miles


My check engine light came on in my 2007 Nissan Altima. I took it to a mechanic who did a diagnostic and said that it was my catalytic converter and I needed to replace it. I looked online and found out that Nissan had a recall on the catalytic converter back in 2007 but I never received it. Now that my car has passed the warranty mileage, they refuse to do anything about this. I feel that they are not correctly notifying consumers of their recall information intentionally so they don't have to pay for this and all the burden will then be on the consumer. I feel Nissan should take care of this since they knew there was a problem the year I bought my car.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #23

Oct 022011


  • miles
Sunday October 2, 2011 my car began leaking oil un-expectedly. Immediately my car was taken to a mechanic where he diagnosed that the oil cooler was leaking and needed to be replaced. I was advised not to drive my car as it was losing too much oil. I contacted coggin Nissan at the avenues (904-880-3000), spoke with [xxx] in the parts department, I explained what was happening with my vehicle and he informed me that he has seen quite a few cars the same make and model as mine with the same exact issue. I strongly feel there is a defect in this part since so many cars like mine are having the same problem. I feel this issue should become part of a recall and Nissan should reimburse me for the price of the part. Up until now I have been very happy with my Nissan. I really appreciate you looking into this matter for me. This has caused me a great deal of stress and money I do not have as I am a single mother with a young child to support. Thank you. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Green Cove Springs, FL, USA

problem #22

Jan 102011


  • 81,124 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that there was a strong smell inside the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic who stated that there was a crack in the short block in the engine resulting in a cooling leak. The manufacturer was contacted and they would not take responsibility because the warranty had expired. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 81,124.

- Swansea, MA, USA

problem #21

Jul 152010


  • 48,000 miles


I noticed a noise coming from the engine whether the engine was cold or not. It was louder as I accelerated and diminished as I the rpms went down. It was a sound similar to the sound that cards make when inserted into bicycle spokes. After a quick inspection the Nissan dealership was able to ascertain that the transmission is cracked and needs replaced. Several weeks later I am still waiting a new transmission due to high demand.

- Areukiddingme, WV, USA

problem #20

Aug 172010


  • 63,000 miles
I own a 2007 Nissan Altima. I purchased this vehicle new in July 2007. I had to replace the tires @16,000 miles. I had problems with the tire pressure light on the dash always coming on for no apparent reason. The A/C compressor had to be replaced at approximately 37,000 mi. The second year I owned it, at a cost of $750. Now, just after my third anniversary of ownership the rear sway bar has broken. In checking on the internet, I find that all these are common problems. However this sway bar problem is a danger for personal safety. The bar is made out of a hollow tube and it rusted into close to where the bar joins the frame. I have never had an accident, had the car towed or driven on anything but paved roads. It just broke for no apparent reason other than poor materials. Of course this is not covered either!!! I feel this should be a recall item and owners should be reimbursed for their expense.

- Diana, TX, USA

problem #19

Jul 202010

Altima 4-cyl

  • 62,108 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Altima. The contact stated the vehicle was taken for a routine oil change. The contact noticed oil leaking from the vehicle following service. The dealer advised that the oil cooler assembly would need to be replaced. The oil cooler assembly was replaced at the owner's expense. The failure mileage was 62,108 and the current mileage was 62,300. Updated 11/19/10 updated 11/23/10

- Gaylord, MI, USA

problem #18

Jul 052010

Altima 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
I have a 2007 Nissan Altima 4 cyl sl. I was coming home from a road trip, and my car started cutting out. I pulled over and noticed smoke coming from the hood. My two children, and my daughter's friend, three puppies, and myself ran away from the car. I called 911, but by the time the eufaula fire dept. Got there my car was totally engulfed in flames. My car is a complete loss, and I lost everything inside the car.

- Mckinney, TX, USA

problem #17

Mar 132010


  • miles


I have a 2007 Nissan Altima. I bought it used from a dealership in houston, tx on 12/10/2008. I drove it all of 2009 and turned the air conditioner on in March, 2010 and the air compressor is out. This car only has 70,000 miles on it and the compressor has gone out. The compressor should not have gone out with only 70,000 miles on the car.

- Conroe, TX, USA

problem #16

May 112009


  • 40,861 miles
While driving our 2007 Nissan Altima the engine stalled. Upon exiting the car we saw smoke coming out from the hood. After opening it, we saw the air filter housing glowing and the smoke coming from it. The police pulled the air filter out which stopped the smoking. The car was towed to a Nissan dealer who wound up replacing the air filter assembly, cover, air flow sensor, etc for $888.19. The only explanation they could give me for the cause was a cigarette butt or something similar got sucked unto the air intake. There were no other components involved that could have caused this. I had done some research and found a recall for this exact problem - PE07026. I was told my vehicle was not part of this recall and nothing could be done to help us. The dealer brought in a Nissan representative who would not honor our request. I also had purchased an extended warranty through Nissan but was told this wasn't covered. Since the cause of this fire is an exact match to the reason for this recall I believe the recall was not as comprehensive as it should have been. If this can happen to us while just driving on a highway, it can happen to any other owners of this vehicle. The dealer has been in contact with Nissan to try to get this covered but has been unsuccessful.

- Monroe, NY, USA

problem #15

Oct 202007


  • 16,000 miles
No wreck, no events, my car will not crank and it is a 2007 Altima. It leaves me stranded and I have had it in and out of the service dept. Since I purchased the car.they keep telling me everytime it happens it wont happen again and that it is fixed and yet again im stranded. I live 60 miles from the nearest Nissan dealership and 30 miles outside of town so when im stranded im stranded. This is suppose to be a dependable car and it has been a nightmare. I have 2 children that have to be places and I have a medical condition which requires me to see a doctor alot. I need a car and I would appreciate anyinfo that would be helpful to pass along to the consumer dept.on Monday morning. I am to the point now to where I want another vehicle at equal value and my interest and note be the same or a good !@#$% deal on a trade in. Please note again this makes the 6th time this has happened to me. It is a problem with the can or cam modules or so they say.

- Sandy Hook,, MS, USA

problem #14

Oct 102007


  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Altima. When the vehicle would come to a complete stop, the engine would accelerate on its own up to 4,000+ rpms. The contact must depress the brake pedal and turn off the vehicle to prevent rapid acceleration. The dealer could not duplicate the failure and advised him to bring in the vehicle when the failure occurred; however, the failures could not be predicted. The dealer did not know how to repair the vehicle and no recalls were issued. The failure mileage was less than 10,000 and current mileage was 50,435.

- Jackson, NJ, USA

problem #13

Sep 302008


  • 36,000 miles
Oil consumption problem causes engine to lose oil and run rough, rattle, miss. This has been occurring within 2,500 miles after each oil change. The dealer only now acknowledges that it's lost oil, but is requiring that I drive it again for 1,000 miles to run an oil consumption test. The fix is apparently a new engine.

- Glendale, MO, USA

problem #12

Mar 102008


  • 9,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that after refueling her vehicle, she attempted to pull out of the service station and the vehicle shut off. She restarted the vehicle and continued to drive home. The dealer stated that no other consumer complained about this failure. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for recall number 07V527, but was informed that the VIN was not included. A tire rotation was also performed at that time. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 9,000 and current mileage was 12,237.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #11

Apr 262007


  • 7,500 miles
We purchased the car new and never experienced any problems with it, at 7K to 8K miles my wife was driving down the highway with our 6mth old baby, she was going to make an attempt to switch lanes and pass a car when the car hesitated and jerked, she thought she was hit from the back but there were no cars behind her, she tried accelerating again and it jerked and wouldn't go at that point the car just died. She managed to pull it over on the shoulder and called me to tell me what was going on. I advise my wife I would be on my way, a minute later I get another call back from her and she tells me that the car is smoking from the front, I tell her it probably is overheating and to stay in the car (we hang up). She calls me one more time about half a minute after and tells me more smoke is coming out and tells me is black smoke, I tell her that black smoke means something is on fire, as im telling her this she tells me that smoke is now coming from the ac vents, that's when I tell her to get out and take the baby and to call 911. I tell her im on my way and we hang up. 2 minutes later she tells me it caught fire and the fire department is on the way. The fire department put the fire out but the car is not totaled at the bodyshop, the car was all burned from the front doors all the way to the front bumper.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #10

Nov 102007

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the vehicle had been in and out of the shop five different times. She requested Nissan give her another vehicle because of all the failures she experienced. The contact was informed that the failure originated through the dashboard. The vehicle completely lost power twice on the highway. There were no warning lights present before the failure occurred. Nissan never responded to the contact's calls. The purchase date and powertrain were unknown. The current mileage was 10,057 and failure mileage was 2,000.

- Harvey, LA, USA

problem #9

Aug 262007

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Altima. When the vehicle was started with the electric button, the contact heard a very loud noise coming from the engine compartment. The failure was previously repaired twice; however, it still occurred. She also stated that an extensive amount of heat was coming from the vent near the accelerator pedal while the heating system was not activated. The powertrain and failure mileage were unknown. The current mileage was 11,000.

- Salinas, CA, USA

problem #8

May 152007

Altima 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,500 miles
Engine coolant air intake filter caught a smoker cigarette while driving and started to smoke the best thing for the air filter intake is to install a screen metal mesh to protect the filter from any debri from matches, cigarette, cigars and the famous one black males from young drivers that use it to insert marijuana in them to conceal from law enforcement.

- Newark, NJ, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?