Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
8 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,862 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Nissan Altima seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Nissan Altima Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #34

Apr 052016

Altima

  • 71,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Altima. When the contact started the vehicle, the front passenger side air bag warning indicator illuminated continuously. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the air bag sensor needed to be reset. The sensor was reset, but the failure recurred after the repair. The vehicle was taken to the dealer a second time. The technician stated that the passenger side seat cushion and air bag sensor would need to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 08V521000 (air bags, electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 71,300.

- Northeidge, CA, USA

problem #33

Apr 152009

Altima

  • 32 miles
The engine sometime stall and rav high when turning corner

- Gwynn Oak, MD, USA

problem #32

Oct 042015

Altima

  • 2,000 miles
Passenger side airbag turns off with adult in the seat. If adult moves around the warning light goes out but returns within minutes. Although Nissan is fully aware of this problem with a variety of Altima model years they ignore my safety complaint. The factory says see the dealership service. If the service dept verifies the problem have them contact us. The service dept says call the factory. Service dept says inspection is my responsibility and could cost $200 or more. This seems to happen when the vehicle is in motion but I have not monitored it when parked. Cannot 100% say it is only when in motion.

- London, OH, USA

problem #31

Oct 252015

Altima

  • 91,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Sunday 10\25\15 my daughter was driving on 118 in ventura county at 5am. A large animal ran in front of the car, she swerved and hit some construction sign/sandbags. She lost control spun across road, may have flipped and ended up in a deep ditch. All airbags deployed but the front passenger side. This air bag has had sensor problems before and was replaced during a recall because I insisted. I was told it was fixed, the young lady who received a concussion yesterday doesn't agree. The car was totalled and all other airbags deployed but the one that had issues?

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #30

Nov 032014

Altima

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the passenger side air bag failed to turn on when an adult over 90 lbs. Occupied the seat. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact was made aware that the VIN was not associated to NHTSA campaign number: 08V521000 (air bags, electrical system). The failure mileage was 140,000.

- Pico Rivera , CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #29

Aug 302010

Altima

  • 69,421 miles
In 01/12, we specifically purchased this pre-owned vehicle for its low mileage & new cvt transm replaced on 8/30/2010 at 69,421 mi at Nissan fort worth, tx. Vehicle had 92.069 mi. On 6/22-25/13, trophy Nissan in mesquite, tx supposedly replaced the burnt up cvt transm with a new one again, flushed out lines at 105,022 mi [after only 35,601 mi]; also performed electronic fuel injection service, clean throttle chamber, decarbon upper engine area; replaced & reprogrammed intelligent keys. I paid pay $398.48 for air intake cleaner, intake kit, basic inj flush and replacing drive belts & fan. I really didn't understand what that had to do with replacing the automatic cvt transmission.] service advisor ignored memo from corporate office not to place intelligent keys to prevent a "no start fault error". on 7/3/13 the car refused to start due to keys being placed together. New cvt transm installed by trophy Nissan still whines, stalls, hesitates, jerks & gears not shifting right. Due to bad service, rude, nasty, unprofessional people at trophy, I took car to courtesy Nissan, richardson, tx in 7/13, service advisor, bob schille contacted trophy Nissan & refused to check cvt. On 8/10/13 at 110,856 mi, I took car to clear lake Nissan, league city, tx. Cvt was whining, jerking, stalling, hesitating, not shifting properly when test driven but yielded no diagnostic codes. On 6/28/14 - 7/1/14 at 118,531 mi, took car back to courtesy Nissan. I was lied to, car was never test driven nor cvt diagnosed. Took car back to clear lake 11/22 still cvt didn't give diagnostic codes. Went back 12/12/14, cvt gives codes for new cvt after abt 25,000 mi. Now warranty has run out! contacted Nissan usa again via phone, then email 5/18/15. Contacted by angie, Nissan usa, regional Consumer Affairs specialist, 5/28/15 refusing to repair this defective cvt tranm. No car needs 3-4 cvt transm in 8yrs!

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #28

Jan 022015

Altima

  • 145,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Altima. While the front passenger was seated in the vehicle, the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact was informed that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 08V521000 (electrical system). The failure mileage was 145,000.

- Lindenwold, NJ, USA

problem #27

Jan 142015

Altima 4-cyl

  • miles
Airbag warning light flashes continuously.

- Carson City, NV, USA

problem #26

Nov 172014

Altima

  • 92,000 miles
I have a crack separating in a perfect seem around the Nissan symbol on the steering wheel, where an airbag would deploy- from the far left, all the way to the far right. There has not been any specific incident that has caused this to occur, this issue was noticed by myself on 11/17/14. I brought my car to the tempe autonation Nissan 11/18/14 at 3 pm to meet with the service team member, [xxx]. I was explaining the crack and separating of the materials to [xxx] prior to him looking at my car.after showing him the wheel, I had stated "I just don't feel like this situation looks very safe and it's definitely not comfortable", and [xxx] replied "yeah", agreeing with my statement. [xxx] proceeded to take down my VIN and look it up in his computer.he said my car was not a part of any recalls and that if I wanted to replace the part, I would need to replace the entire steering wheel system and it would be over one thousand dollars. I asked him if he had seen this happen before, and he said "yes, I have seen this on another Altima". I explained to him how I didn't think it was safe and he said "well it will just keep tearing and it's not like the airbag is going to just eject at you. It needs impact for that to happen." I then asked him if the rip continues, if the airbag would be exposed and he said it probably would. After obviously noting I was not happy with the accountability not being taken by Nissan, a co-worker of [xxx] asked if he could also look at my car. He took a peek and said that there was not anything unsafe. It was very discomforting with the fact the service team member originally agreed that it was not safe, and then after noticing my vehicle was not covered by a recent airbag recall, and taking notice to the fact I refuse to pay for such a defect, he then claimed there was nothing unsafe about the situation. Please look into this, seems very unsafe. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Tempe, AZ, USA

problem #25

Feb 092012

Altima 4-cyl

  • 106,000 miles
Hello in February 2012 my wife and I purchased a preowned 2007 Nissan Altima from a local dealership. We love the car but the passenger seat and the passenger airbag cuts off with any size person I called the dealership and they told me it wasn't there issue being I purchased the vehicle as is so I contacted the local Nissan dealer to run the VIN to see if it was a possible recall and the only recall listed for my car was the key fob. I know this is a very dangerous safety hazard but no one will help me find a solution.

- Parkton, NC, USA

problem #24

Mar 032014

Altima

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that another vehicle crashed into the rear of his vehicle. The driver side air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The contact and the passenger sustained injuries to the back, shoulders, knee, foot and hands. Neither required medical attention. The vehicle was towed to an impound lot. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was a 130,000.

- Hampton, FL, USA

problem #23

Mar 232014

Altima

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45, the contact crashed into another vehicle head-on and the air bags did not deploy. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The mechanic stated that the bumper needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000. The VIN was not available.

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #22

Jan 282011

Altima 6-cyl

  • miles
2007 Nissan Altima. Consumer writes in regards to passenger air bag sensor warning light issues. The consumer stated he took the vehicle to the dealer, for a scheduled service visit, as well as for a blinking passenger air bag light. The dealer informed the consumer, the seat cushion needed to be replaced and it would cost $ $1693.55. The consumer declined the replacement. Through research, the consumer discovered his make, model and year was subject to a recall campaign on November 8, 2008. However, he was not notified of the recall campaign bulletin. Nissan North America, informed the consumer his vehicle identification number, did not fall within the range of the affected vehicles. The consumer referenced recall # 08V521000.

- Cambridge, WI, USA

problem #21

Jul 112014

Altima

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph, the vehicle crashed into another vehicle and the driver's side airbag did not deploy. There were no injuries. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to an independent mechanic. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was unavailable.

- Merced, CA, USA

problem #20

Jan 012008

Altima

  • 100 miles
Regarding the current (2013-2014) Nissan recall due to airbag defect: We traded in our 2007 Altima for a 2014 model. The 2007 model appeared to have the same airbag defect being described in the current recall. During our ownership of the 2007 model, the passenger seat airbag sensor malfunctioned about 80% of the time--it would mistakenly indicate that no one was in the seat whether the adult sitting there was small or heavy. This occurred with an adult sitting in a normal, upright, centered position. The same thing is happening with our new car.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #19

Nov 162009

Altima 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Altima. The contact stated while driving at no particular speed the passenger air bag light illuminated. The failure occurred sporadically. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who could not duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 71,000...updated 04-29-14 the consumer stated the air bag illuminated at various times, throughout the years. Updated 05/15/14

- Maricopa, AZ, USA

problem #18

Dec 032012

Altima 6-cyl

  • miles
2007 Nissan Altima 3.5 SE. Consumer writes in regards to passenger seat problems in vehicle. The cosumer stated anyone who sat in the passenger seat, the air bag sensor did not recognize the seat was occupired. The warning read, np passenger in the seat. The consumer stated there was a recall on the exact problem. However, his vehicle identification number was not included.

- Royal Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #17

Aug 232012

Altima

  • 76,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that while attempting to park the vehicle suddenly accelerated forward. The vehicle jumped a curve and hit a tree. The air bag failed to deploy. The contact sustained chest injuries do to the crash. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer manufatcurer was made aware of the failure who decided to send out an engineer to inspect the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 76,000 and the current mileage was 76,141.

- Golf Breeze, FL, USA

problem #16

Sep 282012

Altima

  • 93,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that while traveling 45 mph, he crashed into another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy upon impact. The driver sustained back, shoulder, wrist, and neck injuries. The vehicle was towed to a private mechanic where the failure could not be replicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure and current mileages were 93,000.

- St George, UT, USA

problem #15

Sep 272011

Altima

  • miles
I [xxx] was a passenger in the passenger front seat during a serious car crash the air bag never deployed which cause me to have plastic surgery on my left part of my head. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Lauderhill, FL, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?