Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
60,596 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Nissan Altima electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Nissan Altima Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #47

Nov 032014

Altima 4-cyl

  • miles


Not so much one specific incident but a few over a couple of months. First and most importantly the seat moves side to side and seems to be off track. The internet mentions many instances of seat problems and I don't understand how a car seat can be a problem, I've owned many cars and know many folks who owned many cars and never ever heard of a seat being a problem ever. But I'm going to be charged $89.95 to "diagnose" a seat problem that apparently if isn't affected by the tech bulletin could pay upwards of $1500 for a car seat. 2nd issue is my rear door locks stopped working. First it was the driver side back door and the lock stopped responding to the key fob and internal lock button. Week and a half later the passenger back door locks stopped working. Looking up this on the internet it's a common problem for Nissan's. the dealer conveniently is going to charge me two (2) diagnostic charges of $89.95 to determine what the problem is with the door locks (again not 1 charge for both but two separate charges). The internet says actuators which I'll update later after this week if that's the issue. I'd think the NHTSA should investigate these two claims for a potential recall to save consumers from be fleeced for what appear to be consistent issues that aren't wear and tear issues and appear to be defects.

- Elsmere, DE, USA

problem #46

Dec 202014


  • 123,000 miles
Went to a smoke shop went back out and my car wouldn't start.. my key yellow logo on dash is on so I'm positive it steering lock seen a lot of complaints about this and this should be recalled!!!!

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #45

Oct 202014


  • 108,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the ignition switch failed to start the vehicle. The failure occurred on several occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 108,000.

- Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #44

Nov 212014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 50,001 miles


Car will not start even though there is power. This is the fifth time this has happened. Dealer has replaced battery. Problem occurred 1 month later. Brake switch appears to be the problem. Have been able to start after "playing" with the brake switch. Dealer replaced switch but the car wont start again 5 weeks later.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #43

Dec 152010

Altima 4-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
As I got off the interstate (driving 60 mph) then reduced my speed to 20 when I tried to accelerate it wouldn't go!! it would not accelerate and my RPM would climb up to 4 or 5! I had to drive all the way back home on interstate driving 20 mpg!!! it's happened only when I travel long distances!! I am highly dissatisfied with the Altima! everyone I encountered about the 2006-2008 Altima regrets getting one.

- Hammond, LA, USA

problem #42

Aug 052014


  • 70,000 miles
I parked my 2008 Nissan Altima 3.5se at my door took groceries inside and went back to park my car, and it would not start I could go thru the different modes of the push button start but the car would not start. I get it towed to Nissan and the tell me my electronic steering column lock has gone bad they also tell me they have a recall on the same part on the 2009 models. Price tag to fix the E.S.C.L $800 this is so unfair I believe the 08 models Altima should be added to the already ineffect recall for the same exact part.

- College Park, GA, USA

problem #41

Jun 232014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 110,000 miles


Regarding 2008 Nissan Altima: The air conditioning evaporator drain hose is poorly engineered leading to water draining back into the vehicle as opposed to outside of the vehicle. The water will pool in the back seat passenger side and continue to collect water until it moves forward toward the front seat passenger side. Without correcting this defect the water will lead to mold/fungus growth, rotted carpet, rusted floor wells, and potentially electrical damage as there is a main electrical wire that runs along the passenger side floor that parallels the evaporator drain hose.

- Selinsgrove, PA, USA

problem #40

Mar 032012

Altima 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
TL the contact owns a 2008 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the dashboard in the vehicle was deteriorating. The dashboard was melting into other components in the vehicle and created a foul odor. In addition, the air conditioning was inoperable. The dealer stated that the dashboard and evaporator needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was unknown. Jcc updated 09/05/14 updated 09/10/2014 updated 9/8/14 updated 09/12/2014 updated 1/7/2014

- Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

problem #39

Apr 152014

Altima 4-cyl

  • miles
The passenger side vehicle airbag light went to the off position and the air bag light on the dashboard began to flash. The dealer stated the seat cushion on the passenger seat needed to be replaced. When I contacted Nissan they stated there was never a recall in my specific VIN; though there was a recall for the exact same problem for my model and year vehicle in 2008. They stated they would pay 40% of the cost to replace seat cushion; which would run upwards of $800. I asked if it as just a coincidence that the airbag is now inoperable and they stated yes it was. The NHTSA recall campaign was 08V521000. The recall specifies that the passenger seat cushion may have been manufactured out of specification. Thank you for your time...

- Nampa, ID, USA

problem #38

Mar 292014

Altima 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
There was a public announcement of a recall in March, 2014 related to the reliability of gauges on the passenger side of the front seat, that tell the person, as well as the mechanical system, that the passenger front seat airbag is "now engaged" and ready to activate in the event of an accident/emergency.. following the announcement I took my 2008 Altima to the dealer to ensure I was part of the recall. The dealer is at 3275 sw 8th street, ,miami, , Florida. And is called autonation Nissan. The service agent total me, after cursory research in his data base, that while many, many Nissan were recalled in my model year and in my car group, mine was not included. The selection process for inclusion went by supplier, and not just by type of car and model year. To ascertain if my car had a faulty air bag on the passenger side of the front seat, I would therefore have to pay a $150 upfront diagnostic fee, and, if damage was noted, I would need to pay for repairs myself, as my car did not have the affected parts which were provided by only select suppliers. There is a problem. I have noted for some time that when a passenger is seated in the front, right side, seat, a beacon light in a small square box on the dash board flashes on and clearly states: "pass. Off - air bag (X) psg.. 2" the reference from the light leaves one with the impression the air bag, for the passenger is not activated. During a drive, no set time period noted, the light will go off for a while, and later, come back on again. I am convinced that at some certain points the system is trying to tell me it is not activated.. of all the cars involved in the Nissan recall, how could it possibly be that mine is excluded"?" please, please try to get this corrected.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #37

May 122014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 92,000 miles


I was driving on hwy 610 in houston, Texas when the vehicle engine shut off and caught fire. I had gone to the dealership several times initially for a start up key issue, then tires, hub cap, and then the engine shut off on the hwy January 25th 2014, the warranty company noted that there were underlying issues with the vehicle when it was first sold, made a proposal to the dealership, and dealership eventually placed an engine I was told later by a younger gentleman named [xxx] that is was a sued engine. I had taken it home, and next day had issues again. Took it in to get spark plugs changed, but the end result was fire on the hwy way May 12, 2014. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Kingwood, TX, USA

problem #36

Apr 052014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 146,311 miles
Had the oil changed at dealership. Upon driving back home the car would not start. I received the yellow key light on the dash and could not depress the brake pedal or start the car. I attempted to put in a new battery to the intelligent key and also jumpstart the vehicle. Still would not start. Nothing warns you of this issue and glad that I was not driving the vehicle when this happened or part failed. On the following date the vehicle was towed to the local dealership. On Monday the 7th the car was diagnosed with the electric steering lock assembly failure. Same day I contacted Nissan Consumer Affairs to find out there were no recalls nor would they offer any assistance or recall this part as they have on other similar models.

- Stafford, VA, USA

problem #35

Oct 162013


  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the body control module caused all of the electrical components in the vehicle to malfunction. In addition, the TPMS warning light was illuminated. The contact took the vehicle to a tire dealer where the TPMS was replaced. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign I.D. number 07V599000 (electrical system) and called the manufacturer. The manufacturer stated that the VIN was not included in the recall. The failure mileage was 92,000.

- Denver , CO, USA

problem #34

Dec 172013


  • 105,000 miles
The switch that allows the car to start and lights the brake lights is sticking, this is a common problem that Nissan is aware of. The car not starting is annoying, if the switch sticks after the car is started then the brake lights will fail to illuminate, that is dangerous. The car fails to start with regularity, if the switch is manipulated it starts, I do not know if the break lights are failing but I assume this is occurring. These cars should be recalled for replacement of these switches.

- Mullica Hill, NJ, USA

problem #33

Jul 012013

Altima 4-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
My 2008 Nissan Altima was failing to start. Push button ignition would allow the power to turn on, the lights on the dashboard, radio, fans/cooling/heating, etc. However, the engine could not turn on. I would regularly find that this would be an intermittent behavior. Sometimes the vehicle would start on the first try - other times it would take 20, 30, 40 attempts (and lots of frustration) to start finally. I attempted to have the dealer review this and they told me that they couldn't duplicate the experience. Finally, after another bout with the car failing to start, I took it into the dealer and they recommended that I should replace the brake-stop-lamp-switch, for a total cost of about $450. While this was the dealer's recommendation, they would not guarantee that this was, in fact, the source of the problem. Great, I thought: Let's make an expensive repair that we're unsure is really the problem! the dealer told me that they're replacing these switches very often: This is a recurring problem with the '08 Altima (and, they hinted, other Nissan models) and they keep the part stocked all the time. I don't understand why an integral part of the ignition system dies at 55K miles. I did call Nissan Consumer Affairs and was told that since there was no official recall notice issued by the NHTSA, that they were not obligated to recall the unit and would not reimburse me for the cost of the repair. Since my car was out of warranty, they didn't feel inclined to do anything about it. Very frustrated about their unwillingness to recognize an issue when their dealers see this as a major problem. Not happy with both the decision by Nissan Consumer Affairs to sweep this under the rug and pretend that this is a minor problem.

- Midlothian, OH, USA

problem #32

Aug 192013

Altima 4-cyl

  • 83,000 miles
My car starting having problems was intermittent...but would start with a jump (most of the time), so I thought it was the battery and had it replaced. But the problem persisted. I took it to the dealer on 9/17 and the computer diagnosis was the electric steering column lock. Upon further research, I found that all 2009 models had the warranty for this part extended to 6 years/unlimited mileage, whichever comes first...but only the 2009 models. I also noticed during my research that many instances of this same part occurring on 2008 models as well. When I contacted Nissan Consumer Affairs, they said that they could not help me as my car was not included in the extended warranty. I want to know why only the 2009 models are included? the Nissan technician who worked on my vehicle said that the part is the same from 2007-2009...and in his opinion, all should be included. I would like to have this researched further to have additional model years included in the warranty extension.

- Goffstown, NH, USA

problem #31

Jun 082013


  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Nissan Altima. The contact stated that the intelligent key would not unlock the doors for a considerable amount of time. After the doors were unlocked, the contact attempted to start the vehicle but the no key warning light illuminated. The contact then changed the batteries in the key fob but the failure recurred. The vehicle had not been repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The failure and current mileage was 35,000.

- Burlington , MA, USA

problem #30

Jun 292013

Altima 4-cyl

  • 103,000 miles
On several occasions I have tried to start the car but the brake resists being pressed in. I press the push to start button but the car does not start, only the dashboard lights and radio come on (as though I am not pushing the break in). I took my car to the dealership and they said I needed to replace my brake switch and harness for the low, low price of $500. The problem is intermittent so they cannot guarantee that it will fix the problem. This needs to be addressed by Nissan immediately, as I see all over the web that everyone with a 2007 or 2008 Altima is having this problem. What are recalls for except for precisely this type of issue??

- Boston, MA, USA

problem #29

Jun 302013

Altima 4-cyl

  • miles
Intelligent key system light is on and car will not start. Brake will not fully press and engine does not respond when button is pushed. All dash lights/indicators come on, as well as lights and radio. It has come to my attention that this is a common occurrence in Nissan Altima regardless of the year model.

- Midland City, AL, USA

problem #28

Jul 012013

Altima 4-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
Power door locks malfunctioning on 3 of the 4 doors. Depending on day, sometimes one or more locks will not lock when using key fob or when using power lock button on driver door. At other times, one or more locks will not open when using key fob or when using power lock button on driver door. I am fearful that after a crash I will try to unlock doors to no avail. I have also found my doors unlocked when returning to my vehicle, even after hitting the lock button when exiting the vehicle. I am fearful that a car thief or murderer may have access to my vehicle because of this issue. Additionally, I have tried to access my vehicle quickly in dangerous neighborhoods, but I've had to try multiple times to unlock the doors.

- Blue Bell, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?