Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
27,897 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Nissan Altima brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Nissan Altima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Nissan Altima Owner Comments

problem #12

Apr 302016


  • 24,000 miles


When I am driving... using the accelerator... and go to brake... my foot goes between the brake and accelerator and hits the floor instead of braking. This is dangerous.. the brake pedal and accelerator pedal are too far apart. It happens anywhere on street...or highway.

- Monroe, NC, USA

problem #11

Feb 212016


  • 105,000 miles
I was driving in the rain on 2-21-16 approaching a traffic light. The car accelerated when brake was applied, resulting in a 25 mph collision. Airbags did not deploy. I was bruised but did not require medical attention. I was cited for running the light. I am now afraid to drive the car.

- Snyder, TX, USA

problem #10

Sep 302015


  • 48,300 miles
Brought a car from carmax brandywine md 2 weeks ago the cars breake pedal has a loud squeek and rubbing sensation when trying to brake it seems like it isnt catching took it back to carmax on 10/7/2015 they still have my car its 10/14/2015 I have read its a known fact that these cars have this problem witch could result in a accident if malfunction happens.

- Oxonhill, MD, USA

problem #9

Jan 242015

Altima 4-cyl

  • 22,365 miles


Engine quit while driving, brakes failed, steering locked up a deadly situation. Dealer claims it was due to a loose battery cable. If so a loose battery cable could kill you or others.

- Newton, MA, USA

problem #8

Oct 082014

Altima 4-cyl

  • 35,528 miles
Brake failure due to 4 seized brake calipers. My wife was unable to stop completely at a busy intersection entering oncoming traffic lanes. No cars were present or she would have been hit, but very scary for my wife. All four rotors showed only a thin stripe of pad contact down the middle of the rotor. Took car to dealership was told this was normal and not covered under the warranty due to corrosion of there calipers. Car had been in there repair shop 7 months earlier. Rotor deglazing was recommended but nothing was said about the brakes calipers seizing and brake failure. Deglazing of rotors would have been at my expense and I felt this was the dealerships responsibility if there was a safety issue. Being unaware of the severity of this "common" problem I elected to pass. Never did anybody state that this could lead to total brake failure and was anything but deglazing of the rotors, a dealer add on expense. Spoke to my local mechanic and he thought it was unnecessary. I had to replace all for rotors and pads, they cleaned up the calipers and said they should be fine. How will I know if they are fine or not" must I have brake failure again to find out they were wrong? I do not trust the brakes on this vehicle, they should not seize up on a 2 1/2 yr old car that's kept in a heated garage daily. They stated it was because of my location, upstate New York, and they could not guarantee the brakes system in such a harsh environment. I have never heard of brakes rusting and seizing before on any vehicle this new with such few miles. The manufacturer uses inferior materials to build its parts and its the consumers responsibility to be aware of this? I had no idea that there brake calipers seizing due to driving in the winter was a "common" safety issue. How can this be my responsibility to know that they have a problem with there braking system"

- Lake Placid, NY, USA

problem #7

Mar 102014


  • 36,222 miles
Pushed brake to start stopping, brakes shuttered. Let up on brake, then reapplied and it shuttered again. This continued. Checked brake fluid, it was down slightly, put in to fill. Problem better but still exists, now air compressor gone.. this car was bought in Oct 2012 what a lemon. Thank goodness it is a lease. Noise under car since day bought. At 30 mph it sounds like something hits something under there. Dealer says, just nature of car. I do not buy that explanation.

- Auburndale, FL, USA

problem #6

May 202014


  • 50,000 miles


When applying brake at low speeds (10-30 mph) the brake grabbed and threw occupants forward. On one occasion the wheels froze with brake pedal only 20% depressed. The problem is intermittent but repeatable. Dealer claims it is caused by defective brake power booster. Very dangerous failure mode. Not covered by warranty.

- Loveland, CO, USA

problem #5

Dec 312012

Altima 4-cyl

  • 4,000 miles
Purchased my new Altima S2.5 convience pkg plus 1st of Aug 2012. I bought new car to be safe this was my 3rd Altima. Mon. Dec 31, 2012 @ 11;15 a.M. I made right turn into home driveway. My driveway is steep house sits down was proceeding forward down driveway to enter garage. I had brakes no warnings or indicators anything was wrong. Top of drive had brakes on, then let off little to allow car to go forward. As I eased off liitle on brakes down car started to accelerate to fast so tried to apply pressure to brakes and went to floor, started pumping brakes and nothing car would not slow down to avoid going through garage door or side of house veered to right steering was little tight all could think was keep pumping brakes! car went off embankment airborne landed on neighbors driveway empact shook me. Car is proceeding through their backyard still pumping brakes no results I see huge tree headed for frantic to stop car next I know I am dased airbag deployed car is on drivers side up aganist tree see smoke coming out front. Ema had be pulled out backseat through passenger side. Car went off 6' striaght retaining wall tires pulled cinder blocks down kept me from head on tree. My brakes failed person towed my car while incline said had no brakes, but body shop said have brakes they're not going total car or check master cylinder $13,000 damage it can be repaired, but can't drive this car it is not safe for me. My brakes failed. I bought new 2012 Altima my 3rd one, car 4 mos. Old 4,000 miles this shouldn't happen. Learned recall sent out 2012-2013 power steering bolts. I had go by ambulance to er I have been hurt. Nissan making me gather info send to investigate if defect. Taken so long ins gives rental car 25 days Nissan won't provide one until through investigating for defect which hasn't statred. My car is not safe and I have prove to them. Your car should not hurt you!

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #4

Aug 012012

Altima 4-cyl

  • miles
Maybe a week after purchasing a 2012 Nissan Altima on July 25, 2012, I heard squeaking sounds when braking. I returned to the dealership and was given a letter from the mechanic stating that it is normal for the brakes to squeak occasionally because the brakes a not made with the same materials used in the past. On Oct 29, 2012, I returned to the dealership because the noise increased when stopping and I started to hear scrubbing when stopping. The mechanic checked my car for the 2nd time and only replaced brake padding in the front and shaved one rotor. Now on Nov.14, 2012, the noise is continuing and the scrubbing sound is still there. I think the manufacturer should pay to replace my brakes and rotors because the was car new when I left the dealership and I should not have this problem. It sounds dangerous and every time I drive my car I am afraid it my not stop when I brake to stop.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #3

Aug 052012


  • 7,400 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Nissan Altima. While parked, the contact depressed the brake pedal to place the vehicle in drive. The brake pedal dropped down to the floorboard. The brake warning light also illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for a diagnostic test. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 7,400.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #2

Jul 162012


  • 1,550 miles
The pedals are positioned too close together. My husband complained of this a few weeks ago when he drove my car because his shoe got caught on the brake pedal as he was lifting his foot off the gas pedal. Then, yesterday, the same thing happened to me. I nearly drove my car through the front of the daycare where I was dropping off my son. I am now aware of how extra-cautious I have to be when driving my car so this doesn't happen again. This has never happened to me with any other car. I've been driving for 25 years!

- Lafayette, LA, USA

problem #1

Jun 182012

Altima 4-cyl

  • 400 miles
My brake pedal is too close to the gas pedal. I have to be very careful when driving. I have hit both pedals several times now. This needs to be fixed asap!!!

- Woodstock, GA, USA

Not what you are looking for?