Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2005-2007 Pathfinder appears to have a widespread defect where coolant leaks into the transmission, causing transmission failure around 90,000 miles. Repair costs are typically upwards of $3,500.

According to the New York Times & a class action lawsuit, the defect actually extends through 2010 model year. More info here.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
108,676 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Nissan Pathfinder engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Nissan Pathfinder:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Nissan Pathfinder Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Dec 102015


  • 155,000 miles


The transsmision don't change correctly

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #21

Dec 212015


  • 155,000 miles
1) about 2 years ago the cruse control stopped working. Have not repaired this problem. 2) in July 2015 the air bag warning light on the instrument panel started flashing. Have not repaired this problem. 3) on Dec 21, 2005 after pulling out of my drive way the transmission would not advance to the next higher gear. Stopped and put it into reverse but the SUV would not go backwards. Slowly drove it around the block back home. Transmission shop reported that coolant leaked into the PCM compartment causing this problem. Repairs have been made, cost was 3645 us dollars.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #20

Jul 082015


  • 141,302 miles
Radiator coolant leaked into transmission causing permanent transmission failure.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #19

Apr 042015

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 83,000 miles


I am writing to inform you of an intermittent brake failure/ un-commanded vehicle acceleration problem with the 2007 Nissan Pathfinder. On April 4, 2015 I brought my 2007 Nissan Pathfinder to the Nissan austin northtown dealership (austin, tx) for scheduled maintenance, which included servicing/replacement of my brakes, pads, and fluids. In the three weeks since this service was completed I have encountered several brake failures in which: (1) the brakes failed to hold pressure resulting in the vehicle accelerating forward from a stop several feet, (2) the vehicle accelerated when applying brake pressure when attempting to slow the vehicle to a stop, (3) the brakes failed to act upon attempting to stop the vehicle from moving forward. These events have been intermittent and have occurred on the following dates: 04 Apr 2015 SUV exhibited un-commanded acceleration while holding brake at stop light 05 Apr 2015 SUV exhibited un-commanded acceleration while holding brake at stop light 08 Apr 2015 SUV exhibited un-commanded acceleration while holding brake at stop light 12 Apr 2015 SUV exhibited un-commanded acceleration while braking to a stop 13 Apr 2015 SUV brought to North town Nissan, mechanics unable to replicate event while Nissan mechanics have assured me that the events were coincidental, upon further investigation, I have learned that a customer experienced a similar event February 7, 2009, and has since filed a complaint with the national highway transportation safety board. I would greatly appreciate if you could further investigate this matter and contact me at your earliest convenience. I have been fortunate to have avoided several close accidents during which case my family was on board the vehicle. Myself, my family, or countless other lives may not be as fortunate if this matter is not promptly researched and resolved.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #18

Jan 052015


  • 182,100 miles
Heavy vibration while shifting heavy vibration while accelerating shuddering noises I am fearful that my car will die while I am driving down the street.

- Liberty, TX, USA

problem #17

Feb 142014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
I always take my car in for service at glendale Nissan and so last year in July of 2013 I asked were there any recall on my car I was told no. So in Feb of this year2014 I started experiencing some problems with me heat inside the car. They checked it and told me my transmission fluid was mixing with my coolant and I needed to replace both and its gonna cost me $5600. I asked was there a recall on this and I was told yes and my car wasn't covered because of the mileage. I instantly got upset because I always take my car in for service to this dealership. I was told I could try to replacing the radiator and drain the transmission but that was no guarantee how long the car would work. I did just my car is staying idle while driving and it wont idle down for a period of time. I tried calling the 1800nissan1 number and explain my problem and they told me they can't help me and nothing they could do. This is so wrong! I've spent so much money at this dealership its ridiculous. Ive replaced my computer, belts, hoses, spark plugs, oil changes, drain my transmission much I cant even remember everything. If they know that this is happening to these cars and put out a recall for this how can they get away with this! im a single parent of 5 children there's no way I can afford this!! and this is my only car I have for transportation!! this is just plain wrong! they shouldn't be allowed to get away with this!

- Carol Stream, IL, USA

problem #16

Dec 212013


  • 134,800 miles


My car started to rattle and lose power at 45 mph. I drove it home and tried to reverse it in with no luck. I immediately knew I had a transmission issue. I parked the car for two days and took it to the dealer who later informed me that my radiator coolant fluid had mixed with my transmission fluid and destroyed my entire car. They quoted me between 7000-9000 to fix the car. I contacted Nissan who informed me that there is nothing they can do because they extended the warranty twice to up to 100,000 miles. I find this ironic since after extensive research the issue usually occurs after 100,000 miles. Nissan has know about this problem for 7 years and has chosen to ignore the issue and not issue a recall. Now the consumers have to foot the bill.

- North Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #15

Feb 242014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 99,000 miles
At 99000 miles truck failed to take off then all of sudden took off then going down the highway the truck wouldn't accelerate. During a road trip which caused a 3 day delay and 3000 dollars in repair. Now fast forward to 111,975 miles and was going up hill at light and truck started rolling backwards and sputtering, took it to Nissan dealership stated that coolant in transmission repair cost 7246 and still owe 9200 on truck.

- Kapolei, HI, USA

problem #14

Dec 022013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 114,740 miles
I was driving on the freeway and as the freeway was coming to its end where you have an option to go on another freeway or into the city area, my car completely died and all of the lights on the dashboard lit up. I was trying to roll and steer myself into a safe area so that cars would not come crashing into me from behind as it was at night @ 7:30 pm. After waiting a minute, I started it back up and the vdc and check engine light came on. It was drivable but somewhat jerky and stalled once again on my way back home. I tried to get the car home safely so I can have aaa tow it to the nearest shop near my home if needed. I was able to get home and then took it to a shop where both cam shaft sensors were replaced for $500. Car drove better but then started shaking at 40 mph or 60 mph unless I put it in overdrive or let off the gas and tried again. Driving in overdrive helped. My mechanic was unable to diagnose the issue so I then found another shop that was full-service where they did a full diagnostic. I received the call about 5 hours after drop-off where he explained to me that this is a common issue with my vehicle and year and that there is a defect in the radiator which allows coolant to mix with transmission fluid and ultimately destroy the transmission. He also recommended as a fix that I get a whole new transmission, radiator and hoses and that the transmission that would go in it would be a newer model Nissan Pathfinder transmission where they have changed/corrected the design and wouldn't incur this issue again. He stated it's a matter of time before the vehicle completely stops running and that I was one of the lucky ones that it still does run. As I have just paid this car off a few months earlier, the new costs incurred to fix the problem correctly, would run me anywhere from $5,600-$7,500. My vehicle's value is $8,000 according to

- Encinitas, CA, USA

problem #13

Jan 102014

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
I request that the dot NHTSA investigate manufacturer defects in 2007 Nissan Pathfinders cooling system and transmission as unexpected failure relates to driver safety. My 2007 Pathfinder with 90,000 miles caused a major collision with a deer as the transmission began to fail. Driving home, at around 40mph, up a hill (engine under load @ 2,200-2,500 RPM) the whole car began suddenly to "shudder"- similar to the feeling/ sound of riding over highway rumble strips. This resulted in a loss of control over the speed of the vehicle and a noticeable distraction leaving me unprepared as a large buck ran out from the tree line attempting to cross the road- the buck did not make it across. As I have found in my research afterwards, there is a widely known manufacturer defect in which engine coolant mixes with transmission fluid. The resulting "goop" shreds the internal parts of the transmission rendering it (along with the radiator and components) completely useless. These vehicles are unsafe for the roadways as this problem occurs suddenly and unexpectedly without warning. I consider myself lucky for being alive- now, but since Nissan nor any other organization is willing to recall or replace this vehicle/ affected parts, I am stuck, forced to drive on the road being a hazard to others and myself.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #12

Jan 202014


  • 111,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact stated that after shifting into drive, the vehicle accelerated without the accelerator pedal being depressed. The vehicle did not stop despite the contact applying both the brake pedal and emergency brake, and the vehicle crashed into a parked vehicle. The contact was not injured and a police report was not filed. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where the contact was awaiting a diagnosis of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the incident. The approximate failure mileage was 111,000.

- Roseville, NC, USA

problem #11

Jul 052013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 107,000 miles
Note: Affected parts are transmission and radiator (not sure what category those fall in) I purchased a 2007 Nissan Pathfinder from a Nissan dealership less than 3 months ago. Immediately after purchasing I noticed what seemed to be a minor lack of power or cutting out when coasting downhill. I mentioned it to my sales rep, and again when I had to take the vehicle back to the shop on two separate occasions for a tire pressure gauge and rear door handle problem. I had never owned a 4WD before and it was dismissed as no big deal since it still drove okay. Then last week, over labor day weekend, my car overheated and immediately discharged a grey milky substance from the radiator without warning. It had not overheated prior to this. I had my car towed to the dealership. They informed me that both the transmission and the radiator need replacing to the tune of $6,600. The cause being the radiator fluid leaking into the transmission. This repair is over half the value of the car. I never would have purchased the vehicle had I known about the defect. At a minimum I would have insisted it be covered by warranty. I paid full retail price for the car not knowing of this defect. While I'm grateful no one was injured by this defect this time, I have no means to pay the repair costs and owe $13,000 to the bank for a vehicle I cannot drive or resell.

- St. Charles, MO, USA

problem #10

Jul 062013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
Car loses power, shutters, has high RPM without acceleration, skips gears, stalls. Had radiator replaced ($1,200), but didn't solve the problem. Was told a new transmission is needed due to coolant mixing with transmission fluid and damaging transmission and components ($4,500).

- Trumbull, CT, USA

problem #9

Jun 162013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 100,300 miles
Transmission failed due to faulty radiator in our 2007 Nissan Pathfinder. Our 17 year old son was driving on a very busy interstate late Sunday June 16th, 2013. The car's transmission failed suddenly with no known notice. Luckily he was able to steer of the side of the road until assistance could come. This is an issue that Nissan is definitely aware of. They will not recall these radiators while fully knowing that the transmission of all 2005 through 2010 Pathfinders will eventually fail leaving their consumers at a safety risk. The replacement of all radiators and transmissions are only covered up to 80,000 miles or 8 years, whichever comes first. After that, the consumer is on the hook for repairs. Please help to have these radiators recalled!

- Hockessin, DE, USA

problem #8

Mar 042013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 150,500 miles
My wife was driving home from picking up our children from school. She was traveling approx 65 mph when the vehicle lost power, became unstable, and would not accelerate. She said that it was like someone put on the emergency brake with five times more. Force than normal almost causing her to loose control of the vehicle. Upon taking the vehicle to a repair shop the problem was found to be that coolant had leaked into the transmission and had destroyed the transmission computer and the transmission.

- Gallion, AL, USA

problem #7

Jan 212013


  • 66,120 miles
The issue is with a 2007 Pathfinder. While applying the brakes, the engine starts to race and there is a sudden acceleration. Twice I have incurred substantial damage to the front end of the vehicle. If a stationary object had not been in the way (poles), the vehicle would have continued to plow forward. My foot was firmly on the brake pedal in both instances but the car continued forward while the engine was racing (sounded like your foot was actually on he gas pedal and purposely racing the car). My Nissan service personnel said they could not detect anything wrong with the vehicle went hey checked it the first time. The second time this happened, I got rid of the vehicle. Thankfully, nobody was injured. Happening once was enough, but twice? in certain instances, I have also noticed while at a traffic light, for example, I could feel the brake pedal moving closer to the floor like the system was losing pressure.

- Lake Jackson, TX, USA

problem #6

Dec 012011


  • 78,000 miles
Vehicle jerks violently at 50 mph and 70mph. Multiple incidents where vehicle has lost all acceleration power in freeway. Near missed accidents. Valve body is flooded and vehicle does not start anymore.

- Daly City, CA, USA

problem #5

Jul 222012


  • 133,000 miles
While driving with the ac on, my vehicle started to blast out hot air through the vents and overheat. My car has never ran hot before, I haven't had any problems since I've had it. I was able to pull over safely and let the car cool down. My husband removed the radiator cap and noticed a milky liquid in the radiator. We had to have the vehicle towed to a mechanic shop and they notified us of the recall on the Nissan (2005-2010 models) radiators. They said that it was a common problem that they have been seeing where the coolant mixes with the transmission fluids and cause a major repair problem. We have been told that the radiator, transmission, transmission kit, throttle, vial body, and torque converter will have to be replaced. I feel petrified to know that Nissan knew about this existing problem but refused to have these issues repaired rather than taking the easy way out and extending the warranty. We bought our truck brand new from the Nissan dealership and we also paid for the 5yr/100,000 mile warranty. I have had my truck for 5 yrs and 2 mths, something should have been done about this. We the consumers have trusted this brand for many years and we depend on our vehicles on a daily bases. My family and I were all in the vehicle when the incident happened we could have been seriously harmed in a high risk situation. We had the 90,000 mileage maintenance completed where they flushed the radiator, changed the transmission, & etc. And everything was fine. My husband have always taken my car in for timely maintenance and no one has ever mentioned the radiator issues.

- Duluth, GA, USA

problem #4

Dec 292011


  • miles
If you are not already aware, there have been many problems concerning this vehicle, which are almost all similar to each other. Personally I have been experiencing transmission problems which range from: Rough engine vibration at 40mph, and 60mph, thermometer spikes when accelerator is engaged at 2500+ RPM, violent jerking of car, loud engine fan, and most importantly loss of forward acceleration when actively pressing on gas pedal. I brought this to a Nissan dealer to have this diagnosed and they have confirmed that my initial worries were correct. A defect during manufacturing of this vehicle has caused radiator coolant to leak into the transmission or vice-versa causing the deterioration of both systems. This in turn correlates to engine overheating and many other problems while driving this vehicle also the housing of the timing chain is non-existent. The vehicle diagnosis and price quote for repairs nears the $10,000 mark.a price which is almost half of what I purchased the vehicle for. As of yesterday 3/17/12 my vehicle has lost acceleration power.

- Daly City, CA, USA

problem #3

Sep 012011

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
I haven't finished paying off my car and already the transmission of my Nissan Pathfinder 2007 XL is failing. The radiator spilled the cooling liquid into the transmission, which then proceeded to cause serious problems to the transmission. The guaranty expired after 100 000 miles, even though prior to that the mileage the guaranty still applied. Now, in order to fix the transmission, or replace it for a new one, will cost me over $5000usd. I'd like to unite to the existing complaints/lawsuit against Nissan on the matter of the faults found in the 2007 Nissan Pathfinder, as I feel that is unfair that the company with the knowledge of fault in its product has not warned the public and has proceeded to sell the product to the public, leaving us with a faulty machine that in the end is more expensive, and not a satisfactory product. I am hopeful that the company will response to all of our complaints, stepping forward and taking responsibility for the inconvenience they have caused, and hopefully taking ownership of the expenses that due to their lack of responsibility, have been incurred on to us, the consumers.

- Bronx, NY, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?