Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2014 has a small, but significant number of transmission complaints at low mileage. The issue is part of a class-action lawsuit that says the Pathfinder's transmission shakes violently during acceleration between 15mph and 30mph.

6.5

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,864 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Nissan Pathfinder engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Nissan Pathfinder:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Nissan Pathfinder Owner Comments

problem #11

Oct 212016

Pathfinder

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car was towed to the dealer for the 3rd transmission. The last transmission was put in 2 months ago. Car stalls, sputters, fails to accelerate.

- Antioch, TN, USA

problem #10

Apr 012016

Pathfinder

  • miles
Tamara recall complaint regarding 2014 Nissan Pathfinder transmission defects vehicle shutters and jerks while driving 20 to 30 miles. Vehicle feels like it might stop on highway while merging into on coming traffic.

- Antioch, TN, USA

problem #9

May 102016

Pathfinder

  • 25,000 miles
I purchased a 2014 Nissan Pathfinder as a new vehicle in October 2015. Since purchasing the vehicle I noticed the vehicle shuddering at low speed or when turning. This shuddering has become more frequent and now happens when the vehicle is cruising down the road. We have also noticed that the passenger airbag will show that there is no body in the seat even when there is someone sitting in the seat. The first time we took the vehicle back to the dealership the mechanic was not able to experience the issues that we had communicated to them and dismissed our claims. Will be going back to the dealership to discuss shuddering issue as it feels like the transmission is going to fall out.

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #8

Jun 052016

Pathfinder

  • 37,750 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a 2014 Nissan Pathfinder as used vehicle in September 2015. Since purchasing the vehicle my wife has complained about the vehicle shuddering at low speed or when turning. This shuddering has become more frequent and now happens when the vehicle is cruising down the road. We have also noticed that the passenger airbag will show that there is no body in the seat even when there is someone sitting in the seat. The first time we took the vehicle back to the dealership the mechanic was not able to experience the issues that we had communicated to them ad dismissed our claims. Contacting dealership 6/6 to have vehicle issues checked again.

- Tempe, AZ, USA

problem #7

Jan 152015

Pathfinder

  • miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact stated that while driving at 75 mph, the engine stalled intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Lebanon, TN, USA

problem #6

Apr 042015

Pathfinder

  • 3,356 miles
We are grandparents to 16 grandchildren. We bought our 2014 Pathfinder February 21, 2015 so we would be able to take some of grandchildren on trips with us. On April 4th, 2015 while driving on the freeway with 5 of our grandchildren the engine stopped with no warning. We almost got hit 6 different times while trying to figure out what happened and what to do. The fear that we felt for the safety of our grandchildren is describable. Something no one should have to experience especially driving a brand new vehicle. The engine ended up shutting off 2 more times that same day. We took the Pathfinder into the dealership only to be told that they did not find anything wrong.... April 11th, 2015 while driving our grandchildren out of town to a baseball game the engine shut off again...at this point we do not feel safe driving this vehicle, which is sad because it is brand new and we paid good money for it. It is back in the shop as of today, April 16th, with no answers.

- Hanford, CA, USA

problem #5

Nov 032014

Pathfinder

  • 3,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This has happened several times since I bought my brand new 2014 Nissan Pathfinder. It will shudder and you lose control of the vehicle. To begin with it started at low speeds but now it doesn't matter how fast nor how slow you are going and it has almost got me in wrecks several times in the past month.

- Newville, AL, USA

problem #4

Oct 012014

Pathfinder

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Pathfinder. While driving at approximately 55 mph, the RPM's increased. In addition, the vehicle shook and jerked without warning. The failure occurred on a daily basis. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the vehicle's main computer needed to be serviced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 15,000.

- Lockport, LA, USA

problem #3

Jan 132014

Pathfinder

  • 8,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Nissan Pathfinder. The contact stated while driving approximately 20 mph, the vehicle shook until it reached 40 mph. The contact stated that the failure was experienced multiple times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who could not duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 8,000.

- Kileen, TX, USA

problem #2

Mar 032014

Pathfinder

  • 3,000 miles
After only have the car for 3 months, brand new off of the lot, the transmission started to go. Then after getting the a brand new transmission, then the exhaust broke"?"

- Eugne, OR, USA

problem #1

Oct 122013

Pathfinder 6-cyl

  • 4,400 miles
Since 10/12/13, the vehicle has experienced violent shuddering and loss of power. When the vehicle is brought to the Nissan service department it is always unable to duplicate. We continue driving the vehicle and it gets worse. Finally after it becomes almost unable to drive Nissan admits there is a problem and replaces the cvt. We are now on our third cvt since we purchased the car on 7/22/13. We have to travel a two lane mountain highway and it has happened several times and due to losing power going uphill we have almost been hit on numerous occasions. It has also happened on the freeway. It has happened at a busy intersection and the car completely lost power and the car behind us slammed on their brakes and swerved to avoid hitting us. It has happened at speeds from 30 to 60 mph. I am gravely concerned for my family's safety, we also have a newborn and I am scared to have him in this car but I have no choice. I honestly feel that it is a matter of time before we are hit due to these issues. Nissan continues to deny this is a safety concern.

- Running Springs, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?