Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Engine And Engine Cooling Problems

2001 Pontiac Grand Am (Page 2 of 2)

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
69,811 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Pontiac Grand Am engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Pontiac Grand Am:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Pontiac Grand Am Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #12

Jun 192006

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 169,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

For the second time I am replacing the intake manifold gasket in my 2001 Pontiac Grand Am GT. My mechanic, also the place that changes my oil, as well as my GM dealer have all noted that there is a design flaw with the gasket in it's relation to the dex-cool coolant (the coolant is acidic and eats away at the gasket which leads to coolant getting into engine or oil getting into coolant). Mechanic says he sees at least one of these a week (very small town, low population, high incidence -- is related to the engine that GM used for that year and model (and others as well).. mine happens to be the 3.4 litre.

- Hoagland, IN, USA

problem #11

Jan 022006

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
: the contact stated the vehicle stalled intermittently for about seven months. There were no warning indicators before the vehicle stalled. Additionally, when the vehicle stalled it will not restart without the computer being reprogrammed. Every time the vehicle was towed to the dealer. The only thing the dealer did was reset the computer. After the vehicle was in the dealership 5 times for this problem the contact began resetting the computer. The dealer's service manager showed the contact how to reprogram the computer by turning the ignition on, allowing the security light to flash ten minutes, turn the ignition off, and restart the vehicle. The dealer identified the problem as a short in the ignition switch. The vehicle is currently at the dealer awaiting repair of the ignition. The dealer offered two options for repair, to replace the entire ignition system or jump the security system. If the security system was by passed it will no longer activate. There are two technical service bulletins (tsbs) concerning the ignition, tsbs 010849020 and 020604011. Updated 02/27/06.

- Birch Run, MI, USA

problem #10

Nov 202005

Grand Am

  • miles
I purchased a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am in February 2003. Shortly after the 45K miles I started to have problems with the dex-cool anti-freeze leaking around the intake gasket, head gasket was damaged. Also, there was extensive oil use, approximately a quart every 500 miles of driving. Despite what this might sound like, this vehicle, while in my possession has been well maintained. I have had the above problems fixed on 11-20-05 and after the mechanic was done I had put another $1465 into a car that has been nothing but problems. Now, one month after getting my car back the check engine light is on, and this is not the first time I have had to fix this problem either. I have heard from several mechanics and dealers that this is common problem with this car due to dex-cool only systems and aluminum engines that erode head- gaskets prematurely.

- Batesville, IN, USA

problem #9

Oct 312005

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Faulty intake gasket to engine from coolant. After less than 80,000 miles the intake gasket is leaking in the 2001 Pontiac Grand Am. My understanding is that this problem is not restricted to an occasional vehicle and it presents an issue of losing fluid. Not only is this a safety hazard for vehicle owners, it is an environmental hazard as well.

- Rochester Hills, MI, USA

problem #8

Mar 012004

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
Three big issues with this car: 1) the worst-I've had problems with the security system shorting three times. Each time, the car turns over but will not start. The security light flashed twice, but did not come on the third time. The first time the dealer adjusted the system (whatever that means) which was covered under warranty. The second time (two months later), my car would not start at 2am outside of a bar, so I had to have it towed. This time the whole system was replaced under my warranty. The third time (four months later) my car would not start and had to be towed. The system was again replaced, this time it was covered under a parts& labor warranty so at least I didn't have to pay anything. 2) the brakes. I had the rotors replaced because of extreme vibrating when breaking, as well as a loud squealing noise that would start after the breaks heated up. The squealing noise did not go away so I had the breaks' hardware replaced. That worked for a while. Six months later, the vibrating has come back and there is a loud grinding noise when the breaks get wet (I.e. rain). 3) coolant light comes on frequently. First, I simply replaced the coolant much more often than should be necessary. Finally, I let my dealer convince me to pay the $700 to have it fixed (I'm not sure what the problem was) a year ago. The coolant light is now coming on again, so I'm just refilling it frequently. I've only had this car 18 months. I'm in love with the look and the pickup, but it is completely unreliable. When can I get it declared a lemon? at least I still have 10K miles left on the extended warranty I purchased with it. If I can't extended it again, I will sell this unreliable car.

- Columbia, MD, USA

problem #7

Jun 132005

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,750 miles
2001 Pontiac Grand Am 6 cylinder with 31,000 miles. Engine coolant light came on. Added coolant, but light comes on 2 weeks later. Find a small leak on right side of engine at the intake manifold gasget where coolant is seeping out of the engine. Pontiac wants $800 to fix problem, Pontiac mechanic tells me this is very common for this type engine. Search around area and find someone to do it for $500. During repair I find out that coolant was leaking inside and outside the engine. Coolant was in the oil. Total repair bill is $550. This problem should have been dealt with by GM or Pontiac. A recall should be initiated on this vehicle or compensation should be made to those who were stuck with a costly repair bill on a poorly designed and defective engine.

- Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #6

Dec 312004

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The lower intake manifold gasket of the consumer's 2001 Pontiac Grand Am failed. The gaskets were replaced along with the egr, coolant bypass, occ/oxygen catalyst converter and the PCM/power control module "P" drive seal. The consumer requested information about any accidents and or deaths associated with this failure.

- Framingham, MA, USA

problem #5

Nov 072004

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,992 miles
Started seeing coolant leaking from under hood. Went to daler and they pressure tested and found nothing. A day later started leaking even more. Dealer then said head gasket faulty and he also said he has seen several times before at about the 60K mile mark. They replaced the gasket at a cost of over $800. Every shop I contacted said they know of the problem. Shouldn't this be replaced at Pontiac's expense.

- Windham, NH, USA

problem #4

Aug 302004

Grand Am 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
When consumer turned on the air conditioner vehicle stalled while driving at any speed. Vehicle was towed to dealership three times, but dealer could not reproduce or correct the problem.

- New Britain, CT, USA

problem #3

Jun 222004

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,000 miles
On my 2001 Grand Am GT1 I have replaced the intake gasket twice now. The 1st time it was in the shop for fuel gauge misreading. I never even got the "low coolant" light. That was at 51,000 miles around April 2002. The 2nd time was on 6-22-04; on 6-21-04 "low coolant light came on. Added about 1 qt mixture of dex-cool and water. Light did not come back on, but when I got to work on 6-22-04 I got out of car and noticed a line of orange fluid coming from car. I took it to the garage and $844 dollars later it was fixed again. I work 50 miles from my home and have to go through a bad neighborhood to get to work. I had to find a ride home, but was not able to find a ride to work the next day so I missed work. GM is a big company that no longer cares about their customer. They need to step up and accept liability for their error. There is a service bulletin but that does not cover the cost because it is less likely an accident will happen so the chances of them being suied is low.

- Wright Ctiy, MO, USA

problem #2

Feb 242004

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,500 miles
2001 Pontiac Grand Am GT, 44500 miles, 38 months old. Vehicle has slowly used radiator fluid for over a year, however passed all pressure tests at dealer. Engine began to make loud noises when started but quickly disappears as engine warms. Engine noise became very loud within a few days and dealer states the intake manifold gasket has a leak which has also cuased damage to values and lifters. Repair cost at $1,600 plus an additional $300 to flush engine and radiator. Systemn flush required since radiator fluid may have entered engine. Only engine problem prior to engine noise was the occassional loss of anti-freeze which did not lead dealer to problem. Engine oil is always clean with no signs of external contaminants. Dealer has stated that a lot of intake manifold gaskets are being replaced.

- Burke, VA, USA

problem #1

Jan 232004

Grand Am 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,051 miles
My car is a 2001 Pontiac Grand Am. It had 23,051 miles on it when the problem was fixed. The problem was the low coolent light went on so the intake gaskets and nec parts needed replacing. A 3 year old car with 23,000 miles needed $900 worth of repairs with no accidents on it's record.

- Womissing, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?