Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Steering: Rack And Pinion Problems

1998 Pontiac Grand Prix (Page 1 of 3)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,238 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Pontiac Grand Prix steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Pontiac Grand Prix:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Pontiac Grand Prix Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #51

Nov 092010

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 147,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1998 Pontiac Grand Prix, 147,000 miles. Signs and symptoms of steering failure are consistent with GM recall #02049 and NHTSA campaign id 02V28600. Failure of the rack and pinion steering system. Can barely turn the car left anymore due to the failure of the rack & pinion system. Several calls to GM and Pontiac ended with them saying my VIN # is not in the recall. When the car causes a crash and kills someone, I plan to sue both Pontiac and GM.

- Trussville, AL, USA

problem #50

Jul 202010

Grand Prix

  • 95,000 miles
98 Grand Prix loses power steering when turning left at low speed. This is exactly like the problem described in recall#02V286000. This car was brought in for that service recall back in 2003 at 39,000 miles. The car now has 95,000 miles and the problem is back. It would appear that the recall fix was only temporary. The cars are still potentially dangerous to drive after the recall fix has been performed. GM will not repair the car again since they claim they only have to fix it once. The problem has returned, and if it was not safe the 1st time and had to be recalled, it should be recalled again until they get it right.

- De Pere, WI, USA

problem #49

Jan 122009

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Pontiac Grand Prix. While attempting to make a left turn at 40 mph, the vehicle continued to drive forward. Upon further investigation, the contact determined that the rack and pinion was the cause of the failure. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 02V286000 (steering:rack and pinion). The contact is in the process of taking the vehicle to the dealer. There will be no compensation provided. The failure mileage was 105,000 and current mileage was 107,000. Updated 03-06-09 updated 03/09/09

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #48

Jul 012002

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1998 Pontiac Grand Prix will not turn left. Consumer states that the vehicle had some trouble and eventually escalated to not turning left at all. He states he had to turn the wheel all the way to the right then back in order to turn left. The dealer informed the consumer that the steering rack was binding which required a complete replacement. The consumer paid for the repairs, however years later, the consumer discovered a recall regarding the steering rack and pinion.

- Cromwell, CT, USA

problem #47

Apr 182008

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • miles
I received a recall letter, then I moved to a new residents 2wks. Later I parked my car in the driveway went into the house maybe 2-3 min I noticed flames coming out of the hood. I ran and got the water hose and put it out. I called the dealer they weren't aware of a recall I had to show proof letter. I faxed it then they towed the car to the dealers GMC was called they called the dealer.04-25-08 I called GMC stated since the car caught on fire they need to send fire investigator out. He came to the dealers took pictures and report and fedex it to GMC mich. Then they gave me another adjuster darlene clemens. On May 2nd I called GMC again I was given another adjuster why she wouldn't tell me just gave me the persons name jemeia price since then I been playing phone tag no one can help me I am without a car no loaner or any concern since my car is paid off. Since then I found out about other recall the dealer said no not on GMC list or website the recall#for the car is #07035 and my other concerns were recall# 02V286000 or 02049 and#07E021000 im worried I could died or more damage to my car I keep go care of my car GMC doesn't care I need help

- Milpitas, CA, USA

problem #46

May 062008

(reported on)

Grand Prix

  • miles
1998 Grand Prix with a recall on the rack and pinion. Consumer would like to know if there was a time limit on this recall or can he still have it inspected. He states that the retainer may not have been crimped properly. Recall # 02V286000.

- Unknown, DC, USA

problem #45

Sep 012007

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 97,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 1998 Pontiac Grand Prix. While attempting to make a left turn at 5 mph, the steering wheel jerked towards the right. The contact attempted to maneuver the steering wheel back to the left, but failed. After the turn was completed and the speed was increased, the failure ceased. The dealer stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number 02V286000 (steering:rack and pinion). The current and failure mileages were 97,000.

- Hickory Hills, IL, USA

problem #44

May 062007

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 93,991 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact stated that the vehicle would not steer straight and made a clunking noise. The vehicle has not been diagnosed. The manufacturer stated that recall # 02V286000 (steering:rack and pinion) did not apply to the VIN. There were no warning indicators. The current and failure mileages were 93,991.

- Clermont, FL, USA

problem #43

Mar 212007

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Steering locked up will not turn left

- New Albany, IN, USA

problem #42

Mar 202006

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 141,000 miles
: the contacted stated while attempting to make a left or right sharp turn at any speed there is a clunking noise coming from the front of the vehicle. It was taken to an independent repair shop for inspection where the mechanic detected a problem with the lower rack and pinion bearings. There is a NHTSA recall, # 02V053000, regarding the steering: Rack and pinion. The vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall; however it is not included in the recall due to the VIN.

- Swartz Creek, MI, USA

problem #41

Mar 032006

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 128,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

: the contact stated the front end made a popping noise at any speed. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop for replacement of the tires. The repair shop found a recall, #02V286000 for the rack and pinion and determined the popping was a direct result of the rack and pinion. The vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall; however, it is not included in the recall due to the VIN.

- Hinesville, GA, USA

problem #40

Feb 172006

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,000 miles
Was driving car when it became nearly impossible to steer the car to the left. Turning the car right worked normally. My repair shop determined that the pinion bearing on my rack and pinion unit had failed and requires replacement. After researching this problem on line, I found a recall was in effect for this problem. After contacting my local dealer to resolve this problem they stated that my VIN was not included in the recall, despite the failure matching the recall posted on the NHTSA website and GM's own description of the problem. I then called the zone representative for Pontiac to solve this problem and got the same VIN number story as the dealer gave me. It seems the scope of GM's recall is inadequate and needs to be corrected. My car is in the shop now awaiting a replacement GM unit. I have taken pictures of the failed unit, and it shows the failed parts.

- Stratford, CT, USA

problem #39

Jan 272006

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 153,000 miles
: dt: The contact stated the steering rack and pinion failed causing the vehicle not to turn left. There is a NHTSA recall, #02V286000, regarding the steering rack and pinion. The vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall; however it is not included in the recall due to the VIN. Updated 04/06/06.

- Chapin, SC, USA

problem #38

Nov 242005

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 137,000 miles
The contact states there is NHTSA recall campaign id 02V286000 concerning the steering rack and pinion. This vehicle has the same problems as indicated in the recall, but it is not included in the recall due to VIN. No repairs have been done.

- Otter Lake, MI, USA

problem #37

Sep 302005

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5 miles
Power steering fails at low speeds when turning left.

- Evergreen, CO, USA

problem #36

Sep 092005

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The steering is going out on the vehicle when turning left, it's like there is no power steering. There is recall 02V286000, but this vehicle is not included due to VIN. The vehicle is doing the exact same thing as mentioned in the recall. The vehicle will pulls to the right like it is out of alignment. This started on September 9, 2005. Contacted the dealer, they were going to charge the consumer just look at the vehicle. This happens every time the consumer drives the vehicle.

- Livonia, MI, USA

problem #35

May 072005

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,300 miles
. I was making a left hand turn into a parking space and my power steering lost power steering. I was able to narrowly avoid both the car next to the parking space and a pedestrian. I looked up symptoms online and came across the recall for the rack and pinion steering for GM vehicles but my VIN wasn't in the recall list. I'm in the midst of pricing the steering replacement and feel my car should be covered under this recall. I'm also hoping I don't crash before I get it fixed.

- Gahanna, OH, USA

problem #34

Aug 012004

Grand Prix 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 112,000 miles
1998 Pontiac Grand Prix rack and pinion problems that are identical to the description in the recall, but my VIN # was not one that was included...I've tried to resolve this with GM and the local Pontiac dealerships and to no avail I could not get them to even look at the car to inspect it to see if it had the same problems (retainer tabs were not crimped properly) because it was something that was internal and it would have to be replaced once it was opened and explored..that's what I gathered from talking to 2 different people at the 2 local Pontiac dealerships....and after reading the recall I have now learned that it could cause serious impact if this were to break while being driven..which when I took the car in approx. 4 months ago to get an estimate to what was wrong with the car they never told me that it could perhaps cause an accident it they were to break while trying to turn the steering wheel and then not being able to proceed on with your driving intentions, they only told me that it would get harder and harder to steer until it finally locked up. I was hoping someone would review this and help to resolve it. Thanks, jennifer fiorilli 1/19/2005

- Madison, MS, USA

problem #33

Oct 282004

Grand Prix

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,000 miles
The consumer took the vehicle in to a mechanic to have the rack and pinion replaced. The dealer replaced the part. The consumer retrieved the vehicle, but it made a loud noise. The dealer called the consumer to state the recall part was defective and needed to be replaced again. Please provide additional information.

- Milford, DE, USA

problem #32

Mar 012003

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
Car is making a popping noise while turning. Happens mostly at lower speeds. Had rack and pinion replaced, but problem still there.

- Humboldt, IA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?