Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Steering: Rack And Pinion Problems

1998 Pontiac Grand Prix (Page 2 of 3)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,238 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Pontiac Grand Prix steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Pontiac Grand Prix:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Pontiac Grand Prix Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #31

Oct 282002

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,816 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rack and pinion steering failed twice. It was replaced on 10/28/2002 and 11/19/ 2004. Once again vehicle not included in NHTSA recall 02V286000..

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #30

Nov 092004

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,940 miles
I own a 1998 Pontiac grandprix and my steering got very hard to tun to the left and it seemed just like the same problem that I read about NHTSA campaign id # 02V286000 everything in that was what was happening to my car I took it into the dealer and they said it was the gear box which is also known as the rack and pinion but that this car was not under the recall because it was made in 8/13/98. And it only went on the recall till Oct 31, 1997. I think that this should be looked into as I beleive this problem did not stop in 1997 production.

- Lyndhurst, OH, USA

problem #29

Jun 242004

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,000 miles
April 18, 2003 recall 02049 was performed on my car at golden ponitac in reading, pa - 61,518 miles. Febuary 2004 noticed steering to the left was becoming more difficult. April 2004 I took car back to golden Pontiac and complained about the steering. They could not find any problems. Steering continued to get worse and I took car to john bailey Pontiac in buford, ga - 73,135 miles. They replaced the steering pump, steering gear and outer tie rods - $ $1139.58. I think when the recall was done they should have replaced the gear assembly per the recall notice. See other ODI # 10057963 and 10083428. I think I should be reimbursed the above amount due to the recall not being performed in it's entirety. I have spent a total of $1606.69 on the car this summer!!!!

- Reading, PA, USA

problem #28

Mar 112003

(reported on)

Grand Prix

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Nar 3-11-03 the consumer received a letter from Pontiac stating that a recall had been issued for the power steering gear. The consumer had recently paid approx $1,192.09 for repairs to fix the steering gear on his vehicle. The consumer then sent in the receipts of the amount of money spent to fix the problem and requested reimbursement but his claims were rejected.

- Peoria, IL, USA

problem #27

Jan 212004

Grand Prix

  • Automatic transmission
  • 113,564 miles
While driving steering wheel locked up. Vehicle was towed to the dealer, and they replaced the rock and pinion.

- Welcome, MD, USA

problem #26

Jan 142004

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
When turning left the power steering stops functioning and turning becomes very difficult. This happens most frequently at lower speeds, but also has occured at higher speeds. This condition appeared about one year ago and has continued to worsen.

- Stanley, WI, USA

problem #25

Oct 162003

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1998 Pontiac Grand Prix has continued problems when making a left turn. Was told it is the rack and pinion steering, needs to be replaced. Also told it is unusual for this to happen and could be a defect.

- Biloxi, MS, USA

problem #24

Oct 162003

(reported on)

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The consumer stated the vehicle experienced the same problem with the rack and pinion as stated in the recall, however the vehicle identification number was not included. The vehicle was hard to steer left.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #23

Jun 042003

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
See NHTSA campaign id no. 02V286000: My 1998 Pontiac Grand Prix is having the exact symptoms as described in this notice, which I obtained from the ODI.NHTSA.dot website. On 6/4/03, at 9:48 a.M., I contacted braley & graham Pontiac, in my hometown of sacramento, ca, at 916-481-2200 and spoke to brian at ext. 4248. Brian checked my VIN and told me, "there is no recall or open campaign on your car". I then contacted Pontiac at 800-762-2737 and spoke to sean armstrong, (GM request no. 1-105820909) who, at first, could find no recall at all. When I told him that I had the NHTSA campaign id number and then the GM recall no (02049), he put me on hold then came back and said that he had, in fact found the recall, but it did not include my VIN. I explained that my problem was exactly the problem listed and he said it was not covered. He suggested I take the car into a dealer and have them check it, (at my own expense), and possibly it could be used to extend the range of vins covered. I requested that GM provide a free inspection to determine the fact, rather than taking it in at my expense (and at my peril, as I have already had an experience with the local dealer that convinces me that they are not completely honest !). he said that was not possible. I then tried to call NHTSA auto safety hotline at 888-327-4236 to request further assistance in getting this safety issue resolved. I got a recorded message that "due to an unexpected emergency...(they were not available to answer my call)" I left a rather frustrated message with my phone number and name, and then immediately turned on my T.V. to see what unexpected emergency had shut the U.S. government down. I can understand that the indictment of martha stewart may be of interest to many, but (since it is the only lead news story I can find) I have difficulty understanding how that could be the source of shutting down the NHTSA safety hotline.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #22

Mar 152002

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 87,000 miles
NHTSA recall 02V286000 the vehicle experienced the same problem with the rack & pinion, however the vehicle was not included under the recall, due to the date of manufacturing.

- St Leonard, MD, USA

problem #21

Mar 152002

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Rack and pinion gear binds when turning left, dealership replaced rack and pinion. Car not covered under nhsta campaign id number 02V286000. Request vehicle be included in recall.

- St. Leonard, MD, USA

problem #20

Mar 192003

(reported on)

Grand Prix

  • miles
Defect in rack and pinion steering gear.

- Lakeville, MN, USA

problem #19

Aug 012002

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,508 miles
The vehicle experienced a problem with the rack and pinion, there was a recall regarding the issue, however the vehicle identification number was not included in the recall. When the consumer made a left turn in the parking lot, he heard a snapping noise in the front end and the steering had become hard. The steering remained hard to the left, but easy to the right. Scc the consumer requested reimbursement.

- New Britain, CT, USA

problem #18

Mar 052003

(reported on)

Grand Prix

  • miles
Recall #0 2 V 28 6000. Consumer was informed by dealer that his vehicle has the same problem but the recall regarding the rack and pinion did not apply to vehicle, the vehicle identification number was not included in the recall.

- Mission Viejo, CA, USA

problem #17

Mar 032003

(reported on)

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
The vehicle was taken in for a recall regarding the rack and pinion (recall #02 V 286 000). Upon picking up the vehicle, consumer noticed the steering wheel was no longer in its original position. The dealer resolved the problem. Scc

- Hinkley, CA, USA

problem #16

Sep 192002

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • miles
Recall on 1998 Grand Prix GT. (rack & pinion) Pontiac refuses to repair their recall on the 98 Grand Prix.... here is a letter I sent them.....I became aware of the current recall and took my car to the dealer. The steering gear condition has happened to my car. The rack and pinion has released which has caused my car to have no power steering to the left. This occurs when driving at low speeds. It has made it very difficult to drive thecar. I was informed that my VIN number was not recalled at this time. The service manager at coggin Pontiac is aware of the condition of the car. He was able to drive it and stated that the car has the exact problem that is being recalled. The service manager said we could fix the problem and get reimbursed for the service if the car is recalled. This part is very expensive and I do not want to take the chance that the car is not one of the ones being recalled. I talked to Pontiac customer service manager on the phone and she referred me to everit howell, I have not had a chance to contact himyet. She did state that car would not be fixed because of the VIN number. I find it strange that you are recalling the same car I own for the same problem I have but because my VIN number is not reported the car will not be fixed. I love my Pontiac and I would hate for a problem like this to encourage me to go to a different manufacturer for my next car. I think they need to look more into this recall. There is no telling how many other cars are out there just like mine.

- Kingsland, GA, USA

problem #15

Feb 052003

Grand Prix

  • miles
NHTSA#02-V-286-000: Consumer has the same problem. This vehicle is not include due to the VIN. Dealer has been notified.

- Sanford, MI, USA

problem #14

Feb 032003

(reported on)

Grand Prix

  • miles
Rack and pinion steering failed, vehicle lost control, resulting in a collision.

- Forest Hills, NY, USA

problem #13

Dec 122001

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Recall number 02V286000 I have the problem that is stated on the recall. I called Pontiac at 188 762 2737 around 12-12-02. They said the recall should not have been released to the public yet. I woould have to wait till dealer got the recall notice before they would pay to have my car fixed.that it would be the first of the year before the dealers got the notice. My car has been parked sense then. Am a fraid to drive it. Something needs to be done.I need a loaner car or mine fix. Can you help ?

- Olive Branch, MS, USA

problem #12

Jun 152002

Grand Prix

  • miles
Steering wheel jerked to the right, smashing into a curb, cracking a rim and destroying a tire.

- Columbia, MO, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?