Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

2001 Pontiac Grand Prix (Page 2 of 2)

1.8

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 12
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
92,248 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Pontiac Grand Prix electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Pontiac Grand Prix:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Pontiac Grand Prix Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #13

Aug 122011

Grand Prix

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Our 2001 Pontiac Grand Prix, which has roughly 125,000 miles on it, stalls and dies at various speeds. It is not supercharged, but it does have the 3.8 liter series II engine. The vehicle will shudder momentarily and, if the car's going fast enough, the momentum of the torque convert spinning manages to restart the engine in default, allowing it to keep running. However, the tcs "trac off" light comes on and the tachometer drops to 0 until the car is shut off and restarted. Sometimes, the car will stall at low speed and, minus the shudder, everything else occurs as described above, except that the car simply dies. The ses light has lit up a few times, but there is no clear reason for it to do so, since, once restarted, the engine runs just fine. Occasionally, however, idle is a little rough; the engine sometimes drops to almost 400 RPM when sitting with the engine running, then slowly climbs back up to about 600-750 RPM. More alarming personally, however, is the fact that roughly 11 days ago, the car completely died twice on the same day, in a 15-second period. While coming home from work on the freeway, the car completely died (the oil pressure light came on and everything). Having pulled onto the shoulder and restarted, I did not travel more than 100 feet before it happened again, this time on the freeway off-ramp. I restarted again, and it drove home normally. Lately, the car is sometimes next to impossible to start. Depending on the circumstances, one of two things will happen; either the engine will turn over but not run; or the engine will not turn over, and the starter solenoid will simply "click" behind the firewall. The battery was replaced less than a month ago, and no serious electrical faults have occurred since it was replaced, aside from the above problems.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #12

Jul 012009

Grand Prix

  • 130,000 miles
I was pulled over by police for no rear lights. Upon investigation, found multi-function switch bad/jammed. Hazard light button stuck in up position. If pushed to the side and held, lights operate as advertised for some period of time, but will at some point stop working without my knowledge. Multi-function switch is dealer only part. Price is $500 + labor for installation.

- Arcanum, OH, USA

problem #11

Jan 262011

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 143,000 miles
I have a Pontiac Grand Prix, 2001 which had a recall for engine compartmented fires, I first learned of the recall after the first fire that happened in July, 2010, which I put out myself, I then received a recall notice on my car. I had the recall work done in Nov or Dec of 2010. Today, my wife was driving my daughter to school this morning 1/26/2011, and the car caught fire again in front of the school and caused significant damage to the engine compartment & engine. The car is no longer drivable, everything in the engine compartment is destroyed.

- West Jordan, UT, USA

problem #10

Jan 262011

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 143,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a Pontiac Grand Prix, 2001 which had a recall for engine compartmented fires, I first learned of the recall after the first fire that happened in July, 2010, which I put out myself, I then received a recall notice on my car. I had the recall work done in Nov or Dec of 2010. Today, my wife was driving my daughter to school this morning 1/26/2011, and the car caught fire again in front of the school and caused significant damage to the engine compartment & engine. The car is no longer drivable, everything in the engine compartment is destroyed.

- West Jordan, UT, USA

problem #9

Sep 302010

Grand Prix

  • 182,000 miles
I have a 2001 Pontiac Grand Prix that had a recall for an oil leak. They did the recall on 6-6-2009. Yesterday about 20 to 30 minutes after driving it the car erupted into flame primarily on the right drivers side of the engine. Looking at the internet it looks to be identical to others who had this problem. What should I do?

- Lake Ann, MI, USA

problem #8

Apr 172009

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact stated that the paint on the hood of her vehicle abnormally chips. While driving approximately 50 mph, she noticed flames on the panel of the front driver's side window. She used a small bottle of water to douse the flames and smoke. Currently, all of the power windows are inoperative. The vehicle has not been inspected to determine the cause of the failures. The failure and current mileages were 70,000. Updated 06/09/09 updated 06/09/09.

- Raywick, KY, USA

problem #7

Jun 152008

Grand Prix

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Key stuck in ignition twice first time they replaced ignition switch second time they replace shift modular. Seems to be happening in 2000-2004 model according to my research on the web.

- Columbus, IN, USA

problem #6

Sep 222006

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,542 miles
On my 2001 Pontiac Grand Prix, the all three brake lights are out because of a "multi function switch" failure. Lots of owners of Pontiac Grand Prix have this failure. Pontiac Grand Am have a recall -- but not the Grand Prix. Potential failure mode that causes crashes.

- Lawndale, CA, USA

problem #5

May 012006

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles
The drive lights on these vehicles turn off when the heater/ac blower motor is turned on. The headlights will flash on and off and the blower motor does the same. I contacted Pontiac and the gal told me that I was out of luck and to take it to a dealer for repair. Other drivers repeatedly flash their lights back at us to let us know that the headlights are flashing on and off.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #4

Feb 192006

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,000 miles
I was sold a lemon car after loosing my vehicle in the flood. First night I drove it after turning ignition lights started flashing rpms dropped, found underneath front of the vehicle is loose as well as water was located in the drivers side tail light and a lot of condensation in surrounding headlights.

- Napa, CA, USA

problem #3

Mar 192003

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2001 Pontiac Grand Prix has lost all lights -- interior dashboards and exterior -- at night on highways. This began in March 2003 and has continued randomly since for a total of two different occurrences to-date. It has been in the shop on two occasions, with equipment replacement but no resolution. Also, dashboard lights flicker on and off for approximately 5 seconds every time car is started.

- Janesville, WI, USA

problem #2

Feb 282002

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,000 miles
2001 Pontiac Grand Prix has lost all lights -- interior and exterior -- at night on highways. This began in February/March 2002 and has continued randomly since for a total of seven different occurrences to-date. It has been in the shop on four occasions, with equipment replacement on three occasions but no resolution. Now we are being told that unless the problem is duplicated while in the shop, Pontiac can do nothing. Considering the fact it only happens after the shops are closed, getting the vehicle there while an occurrence is happening is very unlikely. The consumer stated while stopped at a light, all interior and exterior lights would go out for a few seconds, then flash in a sequence of four times, they would go out for a few seconds and come back on for a few seconds, the scenario continued through the evening. There was also a clicking sound coming from the dash area, as if there was a switch trying to connect. The consumer stated she experienced the lights going out and coming back on for a period of 10 years. The repair shop stated a headlamp lighting circuit breaker located in the dash on the right side needed replaced. The consumer stated the problem has since resurfaced. Updated 04/01/13

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #1

Nov 012002

Grand Prix

  • miles
Consumer states that the computer is sending out wrong codes. Could affect the engine. Took to dealer and they stated computer software needs updating.

- Offutt Airforce Base, NE, USA

Not what you are looking for?