Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Engine And Engine Cooling Problems

2001 Pontiac Grand Prix (Page 3 of 3)

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 29
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
101,619 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Pontiac Grand Prix engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Pontiac Grand Prix:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Pontiac Grand Prix Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #14

Nov 052007

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 160,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Pontiac Grand Prix. After the vehicle had been parked for ten minutes, the contact was informed that it was overheating and a small amount of smoke was coming from the engine compartment. She walked to the vehicle and heard a small sound before flames shot out of the hood and underneath the vehicle. The fire department arrived and extinguished the fire. Both front tires and all the wiring underneath the hood were completely melted. The vehicle was towed to a shop and has not been repaired. An investigation was found that explained this exact failure, but no recalls were available. The failure and current mileages were approximately 160,000.

- Liberty, MO, USA

problem #13

Oct 262007

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 116,000 miles
My 2001 Pontiac gtp Grand Prix's engine caught on fire 10 to 15 minutes after I walked away to go to work. The car is a total loss.

- Carrollton, TX, USA

problem #12

Sep 062001

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,000 miles
For 6 years my 2001 Pontiac Grand Prix GT 3.8L V6 was the ideal car. I never had any problems with it. I fully expected the car to give me at least another 5 good years of service. The car was properly maintained - oil/fluids checked and changed regularly. I had new tires/brakes put on the car 8 mos. Ago and they commented on how great the car ran, especially for it's age. I had them also check all of the belts, hoses, etc. While they were there and they assured me the car was in great shape and I was not even scheduled for a tune up for another 20,000 mi.. on Sept. 6, 2007, I parked my car, turned off the engine, went inside my home for approximately 5 min., then returned to my car to find smoke and flames coming from under the hood. The fire dept. Responded quickly but the car was a total loss. It was parked under the carport and had I not been thinking clearly and opened the hood to try to extinguish the fire myself, my home could also have been severly damaged (at best). I have learned over the last 24 hrs. That this very thing has happened to many others. After everything I have read, I don't understand why a recall was never issued or at the very least why I was not made aware that there was a possibility of this happening. I had absolutely no warning. This is more than a minor malfunction or inconvenience. The car is a complete loss and had I not been leaving so soon after shutting off the engine, my home could have been destroyed as well. As it stands, I am without a car (insurance is providing a rental), my carpet is stained with soot, and there is that very distictive odor that greets me when I pull in to the carport and enter my home. A friendly reminder, I guess, to not let my children sit in the back seat while I run inside (15 feet from the car) to grab that letter I need to take to the post office.

- Tullahoma, TN, USA

problem #11

Jul 232007

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2001 Pontiac Grand Prix gtp caught on fire after parked at work totaling vehicle and damaging car parked next to me.

- Ofallon, MO, USA

problem #10

Apr 022007

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I am an owner of a 2001 grad prix sedan, 3.1 L V6 engine, with 76,300 miles. On 1 April 2007 I took the car to have an oil change I was told that the coolant leaks head or intake that cannot change the oil to please contact the dealer or a mechanic. On 2 April 2007 I took the car to be service by john hine Pontiac, it was then that a service advisor stated that my car needed a intake manifold gasket reseal, and flush/cleaning cooling. I have found out that GM is having a lot of problems with the intake manifold gaskets don't always seal properly. It seems there is a wide problem that GM has not inform consumers and we have to pay to have it fix when it should be the company who should try to resolve this issue at no cost. I am asking for your help in the name of a lot of consumers who are in the same predicament and we all are asking if there is a lawsuit already or how do we ask GM to fix this issue.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #9

Feb 172007

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,759 miles
In the past I've owned a 1994 Pontiac Grand Prix gtp which had a oil pan gasket leak and I beleive this is a major problem in this vehicle. Now I own a 2001 Pontiac Grand Prix GT and it is very strange that I'm having the same problem in this car the dealer is asking $671 to repair this problem and I think something should be done to correct this and I don't beleive I'm the only person to discover this and if there is a such recall please let me know. Ps. I will be contacting GM also.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #8

Mar 032007

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 177,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 3/3/07 my 2001 Grand Prix gtp spontaneously caught fire after being parked for approximately 10 minutes. The fire originated in the engine compartment.

- Greenwood, IN, USA

problem #7

Sep 102006

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,000 miles
'01 Pontiac Grand Prix gtp caught on fire in my garage 5-10 minutes after being turned off. I had driven the car approx. 7 miles before I got home and parked it in the garage. The fire caused extensive damage to my home and my neighbor's home.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #6

Aug 012002

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • miles
2001 Grand Prix dual air, heat, radio and cruise control does not work. ABS light remains on at all times. ***** the vehicle was leaking coolant. The brake switch had to be re-adjusted. The evaporator core was replaced.

- Stevens Point, WI, USA

problem #5

Nov 082004

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 970,000 miles
The front passenger side window would not go up. The regulator had to be replaced at a cost to the owner. Then antifreeze started to leak onto the engine. The problem has not been repaired to date. The intake manifold gasket was replaced and the fuel pressure regulator was replaced.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #4

Dec 082004

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In March of 2004 I took my car in for a routine oil change only to be told that I had oil leaking into my radiator, to find out it was trans oil, they put a new radiator hoses and flushed my trans. This was a dealership. Now it is Dec 2004 and my low coolant light won't go off and I have a feeling it has too do with something major, I have noticed other people have complained about their intake going. Why doesn't GM doing something about this.

- Kalkaska, MI, USA

problem #3

Feb 152003

Grand Prix

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,406 miles
Mileage/date complaint resolution 24736-10/29/01 rt ft power window replaced motor regulator 59454-12/5/02 error code 20 on cd replaced cd player ($537.59) 62469-1/30/03 rt rr power window regulator cables worn gears stripped 62469 tach intermittent replace crankshaft sensor 62469 trans slipping computer said no problem ($1,050) 64406-2/25/03 won't go into reverse replaced transmission 70758-5/23/03 key won't come out replace shifter assy ($510) 70758 rt rr power window intermittent - could find no problem 83769-10/24/03 engine coolant recall perform recall 83769 rt rr power window replaces cables worn gears 83769 engine oil leak replace upper intake manifold gasket 83769 loss of power replace catalytic converter

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #2

Jul 152003

Grand Prix

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,500 miles
I was smelling gas fumes and took the car to a local repair shop and was told I needed to fix it immediately and was advised not to drive it all. The fuel pressure regulator had to be replaced at the cost of $200. I was told that they checked the intake manifold and it was leaking coolant and needed to be repaired soon as well. I contacted Pontiac and filed a claim for some assistance since I was told this would cost approximately $700. The mechanic told me that this was a common problem with these cars but usually he did not see this problem at such an early mileage. He told me it happened more when these vehicles had about 60000 to 80000 miles. I bought the car as a certified vehicle with a warranty to 39000 miles. Since I barely had passed the warrant miles I called the dealership I purchased the car from. I was told that they could not do the warranty work for me since they were a Chevrolet dealership and for me to contact Pontiac. I called and asked for assistance on a goodwill warranty or secret warranty. They told me to take it to a Pontiac dealership and get it checked. I did at the cost of $37 and called them back to confirm what the first mechanic diagnosed. The service manager quoted me up to $900. I asked if they could help me with any assistance. I called several times to Pontiac and was told I needed to talk to the customer service advisor I had filed the complaint with. I was unable to talk to her directly and left a voice mail and was told she would get back with me within 24 hours. I have stayed home all day for 2 days waiting and still have not heard from her. I talked to the service manager at buz post in arlington tx and he said he could give me a 10% discount on the parts and would discount it to $600. The additional cost of the $900 was other maintenance items. This is still a heavy burden for me to have to pay. The service manager told me that this was not uncommon to happen at this amount of miles.

- Grand Prairie, TX, USA

problem #1

Nov 152002

Grand Prix

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
I'm not sure on all dates of car problem's. carfax has all that information. It's been in the shop 6 times, now my service engine light has come on again. This will be the 7th time within 1 year. One thing was fixed 3 time's in same month, I beleave.the dealer ship in tx, said the dealer ship in il never fixed it the first 2 times.

- Fannin, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?