Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

2007 Pontiac Grand Prix (Page 1 of 3)


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 13
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
73,834 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Pontiac Grand Prix electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Pontiac Grand Prix:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Pontiac Grand Prix Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #50

Jul 292014

Grand Prix

  • 100,000 miles


Reference recall 14V755 Nov 25, 2014, I experienced this problem in February 2014 while driving home at night on a back road with little traffic. I was going 45 mph and suddenly pitch black. I thought quickly thought to hit my high beams. After spending money, replaced the relay and the following July it completely melted down, burning up my fuse box and several wires in the harness while parked in my driveway without keys in it. I happened to walk out and smelled it burning. I was able to remove the positive battery terminal. Clearly it was the (hdm) headlight relay stated in this recall. (photo attached).I've spent about $1500 in repairs. There are many blogs with the same problem and burned up a lot worse than mine. It seems to be a regular problem ending with fires in the fuse box.

- Stafford, VA, USA

problem #49

Jun 112016

Grand Prix

  • 135,000 miles
While driving, the car suddenly loses power. "starting disabled due to electronic throttle control" message shows, then reduced power message. This happens while going full speed (interstate) stopped at redlight, reduced speed making a turn, or in park idling. First dealer said nothing wrong that they could find. Second said to replace throttle body and brake switch. Both of these were replaced and it still will stop. Called support, and all they would say is to take it for diagnostics, even though it's been done. Twice.

- Smyrna, GA, USA

problem #48

Dec 112015

Grand Prix

  • miles
The transmission slip I get a oil change within a month or two months of the oil change I need another one it's getting more snow on the floor on the passenger side I have to keep the air condition on keep the car running hot what is the reason.

- Lehigh Acres, FL, USA

problem #47

Dec 242015

Grand Prix

  • 80,000 miles


The ignition switch failed on 12/24/2015 while I was driving on the East bound I-80 in California. I was not able to use the brakes or steering and rear ended the truck in front of me at about 40 miles per hour. The air bags did not deploy and I was bale to start the car and drive off the highway. Surprisingly I had the ignition switch recall for my keys mailed to me in August of 2015 and had the Cadillac dealer in reno nv modify my key and key ring on 10/31/2015. But I don't think the modification was ever performed since the ignition switch failed two months later....updated 02/02/16......updated 05-10-16...updated 07/13/16

- Lawndale, CA, USA

problem #46

Oct 192015

Grand Prix

  • miles
Just would like to know if hdm module will cause headlights to burn out. I know there is a recall on hdm. Took car in for recall and they said both dim headlights were bad.but did not change hdm. Both headlights went out at same time. Sat in garage over weekend started car Monday morning no dims.

- Shelbyville, IN, USA

problem #45

Jul 012015

Grand Prix

  • 65,638 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact stated that the vehicle would not start on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the ignition switch needed to be repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 65,638. Updated 11/18/15

- Wausau, WI, USA

problem #44

Jul 022015

Grand Prix

  • 65,638 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac Grand Prix. While parked, the vehicle was unable to start. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the ignition switch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 65,638.

- Wausau, WI, USA

problem #43

Aug 012014

Grand Prix

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac Grand Prix. The contact stated that while the shifter was in the park position and after exiting the vehicle, the doors erroneously became locked and would not unlock. As a result, a one-year-old child was trapped inside the vehicle. An independent mechanic was able to force the door open. The contact also stated that while driving, the low beam head lights would suddenly shut off. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 140,000.

- St. Louis, MO, USA

problem #42

Mar 272015

Grand Prix

  • 145,000 miles
Beginning approximately the end of March, while driving at night, both of my low beam headlights have gone out at the same time. They came right back on at that time so I thought I hit a switch. Sometime in may it happened again, but the lights would not go back on so I used my hi beams. The low beams worked fine in the morning. This has happened about 3 more times since then and is becoming more frequent. Last night on July 23, it happened again on a dark, curvy road and I almost ran off the road. This morning, they work fine again. I called the dealer and they said there was no recall on this. I am surprised as this is a serious safety issue. I need to get it repaired, but since it is an intermittent problem, I suspect the dealer will not be able to find the root cause or fix the problem.

- Florence, KY, USA

problem #41

May 132015

Grand Prix

  • 148,000 miles
The transmission shifter is not transmitting an electrical signal to allow the ignition key to turn to the off position and will only turn as far as the acc (accessory) position so that the battery continues to drain and die leaving me stranded in the night and on the road and in danger often. A locksmith said continuing to turn and pull on the key trying to remove it myself could result in serious neck and head injury if the airbag where to deploy while I am trying to get the key unstuck. I took to Chevrolet dealer and he said he would need a recall code/number to accept my vehicle for repair with this issue.

- Pittsburg, CA, USA

problem #40

Jun 112015

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 62,234 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Pontiac Grand Prix. While parked, the horn was engaged but failed to function. In addition, there was a rattling noise coming from the steering wheel and the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V400000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was not notified of the failures. The failure mileage was 62,234. Updated 09/01/20105 the conusmer stated on 8/17/15 the dealer did not have the proper tools necessary to repair the vehicle. Updated 12/15/2015

- Grenada , MS, USA

problem #39

May 152014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
When I got off work I tried to start my car but the battery was dead. The car was jumped off. The car operated fine but the headlights would not shut off to daytime running lights. After driving the car for 10 minutes, you could smell burning electrical component's. after inspecting the relays we found the headlight relay was almost completely melted down. The relay was changed and the car seemed to be working okay.

- Heflin, AL, USA

problem #38

Apr 012015

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 164,000 miles
The car drove fine during the day without any problems. The day was a warm sunny day. I parked the car at church and went inside. 45 min. - 1 hour after parking the care I was asked to go outside. When I got outside I was told my car was smoking with the lights flashing and wipers running. Upon opening the hood I found the fuse box was completely melted through with the wireharness melted through where it plugs into the fuse box. The wireharness across the engine was also melted across the top of the engine.

- Heflin, AL, USA

problem #37

Apr 012015

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
Car started on fire 10-15 minutes after being parked in a public parking lot. Fire company had to be dispatched. No injuries or other property damage.....updated 04/08/15

- Elma, NY, USA

problem #36

Nov 212014

Grand Prix

  • 119,000 miles
Approximately after 3 minutes of driving the head lights go out. The high beams still work. If the car is off for 5 minutes it seems to reset, but will only last 3 minutes again.

- Pompano Beach, FL, USA

problem #35

Oct 012014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 0 miles
Contacted dealer regarding the recalled part. I was notified that they did not have the part to fix the issue and that they would call. Over 2 months later and still not contact.

- Crescent City, CA, USA

problem #34

Jun 212014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • miles
When leaving a friends house our low beam headlamps failed to illuminate. I tried to manually make them come on and they still would not illuminate. I still had high beams, tail lamps, and side marker lamps. I turned on my fog lamps to make it home with lighting to the front.

- Holland, MI, USA

problem #33

Nov 232014

Grand Prix

  • 88,000 miles
I drove my Pontiac to cvs and returned home without any problem. Parked the car as usual and went into my home. About 15 minutes later, my neighbor came to my door to alert me that my car was on fire. She stated that she had already called 911 so I jumped into action and got my water hose to try and contain the fire. There were flames coming from under the hood.the car burned for around 10 minutes before the fire department showed up. The fire department had to use the jaws of life to open the hood. There was no recent work done to the car and it was running normal. There was no indication that this was going to happen. The car has been deemed a total loss by allstate.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #32

Sep 092014

Grand Prix

  • miles
The key had started getting stuck in the ignition, one day it just did not come out. Once the ignition tumbler was removed there was a long crack down the side of the housing which was causing the keys to loosen and so the key was not turning in sync and got stuck. The key broke off in the ignition stuck on accessory until the part came in I would have to unhook the battery every time I left my car for long periods so the battery would not drain power. One time I was driving down the highway and the cable came off because of being loosened from multiple removal. I lost all power driving at 70mph I did not panic I simply pulled over and waited for a jump start however I could see this resulting in a bad accident.

- Kansas City, KS, USA

problem #31

Jul 212014

Grand Prix 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
Was driving at 45 mph one night and the headlight, which were set to auto, suddenly went out. Was able to continue driving using the high beams. Later that evening the lights resumed working. Didn't happen again until the following month. Happened about 3 times but now low beams are not working at all. Replace the bulbs, switch and module with no luck. Checked all fuses which are fine. Now I have no working low beams and am driving the car using high beams only. I worry that high beams will stop working while driving which could be very dangerous. Very concerned that I have seen multiple complaints on the internet, some resulting in fires, with no resolution. Shouldn't this be addressed by the manufacture?

- Evans City, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?