Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Beware of the NHTSA complaint data for the 2004 Camry. It is almost certainly misleading.

The problem with NHTSA data for the 2004 Camry is that for months on end, the news media repeatedly told the public that several Toyota models had an unintended acceleration defect, & to go to safercar.gov (the NHTSA's website) to file a complaint.

So, the NHTSA received a disproportionate number of complaints about unintended acceleration issues because of the national news media attention, to the point where their data is unreliable taken in context with any other vehicle that did not receive national news attention.

CarComplaints.com typically receives more complaints per day about vehicles than the NHTSA does, but the news media did not repeatedly say "go to CarComplaints.com to report your Camry acceleration problems" like they did about the NHTSA -- so although we have less complaint data than the NHTSA for the 2004 Camry, our data for the Camry is a far more statistically accurate representation of the Camry's reliability than what the NHTSA data shows.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
111 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
49 / 3
Average Mileage:
44,355 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 6 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #105

Feb 192010

Camry

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Parking car in parking space in front of garage, car suddenly accelerated ramming into and through the garage door.

- Reston, VA, USA

problem #104

Jun 222006

Camry

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. The vehicle accelerated uncontrollably while driving approximately 20 mph and crashed into a tree. The contact had no knowledge of whether the failure previously occurred. A passenger was killed when the crash occurred. A detailed police report is available. The failure mileage was unknown. Updated 003/30/10 the police report is illegible. Updated 05/20/10 the consumer stated he is not the owner of the vehicle, his mother-in-law was killed in the accident and his aunt was driving. The contact stated his wife requested he look into the matter regarding Toyota. Received a legible copy of the police report. Updated 07/29/10. Updated 9/29/11

- Smyrna, DE, USA

problem #103

Mar 012010

Camry

  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. While driving 5 mph in reverse out of her driveway, there was a sudden increase in engine rpms and the vehicle proceeded to abnormally accelerate in the forward position. The vehicle crashed through her garage door and continued to idle. She was able to put the vehicle into neutral and turn the vehicle off. The contact was uninjured. The manufacturer was contacted and would not offer any assistance. No repairs were made to the vehicle. The failure and current mileages were under 39,000.

- Glenn Mills, PA, USA

problem #102

Jan 062010

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) I own a 2004 Toyota Camry VIN#[xxx] on January 6, 2010 I was driving up first ave in manhattan going to randalls island. At 1st ave and about 10 St I was driving about 20 miles per hour, pressed the brake approaching a red light. Instead the engine revved (vroom) and car accelerated forward. I floored the brake and pulled up the emergency brake and still I tapped the commercial vehicle in front before being able to stop by putting car into park. 2 hours later I was returning home and driving down 9th street between broadway and university and again approaching a red light braked to slow down the car (I was already going 20mph) again, instead the vehicle revved and accelerated forward and this time no matter how hard I pushed the brake the car wouldn't stop. I slammed the transmission into park, pulled up the emergency brake and that stopped the car. I called aaa and had the car towed to Toyota of manhattan where they said my brake pins were frozen and there was a throttle problem and charged $1300 for repair. (my personal mechanic in NJ later told me brake pins and uncontrolled acceleration were not related. On Monday February 22, 2010 while driving to my summer apartment in ventnor NJ the same thing happened. We were again able to stop the car by pulling into park mode and emergency brake. We restarted the car and drove 10 miles per hour to our parking lot where the car still sits. Calls to Toyota of manhattan simply stated that this model was not under recall and the car was too far for them to send a tow. Attempts to bring the car to a local Toyota (shore Toyota) calls were not answered and I was told I could not bring the car in without an appointment. And I should bring the car back to where the repair was done. So there it sits in a parking lot. I had to rent a car to get home. The repair was clearly bogus and this problem is acceleration upon hitting the brake pedal. Updated IVOQ 09/01/10

- New York, NY, USA

problem #101

Oct 222009

Camry

  • 140,000 miles
I was driving on a highway along with my daughter in my 2004 Camry when the cruise control light went on by itself. The car started to accelerate on its own. I could not figure out why the car was doing this, and hit the cruise control button off. That took care of the issue, but it was very frightening.

- Chino Hills, CA, USA

problem #100

Apr 022007

Camry

  • 44,560 miles
On April 02, 2007 I had a car accident. I was driving my 2004 Toyota Camry le door sedan. As I was driving to my way to Arizona to visit some family members I was driving in a normal speed out of the sudden the pedal of the accelerator did not work I tried to control my car but it was impossible to stopped the car. As consequence the car flip over and I got injured. On the same week of April 02. 2007 I had taken my csr to a Toyota dealer to do a full service. On April second a Toyota dealer associates called me but I was not there so my mom answered the phone and the representative from Toyota had called to see how my brakes were working.

- Arleta, CA, USA

problem #99

May 262009

Camry

  • 66,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I experienced the sudden acceleration problem (which has been in the news) in may of last year. I was able to stop the car after putting it into neutral and shut off the engine. When I restarted it, it performed normally. I then drove it directly to my repair shop where they could find nothing wrong. It has not recurred since. I own a 2004 Toyota Camry with about 72,000 miles on it.

- Beverly, MA, USA

problem #98

Jan 052005

Camry

  • 2,000 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). I bought a 2006 Toyota Camry le seden in November of 2004. After I start to drive the car I noticed almost every time I saw the red light and took my foot from gas pedal but did not push any brake, the car will slow down. But when the speed at about 28 miles/ hour the car will suddenly speed up to 29-30 miles without even touch the gas pedal. I brought the car to the Toyota dealer in el monte ca, longo Toyota in Jan. 2005. After the mechanic drive with me he also noticed the problem. He told me that there may be a problem with the soft wear that control the gas. But when we got back he told me that the problem is not the same as the Lexus which had a similar problem. I brought the car back again after I almost involved an accident due to sudden accel. But was told that there was no issue and no recall regarding this model. Though I still keep the car and I have to be very careful due to this sudden acceleration issue. I definitely think this is the same problem all the cars were recalled. [xxx].

- San Gabriel, CA, USA

problem #97

Aug 152008

Camry

  • 20,000 miles
Contact owns 2004 Toyota Camry. While driving 5 mph the vehicle suddenly accelerated and crashed into another vehicle. No one was injured but the vehicle was damaged on the front passenger side. The contact has not called the manufacturer regarding the failure. The contact stated that the vehicle accelerated due to a sticky pedal. The failure mileage was 20,000.

- Longboat Key, FL, USA

problem #96

Nov 242009

Camry

  • 111,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. The contact was driving 25 mph and the check engine light came on. The contact was driving up hill when the vehicle stalled and was moving slowly. The manufacturer and an authorized dealer was contacted and a complaint was filed with the manufacturer. The contact was forced to use another vehicle because he feels that the vehicle isn't safe. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact did take the vehicle to several dealerships to find out the problem. The contact was told that it was the electronic throttle pedal system. The failure mileage was 111,000. The current mileage was 111,000.

- Garner, NC, USA

problem #95

Mar 282005

Camry

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Parking vehicle in garage, nearing a complete stop, tapping brake to hit parking stop sign in garage, car surged out of control crashing into house tearing out sheetrock.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #94

Feb 222010

Camry

  • 50,000 miles
Our 2004 Toyota Camry stalled yesterday and had to be towed to the dealership. We are told that the accelerator pedal sensor is defective and must be replaced at a cost to us of $600. NHTSA should investigate whether all Toyota accelerator pedal assemblies and electronics since 2001 should be recalled.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #93

Jul 032008

Camry

  • miles
Driving slowly in a parking lot, looking for a parking space in a shopping plaza, my 2004 Toyota Camry suddenly accelerated rapidly to a high speed, for no apparent reason. The air conditioner, which was on low, went on full blast without touching the ac controls and simultaneously, the car accelerated. In spite of the full application of my brakes, the car would not stop. I was in shock and panic. I hit a handicap sign that fell over and damaged two parked cars. I nearly struck a pedestrian, not to mention almost injuring or killing myself. After traveling 372 feet, I ended up crashing into pallets of fence material. The car was towed and repaired. Cost of accident, including medical expenses was approximately $22,000. (the pedestrian was taken to hospital for minor injuries and I, also, went to hospital to be checked.) sadly enough, my license to drive was revoked as a result of this ordeal.

- Webster, MA, USA

problem #92

Sep 132004

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Camry. The contact stated while shifting from park to reverse the vehicle surged backwards. The contact slammed on the brakes to stop the vehicle. The contact has not taken the vehicle to a dealer. The contact feels the vehicle surged due to the accelerator pedal sticking. Updated 04/13/2010

- Mentor, OH, USA

problem #91

Jul 222009

Camry

  • 88,000 miles
-a 2000 Camry with brake problems -tried to fix problems but mechanics unable to identify problems. -a 2004 Camry with brake and acceleration problmes. Reported to Toyota but ignored me. Reported again but still ignored. -need help as I spent so much until problems killed my transmission.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #90

Apr 152008

Camry

  • 42,393 miles
On April 15,2008 my wife was driving our 2004 Toyota Camry down our street when all of a sudden the car went into idle and wouldn't accelerate. I had a extended warranty still in effect since the car only had 42,393 miles on the car so I called my local Toyota dealer and they replaced the accelerator pedal sensor. We haven't had a problem since but I am afraid that the replaced sensor may be defective and could cause unwanted acceleration/deceleration since it was replaced in 2008. I am concerned that the newly replaced accelerator sensor may not be safe either considering all the recent reports. Please use your power and get Toyota to add the 2004 Toyota Camry to their recall list before other serious problems occur. Thanks for your serious consideration on this matter. Please let me know what you decide.

- Paradise, CA, USA

problem #89

Nov 152008

Camry

  • 49,600 miles
Vehicle started up after being in mall parking lot. As I pulled out of the parking location the vehicle suddenly accelerated. I was unable to correct speed and directed vehicle away from other parked cars and pedestrians. Ultimately I hit one other vehicle, crossed several grassed islands, and eventually came to a stop after shutting off ignition. See also ODI 10293584

- Cohoes, NY, USA

problem #88

Jul 232006

Camry

  • 12,806 miles
On 7-23-06, an accident occurred exiting a parking lot. The accelerator stuck and the driver could not stop the car with the brakes. Over $10,000 in damage plus bodily injury occurred. This is not the first time it happened. A similar accident occurred on 12/30/04. Complaints were also periodically made to the dealer about the brakes made to the dealer. A formal complaint was finally made to Toyota usa asking them to buy back the car. Arbitration proceedings were held on 11/16/06 at a Toyota dealership. Toyota had someone review car's breaking and accelerator and they found no problem and the claim was denied to buy back the car.

- Pikesville, MD, USA

problem #87

Mar 162009

Camry

  • 30,000 miles
I have a 2004 Toyota. I took the car to crestmont Toyota in 2006 and informed them that my car accelerated suddenly when I was pulling out of a side street on to a main road causing me to go up on the grass.at full speed I had both feet on the brake and the car was racing I had to shut it off.they said they removed the mat. I have a copy of the complaint. This happened two more times the last time in early 2009 I was sitting at a light when the car just accelerated into the car in front of me causing a accident..I have a copy of the police report. I also told my insurance company at the time what happened. I am afraid to drive this car. I have been driving for forty six years and have never had a ticket or caused a accident.

- Haskell , NJ, USA

problem #86

Feb 052010

Camry

  • 94,000 miles
My daughter's 2004 Camry accelerated as she was pulling into a parking space, jumped the concrete berm, and smashed into the concrete wall. She had her foot on the brake and pumped once as she suspected brake failure, but it only sped up. The car was totaled, but my two daughters were unharmed except for minor aches and bruising and were a bit shaken up. Insurance adjuster and Ford dealer were unable to duplicate the problem at the shop. A police report was made.

- Spring Valley, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?