Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
81,608 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 3 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #151

Feb 022015

Camry

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car is burning an excessive amount of oil, have to constantly check and fill the oil. Its getting to the point that I am having to check and fill with oil once a week. Is there anything that is going to be done about this"??"

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #150

Apr 102016

Camry

  • 109,000 miles
There was a recall on my 2007 Toyota Camry. In February 2016 Toyota took possession of my vehicle for 3-4 weeks to repair or rebuild the engine to comply with the recall requirements. I was provided a loaner car during that period. During the less than 2 month period between when my car was returned to me on 2/18/16 and April 10, 2016, I did not take my car to any repair shop nor did I touch the engine for any reason. Apparently Toyota did not properly repair the vehicle when the recall repairs were done. On 4/10/16, while I was driving on the New Jersey turnpike, the engine self-destructed, there was a loud noise, smoke engulfed the engine and then it ceased running. I had the vehicle towed to the nearest Toyota dealership for warranty repair. On 4/11/16, I called Toyota for warranty payment to be made to the dealership so the engine could be repaired or replaced, I was told that first I had to pay for the $5,800 work to be done and then Toyota would reimburse me once I showed that I had all my service receipts that I had properly maintained my vehicle. This was an outrageous position for Toyota to take, because the car was released to me after Toyota thoroughly worked on it for 3-4 weeks and inspected it before releasing the car to me on 2/18/16. What possible maintenance would I have done in under two (2) months. I am also a low income wage earner and to require me to fund $5,800 and wait for reimbursement was unduly burdensome. Couple with the fact that the Toyota of princeton informed me that I would not be given a complimentary loaner car during the repair period. The cost of alternative transportation and advancing $5,800 was impossible and a clever way for Toyota to avoid their financial responsibility under the warranty. Instead, I saw no alternative but to accept the offer of princeton Toyota to give me $2000 credit toward the price of a used car.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #149

Apr 062016

Camry

  • miles
My Camry has check engine light on and oil needed to be changed once again in less than 3 months. Toyota has a recall on oil burning up but they checked last time and said it's okay. Evidently it's not. The mechanic recommended brake booster for the engine light issue which costs from $750-$1,200 which is hard to afford. This kind of issue can cost your life. Toyota needs to recall this and fix it since so many other people have the same issue.

- Glen Allen, VA, USA

problem #148

Apr 012015

Camry

  • 194,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving 50 mph, the vehicle stalled and the check engine and low oil pressure warning lights illuminated. The contact was unable to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to a dealer who was unable to diagnose or repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 194,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #147

Jan 012016

Camry

  • miles
There are several issues. First sticky dash board.. was told I'm being put on a waiting list for part. It's been months still no word. 2nd oil consumption is ridiculous.. oil runs out way before it's time for oil change every time.. no oil leaks anywhere.. car just burns oil super fast never experienced this with any car I've owned..3rd the car vibrates when in you hit around 40 mph at 1.5 RPM doesnt do it as much when car doesnt go in overdrive in 4th gear.. was told this may be a computer programing issue.. 4th my driver side back seat mat is melted to the floor. I was told something under the car may be getting to hot. Never got any real answers to my concerns.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #146

Mar 182016

Camry

  • 200,000 miles
I had problems with my cars oil consumption and was never notified from Toyota that there was a recall back in May 2015 for engine oil consumption repair. The shop is now telling me I have a blown piston from what they can hear. I have records that I never missed an oil change and even have proof from Firestone complete care when my car was checked for oil leaks. There were none found. Toyota is refusing to repair my vehicle because they said it's too late to do an oil consumption test. I also sent Toyota proof of my oil changes from Firestone dated 12/13/14, 4/11/15, 6/29/15, 8/22/15, 10/08/15, 11/14/15 and 1/3/16. My car was towed into community Toyota on 3/23/16.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #145

Feb 012016

Camry

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Oil consumption: After 1149 mi, I checked my oil and there was barley any oil in the car. The car has 149,000 miles on it. The dealer said that using a qt. Of oil every 1000 mi. Was normal. They said it passed the recall which was tested at 1000 mi. They refused to fixed the problem.

- Huntsville, AL, USA

problem #144

Mar 132016

Camry

  • 146,280 miles
Low oil due to overver-consumption: My car engine overheated and almost burnt because of oil overconsumption and I had to take the car and get oil change and got a report proving the very low oil level.

- Downey, CA, USA

problem #143

Oct 012015

Camry

  • 100,000 miles
While the vehicle is in motion it hesitates to switch gears from 2nd to 3rd gear. As you accelerate. At times there is a jerk as it is doing so. This causes me to either slow down or speed up until it goes into gear.

- Littleton, CO, USA

problem #142

Jan 232016

Camry

  • 115,000 miles
The ABS and brake lights of my Toyota 2007 Camry come on and off intermittently. When the lights are on, the whole dashboard readers; the speedometer, RPM, engine temperature and other gauges jump and flicker, the light markers for transmission gear and parking go off. The ac unit also did not work. I went to dealer to get it checked out but there were no codes to diagnose the issue. I was told to come back again when it happens for longer than a day. It keeps happening at various times of the day (morning and evening), when the car is stopped or moving, and on all types of roads and driving conditions (city streets, highway, at a stop light, at a stop sign, when I am turning). I have noticed that Toyota has already issued a recall for the same issue for the 2007 Camry hybrid. Given the sheer number of complaints I have read about this issue for the regular Camry 2007, it seems ridiculous that Toyota has not issued a recall for this for the 2007 Camry.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #141

Dec 032015

Camry

  • 172,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car has an over oil consumption problem. Before the car is due for an oil change it is out of oil completely and due to this problem my car starting overheating and it cracked the head gasket. Toyota has a recall for the 4 cylinder models for this same issue but the 6 cylinder models are excluded. Despite the fact that I told them every time J went to their service center. Now I have to buy a new engine for the vehicle that I just bought.

- Douglasville, GA, USA

problem #140

Jan 222016

Camry

  • 190,000 miles
Engine consumed 4 qts of oil before regular 3000mi oil change, now engine is making noise.

- Newnan, GA, USA

problem #139

Dec 272015

Camry

  • 75,000 miles
My 07 Camry runs completely out of oil before it's time for it to be changed. I have had the car checked for oil leaks and has passed each time. After researching this issue I have found that the more miles on the car the faster it runs the oil out and with that being said I now have engine damage. Not to mention this car has been the absolute worst. I put my visors down one time and had to take them off because they wouldn't go back up. The power controls in my car don't work. I also found out tonight that there was a recall on the gas pedal in this death trap that happened before I owned it that I was never informed of but knew something had to be wrong with it because it kept sticking!! I am not the only person dealing with this and find it outrageous that it has not been fixed. My children used to ride in that car!! it is a ticking time bomb and something needs to be done about this!!!!!!!

- Florence, SC, USA

problem #138

Nov 212015

Camry

  • 45,300 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving 35 mph, the contact heard a noise coming from the front passenger side of the vehicle. The vehicle started to lose speed. The contact costed over to the side of the road. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the oil tube fractured and burned the engine and would needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 45,300.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #137

Sep 092015

Camry

  • 140,000 miles
Engine is consuming quarts of oil (5-9 qts) between oil changes

- Grand Haven, MI, USA

problem #136

Jan 162015

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
Excessive oil consumption is a problem. The vehicle uses three quarts of oil between 5,000 mile service. Two oil consumptions tests were done. Toyota stated not eligible for warranty.....updated 11/18/15 on my third oil consumption test which I had to pay for, it had a positive result. Toyota is going to pay for the repair because it qualifies. Mainly because it uses 4 quarts of oil now between changes every 5000 miles now. Thanks just want you to know what the deal is now. Updated 02/29/16.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #135

Jan 012007

Camry

  • miles
I am concerned with the oil consumption. I had two test outcome failed I have stated shortly after purchase in Dec 2006 that car used oil. I think that I should be compensated for the numerous quarts of oil that have been wasted due to a flaw in this engine type. The time to repair is way too long. On average I have to add a quart a week that's a lot of oil since 2007. The people at Toyota need to speed up the process to have this issue fixed.

- Hudson, NC, USA

problem #134

Jun 182015

Camry

  • 120,000 miles
My car was burning more than 5 quarts in less than 3K miles but after long time finally Toyota has fixed the issue. But this was happening for me from 45K miles on my car around 2009 until now. Mean while since the engine was burning which caused my catalytic converter to blow off. They should replace the catalytic converter too because this is caused by the engine oil burning in the combustion camber. Few years back they fixed my power window on the driver side but last 12- 18 months I am experiencing an issue some times the window opens on the passenger side but most of the time passenger would try to open but it wont open. I believe its an electrical issue which may have happened after they fixed on the driver side. If any accident happens then the passenger wont be able to get out which is very dangerous its an safety issue.

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #133

Aug 122015

Camry

  • miles
My car will burn throu +2 quarts of oil before I would reach 1200 miles having to change my oil every 1200 mile or adding 2+ quarts. If I forget to add or change oil engine will tick loud and I would lose acceleration power. I once forgot to add oil and trying to pull out in to traffic not realizing the lost of power I almost got T bone.

- Portland, ME, USA

problem #132

May 082015

Camry

  • 9,200 miles
After driving 3000 miles I am down a quart of oil. I received a recall notice on this issue and when I brought it back they told me to return after 1000 miles I returned after 1000 miles and hey told me there is nothing rongwith the car. The car is still down a quart after 3,000 mile

- Rockaway Park, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?