Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
102 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
58 / 2
Average Mileage:
37,814 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 6 of 19)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #277

Sep 112010


  • 63,598 miles


Car accident - car crashed into medium on lake shore drive on early Saturday morning. Was making a left hand turn and applied brake to slow down as the turn was being made and the car did not slow down but sped up - when attempting to brake totally - the car actually sped up and hit the medium. The only way the car stopped was it was jammed into park. The car was towed to a repair shop and state farm insurance deemed to total the vehicle based on the amount it would cost to repair the vehicle.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #276

Sep 222010

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,144 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving 40 mph, the contact released the accelerator pedal when the vehicle accelerated on its own. The brakes were applied with extreme pressure and the vehicle did not slow down. The contact engaged the key less ignition and the vehicle stopped. The dealer was informed about the failure and the vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The failure and the current mileages were 78144. Updated 12/23/10 the dealer was unable to duplicate the problem. However, they did perform an update and the problem did not happen again. Updated 01/04/11.

- San Diego , CA, USA

problem #275

Aug 032010


  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving 65 mph up a hill, he engaged the accelerator pedal and the vehicle continued to accelerate. He engaged the brakes and the vehicle continued to accelerate and crashed into a tree. The vehicle was destroyed. A police report was filed. One passenger was sustained bruises to the neck and minor pain all over his body. The contact was unable to provide a VIN. The approximate failure mileage was 17,000.

- Ithaca, NY, USA

problem #274

Jun 232010


  • 60,000 miles


I have a Toyota hybrid 07, I turned on car made horrible load noise the speedometer went up to 100 mph in seconds the two front tires were shaking horribly like the car wanted to take off the car keep making laud noise I honestly though the car was going to blow up. I thank god that I wasn't in road when it happened, am very afraid to get into car there is no way I will be able to drive that car again I value my life too much and its sad that Toyota just thinks about money and not lives of people. I say this because they said "well bring it in if it happens again" yeah right and what if it does but am dead, or critically injured.

- San Jacinto, CA, USA

problem #273

Dec 162008


  • miles
TL-the contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact exited the vehicle with the engine running and the gear selector placed in the park position. Suddenly, the vehicle began to accelerate without warning. The contact entered the vehicle and applied the brakes. The vehicle continued to accelerate and crashed into the garage. There was no personal injury. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where the technician was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was repaired for the body damages at an estimated cost of $6,000. The failure progressed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic on four different times for the identical failure. The manufacturer had an engineer perform a further inspection on the vehicle in which the electronic control unit was upgraded. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Bernardston, MA, USA

problem #272

Apr 272010


  • miles
On April 27, 2010, I was backing out of a parking space. I usually back out of a parking space very slowly so that I can stop at anytime. After I had cleared the parking space and before I could exchange gears, the car (2007 Toyota Camry) kept on reversing. I put my foot on the brake but the car did not stop. It stopped when it hit a van which was adjacent to a police car. Luckily the police officer witnessed the entire accident. When the police officer approached my car he stated that "I thought you were going to hit me." I replied by saying "my car would not stop; I could stop the car." I informed the police officer that when I put my foot on the brake, the car continued to accelerate. The police report indicates that there was a problem with the acceleration. This statement is also want the mechanic said when he put the car in reverse to work on the car.

- Floral Park, NY, USA

problem #271

Apr 022010


  • 37,000 miles


I have a 2007 Toyota Camry. I took it to a Toyota dealer on 4/2/2010 for the gas pedal modification and mentioned a thumping sound whenever I went over a bump in the road. I was told that a part that holds a heat shield in place under the gas tank had rusted away and the heat shield was making the noise. Did I want it fixed" of course I did, who wants the exhaust pipe to come in contact with the gas tank? I paid the $153.81 to have the heat shield problem fixed, and asked why an important part like that had failed after only 37,000 miles? they told me it's probably because of the weather and the snow and the rust. My problem remains - why a failure on a potentially dangerous part after only 37,000 miles? at least a third of Toyota's sales have to be in places where there's snow. Appears they're using cheap parts in critical places which could cause disastrous consequences. How could a part that holds a heatshield in place rust out after only 37,000 miles"

- Seven Hills , OH, USA

problem #270

Mar 102010

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
Toyota has failed to reply to my email of March 10 seeking information to be prepared for accelerator problems with my Camry. Customer [xxx] 03/10/2010 03:01 pm I have a 2007 Camry SE 4-cyl. I've had the recall repairs done. There are reports that some cars malfunction even after repair. I'm trying to figure out how to be prepared for that just in case. People are advised that if there is a problem to shift to neutral or turn off the ignition. But the reports I've seen said you can do those things on some cars but not others. I'd like to know if I can with my car. Will it let me shift into neutral (auto transmission)" will it let me turn off the ignition? is there anything else I can do if I have a problem" information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Berkeley, CA, USA

problem #269

May 082010


  • 28,245 miles
On listed date at approximately 0940, my mother in law was operating my 2007 Toyota Camry in la plata, md. As she pulled left into a parking space she removed her foot from the accelerator and placed in on the brake and went to place the vehicle into park. At that time, the vehicle lurched aggressively forward, jumping several feet into the grass at that location. She was able to stop the vehicle since her foot was on the brake, place in into reverse and park it without further incident. She reported it to me immediately. She had my two young children in the vehicle and knew that I had an unwanted acceleration incident in Jan. 2008. That incident (accelerator was stuck to floor- reported to NHTSA (ref ODI #10214714), was investigated by scott yon of NHTSA who also personally inspected the vehicle. The recall repair was completed on the vehicle in April 2010. This incident occurred after repairs were performed.

- La Plata, MD, USA

problem #268

Apr 282010


  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 35 mph, the brakes malfunctioned when he attempted to slow down at a traffic light. Because the vehicle did not slow down, the vehicle crashed into another vehicle at the intersection. The air bags did not deploy and one passenger from the other vehicle was injured and taken to the hospital. The contact had not spoken with the manufacturer at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was approximately 26,000.

- Visalia, CA, USA

problem #267

Jul 242006


  • miles


2007 Toyota Camry ***consumer has attached a complaint from another consumer the consumer stated he had two corrections done to the throttle system and the acceleration which is still not normal, but acceptable compared to what it was originally. The cruise control was still faulty, but the consumer devised a way to work around the problem, not convenient but it worked. The consumer also complained about a delayed acceleration problem. The acceleration delay moved from 0 RPM to about 2000 RPM where it would go flat for about two seconds and then raced to about 4,000 RPM before settling down.

- Plainview, NY, USA

problem #266

Apr 092010


  • 91,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. When the contact shifted into drive gear, the vehicle accelerated through her lawn. There were no injuries. The police arrived and a police report was filed. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure and stated that the vehicle was functioning normally. The contact stated that the failure had occurred twice. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 91,000.

- Prior Lake, MN, USA

problem #265

Apr 262010


  • 76,000 miles
While driving the car at approximately 30mph, when I pressed the brake pedal, the car would not stop. The gas pedal got stuck. I put the car in neutral and pressed the power button. When I restarted the car, the brakes and gas pedal worked appropriately.

- Round Hill, VA, USA

problem #264

Jul 302009


  • 32,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry hybrid. While driving at approximately 10 mph, the contact noticed that the vehicle suddenly accelerated when he depressed the brake pedal. He was able to stop the vehicle by applying more pressure to the brake pedal. The brake warning light illuminated. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealership but the dealer could not duplicate the problem. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was approximately 32,000. The current mileage was approximately 42,000.

- North Attalbolo, MA, USA

problem #263

Apr 072010


  • 37,000 miles
I was waiting at a red light when the vehicle revved and lurched forward and hit the vehicle in front of me, bounced off and hit it again. I pressed the brakes as hard as I could but it took a few moments before the car would stop. Had car towed to dealership where it is still waiting for an engineer to look at it. They said it will be approximately 74 days before they even look at it due to having so many claims at this time. This vehicle was in just the week before for the recall fix for the accelerator pedal.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #262

Nov 132009


  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving and approximately 10 mph, the vehicle suddenly surged forward until it crashed into a tree. The brakes were applied but the vehicle did not stop. The police arrived to the scene and filed a police report accordingly. There were no injuries. The vehicle was driven to the contact's home and repaired for body damage. The contact had not noticed the problem since. The current and failure mileages were unknown.

- New Port Richey, FL, USA

problem #261

Mar 152010


  • miles
I was driving for work with my Toyota Camry 2007. While accelerating to get on the highway, around the end of the ramp, my vehicle suddenly accelerated with no controls working from the driver's seat either for the steering wheel or the brake. In a matter of a few seconds, the vehicle went a few times in a zig-zag manner and subsequently hit a semi-trailer which was southbound on the highway. My car was completely smashed in the front and totaled later. This incident occurred after my car went through the accelerator pedal replacement as per recommendation of the Toyota recall procedure. I could have been easily killed in this accident. I got a traffic ticket for the first time in my life after having a ticket-free driving record for the past 11+ years. I am pleading 'not guilty' for this ticket because the defective Toyota car was responsible for the accident and not my error.

- Sylvania, OH, USA

problem #260

Apr 122010


  • 51,278 miles
On 4/3/10, unintended accelerator "fix" per Toyota letter was performed on our 2007 Toyota Camry xle (vann york Toyota in high point, nc). On 4/12/10, while my wife was driving at 35mph on a city street, maintaining constant acceleration; then, she removed the foot of the accelerator as she headed toward an intersection, when suddenly, the engine speed drastically increased (I.e. revved up like when the driver steps on the accelerator to achieve a fast velocity rate of change); however, the car velocity decreased and she applied the brakes to get to the intersection and make a right turn. It is important to point out that the sudden engine speed increase lasted for approximately 5 seconds; afterwards, the engine speed went back to the normal (previous) level. After making a right turn at the intersection, there was no re-occurrence of this issue, and my wife and 5 year old daughter made it home safe. The sudden engine speed increases have occurred multiple times in our 2007 Toyota Camry since we bought it late 2006. We have reported this issue, as well as what feels like infrequent tire slippages to several dealerships (in phoenix and greensboro), but they have never found any issues while inspecting the car. We are extremely concerned that even after Toyota has recommended the accelerator "fix" (they changed the shape of the accelerator pedal and made an update to the engine throttle computer) and the fix has been applied to our car, it continues to behave in the manner described above. We feel the car is unsafe.

- Summerfield, NC, USA

problem #259

Feb 012010

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,308 miles
I have Toyota Camry 2007. I had experienced the RPM shooting up in low acceleration. I took the vehicle to dealer for repair in early Feb 2010, but the dealer detected no problem. However, as the problem persisted and it happened frequently, so I took the video of speedometer and tachometer, and went back to dealer with the video. Mechanics at the dealer tried to duplicate the problem with computer hooked to my car, and I drove the car with them. But again, the problem could not be duplicated. Dealer advised me that this has nothing to do with sudden acceleration of Toyota vehicles, and asked me to come back if the problem persists. Toyota did not perform any repair at that time. However, after this visit to the dealer, I have not experienced the same problem as frequently. I may have noticed it few times in the past month although I feel that acceleration seem unsteady. No accident has occurred, and I do not have sudden acceleration problem as reported on the news. However, I am concerned that the problem I have might be related to the sudden acceleration problem. I would like to provide the video if it can help NHTSA's current investigation for sudden acceleration of Toyota vehicles. The consumer felt the transmission temporarily disengaged or down shifted temporarily. The RPM jumped about 200-500 rpms momentarily. When it happened, the consumer felt an abrupt, but slight jerk, but it didn't accelerate in an uncontrolled manner. Updated 04/29/10

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #258

Apr 082010


  • 36,996 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. He referenced recall 10V017000 (vehicle speed control, accelerator pedal) and stated that after the recall repair, it was more difficult for the primary driver of the vehicle to reach the brake pedal since it was placed lower to the floor. He stated that only the tips of the drivers toes touched the accelerator pedal and she had to lift her feet over the carpet to engage the brakes. The contact called the manufacturer but had received no correspondence when the complaint was filed. The current and failure mileages were 36,996.

- San Dimos, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?