Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
8 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
139,922 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #27

Jan 062009

Camry 6-cyl

  • 30,011 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The drivers side sun visor will not stay up. It just hangs down in the way. It was not damaged in any way that I can see. Just normal use. When driving I have to eiter move it to the side to see. This has caused some visibility problems when it is very bright outside and you are driving into the sun.I had to remove it as it was impeading my vision during driving. Now I have to drive one-handed in order to shield my eyes from the sun. Toyota will not replace as a warrantied item.

- Vista, CA, USA

problem #26

Aug 152011

Camry

  • miles
The sun visor on the driver side will no longer retract to its normal position and now hangs at an awkward angle compromising my field of vision. As the sun visor has rarely been used or even touched, I believe Toyota is at fault and should be held responsible for correcting this inconvenient and hazardous defect as soon as possible.

- Shreveport, LA, USA

problem #25

Aug 012011

Camry

  • 36,280 miles
Driver side sun visor fall down on 8/1/2011. It will not stay hold up which will block driver's sight while driving. There is potential and serious possibility that this fall down sun visor may cause a car accident. Ever since last year, numerous of people have reported to Toyota that 2007 to 2011 Camry has this problem. As of today, 8/8/2011, Toyota has yet to reply to this problem or make any recall to the problematic model. In fact, Toyota asks their customers who experience this problem to pay for a replacement sun visor which may have the same problem in the future. This problem was created by either design or manufacture. Not by failure of usage.

- La Puente, CA, USA

problem #24

Jun 182011

Camry

  • 19,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The passenger sun visor does not work.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #23

Jun 162011

Camry

  • 84,400 miles
The driver's side visor is broken where it connects to the arm/bracket. It doesn't want to stay up. Either way I try to push it (backwards or upward), it falls back down. This is very dangerous because it is difficult to drive not being able to see red lights unless you strain to peer underneath the visor. Please help!

- Crandall, GA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #22

Jul 092011

Camry

  • 57,860 miles
Driver's visor just broke, flopping down in front of my son's line of vision while he was driving at night.

- Chester Springs, PA, USA

problem #21

Jun 262011

Camry 6-cyl

  • 69,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2007 Camry SE my visor fell off hit my head and I almost had a head-on collision.

- Brentwood, CA, USA

problem #20

Aug 082008

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that there was a moldy musty smell from the air conditioning vents. The contact stated that his eyes itched and he sneezed while driving. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who gave him an air freshener and sprayed foam into the vents. The contact had to frequently visit the doctor and he had sinus infections. The failure occurred when the weather began to become warm. The failure mileage was unknown. Updated 03/22/11 the consumer no longer owns the vehicle. Updated 04/25/11

- Raceland, LA, USA

problem #19

Dec 192009

Camry

  • 52,500 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) October - December 2009 on two (2) separate occasions, my 2007 Toyota Camry accelerated without apparent cause. The second incident happened after I had been shopping at the huntington mall for christmas. I was coming up to a redlight behind several automobiles when the car accelerated. I veered to the right side of the road to avoid hitting the automobile in front of me and braked as hard as I could. I also put the automobile in park as soon as I could. Before this, I had an incident of slight acceleration, but I don't recall exactly when or where-just that I mentioned to my husband that I felt the car didn't want to stop when I applied the brake. On January 6, 2010, I took the Camry to the dealership in which I purchased it for a routine oil change and requested the service department to look at the accelerator pedal. On January 22, 2010, the Camry had to be towed into the dealership due to a busted oil tube (which was later identified as a recall) and again, I asked the repair department to check the pedal. My husband accompanied me to pick the car up later that afternoon and when I asked if the pedal had been checked, the service advisor told my husband that the pedal had been checked and he had driven the car and couldn't find any problems. The service advisor related to us that "something about a recall was on the news about 4:00 a.M. that very morning". after the public recall and two letters addressing this issue with the dealership, I was finally contacted by the dealership to bring my automobile in for recall repairs. Since that time, I've taken the Camry in for a steering wheel concern, which warranted no apparent cause, and recently experienced another incident with acceleration. The acceleration was more of a revving of the engine rather than an out of control acceleration. I would like others to know about these incidence and hopefully avoid injuries. [xxx]

- Huntington, WV, USA

problem #18

Mar 302010

Camry

  • 140,000 miles
I own a 2007 Toyota Camry and have owned it since 2001. From about a year ago, the gas pedal sometimes gets stuck. This usually happens when I am stopped at a red traffic light. When the light turns green, and I hit the gas pedal, it sometimes does not depress. I have to put a lot of body weight on it to get it to depress. This causes initial sudden acceleration. This has been happening quite often off late.

- Pelham, AL, USA

problem #17

Jul 142006

Camry

  • 1,872 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I've had my engin air filter & cabin air filter eaten by rodents; one caused my 2007 Toyota Camry to stall several times. Additionally I had a rodent die in the area behind the cabin air filter & decayed. This occurred around July 2006. I've rep[laced the engin air filter & the cabin filter multible times due to this issue & will need to replaced again during my next state inspection according to the dealer. Dealer replaced cabin air filter on July 14, 2006 - replaced engin air filter on May 23, 2007 - replaced engin air filter on January 11, 2008 - replaced engin air filter & cabin air filter on June 23, 2008 - replaced cabin filter on June 26, 2009 - replaced engin air filter on March 10, 2010.

- Lower Burrell, PA, USA

problem #16

Mar 202010

Camry

  • miles
I went to "champion Toyota houston, tx 77034" for recall problem on March 19th. The service advisor named jacy blair signed me on and gave me an appoinment for next day morning( 9:00 am I guess). While I was there, I feel like checking my breaks too so I asked the service advisor about that and she called her technician. The technician advised me to fix my breaks right away because its sefty problem and advise me to leave my car there for that day cos they have to fix "recall thing" too. I aggred and remind him not to forget about " recall thing" again before I left. Next day they called me and left a massage in my phone that my car is ready. I went there and paid $ $480 for fixing the breaks and drove back home. When I look at the invoice at home I didn't see any thing written about " recall thing" so I called them back and talked with jacy again and found out that they gave me the car without fixing the "recall thing". I was bit of angry and I asked her to pick my car from home, fix it and return to me. She said that her senior manager gonna give me a call within fifteen min. And hang up the phone. I waited for 1\2 hour but no one called me so I called her again and she transfer the phone to other guy ( 10 min. Wiat) who didn't want to solve the problem and transfer to another guy ( 20 min wait ). the last person was nice and accepted the mistake and agreed to pick up my car at home next Saturday and fix it. He called me again last Friday to verify my address and told me someone will be there from Toyota next morning from 9 to 10 am to pick up my car. I waited whole day that day but no one came or any phone call. Now, what should I do" go back there even after being insulted twice or drive my car as it is" I feel like Toyota is using this " recall thing" as a grocery store Sunday coupon, where you go for shopping to save little money but end up spending more. In my case I returned empty handed even after spendiing money.

- Webster, TX, USA

problem #15

Jan 122009

Camry

  • 15,241 miles
Accelerate without pushing on gas pedal. Ran into another car when pulling into a parking space. Ceasing into the spot and then it accelerated which made it run into the car. No one was hurt but my car was damaged.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #14

Mar 262010

Camry

  • 38,468 miles
This concerns my 2007 Toyota Camry. I hear a rattle from the instrument panel and supposedly there is a tsb out for it. But I am really at a loss to digest that it is limited to only vehicles under warranty. My car is out of it by a year and about 2500 miles and Toyota will not fix the rattle. They want me to pay for it or live with it.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #13

Feb 202010

Camry

  • 45,000 miles
My 2007 Toyota Camry accelerated on its own. Brakes were applied and it would not stop my car. I then struck the car ahead of me.

- Arlington, MA, USA

problem #12

Mar 242010

(reported on)

Camry

  • miles
2007 Toyota Camry. Letter sent regarding the intent to proceed with an inspection for vehicle.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #11

Aug 172008

Camry

  • miles
Sudden acceleration in Toyota Camry

- Aurora, IL, USA

problem #10

Mar 212010

Camry

  • miles
Toyota replaced the floor mat hooks in my 2007 Camry according to the recall. New hooks continue to pull out from the floor every day and the floor mat slides under the gas pedal.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #9

Mar 182010

(reported on)

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Toyota Camry. Consumer requests reimbursement for replacement battery. The consumer took his vehicle to have the recall repairs completed. An hour later, the consumer received a call stating he needed a new battery due to corrosion, the fuel induction svc was dirty, a brake fluid flush, power steering flush and the cabin filter was dirty. The consumer advised the dealer he didn't want any of the above repairs done. About an half hour later, the consumer received another call from the dealer stating they would not perform the recall work unless he purchased a new battery. The next week, the consumer took the vehicle to an approved independent garage and was advised the only item that was needed was the cabin filter.

- Oro Valley, AZ, USA

problem #8

Mar 182010

(reported on)

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Toyota Camry. Confirmation letter regarding an inspection of vehicle. Updated 05/28/10.

- Unknown, CA, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?