Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,950 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #52

May 152013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 43,674 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Front brake rotor, right side only, warped, I have replaced the rotor, now when I apply the brakes I get an extreme vibration on the front right side. I have looked at the webb, car complaints.com, and found this condition on several other Toyota Camry's. I called the local dealer and they stated there were no recalls or service bulletin's on this subject. I have E-mailed Toyota (last week) and have not had a response. I am not asking for any warranty or anything free. I just want to know what is wrong with the brake system. We are afraid to drive this car. It is very dangerous at 60 mph. I believe that the problem is with the ABS brake system. I have owned and worked on cars for 50+ years and have not had a condition like this. I looked up the NHTSA id # 10025856 I am not sure that this would be the same.

- Republic , MO, USA

problem #51

Apr 222013

Camry

  • 9,700 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, the vehicle started to rumble as the rear of the vehicle shook abnormally. The contact was able to drive to the dealer for diagnosis where it was advised that the suspension needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired nor was the manufacturer notified of the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 9,700.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #50

Apr 202013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 105,500 miles
On 4/20/2013 was driving I95 from pa to fairfield university, ct on the last leg of the trip to fairfield cars were merging on to I95 I was looking to merge into the left lane looked in my mirror their a tractor trailer, next I decided to stay in the lane I was in, next thing I know the car spun around at least once maybe more, I was looking at a guard rail at one point, got it under control, an than was going straight. I saw a smoke or something near the tires after I got under control. I am not sure what happened to this time. Sunday I went had four new tries put on as a safety precaution, the road way appeared dry but it had rained Friday night, we were in ct around 8:30.

- Warrington, PA, USA

problem #49

Mar 292013

Camry 4-cyl

  • 57,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I took the car in for state inspection and was told my front struts are leaking and need to be replaced. I'm not sure exactly when the leaking started, but a strut shouldn't be leaking with that few miles on it.

- St. Charles, MO, USA

problem #48

Feb 152013

Camry 6-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while the vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for routine maintenance when the contact was informed that the struts were leaking. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate mileage was 49,000.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #47

Mar 202013

Camry 6-cyl

  • 96,427 miles
I drive a 2007 Camry SE which has a known issue for strut leakage from what info I am getting from other owners of the same vehicle yet Toyota claims that it is "normal" for a strut to leak. I haven't had that explanation from any other car manufacturer I've called to see if that is normal for their vehicles. This is ludicrous. These have to be some of the worst build Toyota vehicles in the company's history.

- Roseville, CA, USA

problem #46

Feb 082013

Camry

  • 73,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that upon inspection, it was found that the front coil springs had fractured due to rust. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was contacted. The failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 73,000.

- Easton , MD, USA

problem #45

Jan 112012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the struts were leaking. The contact took the vehicle to a local mechanic for diagnostic testing. The mechanic did not advise as to what caused the struts to leak. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 59,000. Updated 03/01/13

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #44

Dec 182012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
Vehicle started from parked condition. As operator tapped the gas pedal lightly to take it out of parked condition, the vehicle suddenly had a very high speed causing loss of control and the vehicle hit a house. Apparently it caused a open throttle condition. Pressing brake only aggravated the condition (adding more speed). This happened with an experienced driver with over 10 years of driving record and 0 incident (not even a parking ticket). All earlier recall were done by dealer.

- Belmont, MA, USA

problem #43

Sep 032012

Camry

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While driving approximately 55 mph over a road bump, the vehicle began to drive extremely hard. The contact continued to drive and inspected the vehicle once he reached his residence. The contact noticed that the four struts were leaking oil. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who advised that the four struts would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Britsow, VA, USA

problem #42

Nov 192012

Camry

  • 73,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer for an oil change and the dealer advised that the front axle failed. In addition, the vehicle was leaking engine oil. The vehicle was repaired. The engine oil ring and the front axle were replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure and current mileage was 73,000. Updated 2/4/13 updated 02/20/2013

- Downey , CA, USA

problem #41

Nov 092012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 69,712 miles
When I do 70K miles maintenance in Toyota dealer, they told me my car has water pump leak, oil pan gasket leak and front struts leak. And I heard many Camry owner suffered from water pump leak. I think it is potential safety issue. So I report this. No accident happen.

- Santa Clara, CA, USA

problem #40

Nov 092012

Camry 6-cyl

  • 48,790 miles
Took my vehicle to the dealership for routine maintenance. They told me that I need to replace my front struts(found front shock absorbers leaking) which would cost $1254. I did search online and found that this is a common issue among 2007 Toyota Camry. Would Toyota do anything about this premature defective issue?

- San Ramon, CA, USA

problem #39

Oct 172012

Camry

  • 29,168 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer for routine maintenance when he was informed that the passenger side, driver's side and rear struts was leaking fluids, which would require replacement. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified who advised that the failure was caused by normal wear and tear. The manufacturer offered no other assistance. The failure mileage was 29,168.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #38

Sep 012010

Camry

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that while the vehicle was being serviced by a private mechanic, it was found that all four struts were leaking abnormally. The vehicle was not taken to an authorized dealer or a mechanic for the issue. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted. The failure mileage was 40,000 and the current mileage was 75,000.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #37

Jul 262012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 82,000 miles
Sitting in car with engine off when a loud bang noise occurred. It turned out to be the left front spring breaking. I lost a piece off the bottom of spring about six inches long.

- Brown City, MI, USA

problem #36

Jun 012012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 29,200 miles
2007 Toyota Camry. Consumer writes in regards to struts repairs when the consumer took the vehicle for a regular maintenance check-up, he was informed the struts were leaking and needed to be replaced. The cost for the struts along with the alignment of the struts was $1100. The consumer for over three years about the brakes squeaking constantly and how bumpy the drive was.

- Cupertino, CA, USA

problem #35

Jun 082012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
I took my 2007 Camry le (~30K mileage) in for 5K mile service (via my Toyota prepaid maintenance contract 4 yr/55K.) & technician found a leaking front strut. I was told that I'll have to replace the strut & do the alignment for ~$1100 from my own pocket. He mentioned that the struts is heavily leaking. When I asked him, how it happened, he said that it didn't happen overnight & happens gradually. Since it is not under warranty anymore (Toyota never told me about this leak on purpose, when it was under warranty), the guy said that I'll have to pay for all expenses. Toyota is a fraud company & should pay for all these damages for hiding the truth from customers so that they'll wait until the warranty is over & then they'll try to rip off the customer. I'll appreciate if some one can pay attention to this issue & ask for recall of these faulty struts as soon as possible, since there are too many complaints for 2007 Toyota Camry especially when you need to replace struts at so less mileages (~30,000) !!!!

- Cupertino, CA, USA

problem #34

Apr 272012

Camry 4-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
I took my 2007 Camry (approx. 36,000 mileage) in for 5000 mile service (oil change, fluid checks, tire rotation, etc.) technician found a leaking front strut. I was told they would replace the one strut. After checking online and speaking with Toyota customer experience center at 1-800-331-4331 a case number was opened and it was recommended by a technician that struts be replaced as a pair. Car has had a very floaty, bouncy, out of control feel on highway dips. It is Saturday so I am awaiting a call on Monday as to whether or not the dealer/service department will replace as a pair. I have Toyota platinum coverage with no deductible so this should be free but I see enough complaints online regarding this issue to feel I should also report it.

- Clayton, CA, USA

problem #33

May 012010

Camry 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer for routine maintenance when she was informed that the front and rear struts were leaking. In addition, the sun visors would not remain upright and was impairing the contact's view of the roadway. The dealer advised the contact to replace the struts. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue but failed to offer any assistance. No repairs were performed. The current mileage was 40,000 and the failure mileage was 20,000. Updated 04/19/12 the consumer also stated the brakes would squeal when they were applied. The dealer found the front rotors were glazed. Updated 04/25/12

- River Ridge, LA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?