Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,950 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Camry suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #32

Feb 012012

Camry

  • 35,425 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We just moved to Nevada and began noticing that after driving at highway speeds of 75mph that the car will make a rubbing, grinding sound in the front end for the next ten+ miles at low city speeds. It is definitely connected to the front wheels as the sound speeds or slows as the driving speed does. It is becoming longer after each trip to town. We drive 50 miles at the high speed to get to the metropolis. All driving is on paved roads. Concern that we may have front end problems driving at high speeds and possible accidents. Toyota has no place to request or look up the problem on their website.

- Logandale, NV, USA

problem #31

Feb 062012

Camry

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that all four struts leaked and had to be replaced at 35,000 miles. The contact stated that the struts were leaking again and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not willing to replace the struts even though they admitted that the struts were faulty. The failure mileage was 35,000 and the current mileage was 48,209.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #30

Jul 012011

Camry

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that there was a loud noise coming from the front driver side wheel. A local mechanic diagnosed that the vehicle had a suspension failure on both the front driver and passenger side. The vehicle was not repaired. The dealer was contacted, but denied any assistance with repairs to the vehicle. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000 and the current mileage was 77,000.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #29

May 062011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 29,992 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken in to the dealer for routine maintenance. While inspecting the vehicle, they found that the front passenger and rear driver side struts were leaking. The dealer informed the contact that the struts needed replacing. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure and the vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 29,992 and the current mileage was 35,000. Updated 03/09/12 the consumer stated on April 5, 2011, she took the vehicle for a routine oil change. She was informed the right and left rear struts were leaking. The consumer went to the dealership and was told her vehicle did meet the requirements because the vehicle had less than 35,000 miles. However, the vehicle was more than three years old. They offered to replace the struts at a cost of $ $668.77. The consumer went for her 35,000 mile check-up a month later, and was informed one of the struts had worsened and needed to be replaced. Updated 03/14/12

- Cornelius, NC, USA

problem #28

Sep 282011

Camry

  • 49,000 miles
High beam headlights came on and would not turn off. Fuses had to be pulled due to the battery being drained. Online research shows there is an apparent problem with the headlight relay or switch but there is no information online where they are located. Also there is a severe knocking noise in the front end. The rack and pinion had to be changed as well as the struts and the car doesn't even have 50K miles on it. Toyota is junk!

- Livingston, LA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #27

Sep 062011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the vehicle was being examined by an independent mechanic when she was informed that all four struts needed to be replaced because they were leaking. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 69,000. Updated 10/27/11 updated 11/02/11

- Woodbury, MN, USA

problem #26

Jul 092011

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 19,135 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that front drivers side strut, as well as one rear strut was defective. As a result, all four tires experienced excessive tread wear. The failures were identified during a routine inspection. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where two out of the four struts were replaced; the front driver's side strut as well as one of the rear struts. The two struts that were replaced were also leaking fluid. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and offered to cover the expenses for the two strut repairs, but refused to replace the tires. The failure mileage was 19,135 updated 09/07/11

- Somers, NY, USA

problem #25

May 032011

Camry

  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to a local mechanic shop for a routine oil change where it was discovered that all four shocks were leaking fluids abnormally. The contact was referred to the dealer. The dealer advised that the leak was normal and there was no need to replace the shocks. They also informed him that there were no recalls for the failure. The manufacturer was contacted and informed him to take the vehicle to a different dealer for a second opinion and possible repairs. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 39,000.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #24

Feb 272011

Camry

  • 24,936 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that they started hearing noises in the front and rear wheel wells on the vehicle. The mechanic stated that the front and rear struts were defective and needed to be replaced. The contact had not spoken with the manufacturer was 25,300.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #23

Dec 042010

Camry 6-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
I have a 2007 toyoto Camry ce. In December 0F 2010 I had new tires installed after 42,000 miles and the Firestone dealer stated that all four struts were leaking and that replcement would cost approximately $1575.19. I suggest that this is a safety defect that should be looked into.

- Metairie , LA, USA

problem #22

Nov 102010

Camry 4-cyl

  • 24,024 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was stop at the stop light waiting for the light to turn green. When light turn green, I proceeded to make left hand turn into the undivided ramp. The steering would not return to the right. I turn the steering wheel as fast as I can to the right, but vehicle would not go to the right. On coming traffic hit me head on and collided head on with no air bags deployed at all. Bruised on head due to hitting head on driver side window. Insurance company had taken all parts for investigation. My left wheel was torn in half like it was open up by a can opening. Ball joints were off also.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #21

Sep 012010

Camry 4-cyl

  • 0 miles
Toyota Camry 2007 - persistent vibration steering at highway speed - not being resolved by a series of attempts such as balancing, tire replacement, alignment, brake component replacement. The steering vibration was part of a Toyota service bulletin but despite the specific instruction on how to fix the problem, the vibration was never eliminated. Lately, vehicle also showing vibration when braking - also at highway speeds. Brake repaired at dealer without results. Toyota dealer has provided no further resolution option. The concern is if this is a result of the original steering vibration with the vehicle showing further deterioration.

- Novi, MI, USA

problem #20

Oct 242010

Camry

  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. While the vehicle was being serviced, the contact was informed by the dealer that fluid was leaking from the front and rear struts. The vehicle had not been repaired. The current and failure mileages were approximately 51,000.

- Sunnyvale, CA, USA

problem #19

Aug 122010

(reported on)

Camry

  • 28,000 miles
2007 Toyota Camry. Consumer states problem with vehicle struts the consumer stated the check engine light illuminated and there was a slight leak coming the struts. The consumer was told the leaking was normal, but, they would monitor it every 5,000 miles. The consumer was unable to get back to the dealer within the 5,000 miles and by the time he did return, the struts were leaking past the lower spring seat. The quality of the ride; especially when going over bumps had worsened. All four struts were leaking and had to be replaced.

- Diamond Bar, CA, USA

problem #18

Feb 042010

Camry

  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The contact stated that all four struts were leaking oil past the lower spring seat. The dealer advised that the leak was normal.the vehicle was not repaired. The contact then took the vehicle to a local repair facility where they performed a wheel alignment and performed repairs to correct the leakage. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 28,000 and the current mileage was 30,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Diamond Bar, CA, USA

problem #17

Jul 012007

Camry

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Camry. The driver stated that after she purchased the vehicle, it started to accelerate intermittently on it's own when she drove in reverse or drive gears. The vehicle began to shake excessively. The struts on the vehicle were also defective. The dealer was notified several times and she had not received a response from them when the complaint was filed. The failure mileage was 10,000. The current mileage was 62,000.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #16

Feb 012010

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
2007 Toyota Camry struts leaking. Consumer states when the vehicle was having brakes and tires replaced the mechanic noticed the leak and said it was normal. When the vehicle went back to mechanic the struts were leaking excessively and could cause the tires to wear out quickly.

- Oak Park, CA, USA

problem #15

Feb 052010

Camry

  • 30,000 miles
February 5, 2010 re: Leaky struts on Toyota Camry I have purchased my 2007 Toyota Camry from dch Toyota dealership in simi valley. I have been informed by 2 certified mechanics outside of the dealership that my struts were leaking. They found the problem when they did an oil change, brakes and tire replacements. I took the car to dch Toyota for an inspection when the car had only 30,000 miles on it, they said that it was normal seepage and they did not make a note in the computer that they had inspected it. The car was still under warranty at that time I took the car to them again yesterday when the car had 60,441 miles on it. The dealership's mechanic indicated that the struts were leaking excessively and that could cause the tires to wear out much more quickly. By the way, I have replaced all 4 tires and the rear brakes during the 3 years that I've had the car. I'm certain that it's highly unusual for the struts to leak at such low mileage. The two certified mechanics outside of dealership have had the same opinion. I have print outs of numerous complaints about the same issue from other Camry owners who have reported their problems on various websites on the internet. Dch Toyota has told me that I would have to pay $2,300 to get the struts replaced additionally, all 4 rims on my car have rusted completely all around the rims. They have asked me to take the car into the dealership on February 19th for them to have it inspected by their district manager. After the inspection, they will let me know if they will replace the rims under manufacturer warranty or not. I need your help with this matter because I believe that leaky struts is a defect has not gotten attention from Toyota manufacturers even though there have been a lot of complaints. The problem will cause my tires and brakes to wear out much much more quickly.

- Oak Park, CA, USA

problem #14

Jun 012007

Camry

  • 100 miles
Toyota front suspension problems starting with 2007 Camry this needs to be investigated Toyota seems to want to ignore this problem.

- Lemont, IL, USA

problem #13

Jun 062005

Camry

  • 0 miles
I purchased my Toyota Camry le in June 2007, since that time I have had several front end alignments on my vehicle by different businesses. After the alignments, the car still pulls to either side and doesn't ride straight. The Toyota dealership claims there is nothing they can do and the car alignment is fine. I have talked with other Toyota Camry owners that have the same issue with their Camry's also.

- Lumberton, NC, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?