Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2009 Camry used to be adorned with our “Seal of Pretty Good” but that was before an alarming number of complaints started rolling in for excessive oil consumption.

Owners are being caught off-guard with how quickly their cars are running out of oil. No leaks, no spills, just 1 quart of vanishing oil in as little as 1,200 miles. Toyota maintains this is “normal” for the 2AZ-FE engine, even though they issued a TSB for the problem in August of 2011.

The issue may be the result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,953 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #25

Feb 112016


  • miles


Ntsb: 2009 Toyota Camry: Consumer stated the vehicle had a consistent problem with the left side motor mount, dog bone, and a poor quality rubber insulator component. The consumer stated she was shown where the insulator had cracked and split.

- Middletown, OH, USA

problem #24

Apr 172014

Camry 4-cyl

  • 35,893 miles
15,000 miles after having the water pump replaced, it was leaking again and dealer replaced it under warranty. Why no recall on this part? I'm now on my third one at 36K miles!

- Elizabethtown, PA, USA

problem #23

Dec 202011


  • 21,156 miles
Engine coolant level dropped to bottom of reservoir. Dealer replaced the leaking water pump. Work was done under warranty.

- Elizabethtown, PA, USA

problem #22

Mar 202012


  • 50,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. While in his home, the contact noticed that flames were emerging from the front and rear of the vehicle. The fire department was contacted to extinguish the fire. The vehicle had not been diagnosed and had not been repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileages were 50,000.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #21

Aug 012011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
With Toyota T-sb-0094-11, Toyota acknowledges that they have a problem with oil consumption in a handful of car models. They have set the bar high in order to get the repair covered, either under the normal or extended warranty. The problem gets worse as time goes on, so most cars will not experience issues until they are near or passed their warranty mileage. A series of oil consumption tests is required, but in my experience, they do not make sure the oil is not over full. I have had two tests thus far, and both times they have overfilled my oil by ~0.5 quarts.

- Harpers Ferry, WV, USA

problem #20

Dec 162011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 65,375 miles
Water pump failure at 3 years & 65,375 miles. Powertrain warranty is 5 years or 60,000 miles. Internet search indicates potential issue with the 90,000 mile coolant. Have contacted dealer and Toyota motor Corp. Usa to no avail. Spoke with [xxx]. Toyota motor Corp., usa case number [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Burke, VA, USA

problem #19

May 102011

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles


I bought a Toyota Camry on May 10 2011, the same week I felt the car acting up, I made an appointment for service and told then what it does, the service manager said it was normal, I taking my car 5 or more times for service and all they say is normal, my Camry shakes, vibrates all the time, I am afraid that the car is going to turn off on me and cause an accident one of this days that is the feeling I get every time I drive this car, I am a single mom with 2 girls all I want is honesty the seller dealer they need to let the buyer know of the wear things the Camry does before making the purchase the way the buyer can make the decision of purchasing the car or not...

- Twin Peaks , CA, USA

problem #18

Sep 102011

Camry 4-cyl

  • miles
I had a online appointment with Toyota of vacaville at 0:930 at vacaville ca and I dropped off the vehicle and was told it would be ready at lunch. I came to pick up at 13:30 and it was not ready. They did not fix the urgent recall. Too busy selling oil changes and tire changes. Took car home at 13:30 please investigate if selling out serves fixing recalls I now just want a refund after this. They don't care if my car suddenly accelerate they just want to sell service. I hope and this is why I am writing this my car doesn't suddenly do this and injury kids and stuff but my feeling from the dealer at vacaville is that selling products is what they do.

- Vacaville, CA, USA

problem #17

Feb 162011

Camry 4-cyl

  • 42,600 miles
On Wednesday, 2/16/11, at 4:50 P.M. I was traveling down sudbury street in boston, MA to make a right hand turn onto congress street in boston. I came down the hill and stopped at a red traffic light. My car, for no apparent reason, began to race and would not stop. I applied more pressure to the brake and shifted the car into park. It continued to race for 5-10 seconds after I did this. This was a very frightening incident, given there was a stopped vehicle in front of me, a vehicle behind me and many pedestrians at that hour. I no longer feel secure with the car and am anticipating that this may re-occur at any time. Updated 1/13/2012

- East Walpole , MA, USA

problem #16

Nov 012010

Camry 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. Whenever the vehicle was driven on a cold engine, the contact could hear a rattling noise from the engine. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was told the vehicle was performing as intended. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 12,000 and the current mileage was 15,000. Updated 03/07/11 updated 04/29/11

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #15

Mar 302010


  • 15,000 miles


Engine oil leak in 2009 Camry le 4 cylinder. This car hds a rear main seal replaced at 30K miles and the lekd returned. Then had a short block replaced at 34K miles. Leak returned w/I 277 miles of short black replacement. Filing arbitration. Vehicle still leaking and engine oil leak is very obvious.

- Brownsville, OR, USA

problem #14

Nov 022009


  • 20,000 miles
While parking and depressing the brakes, the car accelerated like a rocket and jumped over the parking curb onto the road with two way traffic. I had no control over the car. Within a few seconds the car flew across the road and hit a fence and was stopped only when it fell into a ditch by the railroad tracks. Luckily the car did not turn over. Surprisingly, the air bags did not deploy. I kept hitting the breaks and when the car stopped my foot was still on the brake.

- Menlo Park, CA, USA

problem #13

Jun 122009


  • 35,000 miles
I have a 2009 Toyota Camry. I purchased it in 2008. It started shaking/vibrating every time you come to a stop light one year after I purchased it. I took it to the Toyota dealer twice (once to have the oil changed and again because the vibration was so bad) and they proceeded to tell me it is because the air filter and fuel line filter needed to be changed & cleaned out. It would cost me almost $500. The car was only a year old. I was wondering if this is the same problem that they noticed with the current corolla recall? we had the 2 air filters changed & it still continues to shake. Some times so violently that you can see your hand on the steering wheel vibrating and the rear view mirror is blurred.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #12

Jul 252009


  • miles
2009 Toyota Camry, ac smell like a rotten egg. Online search shows that many car owners have this issue. This smell is so intense that car can not be driven w/O windows open. It gives head-ache and hard to bear with it. This issue should have been identified as a major issue requiring recall since we may end-up spending more money on health issues associated with it. Impact of this on economy due to loss of working day and productivity can not ignored.

- Lunenburg, MA, USA

problem #11

Jun 232010


  • 47,000 miles
I have a 2009 Toyota Camry, I was driving it to ocean city md when all of the sudden my car stalls I started it again and it started but started to make a really loud pinging noise and stalled out again. So I look under the car and there is a really big puddle of oil. I towed it to Toyota so they could tell me what was wrong with it. Turns out a rod of some kind came lose and went thru my oil panel which drained out all the oil in turn making my engine seize up because it was getting no oil. Toyota wont fix it because I was late on some oil changes and got the last one done by somebody else. And they say it could have been cause the oil was low but that's impossible!

- Willards, MD, USA

problem #10

Oct 182009

Camry 4-cyl

  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. While driving 25 mph over railroad tracks the vehicle accelerated resulting in a crash. The contact did not report any injuries. The contact applied the brakes until the brake pedal touched the floorboard; however, the vehicle did not stop. When the steering wheel locked, the windshield wipers began to function. The vehicle was taken to an authorized Toyota dealer to be repaired for the body damage but it was not examined for the cause of failure. The contact stated that a few months later the accelerator pedal recall was repaired; however, after the repair was performed the vehicle surged forward intermittently until the brakes were applied. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the brake system was repaired. The failure had not recurred but there was a rocking noise in the engine. The vehicle was taken to another authorized dealer who stated that the motor mount was cracked; yet, the vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was unknown. The current mileage is 18,000. 5/10/2010 the consumer stated the was an abnormal noise coming from the vehicle upon acceleration and when making turns. Updated 06/24/10.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #9

Mar 172010


  • 30,000 miles
In my 2009 Toyota Camry le, the recirculation switch turns off after about three minutes, letting in air from the outside. This is an ongoing problem whenever I'm behind a diesel vehicle. My car fills with fumes that affect my breathing. The first time I went to the Toyota dealer, they said it was a standard fix, and would cost me $50. When I went in a second time, and said I didn't want to pay, they said there was no way to fix it. It's clear to me that this is a design defect, that will have a detrimental effect on the driver and passengers, and that Toyota needs to fix it.

- Cameron Park, CA, USA

problem #8

Feb 112010


  • 16,000 miles
The contact owned a 2009 Toyota Camry. He stated that after having the recall repair performed on the brakes, 3 days later while driving 40 mph the vehicle lost power; however, the engine was still on. The vehicle was towed and donated to a facility. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileages were 16,000.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #7

Jan 012010


  • 11,000 miles
Engine stalled while driving 15mph and was towed to Toyota and they could find nothing wrong with car.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #6

Feb 202010


  • 36,000 miles
My car experienced sudden & strong engine surging - the pedal did not seem to be involved. Yet, required driving at slow speeds and the brake had to be applied very strongly to control the speed. It is a 2009 Camry, but not on the Toyota recall list (this was confirmed w/the Toyota dealership). The Toyota dealership could not replicate the problem, found no indication of it in the computer/electronic logs in the car. They had their service manager & quality control managers check it. No one can identify the problem. Yet, it was real and quite frightening. I am concerned and believe that there are problems other than the gas pedal issue currently being investigated.

- Nashville, TN, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?