Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2009 Camry used to be adorned with our “Seal of Pretty Good” but that was before an alarming number of complaints started rolling in for excessive oil consumption.

Owners are being caught off-guard with how quickly their cars are running out of oil. No leaks, no spills, just 1 quart of vanishing oil in as little as 1,200 miles. Toyota maintains this is “normal” for the 2AZ-FE engine, even though they issued a TSB for the problem in August of 2011.

The issue may be the result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
65 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
21 / 2
Average Mileage:
20,357 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 10 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #9

Nov 112009

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. While driving in a parking lot she slightly applied pressure to the accelerator pedal, and the vehicle suddenly accelerated without intention. Consequently she crashed into an embankment. The front-end of the vehicle was damaged. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. The cause of failure has not been determined. The vehicle is in the process of being repaired for structural body damages. The failure and current mileages were 10,000. Updated12/11/09 the consumer stated there was a vibration coming from the gas pedal before the incident. Updated 12/11/09

- Davie , FL, USA

problem #8

Oct 222009


  • 13,759 miles
Our 2009 Toyota Camry hybrid has experienced three separate incidences of sudden unintended acceleration during the past nine months. The car was purchased in April of 2008. The first event occurred in February 2009. The second and third events occurred in July 2009 and October 2009, respectively. In all three events the accelerator grabbed and began to speed uncontrollably. During the first event, the car continued to accelerate even after I removed my foot from the accelerator. During the subsequent two events, the car accelerated without my foot even being on the gas pedal. In all instances, it felt as if the resume button of the cruise control (which was off at all times) was depressed. Speeds reached in excess of 60mph in each event. During the first two events, a combination of extreme-pressure braking and shifting the car into neutral worked to stop the car, thankfully, without incident. During the third event, after roughly five to ten seconds of acceleration, a "pop" was heard at which time the car's acceleration ceased and returned to normal. The car was taken to the dealer after each incident. All three times diagnostics were performed and all three times the same answer....."found no current or pending fault codes. the first time it was blamed on an after-market floor mat. While one was installed, it was the type with "grabber" spikes on the underside to prevent movement, similar to a chair mat. I knew that this was not the cause but, as a precaution, I removed the after-market floor mat. For the second event, again, the dealer found no faults and, again, suggested floor mats. The only floor mat in the vehicle was the factory-installed carpeted floor mat which was secured by the factory-installed retaining hooks. Floor mats were not the issue. As an extra precaution, however, I removed the carpeted mat. The third event occurred on October 22, 2009. Car was taken to dealer. Factory technician was brought in. No problem found.

- Richboro, PA, USA

problem #7

May 222009


  • 9,000 miles
My boyfriend and I were on I-94 in Michigan when my parents' 2009 Camry accelerated out of control. A semi truck was merging onto the expressway, so my boyfriend hit the accelerator to give the truck enough room. We were using cruise control at the time going about 70 mph, but the car continued to accelerate at a speed in excess 90 mph after the break was applied once we got around the truck. The engine was revving very loudly at this point. The break did not override the car's acceleration or cruise control even when my boyfriend stood with all of his weight on the break. After several minutes, the car finally stopped accelerating. I took the car to my local Toyota dealer, assuming the problem was with the cruise control. The dealer tried to recreate the loss of acceleration control I experienced, but said they were unable to do so. The dealer mechanics inspected the cruise control wiring system, but claimed they found nothing wrong with the car. This event happened in May 2009, well before the recent increase in press coverage relating to similar incidents.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #6

Sep 012009


  • 15,000 miles


2009 Toyota Camry - incidents happened before current acceleration hoopla. Twice to my wife, twice to me. When quickly applying brake, foot touches gas pedal and car accelerates. Never on any other car, including a 2005 Camry has this happened. I believe that the relation of both pedals to each other is too close. Also the design of both does not help. I drive autos, not design them, but I think this is more of a concern than floor mats. Thanks for your consideration. Bob willett

- East Bridgewater, MA, USA

problem #5

Aug 272009


  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. While driving in reverse, his vehicle accelerated. After repeated brake application, engaging the parking brake, and then turning the vehicle off, the contact was able to drive normally. The dealer advised him to remove the driver-side floor mats. The failure mileage was 13,000.

- East Fallowfield, PA, USA

problem #4

Oct 272009


  • 32,000 miles
My 2009 Toyota Camry is just over a year old and I have experienced unintended acceleration 3 times. The last time I was accelerating to pass another vehicle and when I let up on the gas pedal the car kept accelerating, the rpms shot all the way up and the brake pedal was difficult to press down. Finally the brakes worked and the car slowed down, but the rpms were still very high and the engine was very loud.

- Perryville, MD, USA

problem #3

Sep 242009

Camry 6-cyl

  • 11,200 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. While driving approximately 45 mph and attempting to accelerate to pass a vehicle, the accelerator pedal stuck to the floor. The vehicle accelerated to 85 mph with her foot on the brake; however, she was only able to stop the vehicle by applying the emergency brake and throwing the vehicle into park. There were no injuries. The manufacturer stated that someone would return her call. The vehicle was taken to a repair facility. The current and the failure mileage were 11,200. Updated 10/23/09 updated 10/27/09

- Four Oaks , NC, USA

problem #2

Sep 192009

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,400 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Camry. While parking the vehicle and shifting the gear in park, the vehicle accelerated and crashed into a wall. The passenger air bag did not deploy. There were no injuries. The manufacturer has not offered any assistance. The contact stated that the carpet in the vehicle was not related to the failure. The current and failure mileages were 4,400. Updated 6/7/12 the consumer stated it was the second time she had experienced sudden acceleration while attempting to park the vehicle. Updated 06/25/12

- Palm Habor, FL, USA

problem #1

Aug 022009


  • miles
Toyota Camry 2009 - while driving on the highway the car suddenly accelerated from 65mph to 90mph without even touching the gas peddle. It was full throttle. When trying to stop it became very difficult for the brakes to depress. Had to push down on brakes very hard to get it to slow down. The next day driving on a local street I pulled out of my street and started to accelerate and the it just accelerated out of control, going from 30mph to 50mph. Tried the brakes and they felt like they weren't working until you had to step on them all the way. That was two days in a row that this happen. Took into the dealership and they said they couldn't find anything wrong with the car or duplicate the problem. I have researched this issue and have found that there is a lot of complaints of this very same problem. Something needs to get done or there will be a lot of accidents.

- North Tonwanda, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?