10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,790 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Acura MDX seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Acura MDX:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Acura MDX Owner Comments

problem #19

Jun 152018

MDX

  • 144,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

SRS air bag light error code 61-10 for driver side seat buckle switch failure.

- Dumfries, VA, USA

problem #18

Dec 112017

MDX

  • miles
Takata recall.I have received a letter from the district court for the southern district of Florida warning that my vehicle contains a defective or potentially defected airbag inflator and is underecall.R

- Hayward, CA, USA

problem #17

May 022017

MDX

  • miles
The warning light on my dashboard display related to the airbag system is on. Auto shop says that it indicates a problem with the airbag system. I have not repaired it yet as they said it is an expensive repair. In would like to have it fixed. I am thinking it may be related to the problem being dealt with in the takata recall.

- Pasco, WA, USA

problem #16

Mar 152017

MDX

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall received recall notice July 2016 called for appt August 2016 dealer stated "waiting for parts" and will call when parts come in to schedule repair have not received a call from dealership received notice from Acura in March 2017 (last week) that repair has not been completed. Still waiting for parts......

- Simsbury, CT, USA

problem #15

Nov 022016

MDX

  • 200,000 miles
I was traveling on a city street when another driver traveling full speed failed to yield as he was entering the city street at a high speed and harshly impacted my car in the front driver's side and then a second impact to my rear driver side. My seatbelt failed to restrain me to the seat and as a result I was brutally banged around the interior of my vehicle. Even though the physical damage to my car didn't look to be too bad, I sustained 7 herniated / bulging disc in my back and neck in which many are pressing my spine. None of my airbags deployed as well. Not even the side curtain airbag on the impacted driver's side. Had the airbags deployed and my seatbelt restrained me properly, I would not have sustained the serious injuries I did

- Katy, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #14

Jul 012016

MDX

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Acura MDX. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V344000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Anchorage, AK, USA

problem #13

Aug 182016

MDX

  • 104,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Took vehicle vehicle to dealer for air bag light on. Was told 2 sensors were malfunctioning and needed replaced (81169-sox-A1 and 77970-S3V-A72) on 8-18-2016. Over a week later the dealer ( mac churchill) tells me the parts will not be available till the middle of September. Asked if the was a major issue with Acura I was told only on 2003 and 2004 models. I was told I could retrieve the vehicle until the parts come in after signing a liability release. If that is necessary, all 2003 and 2004 MDX Acura should be taken off the street for defective safety reasons.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #12

Jul 012016

MDX

  • miles
Let me get this straight..there is a recall for the passenger side airbag and I am not supposed to have anyone in the front seat for the next 3 to 4 months...I was told the airbag is on back order till late fall!!!! god forbid nothing happens to my family driving this Acura MDX

- Reading, PA, USA

problem #11

Apr 012016

MDX 6-cyl

  • 5 miles
Hi I'm seeking guidance my mom purchased a used 2004 MDX and she only drives it to and from work about a five min drive and one morning after she arrived to work ten mins later her car caught in flames fire fighter investigators stated it was an electrical issue what can I do. About this VIN # [xxx] 2004 Acura MDX incident date of April 1,2016 around 630 am in the parking lot of lompoc hospital ca 93435 we received recall notice three weeks later Saturday April 23,2016 information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Santa Maria, CA, USA

problem #10

Apr 012016

MDX

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owned a 2004 Acura MDX. After parking the vehicle for approximately ten minutes, the contact was notified that the vehicle was on fire. The air bags deployed due to the fire. The passenger side air bag attempted to inflate after the fire. The fire department extinguished the fire and filed a report. There were no injuries. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic and later deemed destroyed. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V320000 (air bags) after the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000.

- Lompoc, CA, USA

problem #9

Jan 012016

MDX

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Acura MDX. Consumer writes in regards to driver side air bag recall notices issues. The consumer was informed the parts were on back order.

- Jonesboro, GA, USA

problem #8

Nov 172015

MDX

  • 126,000 miles
Following a relatively high speed accident, car vs. Downed large tree, the car sustained significant left front end damage and impact hard enough for driver to strike his head on the inside roof of the vehicle, suffering head and neck injuries. Only the side airbags on passenger side deployed. Neither front airbag deployed. No driver side airbags deployed. Front passenger and driver airbags had just been replaced due to recall on 10-12-15.

- Spokane, WA, USA

problem #7

Nov 042014

MDX

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Acura MDX. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V700000 (air bags) and 15V320000 (air bags) however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Frisco, TX, USA

problem #6

Jun 072015

MDX

  • 184,000 miles
On June 7th, as I was driving my vehicle the driver front airbag inadvertently deployed causing me to crash the vehicle. The fire depart and police department came to the scene. I was not injured. The vehicle was to towed from the scene. Deemed total loss by insurance company.

- Keller, TX, USA

problem #5

May 132015

MDX

  • miles
I got an airbag recall notice in January 2015 for my Acura MDX. Now it's mid- may and the Acura dealership keeps say they do not have the part. This is a safety issue, Acura needs to do better than this. I sensed that Acura is dragging its feet!

- Colts Neck, NJ, USA

problem #4

Sep 182014

MDX

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Acura MDX. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags); however, the part needed to perform the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Highridge , MO, USA

problem #3

Feb 132015

MDX

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Acura MDX. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #2

Feb 112015

MDX

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Acura MDX. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V700000 (air bags) however, the part was not available to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- St Petersburg , FL, USA

problem #1

Sep 172004

MDX 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
During a collision the passenger fell to the side window and air bags deployed, resulting in head injuries. Passenger was transported by ambulance to the hospital. Vehicle was towed.

- San Diego, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?