2015 Acura TLX transmission problems: transmission jerkiness in stop and go traffic

Transmission Jerkiness In Stop And Go Traffic

2015 Acura TLX (Page 1 of 2)

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Acura dealer.

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

CarComplaints.com Notes: 2015 Acura TLX owners just want a transmission that can get from 1st to 5th gear without feeling like a washing machine full of bricks. A class-action lawsuit wants answers for why the car’s transmission jerks and hesitates just months after the transmissions were recalled and replaced for not being able to shift into park.

7.2

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
4,450 miles
Total Complaints:
21 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (21 reports)
Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
2015 Acura TLX transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Acura TLX:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Acura TLX Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

May 142018

TLX ES 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,070 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When accelerating from a stop, the transmission slips or doesn't catch as the RPM go up. After a second it catches but causes a jerking motion.

- Albert M., Colton, US

problem #20

Aug 012016

TLX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles

OMG. How can Acura sell a luxury brand with a transmission that shifts horribly and potentially dangerously. I took into my dealer and they just put in a software update from Acura and it went from bad to worse. They said wait 500 miles for it to activate so I am waiting. But right now, it jerks badly when it shifts down to lower gears and jerks before a final stop.

Will never get another Acura for sure.

- Arjun R., Raleigh, NC, US

problem #19

Mar 012016

TLX V6 Tech V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles

I bought a '15 TLX Base a year ago and I liked it so much that I decided to buy another one this year. I bought '15 TXL V6 Tech. It was the worse decision ever made. Like everyone else in this forum, I have the same transmission jerking problem. After reading all these previous posts, I am encouraged to take this car to the shop, hopefully Honda can fix this mess. A $41K car shouldn't feel like this... and as a $75K costumer, I deserve a solution.

- errodriguez007, Panama City, FL, US

problem #18

Aug 012015

TLX Tech 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is my first and last time buying an Acura. This is not a pleasant experience. At slow speeds or in stop-and-go traffic, transmission lunges. The shifting from first to second to third speed is not smooth at all. Occasionally the car lurches forward when braked to almost stopped. Initially it felt like little hop, but recently the jerking felt like a car tapped me in the back. Very unnerving! I mentioned this to my dealer before and he said that he couldn't find anything wrong with the transmission. I keep hoping it will be fixed/recalled by Honda.

- Luminita V., Herndon, VA, US

problem #17

Apr 072016

TLX Tech 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,550 miles

The car hadn't been driven for about 16 hours before I drove it just 2 miles. I then came to a complete stop at a traffic light with my foot on the brake and the car suddenly lurched forward. The lurching forward felt just like someone had rear-ended me at a slow rate of speed.

The next day I took the car to the dealership in Alhambra, CA for the fix. They test drove the car and checked for DTC's (???) and none were present. I was told that the dealership didn't have any knowledge of a similar problem coming from other customers or Acura headquarters. It''s not a good feeling have to drive a $35,000 car that's probably capable of causing bodily harm by lurching into a stationary object and possibly having my car insurance premium increase greatly because of the Consumer Report rate the TLX as "least reliable."

- Arthur W., Pasadena, CA, US

problem #16

Sep 012015

TLX Technology 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10 miles

Poor 9 speed transmission. Car is brand spanking new

- inforem, New City, NY, US

problem #15

Nov 282014

TLX Advance 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Almost immediately after delivery in late November 2014, I noticed my 2015 Acura TLX (3.5L V6 with the Advance Package) jerked significantly between gears 1-3. I have a one-hour commute each way in stop-and-go freeway traffic, and the problem is hugely annoying. Frequently it jerks so hard that my head hits the headrest repeatedly. At the end of my commute, I'm wiped out from all the jerking back-and-forth.

The dealer says Acura is calling this "a characteristic of the vehicle" for which there is no fix. Apparently I just have to live with it until my 3-year lease expires. This is my 6th Acura, all leased new, and I have never experienced anything like this in any of the other models I've owned (Integra, RSX, TSX, TL) over the past 15 years.

This car will definitely be my last Acura if this issue does not get resolved. The thought of spending the next 2.5 years getting my head banged against the headrest in a $43,000 car is depressing.

- Kevin T., Lynnwood, WA, US

problem #14

Mar 142015

TLX 4c

  • Automatic transmission
  • 200 miles

I bought this car in mid March 2015 and about a week later as I slowed down to about 5 mph and then accelerated when suddenly I felt a huge bang as if someone hit me from the rear. I actually looked behind me and to my surprise no one was there. I didn't know what to make of it so I just ignored it. Then it happened again about another week later.

Then several days later from a complete stop I accelerated approaching about 40 mph when the car started down shifting. Mind you I had the transmission on normal mode. I just dropped off the car to the dealership so they will take a look at it tomorrow morning. Though after reading these complaints and discovering there's a law suit with Acura about the transmission issues, I don't see much hope. I am very disappointed especially the fact that I stepped up to a premium automobile from what I've owned in the past. Many were Honda's, a GTI and several used American cars. Never once had I had any problems with a new vehicle except for my FIRST PREMIUM CAR. This 2015 TLX

- lounj, Monroe twp, NJ, US

problem #13

Mar 092015

TLX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles

THE CAR LUNGES FORWARD WHEN I TAKE MY FOOT OFF THE GAS AND HAVE VERY LITTLE TIME TO APPLY THE BRAKE. AS A RESULT, THE CAR SEEMS TO PULL FORWARD AND REQUIRE ADDITIONAL BRAKING TO STOP. VERY ROUGH SHIFT BETWEEN SECOND AND THIRD GEAR. THERE IS ALSO A DELAY OR HESITATION WITH ACCELERATION. THE DEALER TOLD ME THEY COULD NOT PULL ANY DIAGNOSTIC ERROR CODES, ALL THE OTHER CARS ON THE LOT THEY TESTED HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM AND THEY RECEIVED NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS. THE DEALER IS WAITING ON ACURA TO COME UP WITH A SOLUTION.

- Joe M., Chester Heights, PA, US

problem #12

Oct 032014

TLX 2.4L 4cyc

  • Automatic transmission
  • 700 miles

Since I have gotten this car I have had issues with the car jerking bad and having the feeling of it not wanting to go in gear in stop and go traffic. Sometimes when it downshifts so hard it feels like I've been rear ended and the same goes when I go to take off. It seems to happen more when the car is cold and the weather is cold but that is not always a factor. I have had the car into the dealership and was told they did a computer update after I insisted there was a problem and made them call Acura. The update did not fix the problem.

- Ashley O., Elyria, OH, US

problem #11

Jan 262015

TLX 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 960 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I leased my 2015 Acura TLX on January 20, 2015. The following week was the first time I felt the car lurch forward when I came to a complete stop. It's done it several times since then (twice with a co-worker in the car). Have returned the car to the dealership two different times (once the following week after I leased the car, then again on 2/7/15) where I was told that they couldn't find anything wrong and that it was "the wheels realigning themselves".

Again, after having the same issue, I dropped the car back off on 2/25/15 for them to do an "extensive" check of the vehicle. Was told this morning (after I made the initial contact) that again they haven't found anything. Upon learning of the California lawsuit filed yesterday, I'm now requesting a meeting with the head service manager and the dealership manager. I don't feel safe driving this vehicle and considering the Acura service department can't figure it out, I'm looking at my options to get out of the lease. Not happy that I've had the car less than 2 months and it's spent more time in service than I've had it.

- Crystal B., Winston-Salem, NC, US

problem #10

Feb 272015

TLX Tech Package 2.4L I4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,700 miles

I am also an unhappy owner of a 2015 Acura TLX. When I first start driving the car when cold and I am in traffic, I will start going and then come to a complete stop the car will suddenly lurch forward (almost like someone has hit you in the rear end). I thought I was going to rear end the person in front of me! This is the fourth time this has happened to me, completely unacceptable for a premium luxury brand that costs $35,000!

Acura really needs to come up with a solution because this is a serious safety issue that can cause an accident. I don't feel safe driving this car in traffic anymore. Unfortunately since it's my only car and I live in a metropolitan area with lots of traffic so it's kind of unavoidable. Based on these posts, I'm apparently not the only one with this problem either.

- Justin F., Alexandria, VA, US

problem #9

Feb 202015

TLX Tech Package 2.4L I4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,700 miles

Like many other owners, I have been experiencing on a routine basis (especially when the car is cold) the transmission jerking when it shifts. This problem is worse in 1st and 2nd gear and happens most in stop and go traffic. It seems like the only time the transmission doesn't jerk is when you are driving the car full throttle which is just not practical and seriously drains your gas mileage (not fun when the car requires premium fuel).

I took the car to the dealer regarding this issue (Radley Acura of Falls Church, VA) who proceeded to tell me that this jerkiness was "normal". Completely unacceptable in my mind, especially when I paid so much for a premium brand.

- Justin F., Alexandria, VA, US

problem #8

Nov 262014

TLX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10 miles

When moving from a stopped position, the car will sometimes make a loud sound like the transmission is trying to shift into a gear that it is not supposed too. Rpm's do jot increase and the car will not move forward for a couple of seconds. This happens as I am pulling out. Has happened when the vehicle has been cold or warmed up.

Update from Apr 24, 2015: Acura updated my software in February and it fixed everything! But, lo and behold, come April, same thing started over. Hesitation, car trying to lunge forward from a stopped position with foot ON THE BRAKE. Dealer, of course can't replicate any problems so they can't fix it. WHAT A JOKE! On me and my wife, of course.

- Michael S., University Place, WA, US

problem #7

Jan 042015

TLX 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,500 miles

Transmission Jerkiness from day of purchase August 2014. I gave it time to work out the bugs and will bring it to the shop. Hopefully just a programming issue.

- Erik G., Chelmsford, MA, US

problem #6

Dec 092014

TLX Tech 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 900 miles

  1. On stop and go traffic the transmission is jerky (almost everytime)

    2. After driving 1 mile or so and coming to a complete stop, especially during cold start, the transmission lurches forward very hard ( like someone rear ended) doesn't happen all the time but happens often to dislike.

    4. When slowing down, say coming to a traffic light and not coming to complete stop and making right or left turn at say about 10mph speed or so, and hit on the gas pedal to speed up, the transmission hesitates and doesn't know which gear to engage thus making very jerky feel.

    5. Every time cold start, 1-2 shifts are hard.

- jeremyw945, Salem, OR, US

problem #5

Dec 062014

TLX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,500 miles

Took my V6 TLX with 3,500 miles on it into the shop today (12/18/2014) since I am unhappy with the transmission. Specifically, my complaint is that the vehicle is not responsive when I push on the gas pedal. When the engine is cold, it is particularly obvious. Additionally, when on the highway, I needed some extra power in a hurry since a truck was barreling down on me when I was merging and there was a significant delay in the response with respect to acceleration. Also, yesterday I was testing it out to see if I was crazy or something and hit the gas hard - after the delay in acceleration, it kicked in, but when I took my foot off the gas, the RPM's stayed very high for about 2 seconds before dropping down to the "normal" range. The dealer says all of this is normal since there are 9 gears. They said they took out other cars in their lot and they all performed the same way. It's disappointing to have a brand new car that they tout on their commercials as a "thrill" but is far from it when it comes to responsive acceleration.

Update from Dec 29, 2014: After driving this car for a week after taking it in, it is obvious that the dealership did "something" to the shifting mechanism to make it more smooth. There is no documentation whatsoever on the paperwork other than "no issue found". I plan to take this up with the dealer and Acura directly.

Update from Sep 16, 2015: Yesterday, September 15, 2015, Three warning lights came on in my car. I have 17,000 miles on it and it is now 1 year old. "Check Transmission", "Check VSA system", and "Check Precision All wheel Steer System". Additionally, when I was driving no more than 30 mph, the RPM was up to 3,000 and hovered there. I took the car to the dealership today and they told me that it was a computer system update that fixed the problem. I have my doubts that this is a long term fix to my issues.

- David O., Palatine, IL, US

problem #4

Nov 012014

TLX Tech Package 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 300 miles

Transmission is very rough when shifting gears. Especially bad in colder weather. Have not taken in for service yet- waiting until it goes in for the tech package software update that I just found out about.

Had a 2010 Acura TSX and had no issues with transmission, there is a definite difference between the cars. Am sad and worried........

- Lisa U., Perkasie, PA, US

problem #3

Nov 112014

TLX Tech 2.4L I4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,150 miles

Car seems like it starts out in 3rd gear, I give it more gas and it drops down into first and it takes off. Not the type of responsiveness I want when I am driving people around. Makes it seem like I have a lead foot.

- Andy P., League City, TX, US

problem #2

Oct 142014

TLX 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,553 miles

Recently purchased a 2015 Acura TLX 2.4 and the transmission can be jerky at times. It's very inconsistent and although the problem is more prominent when cold it still can happen when the engine is warm. I've also noticed when revving the engine hard the transmission slips or what also seems like a hanging clutch. Again, this is inconsistent but it does happen and it's quite annoying.

I'm assuming there will be an easy fix for the jerky transmission as it feels like the computer doesn't know what gear to use and gets confused. So hopefully its just an update of some sort. As for the hanging clutch or slipping transmission, I really don't know what is going on here. Hopefully this can also be resolved easily but I have my doubts.

- Sevan S., Woodbridge, Ontario, canada

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?