ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
89,005 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 BMW 330 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 BMW 330:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 BMW 330 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #27

May 012012

330

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car started showing "passenger restraint system malfunction". I researched the matter, and found that there is a recall. When I called BMW and gave them my VIN, they claimed that there is no recall. Almost every other BMW from that series/model was recalled and got the issue rectified under the recall. Please advise. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #26

Nov 012013

330 6-cyl

  • miles
I am an owner of a 2006 BMW 330xi and the airbag and seatbelt lamps have been on/off on my car since last November. Since this car model has a recall relating to airbag and seatbelt, I am wondering why I have not received any "recall letter" so I can present it to the BMW dealership in order to get the problem fixed. Thank you.

- Jersey City, NJ, USA

problem #25

May 062014

330 6-cyl

  • 144,000 miles
I am an owner of 2006 BMW 330I sedan with sports seat (manufacture date: 5/2005). Recently, the passenger airbag sensor became malfunction, and the passenger side airbag is indicated as 'passenger airbag off' as the result. After researching on NHTSA website, I noticed that this is a known issue, and BMW is issuing a recall on affected vehicles. However, in further reviewing the related documents on the NHTSA website, although BMW has recalled 2006 330I sedan with sport seats, the manufacture date of the affected vehicles that are included in the recall are from Dec 2005 to Sept 2006, and because of this, it excludes my vehicle. With other complaints listed, it is clear that the same issue has impacted a lot of owners of 2006 330I sedan with sport seat prior to the manufacture date that BMW has specified on the recall. Due to this reason, the recall should have been considered to include earlier manufacture date of the model considered this is not an isolated issue.

- San Bruno, CA, USA

problem #24

Mar 132014

330

  • 109,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have an error message telling me that there is a "restraint malfunction" on my passenger seat. It warns me that my passenger side airbag will not deploy in case of an accident.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #23

Feb 222012

330 6-cyl

  • 97,000 miles
My airbag warning light illuminated indicating that my passenger airbag system was offline. I brought it into my mechanic and they informed me that my passenger side airbag sensor mat and possibly my passenger seat belt sensor had failed. They informed me that the cost to repair would be approximately $700-$800 dollars. I recently received a notification that my vehicle may be subject to a recall for this issue NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000. When I contacted my dealership and bmwna they informed me that they would not repair my vehicle until required to do so even though my airbag system has already failed and it is showing as offline. I'm registering this complaint to document that they are not actively resolving this issue.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #22

Nov 102013

330

  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330I. The contact stated that the driver's side seat belt sensor was illuminated indicating a defect with the seat belt. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was informed that the seat belt sensor had malfunctioned. The contact called the manufacturer and was informed that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 08V384000(air bags). The failure mileage was 74,000.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #21

Apr 042013

330 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Has an airbag/seat belt light eliminated on the dash. BMW has diagnosed it as a failed passenger seat sensor. 2006 330I sports seats were recalled for this item in 2008. BMW recall id # 57362 - air bags: Frontal recall date Aug 05, 2008 recall date: Aug 05, 2008 model affected: 2006 BMW 3-series summary: BMW is recalling 200,000 my 2006 3 series sport seat, my 2004-2006 5 series standard and sport seat, and my 2004-2006 X3 passenger vehicles. Depending on the manner and frequency of the front passenger's entry and exit, small cracks have developed in the mat. If this occurs, the front passenger air bags, with the exception of the head protection system, will be deactivated and the air bag warning lamp as well as the passenger air bag "on-off" lamp will be illuminated. Consequences: In this situation the front passenger air bags will not deploy even if a sufficiently severe accident would occur and occupant protection provided by the system would not be possible. Remedy: Dealers will rework the front passenger seat sensor mat so that external force application to the seat does not cause a crack to the mat. The recall began on November 6, 2008. BMW will also extend the warranty on these vehicles to 10 years from first registration without any mileage limit. Owners may contact BMW at 1-800-525-7417. Potential units affected: 200000 notes: BMW of North America, llc. Updated 07/30/13

- Oakley, CA, USA

problem #20

Aug 142013

330 6-cyl

  • 115,350 miles
Passenger side air bag error consistent with front passenger seat pressure mat recall notice. BMW online recall check revealed that this vehicle identification number was not included in the recall.

- Glenview, IL, USA

problem #19

Jan 152013

330 6-cyl

  • 115,500 miles
The passenger seat belt/air bag light went on intermittently for months, finally the dealership was able to get the error code. It was confirmed that there is an issue with this and BMW has known about it since 2008. Per their website they were going to send out recall notices to owners, we never recieved anything. BMW needs to make this right and fix the problem at no cost to owners.

- Morgan Hill, CA, USA

problem #18

Jun 222013

330 6-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
Passenger side air bag error consistent with front passenger seat pressure mat recall notice. BMW online recall check revealed that this vehicle identification number was not included in the recall.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #17

Jun 062012

330 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After ~50,00 miles the passenger restraint system malfunction notification started to appear on the center console. The message continued to appear randomly, and now at ~70,000 miles, the message is permanently on. The message seems to convey that the airbags will not deploy in an accident. BMW has refused to fix the issue.

- San Martin, CA, USA

problem #16

May 302013

330 6-cyl

  • 131,000 miles
The following message (fault in passenger-restraint system affecting airbag, belt tensioner or belt force limiter) appeared on the display immediately after starting the car. Every time the car is started the warning appears. The warning remains as long as the car is running. This car has sport seats. Dealer service department claims this is not covered by the previous recall.

- Southborough, MA, USA

problem #15

May 252013

330 6-cyl

  • 60,007 miles
My car began displaying a "passenger restraint failure" identical to the recall in 2008 (BMW id#57362 NHTSA id# 08V384000). I have the exact model and trim (2006 330I with sport package) as the recall, but upon contacting BMW of North America, they stated my vehicle's VIN 'does not qualify' for the recall. I find this ridiculous, as it is a known defect (thus the recall) for the model and trim (sport seats) that are in my car. This is a clear safety defect but BMW refuses to repair it. Instead, I am facing an $800 repair which is unconscionable. I should not have to pay to repair a known safety defect with the car! BMW recall id # 57362 - air bags:frontal recall date Aug 05, 2008 recall date: Aug 05, 2008 model affected: 2006 BMW 3-series summary: BMW is recalling 200,000 my 2006 3 series sport seat, my 2004-2006 5 series standard and sport seat, and my 2004-2006 X3 passenger vehicles. Depending on the manner and frequency of the front passenger's entry and exit, small cracks have developed in the mat. If this occurs, the front passenger air bags, with the exception of the head protection system, will be deactivated and the air bag warning lamp as well as the passenger air bag "on-off" lamp will be illuminated. Consequences: In this situation the front passenger air bags will not deploy even if a sufficiently severe accident would occur and occupant protection provided by the system would not be possible. Remedy: Dealers will rework the front passenger seat sensor mat so that external force application to the seat does not cause a crack to the mat. The recall began on November 6, 2008. BMW will also extend the warranty on these vehicles to 10 years from first registration without any mileage limit. Owners may contact BMW at 1-800-525-7417. Potential units affected: 200000 notes: BMW of North America, llc.

- Bixby, OK, USA

problem #14

May 072013

330 6-cyl

  • miles
The airbag system light and seatbelt light illuminated unexpectedly after driving for a short distance. No modifications have ever been made to the vehicle, as I am the original owner. I received a recall notice from the factory regarding the "passenger seats air bag component failure" but no further claims of responsibility. I received an additional warranty for failure in the passenger seat air bag system, but none covering the entire safety system, which I believe to be the case for my vehicle. I project that I will be charged for a safety system failure that is not an any way, shape or form to be my responsibility. Please address this issue.

- Redondo Beach, CA, USA

problem #13

Mar 252013

330 6-cyl

  • 61,500 miles
For no reason the passenger and rear driver side seatbelt and airbag light came on while driving and stayed on forever. My 2006 BMW 325I has standard seat.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #12

Mar 122013

330 6-cyl

  • 88,000 miles
The sensor in the passenger seat is malfunctioning causing the computer to disable the passenger airbag. This was a recall on other vehicles of the same model and year, but BMW North America is stating that my VIN is not part of the recall. This is a major safety issue that can cause serious injury or death!

- Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

problem #11

Feb 192013

330 6-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
I have a passenger restraint system malfunction problem. I went to BMW dealership last week. But they told me my car is not on campaign so I have to fix out of my pocket. However, as I found on the recall list like below vehicle make / model: Model year(s): BMW / 3 series 2006 BMW / 5 series 2004-2006 BMW / X3 2004-2006 summary: BMW is recalling 200,000 my 2006 3 series sport seat, my 2004-2006 5 series standard and sport seat, and my 2004-2006 X3 passenger vehicles. Depending on the manner and frequency of the front passenger's entry and exit, small cracks have developed in the mat. If this occurs, the front passenger air bags, with the exception of the head protection system, will be deactivated and the air bag warning lamp as well as the passenger air bag "on-off" lamp will be illuminated. My point is what is different my car series and above 3 series why my car is not belong to under warranty. It is exactly the same issue. I do not understand why my car can't fix at dealership under warranty. If there is exception cars, I think it should clearly statement that is why or exception reason even same model. It is so inconvenience. This information is so confusing for vehicle owner. I really want to listen why my car is not on the campaign and I want to figure it out.

- Franklin, WI, USA

problem #10

Feb 282012

330

  • 94,212 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW 330I sport. The contact stated that the front passenger seat mat sensor malfunctioned, causing the air bags and passenger seat belt to become inoperable. In addition, the air bag warning light was continuously illuminated. The manufacturer was notified of the issue, who stated that there was not a recall for the vehicle and offered no assistance for the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 94,212.

- Cottonwood, CA, USA

problem #9

Nov 012011

330 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
Randomly while there is either weight from a bag or a person in the front passenger seat, the seatbelt light will appear on the dash and the passenger airbag off light will light up on the roof. This tells me that the airbag will not deploy even though there is someone in the seat in the event of an accident.

- Paducah, KY, USA

problem #8

Jul 262012

330 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
For the listed 2006 BMW E90 330I, the following error message was displayed in the idrive interface. "pass. Restraint system: Fault in passenger-restraint system affecting airbag, belt tensioner or belt-force limiter. Restraint system malfunction!" the failure occurred with nothing occupying the passenger seat while travelling approximately 35 mph. The seatbelt, airbag, and passenger airbag warning lights remain illuminated with and without a person occupying the passenger seat and cannot be cleared. BMW was contacted and stated the VIN did not qualify for a recall of NHTSA campaign id number 08V384000 (air bags: Frontal). The vehicle has not been repaired. This defect causes a severe safety risk due to possible seatbelt and airbag system failures resulting in potential fatality. Since the make, model, year, and equipment match the recall specifications; this vehicle should be included in the recall and repaired at no cost to the owner. The mileage at which the failure occurred and current mileage are approximately 86,000.

- Austin, TX, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?