ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,530 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 BMW X3 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 BMW X3:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 BMW X3 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #56

Oct 202017

X3

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle was sold to us with an airbag warning light activated. Per our sales agreement dealer was to remedy the problem. When we took it back to their mechanic he stated there was an open recall for airbag and take it to a BMW dealer so they can replace the mat. That was last October and now over a year later my passenger side airbag is still not working properly. Dealer is not concerned as I have called them several times and their response is " it is not our fault that it has taken so long for BMW to remedy the situation." So I am upset that it has been over a year and still no parts for the recall from BMW, as well as a dealer who got a car off their lot with a safety recall and took advantage of my not understanding the implications.

- Milliken, CO, USA

problem #55

Sep 282017

X3

  • 0 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW X3. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V605000 (air bags). The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The local dealer was not contacted. The manufacturer was contacted but no further assistance was provided and referred the contact to NHTSA..the contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Staatsburg, NY, USA

problem #54

Oct 012017

X3

  • miles
I received a recall notice on front passenger seat occupant detection mat from BMW approximately a year ago. The notice from BMW stated that they would replace the mat. To this date, they have not replaced it.

- Powell, OH, USA

problem #53

Oct 012018

X3

  • 0 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am reaching out to you to see if you could help me. My husband and I have a BMW X3 2006 and got the letter for the recall on the airbag. I just not sure what I do now. It has been over a year and still have not got anymore information about the next step. I have called them and was told nothing much. Do I need to call the BMW dealer and mover from there or just wait ? I just not sure what to do. Thanks you for all your help and time.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #52

Nov 202017

X3

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW X3. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 17V605000 (air bags) and stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to repair the vehicle. The dealer (BMW of denver downtown, 1040 S Colorado blvd, denver, co 80246) confirmed that parts were not available to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Greenwood Village, CO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #51

Aug 202018

X3 6-cyl

  • miles
BMW X3. Consumer writes in regards to front passenger seat occupancy occupant detection mat safety recall.

- West Orange, NJ, USA

problem #50

Nov 012017

X3

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a recall notice in November 2017. I took my car to BMW myrtle beach for the repair in December 2017. They gave me a loaner while the work was being done. They later told me the repair could not be done because they had ordered the wrong parts and that the repair parts are not currently available. In April 2018 my wife was in a near fatal accident where she had to be airlifted to a hospital and was in icu for almost 1 week. The airbag in our Toyota sienna saved her life. In the spring, I connected with the local BMW dealership, who referred me to BMW North America where I logged a complaint. I also requested a loaner until my airbag system could be repaired. They denied my request and for a loaner. They referred me to their website to read their policy and said recommended that I call the local BMW dealership for help. I asked them for a written position statement but they would not provide it for me. Their recommendation was not to allow anyone to ride in the front seat. I purchased a 5-passenger vehicle and not allowing anyone to ride in the front seat is not an option for my family. I have no choice but to have a front-seat passenger. Nine months is too long for BMW not to have a remedy for such a serious safety issue. I cannot believe that they will not provide a loaner at no charge until thy have a remedy.

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #49

Sep 282017

X3

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW X3. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V605000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer (lauderdale BMW, 2601 S andrews ave, fort lauderdale, fl 33316) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Hallandale Beach, FL, USA

problem #48

Sep 282017

X3

  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW X3. The contact stated that the passenger side air bag warning indicator was illuminated, which was a safety concern. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V605000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact called a local dealer (BMW of murray, 4735 S state St, salt lake city, ut 84107, (801) 262-2479) and was informed that they were unable to receive delivery of the parts. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified and was not able to confirm when the parts would become available. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 92,000.

- Salt Lake City, UT, USA

problem #47

Nov 012017

X3

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW X3. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V605000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer and manufacturer were not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Glenside, PA, USA

problem #46

Nov 012017

X3

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 BMW X3. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V605000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. BMW of freehold (4225 U.S. 9, freehold, NJ 07728 (732) 751-4335) confirmed that the parts were not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Manalapan, NJ, USA

problem #45

Aug 012015

X3

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW X3. The contact stated that the air bag warning light remained illuminated for an extended period before receiving notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V605000 (air bags). A local dealer was not contacted for diagnosis or repairs for the air bag warning light or recall parts availability. The manufacturer was notified of the failure but was unable to confirm when recall remedy parts would become available. The approximate failure mileage was not available.

- New Smyrna Beach, FL, USA

problem #44

Jan 012018

X3

  • 0 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW X-3. the contact stated that the passenger air bag warning light illuminated. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V605000 (air bags) however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact contacted an independent mechanic whom informed the contact that the parts were not available. The contact called a local dealer (BMW portland 2001 sw jefferson St, portland, or 97201) where the contact was informed that the remedy was not available. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact had experienced a failure. The failure mileage and VIN was not available.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #43

Oct 012017

X3

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW X3. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 17V605000 (air bags) was received in October of 2017. After contacting the manufacturer and the local dealer South motors BMW located in palm bay, fl, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the defect were not available. The contact had not experienced the failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Pinecrest, FL, USA

problem #42

Jul 272017

X3

  • miles
2006 BMW X3. Consumer writes in regards to front passenger seat occupant mat safety recall. The consumer requested to be reimbursed for the repairs.

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #41

Aug 272016

X3

  • 55,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW X3. The contact stated that the air bag indicator illuminated. BMW of honolulu (777 kapiolani blvd, honolulu, hi) was contacted and confirmed that the occupant detection mat was defective and needed to be replaced. The contact paid to have the vehicle repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V605000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. BMW of honolulu confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The contact was informed that the dealer could not file a claim for reimbursement until BMW published the remedy. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact was also informed that BMW had a remedy; however, they would not publish the remedy until all parts were in stock. The failure mileage was approximately 55,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Kapolei, HI, USA

problem #40

Sep 282017

X3

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 BMW X3. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V605000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer (ferman BMW, 31400 us hwy 19 N, palm harbor, fl 34684) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not contacted. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Dunedin, FL, USA

problem #39

Dec 262017

X3

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2006 BMW X3. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 17V605000 (air bags), but did not receive a notification. The dealer (BMW of the woodlands, 17830 N fwy service rd, the woodlands, tx 77384, (936) 776-4610) was unable to determine when the remedy and parts would be supplied from the manufacturer. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Kingwood, TX, USA

problem #38

Aug 182017

X3

  • 105,000 miles
Head protection system was deactivated the air bag warning lamp illuminated and the air bag "on-off" lamp illuminated as well. After purchase there was no illumination of these lights and then about 2 years later while driving in the city at about 45 mph, both lamps illuminated when my son and I were heading to the store. I called BMW and they told me then that it was probably due to a cracked seat mat sensor and a recall on those sensors was being extended for 2006 X3 models. I called our local BMW today to schedule a repair of the seat and have the car parked in the garage since August 2017 due to a possible vehicle safety issue with a system failure of airbag deployment. My son has been unable to use the car for college which is 4 hours away. Now I would like to understand why this vehicle is not considered under the extended warranty notices of 08V384000 or 17V605000.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #37

Dec 292017

X3

  • miles
Pertaining to BMW recall campaign 17V-605. This recall has been going on for more than two years and the manufacturer does not have any idea when parts will be available. The part in question is available for purchase from dealers. I don't feel that BMW is handling this recall properly, especially as it concerns passenger safety. The affected part is the passenger seat airbag sensor mat.

- Denver, CO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?