ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,897 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 BMW X5 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 BMW X5:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 BMW X5 Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #25

Feb 012013

X5

  • 94,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Production date 03/2006 front passenger seat occupant detection mat malfunction. Vehicle was brought to independent shop for code reading to verify that 'airbag light off' illuminated was triggered from seat sensor. Light stays illuminated (indicating airbag is off) with adult occupant on passenger seat, approximately less than 1,000-miles after, driver dash airbag light illuminated permanently also. Vehicle was purchased as a cpo. Airbag/seat sensor code began after cpo warranty expired. During the period of my ownership, vehicle was never involved in any collisions. Vehicle was last brought in for brake and oil service at BMW dealership. Some research seem to indicate a recall regarding very similar situation (NHTSA campaign # 08V384000) was available for certain model BMW. Summary of the campaign letter does not include 2006 X5, however, extra notes does state that it includes "my 2006 X5." Both BMW dealership and BMW of na were not able to find any recall associated with my VIN. There were made aware of the letter and were firm that vehicle was not part of the recall and repair/replacement cost at owner's expense.

- San Gabriel, CA, USA

problem #24

Jun 012013

X5 6-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
Passenger seat occupancy airbag light shows airbag is inactivate (whether or not someone is in the passenger seat). This light appears intermittently. Took to dealer and was advised the repair is $1200. Although my model should be covered in the 2008 recall, NHTSA 08V384000 - ??BMW is extending the warranty to 10 years from first registration without any mileage limit to the following vehicles: My 2006 6-series, 3-series (standard seat), my 2004-2005 Z4, my 2004-2006 7-series, my 2006 X5, and my 2004-2006 5-series (comfort seat). Under the extended warranty program, the occupant detection mat in a vehicle that experiences this specific issue will be replaced at no charge to the customer, although my car is listed above, the dealer says that my 2006 X5 was manufactured outside the current manufacture date for the 2008 recall. This recall need to be expanded. There are numerous complaints from 2006 X5 owners outside the November 2005 manufacture date.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #23

Jun 152013

X5 8-cyl

  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW X5. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the mat sensor had failed. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 88,000. Updated 8/5/13 the consumer stated her vehicle was rear ended. However, while at the collision center, the air bag light sensor illuminated on the dash.

- Whiting, NJ, USA

problem #22

Jun 152013

X5 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Both the air bag warning lamp and passenger air bag "on-off" lamp illuminated on circumstance that there is someone sitting on the passenger seat.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #21

May 152013

X5 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
Passenger seat occupancy airbag light near sunroof controls remains unilluminated (which means airbag is activated) when no one is in the passenger seat. This appears to be intermitent as yesterday it remained illuminated (airbag off) as it should be with no one in the passenger seat. Also had case where red airbag light was illuminated on dash for unknown reason but light went off after driving for a period of time. My X5 was manufactured in May 2006 and appears to be outside the current manufacture date for the 2008 re-call. The recall needs to be expanded based on how many people complain about this on vehicles outside the November 05 manufacture date.

- Wethersfield, CT, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #20

Mar 182013

X5 6-cyl

  • 121,018 miles
Passenger seat occupancy sensor light illuminated and disengaged airbag whether passenger in seat or not. Known faulty equipment needs recall and repair.

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #19

Aug 252012

X5

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 BMW X5. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The manufacturer was contacted and informed the contact that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 08V384000 (air bags). The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #18

Jan 022013

X5 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW X5. The contact stated that when the vehicle was started, the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the air bag sensor needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 42,000 and the current mileage was 48,900.

- Lexington, MA, USA

problem #17

Jul 152012

X5 6-cyl

  • 93,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW X5. The contact stated that when the vehicle was started, the air bag light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was found that the air bag sensor needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was informed of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included in the manufacturer's recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 93,000. Updated 02/12/13 updated 02/13/13

- Middle Village , NY, USA

problem #16

Jul 012012

X5

  • 60,000 miles
Passenger side seat sensor has failed, leaving airbag in permanently deactivated state. This defect was previously subject of recall in other vehicles in same model year, but not particular month of manufacture of mine according to VIN. Have reported to BMW dealer and BMW na; customer service agent at BMW na initially indicated they might cover it but then request was denied by management. I have requested they simply deactivate the sensor and leave the airbag on, which would seem to be a low-cost repair. They have stated there is no safety issue in doing so. The stated purpose of the sensor is to prevent unnecessary cost for airbag replacement after an accident. This seems to be a clear design defect: If the sensor fails, the airbag should be left in the active condition, not a disabled condition. The dealer is requesting $1276 to replace the defective seat sensor. BMW knows they are making money off this repair and has no incentive to find a low cost repair that would save lives. Software deactivation of the sensor would increase safety since some will be unable to afford a repair of this expense and driving without a passenger side SRS puts occupants at significant risk. I am a university professor and I have notified BMW na of this and if BMW continues to refuse to provide a low-cost repair for this condition I will be willing to testify at trial attesting to the fact that BMW was informed of this issue and advised of their possible liability if anyone has an accident in a 2006 X5 and the passenger airbag does not deploy resulting in increased passenger injury; contact me at [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Berkeley, CA, USA

problem #15

Apr 042011

X5 6-cyl

  • 59,862 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The sensor in the passenger's seat failed so the airbags light stayed on as well as the fasten seatbelt. Transport Canada issued a recall # 2008307 Aug. 26, 2008 confirming the problem and that"the occupant detection mat will be granteda warranty extension of 10 years" BMW will not honor this. I had to enter Washington state as Canada is not listed. City is surrey, british columbia, V4A8C1.

- Surrey, British Columbia, 00, USA

problem #14

Dec 152009

X5 6-cyl

  • 30,010 miles
Just purchased the certified pre owned BMW X5. 2006 model and had it 1 day and the passenger side airbag light came on and would not go off. Returned car to BMW of dallas to have repaired. Approximately 40000 miles later at 68000 miles same light is on and will not go out.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #13

Mar 132012

X5 6-cyl

  • 44,360 miles
The front passenger air bag sensor went on at 44K and remains illuminated at all times and for no apparent reason. I took the vehicle to an independent repair shop and was informed that the air bag sensor was defective. Called the BMW site who indicated that there were no recalls for this issue. Contacted NHTSA website and informed that recall was in place (EA08001 BMW of North America, llc 01/04/2008 12/31/2008 BMW airbag light illumination 08V384000) dealer stated they would not honor this due to the manufacture date of my vehicle which fits every other criteria (e.g., year, make and model.) not the BMW I am used to.

- Meridian, ID, USA

problem #12

Jul 092012

X5

  • 62,250 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW X5. The contact stated that the front passenger air bag sensor remained illuminated at all times. The vehicle was taken to an independent repair shop and the contact was informed that the air bag sensor was defective. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 62,250. The VIN was unavailable.

- Carterville, IL, USA

problem #11

May 242012

X5

  • 81,963 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW X5. The contact stated that the air bag light illuminated upon starting the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic and the front passenger seat sensor was replaced. The manufacturer was notified and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 81,963.

- Calabasas, CA, USA

problem #10

Mar 012012

X5 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
The passenger air bag light is on all the time. I took it into my BMW dealership and they said the sensor mat in the seat faulted and needs to be replaced.they originally said it was covered under a warranty extension for this specific problem. Later they said my vehicle was made too late to be included in the voluntary warranty extension. If this is the same problem that keeps occurring in bmws and obviously affects the safety of the vehicle and is the subject of a NHTSA investigation, why is my vehicle not covered. It would appear BMW did not fix its problems with its passenger airbag system. Why isn't the NHTSA still investigating this problem.

- Ruxton, MD, USA

problem #9

Oct 112011

X5 6-cyl

  • 68,166 miles
I noticed that the airbag light was on, I called BMW and they scheduled me for a appointment the following week. On the day of the appointment the vehicle was diagnosed and showed that the front seat mat was faulty. I paid $1400 to have it fixed. Five months since the vehicle was serviced by the dealer, the airbag light was on again which means the airbag won't deploy when it's needed.

- Lorton, VA, USA

problem #8

Dec 022011

X5

  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW X5. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated approximately 2 months ago. The vehicle was later taken to the dealer and they advised the contact that the front passenger seat sensor failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and they offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 102,000.

- Mendum, NJ, USA

problem #7

Jan 172012

X5

  • 60,750 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW X5. The contact stated that the passenger side air bag warning lamp illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the passenger side air bag sensor was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was no longer under warranty. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 60,750 and the current mileage was 60,890.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #6

Aug 052011

X5 8-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Air bag passenger seat occupancy sensor failure.

- Alamogordo, NM, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?