ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,897 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 BMW X5 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 BMW X5:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 BMW X5 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #45

Jan 072014

X5

  • 87,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 BMW X5. The contact stated that she attempted to have the vehicle repaired under recall NHTSA campaign number: 13V564000 (air bags). The contact mentioned that recall repairs were unable to be performed since the parts were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The vehicle had not exhibited the failure.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #44

Apr 082013

X5

  • 121,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW X5. The contact stated that the passenger's side air bag warning light continuously illuminated. The failure recurred on several occasions.. the vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 13V564000 (airbags). The approximate failure mileage was 121,000.

- Thousand Oaks, CA, USA

problem #43

Apr 232014

X5

  • 93,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW X5. The contact stated that the passenger side air bag warning light continued to flash off and on when a passenger was either occupying the seat or when there was no passenger. The contact also stated that the seat belt warning chime was activated when the passenger was secured using the seat belt. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The contact was informed that the vehicle was not included in the NHTSA campaign number 13V564000 (air bags). The contact stated that the vehicle experienced the same defect listed in the recall. The failure mileage was 93,000.

- Eliso Viejo, CA, USA

problem #42

Oct 012011

X5 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 BMW X5. The contact stated that the air bag warning light continuously illuminated that the passenger's side air bag was not activated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the technician diagnosed that the air bag sensor needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 68,000 and the current mileage was 72,000. Updated 07/22/14 MA the air bag light first appeared as an intermittent problem, back in October 2011.

- Glenhead , NY, USA

problem #41

Apr 092014

X5 6-cyl

  • 900,000 miles
I rec'd a recall notice from BMW about 30 days ago and heard nothing. I called them and they said the recall was VIN specific. This involves air warning that goes on and off intermittently. I am having problems with this and am concern if in an accident will air deploy. I do believe the recall is more wide spread then what they are admitting to.

- Hillsborough, NJ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #40

Dec 102011

X5

  • 58,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW X5. The contact stated that the air bag light would continuously illuminate with or without a passenger in the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician diagnosed that the air bag sensor was faulty and needed to be replaced. No repairs were made to the vehicle. The manufacture was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 58,000 and the current mileage was 86,000.

- North Hollywood, CA, USA

problem #39

Jan 062014

X5

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 BMW X5. The contact received recall notification related to NHTSA campaign id number 13V564000 (air bags) and was informed that the part was not available. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #38

Apr 162014

X5

  • 67,203 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW X5. The contact stated that the air bag light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the mat sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 13V564000 (air bags). The failure mileage was 67,203.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #37

Feb 032014

X5 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
I received a recall notification from bwm a couple of months ago; 'recall campaign no. 13V-564: Front passenger air bag seat occupancy sensor mat'. the recall notice said that the parts were not yet available to fix the issue but that they would be shortly and BMW would send out a notice once they were available. My vehicle was experiencing the exact issue described in the recall letter which was 'the air bag warning lamp on the instrument cluster and the front "passenger air bag off" lamp in the overhead console are illuminated at the same time'. I took my car into a service center (center BMW in sherman oaks, ca); they acknowledged the recall and told me to come back in March when the parts would be available. Not only are the parts still unavailable, but the recall notice has been cancelled for some reason. My front passenger seat air bag is still not functioning though. I am forced to have passengers travel in the front seat at times and am very concerned that if an accident happens they will be seriously hurt. Who can I contact to help with this"?"

- Northridge, CA, USA

problem #36

Oct 182012

X5

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW X5. The contact stated that while driving 30 mph, the air bag light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection and they stated that the front passenger seat occupancy detector mat needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 45,000.

- Danville, CA, USA

problem #35

Feb 242014

X5 8-cyl

  • 94,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Both of the air bag problem indicator lights are activated. This is a result of a faulty air bag occupant detection mat. This faulty mat deactivates the passenger side airbag. There have been recalls issued by BMW for this issue for my model and other models. When I called the dealership they informed me that my vehicle will not be covered based on my VIN number.

- Easley, SC, USA

problem #34

Jun 042013

X5 6-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW X5. The contact stated that while driving various speeds, the air bag warning indicator illuminated continuously. There was a recall related to the failure under NHTSA campaign id number 13V564000 (air bags) however, the VIN was not included. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 50,000.

- Hacienda Heights, CA, USA

problem #33

Oct 012010

X5 6-cyl

  • miles
Since 2010, my BMW X5, 3.0, 2006 seat belt continually sounds the alarm chime even though there is no passenger in the seat. This issue only happens in the passenger front seat. The seat belt must remain fastened at all times to avoid the warning indicator from alarm.

- Bowie, MD, USA

problem #32

Jul 012013

X5 8-cyl

  • 106,999 miles
Passenger airbag is de-activated. Passenger seat occupancy sensor is not working. BMW states that my production date is not inclusive of the recall# 13V564000. The recall starts mfg date 12/1/2005 forward for BMW X5 models. BMW customer service stated my date of mfg was 10/25/2005 and they will not cover. I need intervention with this matter. It is more than coincidence that I am having the identical issue as cars mfg less than 35 days after my mfg date. Thank you.

- Cedar Grove, NJ, USA

problem #31

Dec 242013

X5 6-cyl

  • 94,500 miles
Passenger side seat sensor has failed, leaving airbag in permanently deactivated state.

- Santa Monica, CA, USA

problem #30

Dec 022013

X5 6-cyl

  • 63,500 miles
Front passenger airbag malfunction light stays on. Obd scanner indicates air bag mat sensor defect. BMW declined to fix problem since vehicle is out of warranty. Same problem appeared on June 15, 2011 but was fixed at no cost by dealership since vehicle was still under warranty at 447,94 miles.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #29

Dec 012013

X5 8-cyl

  • 99,000 miles
Passenger occupancy sensor fails, causing air bag to become inoperative and airbag light to appear on dash. In case of accident, the airbag will not deploy. Dealer wants nearly 2000 dollars to fix, though they say it had "already been repaired in 2008" when the vehicle was two years old; dealer confirmed that they hear this complaint all of the time. Recall campaign 08V384000 addresses this issue for some BMW models/seats, but does not adequately address all models and years that have the problem. For the X5 model, for example, the "comfort seat" is covered, but the standard seat, which has the very same problem (not related to the comfort system) is not. Please widen the coverage of the campaign to include all models and years affected by this widespread problem.

- Kaysville, UT, USA

problem #28

Jan 272013

X5 6-cyl

  • miles
Passenger air bag sensor.

- Imperial Beach, CA, USA

problem #27

Oct 152012

X5 6-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
After experiencing the same issue for which BMW issued this recall NHTSA action number: EA08001 I learned that because my 2006 X5 was manufactured after November 30, 2005, BMW is not covering under warranty the very same defect that vehicles manufactured prior to November 30, 2005 are under warranty for (extended to 10 years with no mileage restrictions). The explanation is "that is the recall policy. We manage this via VIN numbers".

- Danville, CA, USA

problem #26

Aug 082013

X5

  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 BMW X5. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where it was discovered that the passenger's side mat sensor had failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure and the contact was informed that the vehicle was not included in recall NHTSA campaign number: 08V384000 (air bags). The approximate failure mileage was 59,000.

- Wesley Chapel, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?