7.5

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
6,750 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2000 BMW Z3 seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2000 BMW Z3:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2000 BMW Z3 Owner Comments

problem #4

Jan 242005

Z3 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 27,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had various problems with my BMW Z3 2000¿¿internal water pump failure while on the freeway, rattling noises in the car because of the braking system, etc. Additionally, I have continually had the same problem year over year since I've owned the vehicle--the SRS light on the dash coming on due to the seat belt tensioner being faulty. On service dates 8/22/03, 12/05/03, 12/18/03, 1/10/04, 3/20/04, 9/10/04, 1/24/05, I have had the SRS problem fixed¿¿and the problem has yet to be repaired. The last time I came in (1/24/05), I talked with the service manager about the SRS problem and he told me that the problem with the SRS light should be fixed and should be covered under warranty, so I don¿¿T have to worry about it. I am scheduled to go in the week of July 11th for the SRS problem, along with engine problems. The seat belt tensioner actually holds a person in place--even when they shouldn't be held in place.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #3

Apr 232002

Z3

  • miles
BMW has failed to repair the seat belt defects on this car. The seat belt retractors are frozen and cannot be used while driving the car. It sounds like they have had a number of problems with the seat belt retractors on the Z3 roadster, but are trying to brush us off. We need your help to make sure we can use the seat belts while driving this car. In addition, the entire seat system in this car is lousey, and required us to have the driver seat back bracket repalced on 2 separate occassions.

- Potomac, DC, USA

problem #2

Sep 012000

Z3

  • miles
Eporting driver seat belt would not retract from the retractor; unable to seat belt, dealer notified and repairs are being made. Feel free to provide any further details:

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #1

Mar 162000

(reported on)

Z3

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Passenger's side shoulder retractor keeps jamming, causing a loss of protection. Dealer only has unjammed shoulder strap, but will not replace part.

- Reeds Springs, MO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?