2010 Chrysler Town & Country electrical problems: engine won't turn over,won't start

Engine Won't Turn Over,Won't Start

2010 Chrysler Town & Country (Page 1 of 2)

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Chrysler dealer.

8.4

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$1,020
Average Mileage:
71,300 miles
Total Complaints:
21 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (18 reports)
  2. new TIPM (2 reports)
  3. replaced starter (1 reports)
2010 Chrysler Town & Country electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Chrysler Town & Country:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Chrysler Town & Country Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #21

Jun 032019

Town & Country

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

THIS VAN STARTS WHEN IT FEELS LIKE IT. TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND IT STARTED EVERY TIME SO THEY COULD NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. I LEAVE THE DEALERSHIP AND IT WON'T START. I HAVE READ SEVERAL COMPLAINTS WITH CHRYSLER HAVING THIS PROBLEM. I AM SO SICK OF POURING MONEY INTO THIS VAN. I WILL NEVER OWN A CHRYSLER AGAIN!!!! EATS ROTORS, CONSUMES AND BURNS EXCESSIVE OIL AND STARTS WHENEVER IT FEELS LIKE IT. BUYER BEWARE LOOK THIS UP. THIS IS FACTS.

- Michelle T., Lapeer, US

problem #20

Apr 022015

Town & Country Touring 4.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,979 miles

4 NEW STARTERS FROM CHRYSLER. 3 NEW BATTERIES. NEW IGNITION SWITCH. NEW KEY FOB. NEW RECEIVER 683210156-AA.

NEW TRANSMITTER56046708-AE. 2 AFTERMARKET STARTERS. CHRYSLER INSTALL AUX BATTERY WIRE TO TIPM. PROBLEM CONTINUES TODAY AFTER 4 YEARS. WILL NOT SELL OR TRADE CAR UNTIL IT IS FIXED ( NOT FAIR) MERCEDES BENZ HAS A HAND IN THIS.

- George H., Danville, CA, US

problem #19

Jun 012018

Town & Country Touring 4.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 93,000 miles

I bought a used 2010 Town and Country about a month ago, and while I love the van, it's already had its share of issues. First off, it has a really rough idle. I thought that the wires and plugs needed to be changed since it was a used car with around 93,000 miles on it, so I ignored it for the time being.

A couple of days later, my wife was driving the van and it just shut down while on the road. Radio was still on, but the engine died and really freaked her out. She tried to restart it, but all it would do is click - no turning over or anything. After about 10 minutes, the van miraculously started and she was able to get home. I replaced the EGR valve and that problem never occurred again, although it occasionally wouldn't start. Same deal, let it sit for several minutes and eventually it would start back up like nothing. I replace several sensors (camshaft, crankshaft, MAP) thinking that it might solve the problem, but it didn't. I also noticed that the A/C wasn't working well either - system was fully charged, but the air wasn't cold.

Finally, after researching for hours on end, I finally think I've solved the problem! These vehicles are notorious for having a bad TIPM (total integrated power module) installed. These units send power to all systems in the vehicle, so a bad TIPM can really cause some problems. But here's the important part - the problem isn't just the TIPM, the problem is the relays installed INSIDE the TIPM.

The main issue is that the TIPM was built with FAULTY FACTORY RELAYS!! Installing a new TIPM won't fix the problem! You need to make sure the TIPM has these junky relays replaced with good ones, otherwise the problem can (and probably will) show up again. I bought a rebuilt TIPM online for $325 and replaced the unit myself. It's not hard to do, and it takes about an hour, if you take your time.

The difference is night and day! The car performs like a brand-new vehicle! The rough idle is gone, the A/C is working again, and (so far) no failure to start!! This was the best $325 I've ever spent!! I bought my rebuilt TIPM at: https://www.totalintegratedpowermodule.com/ Again, not saying you need/should buy from where I bought mine, but don't spend $1200 for a new TIPM that has the FAULTY FACTORY RELAYS installed. You're throwing away your money and are not solving the problem. Please make sure the relays have been replaced before you make your purchase.

Good Luck!

- Brian M., Huntington, US

problem #18

Nov 152017

Town & Country Touring 3.8L, V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car refuses to start on an intermittent schedule. Repeated attempts have, so far, resulted in it starting. My dealer's service department says its the TIPM and will charge me about $1250 to repair; with no guarantee, of course, that a new one will fix the problem. It's not so frustrating that I'm willing to spend that amount. But, it is so frustrating that I have, and will continue to, advise anyone whom I can to avoid Chrysler vehicles altogether.

- Timothy L., North Port, FL, US

problem #17

May 242018

Town & Country Limited 4.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,832 miles

I purchased the 2010 Chrysler Town & Country Limited new and the engine has stalled a number of times when on the road - VERY DANGEROUS-. This not the only problem with this car, it stated failing to start after running awhile and turning off the engine. The battery is good, fully charged. If you let it sit for while it will start.

From the reports I have read on this site it is time to get the lawyers involved to solve these issues once and for all. I am not sure how to start a class action suite, but I sure there is a lawyer out there that has had this problem and take on the job. If not I will contact my son (a lawyer) to see how to proceed. The only problem of having him get involved is that he lives in France.

Well, I have spent about an hour gathering the information regarding other people with these problems and I have to go try to start the car - I am sure it will start, this usually the amount of time it requires to reset whatever causes the problem.

- John L., Greendale, US

problem #16

Aug 022017

Town & Country Touring L 4.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,500 miles

This is something that has been occurring since we purchased this van new on 2010. The van will randomly not start or turnover. Typically, the van will start on its own eventually. Under warranty the WIN module was replaced and the TIPM flashed numerous times. While the van has stranded us a number of times, whenever it is at the dealer, the van will start. Typically the incidents last between 15 minutes and 2 hours. After TIPM was flashed some time ago, the non starting did not happen for a period of time. Now it seems to be happening around once a month, this past time (tonight) it occurred and lasted an hour and a half. However, the same thing happened approximately one week ago and lasted for 15 minutes. Concern being is that the non-starting is happening more frequently again. Over the life of the van, I would estimate the van failed to start somewhere in the 12-18 times range. Needing to be towed twice. Tried remedies under warranty and extended warranty, but since the dealership was not able to replicate, no complete fix. This is supposed to be our main family vehicle and meant to last a number of years, but this is getting ridiculous.

- ppd2010, Platteville, US

problem #15

May 192017

Town & Country Limited 4.0L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This problem has occurred intermittently for several years. Periodically the van will not start. Replaced the battery and starter. Still had the same problem.

Often occurs after driving in heavy rain.

Will often start later (hour or more).

Saw that TPIM module may be the culprit. Waiting to hear back from repair shop. Last time they could not replicate problem.

- Jt T., Coralville, IA, US

problem #14

Aug 262015

Town & Country 3.8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles

For the past couple of years, I never know if my car will start. It can go months without having a problem and then it will not start consistently. I have to try over and over again before it will start until today it finally died completely. We bought a new battery and that wasn't it so we have to tow it to see what's wrong.

- Chyler R., Las Vegas, NV, US

problem #13

May 172016

Town & Country LX 3.8V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles

I have the issue where the car will not start and the battery and alternator are fine. The IOD fuse is OK. I believe the TIPM fuel relay is bad. Looks like a hard to fix item. Perhaps I will try the jumper cable from vertical visions to route power past the relay.

- John F., Fort Myers, FL, US

problem #12

Jun 202015

Town & Country Limited 4.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

Beginning in June 2015 my 2010 T&C randomly would not start although all electricals worked fine. After being stranded a number of times and having the ignition replaced, battery checked, and diagnostics not being able to turn up anything, it is still occurring. This is especially frustrating and potentially dangerous since I have young children usually with me. The dealership service dept has said that it most likely is the TIPM but until they can replicate the nonstarting, nothing can be done.

- cfrancis, Gahanna, OH, US

problem #11

Jul 092015

Town & Country Limited 4.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Intermittently over the three years prior to July of 2015 my van would fail to crank. Typically it was the "click" and nothing when key was turned. All electronics worked in the van (power front and 3rd row seats, doors, lift gate, lights ) First time was in 2014 and I took to a repair shop thinking it was simply the corroded negative terminal to the battery. had that replaced completely (less than $50.00)

Second time I went to dealer, he claimed battery was bad. Replaced battery (over a $100.00 for a battery) and less than a day later still did it. sometimes I could turn key off, pull out, then try again immediately, other times it would take several minutes. Third time I took it in they said, "starter" and replaced that. I have an extended warranty, but each of these trips to the dealer I get to fork out the $100.00 deductible.

The fourth time was a week after starter was replaced and that time it never would start up and I had to have vehicle towed to the dealer. They couldn't get it to repeat the problem (even though the tow truck driver assured them, it would not start at all for 6 hours).

The 5th time I took it in they finally added a secondary ground cable to the battery and the service advisor agreed to write if off instead of charging me (I wouldn't have paid 1 more penny anyways). It still happens about once a week, but instead of the "click" and nothing, it acts like it's trying to turn over, however never catches and cranks.

- April D., Chesapeake, VA, US

problem #10

Dec 222015

Town & Country

  • Automatic transmission
  • 114,000 miles

This is a very frustrating issue. It has been going on since May of 2015. The car will all of a sudden not turn on. The lights, radio, GPS and all power is active but, when you turn the key all you hear is CLICK CLICK. We have new battery and changed the terminals but no avail. They have tested everything under this hood and it all seems to be in working order. Last night 12/27/2015 the check engine light came on and they FINALLY were able to say its an electrical issue, but that's it! When we take it to the mechanics the problem cannot be duplicated. We tried to get help from Chrysler but they have the stick your head in the sand approach. I am beyond frustrated and do not know what to do.

- Yousi H., Fayetteville, NC, US

problem #9

Mar 152015

Town & Country Touring 4.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles

van would not start, no indication, battery ok, replaced starter (paid ~$600 out of warranty), worked at dealer and drove home. Stopped on way home (about 2 miles traveled) would not start (dead indication) tried about 3 times and started, drove back to dealer. In shop about 10 days and they replaced TIPM ~$700- negotiated down from almost $1000 whoopee!! Drove home and a couple of days later failed to start again. Was able to restart by attempting to restart and returned to dealer. Left van and told them to keep it until its fixed!! Sixteen days later they declared it fixed, mentioned some possible corroded terminals cleaned and many days of trying to get it to fail after that with no luck. It has not failed since then to date. Mentioned that their failure analysis process cost me probably $1000 more than it should have, but they were not very sympathetic!! That will be the last time I buy a Chrysler product from that or any dealer! Disappointed because I had heard prior to buying the van of electrical issues with Mopar products and didn't heed the warnings. The van concept is great, but the production execution stinks.

- rvanhouten00, Champlin, MN, US

problem #8

Oct 142015

Town & Country LX 3.8L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,500 miles

There needs to be a recall- and it needs to happen now, and be replaced for FREE to the customers! If this isn't taken care of completely by Chrysler- I will never purchase a Dodge/Chrysler/Jeep product again!

- Nikki C., Mount Wolf, PA, US

problem #7

Apr 032015

Town & Country Touring 4.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

Starting around the first of April 2015, periodically the car would not start. It would just click and the rest of the electrical system seemed to be ok. At this point I decided to get the battery checked as it was the original battery. Independent dealer checked battery and said it was ok. Took it into car dealer and they said they checked everything and couldn't find a problem. No fault codes have ever appeared for this problem.

Two days later took car home (did not charge me for work performed) and continued to drive it. Some time (1-2 weeks)later same problem, wouldn't start. Attempted starting and after 3-4 tries it started. Returned to dealer and again they said they checked everything and couldn't find a problem. No fault codes have ever appeared for this problem. After 3-4 days in shop, they decided it was probably the starter and replaced it at a cost of $586 dollars since it was out of warranty.

Left dealership and drove about 2 miles and stopped at a convenience store. Returned to vehicle and again it would not start. After 3-4 tries it started and I returned to dealer with a case of the %#*! After about 8 + days, they called and said they were able to get it to fault out. It was very warm and humid during this period. They said that one of the grounds had dropped out in the TIPM module and that was the problem, the TIPM must be replaced. They also said that the TIPM module is back ordered and will take about 2-3 weeks to get one!

After approx. 8 days they had one and replaced the so called failed module. The total bill was $970 dollars but since I had already paid almost $600 for a starter that didn't fix the problem they would reduce the cost to $660! What a steal, how could I resist? Paid the bill and drove home (30 minutes). Got in the car about 1.5 hrs later and it wouldn't start! Checked for loose connections and battery voltage and all seemed ok. After 3-4 tries it started and I returned to the dealer madder than a hornet.

At this point it will be 2 weeks tomorrow and they tell me they haven't been able to duplicate the failure. They did give me a free rental (just gas) so I had some transportation, but this is getting ridiculous. My impression is if there is not a fault code shown, they are almost lost trying to find a intermittent problem. My perception is the factory is not any help for the dealers. I can't go pick up the vehicle knowing the problem is still there, because the next time it might not restart and it'll leave me in some remote area. Maybe I can get a new replacement from Chrysler - right! Kinda makes you want to buy another Chrysler product! Any help out there??

- rvanhouten00, Champlin, MN, US

problem #6

Oct 012013

Town & Country

  • Automatic transmission
  • 86,930 miles

Received a recall notice in June 2015, brought the car to the dealership and was told I had to go on a waiting list. A couple of days later the key got stuck in the ignition. Brought it back to the dealer and was told that I could leave the key in the ignition, it would not be a problem. The next day the van would not start and had to get it jumped. Took 20 minutes to start it. Brought it back to the dealer and they kept it. Waited about 2 hours and was told they had to keep it overnight. Did not get a ride home from the dealership had to call a friend.

Went back several days later to pick up van and the service adviser brought it out. When he went to give me the car back found something wrong (did not state what it was) and said he had to take it back to the mechanic. Had to leave the car for another day, they stated that the shifter failed. Had to pay $434.30 (part of the charge was $34.00 for misc) to fix it. Pick it up the next day drove fine going home.

The next day would not start after several tries it started and I took it back up to the dealership. This time they stated that the module part #cbxzr03kaa was replaced no charge. Was told by the service adviser that it was the older module and would still be getting called back for the new module. Took the van home and again the next day would not start, brought it back kept the van for 7 days the mechanic said he started it 100 times and did not see anything wrong. Made a complaint to the manager and he was very rude.

Brought the car home on the 7th day and the next day took it for a ride and the engine just shut down, called the dealership and told them, was told to bring the van back, but I am afraid to drive it at this point. They told me to have it towed and I have to pay for the towing. So far have brought the van in 4 times.

- fricano, Hudson, FL, US

problem #5

Jul 252015

Town & Country Touring

  • Automatic transmission
  • 76,000 miles

The ignition went out and it has been setting at the dealership going on 4 weeks waiting for the part. The part is a part of the ignition that is being recalled though the problem we had is not related to the recall. Chrysler does not seem to be in a hurry to solve the issue and get the parts out to dealers. THIS IS OUR LAST CHRYSLER if this is how they treat their customers.

- ddrsheden, Bushnell, IL, US

problem #4

Aug 012012

Town & Country

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

I have been having the same problem with my car for almost a year. It will only click when I try to start it and eventually will not start at all. Then if takes a little nap, miraculously will start again a day later. I have had the Starter, Win Module, TIPM, Battery, and this last time they "tightened a screw". Don't really know what that means? But each time they send me off knowing they have not located the real problem and hoping it wont happen again. This car is unreliable and the constant back and forth to the service department is very inconvenient. At one point the car was in the shop for over two weeks, leaving me in a rental. I am outside the lemon law period and am not receiving any support for Chrysler or the dealership. Any suggestions on how to move forward with this?

- Adina P., Boca Raton, FL, US

problem #3

Jun 192013

Town & Country 4.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,000 miles

intermittently wont crank. turn key several times and eventually it will crank and start. has new starter, battery and cleaned all ground connections and made sure they are tight

- Steve K., Saint Joseph, IL, US

problem #2

Jun 172012

Town & Country 3.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,005 miles

On 05/17/12 my vehicle stopped for the second time since I bought it. The first time it stopped on its own,it restarted 25 minutes later. On 05/17/12 I had the vehicle towed to Rochester Chrysler for repairs . The vehicle would not start until 4 days later.The dealer kept the vehicle for 5 weeks in an effort to repair the intermittent problem with no success ,returning the vehicle to me with this potentially dangerous problem. I called Chrysler Customer Service to reach some kind of resolution to this problem They were no help at all.They assured me that there had not been a recall on this model and that Michigan's Lemon Law Did not apply in this case. It seems that they tried to deter me at every turn. They said that they would replace the vehicle or compensate me for my loss. It appears my only option is to sue. The electrical system ignition recall on your Chrysler Problems website describes the the problems that I'm having to a tee. Maybe there is some hope after all. Thank you for your recall info. Sincerely Tyrone Patterson

- Tyrone P., Detroit, MI, US

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?