2008 Dodge Avenger transmission problems: gear shift module locked up

Gear Shift Module Locked Up

2008 Dodge Avenger (Page 1 of 8)

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Dodge dealer.

8.5

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$209.00
Average Mileage:
53,428 miles
Total Complaints:
143 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (64 reports)
  2. replaced shifter assembly (25 reports)
  3. press orange/pink button underneath trim surrounding stick (21 reports)
  4. dealer replaced under recall (9 reports)
  5. Dodge should have to replace it no charge (9 reports)
  6. put a compression spring over the cable on the pink module (4 reports)
2008 Dodge Avenger transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Avenger:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Avenger Owner Comments (Page 1 of 8)

problem #143

Aug 112016

Avenger RT

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,956 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Gear shift got stuck in park and could not move my car. Was parked at the doctors office which made it even more annoying. Dodge knows about this problem and sent out a Customer Satisfaction Notification K16 in 2010. I called Dodge who said the problem was checked by the dealer in 10/26/2010, but it was determined the part did not need to be replaced or reinforced at that time. The problem is known as the little pink part that breaks in the gear shift and they knew about it when I called the dealership.

- , Lititz, PA, USA

problem #142

Jun 142016

Avenger V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles

Besides the electric driver window, and lack of dealer confidence for repairs and maintenance. This may well be the the Last Dodge Ever.

- , Allen, TX, USA

problem #141

May 202016

Avenger LS 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 170,000 miles

Same story as everyone else, parked my 2008 Dodge Avenger for a golf outing. Had never had any problems with gear shifter or transmission. After event, started vehicle, went to shift and gear was locked up. Could force it into reverse but that was it. Unfortunately, I didn't know about the quick fix with the pink latch. I never received anything about a recall, had to call tow truck & had vehicle taken to service shop (not a dealer). Was a Friday night so I had to rent a car for the weekend while my car sat until Monday. Only to get a call stating that they could not get the car started - for some reason the key would not engage the ignition. $250 for new steering column and they have not even started on the gear shift! WTH! Has anyone else had this happen? Are the 2-issues related? I've been a Mopar customer for 30-years. This may be the reason I change. If they can't be loyal to us, why should we be loyal to them! Extremely upset and frustrated. Has anyone had success in getting the dealer or Dodge/Chrysler to cover the expense after the fact/recall?

- , Cadillac, MI, USA

problem #140

Apr 192016

Avenger SE 2.4L V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 103,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Heading out to work, when i tried to shift into reverse my gear shift locked up...i tried turning the wheel while pumping the brakes and it finally went into reverse..I had to repeat the same procedure for the way home. The next morning when trying to take it to mechanic, it completely locked up and would not budge. So i googled the problem and saw that there was a recall on the car for that exact problem.I also learned online how to manually override the locked shifter, which I did, and was able to take it to Dealership. After they completed 2 recalls that were on my car they told me that my gear shifter was still locked and i would have to replace the gear shifter which would cost me $490.00. That was way more than i could afford and i knew that dealerships usually overcharged so i told them i wanted to take the car for another estimate. When i first picked up the car it was true, it would not shift out of park unless i used the manual override, but after taking it home it started shifting out of park normally again.

- , Van Nuys, CA, USA

problem #139

Feb 272015

Avenger 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 115,000 miles

I am a new paper carrier. Because it snowed 5 inches, I drove my Avenger which I just bought not even 2 months ago from Lil Joes. My stupid self didn't buy the warranty and their warranty was 30 day or 1000 miles! Anyways, I put the car in park and when I get back in the car put the car in drive. I start rolling. I look at the gear shift and it say drive but dashboard says neutral. So now I'm stuck at 4 am in the middle of the street. I called my brother (somewhat a mechanic ) and he comes to my rescue. He researches it. We watch the quick fix and press the pink thing and it doesn't work. Then he messes with it and gets the gear to move, but still neutral on dash. He looked under the hood and had me move the gear and he says my shifter linkage is broken.

Now I see online there was a recall on the gear being locked up. I look to see if recall was ever performed on my car and nothing shows. I'm beyond frustrated. My 2nd payment is due is like 4 days!!! I got the car to my brothers after he got it into drive. This is the second issue I've had with car in 2 months. I also had to replace the coolant filler cap. The hose broke!!!

- , Chesapeake, VA, US

problem #138

Apr 072014

Avenger 4D 2.4L V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,635 miles

I was leaving work one day and couldn't shift out of park. I assumed it was a problem with the brakes and had it towed to a local Firestone to get it checked out. They did a bunch of worthless stuff that apparently had nothing to do with the actual shifting problem, because it malfunctioned the day after I got it back. I was able to figure out how to override by removing the cup holder lining and pressing down on some lever; however, this car is terrible. Worst car I've ever owned. I'm trading it in asap.

- , Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #137

May 062013

Avenger SXT 3.8L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 61,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On May 6, 2013 my wife's car was stuck in park and wouldn't shift out of gear. She leaves for work two hours before me so I had to leave early. I've over a hundred complaints online about the same problem, but the dealer said that the recall was complete. We have our car serviced regularly at the same Dodge dealership where we bought the car from. If the recall was completed, why is the car experiencing the same damn problem that everyone else is having?

- , Vallejo, CA, US

problem #136

Dec 072011

Avenger

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles

This was under recall for this problem, then a month after the dealer fixed it went out again. Was told it was a known problem and now they claim it is different than the recall and I will have to pay for it. This is not right. I can't take it out of park without pushing on the pink button under the gearshift. I thought the recall was going to fix it, but no I have to pay for a known problem with this model. Should have never bought a dodge, have never liked them.

- , Augusta, GA, USA

problem #135

Apr 102012

Avenger R/T 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,000 miles

I HAD JUST GOTTEN OFF WORK AND I GOT INTO MY CAR, STARTED IT AND TRIED TO PUT IT IN GEAR WHEN I NOTICED THAT THE CAR WOULDN'T GET INTO GEAR. MY BOSS TRIED TO ROCK THE CAR INTO GEAR AND IT STILL WOULDN'T GO INTO GEAR. I HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED AND WAS TOLD THAT THE SHIFTER LINKAGE WAS BROKEN AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED, BUT WAS NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY EVEN THOUGH I THINK IT IS COVERED UNDER THE DRIVE TRAIN PART OF THE WARRANTY.

- , Chambersburg, PA, USA

problem #134

Jun 012012

Avenger SXT

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

Only an American made car would have a gear lock made from plastic with a spring that has twice as much resistance as the plastic piece could handle. This car is complete garbage. Simply made to just break and make your life aggravating. There's a recall out for this piece but for some reason my VIN number is not included with the recall, makes a lot of sense...I will NEVER buy another Dodge again.

- , Cleveland, OH, US

problem #133

Jul 022012

Avenger SXT 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,507 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I just purchased the car on March 5, 2011, the car has not been driven over 100 times, by me. However, the previous owner may have driven it more. The 2008 need to be recalled because the gear shift get stuck at any given time. This can be a dangerous situation if you are in traffic. Please help!!!!!!!

- , Roanoke Rapids, NC, USA

problem #132

Jun 192012

Avenger

  • Automatic transmission
  • 135,000 miles

My gear shift locked up I took it to dodge to fix it because it was a recall. My spring had came apart and they had to put it back together. Before I took it in i was using the pink button to shift gears. After they fixed it they then said my cord was too stretched (the cord from the gear to the transmission) and that my key wouldn't come out of the ignition until they took it off so I have to pay 200 dollars to replace it when the cord is only 20 dollars :(. I'm upset because I didn't have that issue before I brought you my car now all of sudden my key is not cool and I have to come out of pocket for you guys having a recall on my car. NOT about to happen I will be filing a case with dodge and I don't get reimbursed I will take legal actions because it was fine before they started touching stuff geeeshhh I'm livid!

- , Detroit, MI, USA

problem #131

Feb 012012

Avenger SE V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,010 miles

My complaint is the shift gear is stuck on PARK, I don't have a vehicle to go to work. I believe this shold be covered as a "recall" a friend of mine had the same problem with herDodge Avenger and she took it to get it fixed costing her $350. I can't afford this amount, if the manufactor knows that this is a problem they shouldcover the exense.

- , Ennis, TX, USA

problem #130

Sep 202011

Avenger SXT 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,710 miles

i could't move the car in 3 days , a employee of dodge went home and partially fix the car by removing all the shift parts, wait for 2 weeks for parts and got fix

- , Mexicali, BC, Mexico

problem #129

Dec 162011

Avenger XLS V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,000 miles

Haven't had this fixed yet, I haven't gotten to the mechanic, and I hate dealing with the dealer. I was stuck in the middle of nowhere NJ when it occurred and I couldn't get out of park. Luckily a friend looked online and found that you could manually push the pink lever and tore the console apart. Now I'm driving a jalopy till I can get it fixed. I'm so disappointed in this car, and will never buy another Dodge again.

- , Langhorne, PA, USA

problem #128

Jul 202011

Avenger SXT 2.4L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

MY CAR HAD A RECALL ON A PLATE TO THE SHIFTER , I TOOK IT IN TO BE REPAIRED ,AND LESS THAN TO MONTHS LATER , THE CAR LOCKED IN PARK AND WAS NOT ABLE TO DRIVE CAR, HAD TO BE TOWED TO SHOP AND THEN THEY CHARGE ME $100. FOR DEDUCTABLE , THERE WAS NO PROBLEM WITH MY CAR ,; UNTIL THEY CHANGED THE SHIFTER PLATE, THEN IT LOCKED IN GEAR. THEY STATED THAT THEY HAVE HAD A LOT OF THEM GET STUCK IN GEAR SINCE THEY CHANGED THE PLATE. I FEEL LIKE IT IS THEIR RESPONSIBLETY TO REPLACE IT FOR FREE, BECAUSE IT WAS SOMETHING THEY DID TO IT TO MAKE IT LOCK IN GEAR.

- , Mayfield, KY, canada

problem #127

Jun 232009

Avenger SXT 2.4L I4dohc 16v Dual

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles

I came home parked my car, and when I tried to leave again the car was stuck in park. I had to have the car towed and found out the gear selector had to be replaced. I called Chrysler to complain that I should not have to pay since the car was now inoperable. I was told they couldn't do anything since there were no recalls. Needless to say I had to pay and the recall was issued a couple months later. They never help.

- , Esl, IL, USA

problem #126

Jun 062011

Avenger

  • Automatic transmission
  • 47,000 miles

Same trouble as others with the tran. will not shift out of first. took it to a dealer and they said it needed a new tran that would cost about 5000.00 to fix. like im going to dig that up and get it done. factory will not help less then 3ys old great looking car but a piece of if you cant drive it. going to put it out in the front yard and plant flowers around it. very upset with dodge. will never bye or recommend to NO one to buy a dodge.

Update from Oct 14, 2011: not Tran. animal chewed wiring, replaced. No help from factory or dealership. took it to someone i new and got it fixed for 75.00. big difference.

- , Mahomet, United States, USA

problem #125

Sep 122011

Avenger

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

I had the same issue today. My car isn't under warranty but the dealership replaced it because it is an "open recall". The tow for it wasn't free but it was covered under my insurance. It took 3 hrs to fix. The price listed on form is $37.57 so even if I would of had to pay it wouldn't have been so bad. It was just a pain in the a$$ to get it fixed. It would have been nice to know about the recall before 530 am on a Monday morning. I also had to tell the dealership that it was a recall. They had to look it up to make sure. You'd think they'd know. Esp. since the guy with the tow truck saw it was a dodge and immediately knew what was wrong. He said he had seen plenty of dodges with the same issue. He was a pro at pulling off the stuff to push the pink thing. I live on a hill with a narrow driveway shared at the end by the neighbor so he didnt want to back the truck up the hill and take a chance of hitting the neighbor's car.

- , Waldorf, MD, USA

problem #124

May 282011

Avenger 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,000 miles

I bought this car, 2008 Dodge Avenger, in 2008 and have had several problems with it but this is the worst so far. I can not shift from park. After reading about some recalls for the Avenger online I realize this problem should be on the recall list also as many owners of the Dodge Avenger have had the problem with their gear shifts being stuck in park. This is a manufacture defect and should be fixed at the manufacture's expense.

- , Dallas, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?