ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

2013 Dodge Dart transmission problems: transmission stopped working

Transmission Stopped Working

2013 Dodge Dart

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Dodge dealer.

CarComplaints.com Seal Of Avoid Like The Plague

CarComplaints.com Notes: The first year of the new Dodge Dart had a rough start, with owners reporting a disproportionate number of engine and transmission problems.

For transmission, the main complaints are transmission failure & rough shifting. So far, average mileage for transmission failure is 25,000 miles. Not good.

For engine problems, it usually starts with the engine light coming on for any number of reasons: bad sensors, ignition coil replacement, bad wiring, faulty gas cap ... dealers are replacing various components with varying degrees of success, or telling owners they can't duplicate the issue.

8.8

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$330
Average Mileage:
37,300 miles
Total Complaints:
18 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (9 reports)
  2. replace transmission (8 reports)
  3. replace transmission cable (1 reports)
Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
2013 Dodge Dart transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Dodge Dart:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Dodge Dart Owner Comments

problem #18

May 232018

Dart Rallye 2.0L I4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While shifting car into reverse gear selector went completely loose. Unable to shift car out of reverse. Unable to remove key from ignition. If key moved from start to accessories gear selector locked up completely.

Service center report plastic bracket attaching transmission cable had broken. New transmission cable assembly installed. 89 dollars for part, 200 for labor, plus taxes and other fees.

- Joe B., Jacksonville, FL, US

problem #17

Sep 182017

Dart SXT 2.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 79,000 miles

I noticed the car jumped out a gear a couple of times, once on the freeway and another time on access road. I thought I did something. I do normal driving around town and was out running an errand. The car will shift but will not go into gear. The person that came to tow the vehicle said the linkage was broken. I also had an issue with it going into gear about a week ago. The blower motor has gone out, then the alternator and now the transmission.

- Pamela G., Rowlett, US

problem #16

Sep 172017

Dart Limited 1.4L Turbo

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,710 miles

Complete transmission failure. This is a know problem on these transmissions.

- Nicholas B., Toronto, Ontario, Canada

problem #15

Dec 052016

Dart Ralley 1.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

bought the in january of 2016,32000 miles,runs great,excellent fuel mileage,almost 40,when july came the car message came on,service transmission,then went to neutral and i got to the side of the freeway. i turned the car for 5 min then it went fine.about 2 days later it happened again,this time the check engine light was on and made it home in 3rd gear. i am a heavy diesel engine mechanic,i knew it had to the dealer. had the car towed the nearest dealer,they could not find any problems except to replace the trans,5200.00. i got the car back a month later?? but with the factory 100000 mile 3 year warranty on the trans. drove the car for 3 months,5000 miles,the trans service lamp came on again and went into neutral,i was close to home this time,4 degrees and 5:00 in the morning. went back to the car after 15 min,still would not work,lifted the hood to check fuses or whatever. was dark outside,i saw small sparking in front of the battery,it was a busted ground cable,got out my jumper cables,hooked to the battery ground and the busted cable end,all the warning lamps off and trans works fine,got to my garage,found that their are 5 wires connected to the 1 cable crimp and its way too short,when the engine moves,its pulling badly on the crimp! i made a longer cable,replaced the end,also added a new ground cable from battery to the stupid ground stud as needed. i hope that this will help other dart owners with this problem, i spent over 5000 dollars when i know it was only a 3 dollar problem!! i am a mechanic too,ground problems are always missed.

- Larry M., Kamas, UT, USA

problem #14

Nov 152016

Dart Rallye 1.4L Turbo

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles

I have had nothing but trouble since I have bought this car. Its now on its 4th transmission and I've only had it for a year and a half. I haven't even been racing this car, not even a tune yet. This car has not been ran hard at all yet acts like its had the hell beat out of it. I wouldn't recommend this vehicle to anybody! I'm trying to sell or trade it in yet it holds NO VALUE! I'm going to be doing a few modifications to it to help with the value but in my eyes all it's worth is being totaled out.

- laurenowatson15, marion, KY, USA

problem #13

Apr 222015

Dart Limited 1.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,215 miles

I am writing this regarding the car that was purchased from Trading Enterprise in June 2014 with as usual having an Auto Loan.

Currently i am facing lots of issue with this particular model.

  1. Once I reached 50,000 Km my Transmission Engine was had issue and once i raised the complaint they had to replace this item and took almost 30 Days.

2.As soon as this was replaced the Transmission Module also had a complaint and was replaced again. This has been replaced twice for my car within one Year.

3.Currently my car is in the show room since yesterday and they found out there is an issue with my Gear Box and the Shifter and they are going to replace and require and 30 Days.

My concern is this car was directly purchased from the Showroom BRAND NEW and until now i am only facing issue with this particular model.

Hence i checked with my other colleagues who owns the same DODGE DART 2013 models all have the same issues coming up.

As a customer i am Really Disappointed with Trading Enterprise and Dodge Company . This car cannot promise the safety of the passengers.

I hope you guys take this in consideration and recall this car in the Middle East.

- kishore, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

problem #12

Apr 272016

Dart 1.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This car almost killed me 2x first time it was towed 100 miles to dealership where they used an old part to replace recalled part which they didn't have in stock. Happened again when my lease was almost up so I got it back to dealership and they said they would have to keep car a few weeks till part came in. Well I had no way of getting home and spritzer Dodge in homestead offered me no lend car so I walked across the street and leased a 2016 chevy cruze and contacted ally lease company that I have turned in vehicle and they should waive last payment Ally said we are not responsible for the cars mechanical problems and we will investigate and get back to you. I will now contact dodge and ask them to pay last payment as I no longer have the car. Bottom line for such a dangerous recall R42 Dodge really dragged their ass on getting this taken care of. If it wasn't for my cool head I could have easily got into an accident.

- Ric A., Marathon, FL, USA

problem #11

Mar 012015

Dart

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles

My son was driving our car on the freeway, he heard a grinding noise, the car shifted into neutral all by itself and it would not come out of neutral. After aprox 20 minutes of waiting on the side of the road it started up and all seemed fine. He took it into Vacaville Dodge (in California) who advised they fixed the problem and off we went. Less than one month later it happened again. See next report for that.

- Dana K., Vacaville, CA, USA

problem #10

Apr 012015

Dart

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles

On or about one month after the fix of the transmission failure from Vacaville Dodge (in California) my son was driving the vehicle on the freeway and it once again made a grind noise, dash lights lit up on various failures and the car shifted itself into neutral. Reverse was not available. After the vehicle sat for a while it started back up again and we got it to the dealership where I lost my mind and cussed out the repair person for this gross neglect considering we just brought this car in for this same problem less than 1 month ago...and now again...my son almost crashed on the freeway because the transmission automatically thrusts him into neutral. I demanded they replace the transmission. Which they did. And then within the month... it happened a 3rd time...see my next report.

- Dana K., Vacaville, CA, USA

problem #9

May 182015

Dart

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,000 miles

GRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!! New transmission put in this car less than a month ago by Vacaville Dodge (in California)...my son was driving it on the freeway yesterday on his way up north to Washington for a 4 week job. About 3 hours into the drive the transmission seized up, threw him into neutral and left him stranded on the side of the freeway....FOR A 3RD TIME IN LESS THAN 90 DAYS!!!!!!!!!! We are in the process of figuring out what Vacaville Dodge wants to do with the vehicle...mean while...considerable inconveniences occur to get him alternative transportation. The story continues...I'm pretty sure this transmission should be RECALLED!!!!!!

- Dana K., Vacaville, CA, USA

problem #8

Jun 252015

Dart Ralleye 1.4L Turbo

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,650 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

So. I'm not a fan of the long, painful to follow rants. But here it goes;

I was driving my Dart four hours up to Northern Michigan for a camping trip. I had the car loaded with gear (tent, sleeping bags etc.) and two bikes on a rack strapped to the back. I got about 30 minutes from my camp site, and the warning flashes on my IP telling me that the next gear is inaccessible. After that, the car begins slowing down even though I'm giving it gas. So I pull over to the side of the road, turn it off, then start it again. The warning is still flashing, and when I put it in drive, it begins to roll backwards.

After disconnecting my battery and starting it up again, I'm able to move forward, with the warnings still flashing. I had to put the car in manual mode to shift it out of first, then go back to automatic. I drive the remaining 20 miles to the campsite and call roadside. (It's still under warranty.)

Four days later, after the dealership tells me they needed to replace a module on the transmission, I'm allowed to pick the car up. Ten miles down the road, it fails again. leaving me stranded.

In summary, I'm in a rental Cherokee at the moment. My Dart has just been towed to the dealership I purchased it from. And their service is telling me that they're going to need to do more digging.

Definitely not happy and will update with a solution once I have one.

- Nicholas O., Royal Oak, MI, USA

problem #7

Feb 242015

Dart

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles

I purchased a used Dart 1/31/15. it had 17800 miles on it. Three weeks later while at the gas station the transmission light came on and the car cut off. After sitting there for about 10 minutes, the car started again. I took it to the dealership the next day. They claimed nothing wrong with it and said they checked it over. One week later while driving out of town, it came back on and the car didn't want to shift gears. I took it back in and they stated again they couldn't find a problem. Last night while driving 25 miles per hour, the transmission light has come back on. I called the dealership and they said they have no clue why, but to bring it in and they will look at it.

- Glenda T., Marion, OH, USA

problem #6

Jan 162015

Dart Limited

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,000 miles

I was driving on a day when it was raining and the car stopped in the middle of the road with a service transmission light on my dashboard. It started few months back, so far my car has stopped on my 3 times. My car has spend more time at the dealership in service department then with me since March 11 2014. Oh yeah, my car is at the dealership since 3/10/15 and still there and they are telling me they are going to replace the transmission on a car that is only 2years old.

- kmahil, Berkeley, CA, USA

problem #5

Mar 102015

Dart Limited

  • CVT transmission
  • 25,400 miles

Within 5 minutes of the check engine light coming on while driving down the interstate, the transmission started catching and grinding. Service transmission prompt came on the screen. I pulled off the interstate. When I turned my car off, it would not turn back on. I popped the hood, closed it, then tried again. This time, the car started again, but the check engine light was back on, and all the car would not go into reverse.

After calling the dealership, they informed me that the car was in "limp" mode, and provided that there were no other issues, I should be able to drive it at reduced speeds the additional 30 miles to get it to the dealership. I was able to do this and got it in the shop. They replaced the transmission module and returned the car to me. I was scheduled to take another road trip that day, so off I went. Within 4 hours of getting the car back, the same thing happened again. In addition, I was receiving a message that the engine was overheating as well. After calling roadside assistance, I had it towed, but had to pay a portion of the cost. Now the service department is saying the computer "shows nothing wrong." I told them they need to look at it anyway!!! So now it is back in the shop again.

- Stephanie E., Eastland, TX, USA

problem #4

Jan 202015

Dart ES

  • Manual transmission
  • 25,011 miles

I purchased a brand new Dodge Dart 2013 in May 2013 (4 miles on it when purchased. Now at 24,000 miles I was driving normally and the clutch went straight to the floor. It would not go into gear. I've been driving manuals for 40 years and have never killed a clutch or had to replace the transmission. I first had it towed home and had another mechanic look at it and he told me the car has a defective transmission and it is well documented on the web. I check and there it was, plus the tow driver said he had just towed another Dart with the same issue. There is also a class action suit on-line, so I guess I'm out of a car until some money drops from the sky. I also have a 2012 Jeep Patriot manual and am afraid it will crash too.

I talked to Julie @Chrysler, 800-992-1997, and she said there is no documentation of issues with the manual transmission and I need to take it to another Dodge certified dealer (it's at Landmark Dodge) in Morrow, Ga 30260, now and their General Manager Howard Morris told Julie it looks like someone high performance drove it and caused the issue! They are so wrong, so let me get in on the suit!

- ljkshepherd, Fayetteville, GA, USA

problem #3

Apr 142014

Dart Limited 1.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,500 miles

When the vehicle first had the problem and we had taken it into the dealership they found no problem as it seems is with all of the problems we have with this car. Upon driving the car home from the dealership after they said they found nothing the problem arose once more. Engine light on, RPM's revving high, cannot go over 50 MPH. Turned around and took right back to dealership. They took it in for a couple of days and tried to figure it out. They reprogrammed the transmission which seemed to have helped for a few days until it started all over again. Returned the car to dealership again. They decided to change the transmission and because it is such a new car the didn't have one there so they needed to ship it in. We had a rental car for 3 weeks

- brianpennsylvania, Warminster, PA, USA

problem #2

Apr 042014

Dart Limited Turbo

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,000 miles

The first time my car had an issue was on July 16 Th, 2013 for the Power train control, which was repaired on the same date. It was a recall. The second issue was on Jan 21, 2014 the transmission went on my car. Luckily I was in my driveway. This happened after I got home from work, When I called the service person told me to bring it right in and they would look at it. At that time the car just stopped would not start back up or turn on. The next day it started right up I drove it to the dealer and when the dealer moved my car it died in from of the service bay doors. They had to give me a rental to drive till they fixed it. The service person told me I was lucky I was in my driveway because I could have crashed my car. It would make me not be able to stop. On April 4th 2014, at 8 pm drove to hard rock casino in Tampa, at 2:30 am now April 5th , coming home from a trip to Tampa, FL. The car service transmission light came on. And then the next thing I knew it was hard to steer the car or stop and get it to the side of the road. Most of the warning lights came on. It made loud noises like grinding and roaring sounds when pressing on the gas. I called the police, then triple aaa and then dodge for emergency help. She the woman from dodge proceeded to tell me I could not have the car towed to Ocala I had to have it towed to Dade City. I had no choice but to have it towed to Ocala, How would I get back to dealer to get my car. Plus this dealer knows the issues I was having previously. And I trust this dealer and service department.

On the 5th of April, when the car was dropped off by the towing company they put it in the service area but in the way. Once the dealer opened, the service technician moved my car to the service area. And came back and said you have serious transmission problems with this car. I can hear metal on metal grinding. They gave me a rental car and then two days later called and said it was a low voltage problem the battery is charging fine now. I explained I was not going to drive that vehicle since I felt it was un- safe. I asked about the transmission issues and they said no it was just the battery that caused this. They said they did not replace it. Once the car was charged it was fine. I said of course it showed low battery because my battery died after sitting there for hours waiting for the tow truck to come. They could not tell me what or how this happened or whether or not it could happen again. I am not driving an unsafe car with transmission problems. I may not be able to duplicate what happened to me, the dealer cannot make it do it either while there. But the problem still exists. They cannot even say why the battery would have caused this. But let’s be honest we all know the battery did not cause this problem in this car. Something else did like the transmission issues. I talked to the dealer for four days trying to get help with these issues and have them buy back the car. I tried to talk to you the manufacture only to be told by Jacob the car is fine, go get it and drive it. And no I could not keep driving the rental till we sorted this out. I am not gambling with my life or my grandson’s life. Who I needed to pick up from Orlando FL and be able to trust the car I put him in. I cannot trust this car. So after four days I was left with no choice but to trade my car in and get another one. I want to be clear. I did not trade in my dodge dart because I wanted another car. I wanted a safe car I could trust to drive and be safe in. I am asking for the dealer and the manufacture to do something better than giving me extra oil changes to make up for my loss I had to take on my dodge dart and the dealer would only give me $15,500.00 for my car. It was applied to my new loan. The negative amount of $8,000.00 was applied to my new loan. I owed $24,920.00 on my dodge dart. I am requesting that the manufacture and dealer refund the negative difference to me. Plus what it cost me to have my car towed to the dealer which was $147.00 I should not have to take a loss on this car. I was sold an unsafe, unreliable, overpriced car to begin with. The dart was loaded with options and it only had 13,115 miles on it when this happened. I traded it for a dodge Journey 2013. I feel the dealer and the manufacture can do more for me. I appreciate the extra oil changes but it does not make up for the loss I am taking on my dodge dart. Please contact me at the numbers I have provided above. Thank you for your consideration in this matter and help.

p.s Before I had a change to mail this letter out to you both? To the dealer of Ocala and Manufacturer of Dodge. I spoke to the salesman at the dealership and was told the dealer sold my dodge dart to a new owner, shortly after my trading it in. Only for the new owner to have to return it to the dealer for the same issues I was having, the transmission failed again. The dealer had to take the car back and keep it, the new owner ended up with a different car and the dealer had to replace the whole transmission in the dodge dart. Now all of you know what I went through and I feel and want something more to be done. I want a check for the negative equity sent to me. Plus the towing cost. It is only fair I should not have to take a loss after what happened to me and this proves it. I am not dropping this request or case. If I have to contact the News Channels or Lawyers to handle my case, I will. All of you know this was wrong. The car should have been fixed right and made safe. Not told to drive it and gamble that it won’t happen again. It is just the battery. Look at what happened! It happened again, the transmission failed (the new person. Thank god they did not get into an accident and die or get hurt. ) I was wronged by everyone involved. My hand was forced to purchase a new car. Or drive the unsafe one. I knew the battery could not have caused what happened and this proves it. The dealer knows it. Now had I put my grandson in that unsafe car and the cars transmission died again with him in that car. I was not taking that chance I was not gambling with his life or my own. This is exactly what I was telling you over the phone to dodge manufacture (Jacob) and the dealer in person. That car was unsafe and there was something wrong with the transmission. It was not just the battery. Also I am being told by the dealer talk to the manufacturer regarding the negative amount and towing cost and being told by the manufacturer to talk with the dealer. I should not have to run around in circles for you all to make this right. I am very unhappy about all of this. I was a loyal customer and still am Since I like this dealer and salesmen and service department. I am counting on you both to make this right. I am not at fault here. You both are you need to stand behind what you sell to us consumers.

Thank you I expect to hear back from you very soon. I will be moving forward with this.

state of Florida told me I have a case but I need an attorney to help me take this to court. So any one if you can help me please let me know. thank you

- Amy C., Summerfield, FL, USA

problem #1

Jul 312013

Dart 1.4L Turbo

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles

The transmission service light came on and then it just stopped shifting all together. Towed it to the dealership and the replaced the Transmission module. Two weeks later it happened again. Towed it to the dealership and this time they changed the Valve body. Now it shifts a bit rougher, especially when slowing down.

- sinkrswm, Kalkaska, MI, USA

Not what you are looking for?