10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,515 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Dodge Grand Caravan accessories - exterior problems

accessories - exterior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Dodge Grand Caravan Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #41

Apr 302018

Grand Caravan

  • 159,654 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Dodge Grand Caravan. While driving various speeds, the horn started to honk without warning. In addition, the windshield wipers and washer fluid activated independently, the air conditioning unit turned off independently, and the transmission failed to shift as intended. The contact was able to turn off and restart the vehicle. The vehicle operated as intended for approximately ten minutes before the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic to be diagnosed, but the mechanic was unable to retrieve a fault code or duplicate the failures. Neither the dealer nor the manufacturer was notified of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 159,654.

- Loredo, TX, USA

problem #40

Jan 162018

Grand Caravan

  • 127,600 miles
While parked in driveway, the horn started blowing erratically, headlights were on, and front and rear windshield wipers and washers operating. Door locks would not respond to remote. After S short period of trying to unlock the doors with the remote, they either responded to the remote or unlocked by themselves. At that point I attempted to turn the ignition on and start the vehicle. I started it and then turned it off but that did not stop the horn, wipers, etc. A few seconds after shutting the ignition off, everything stopped. Front and rear wipers did not return to park position until I manually turned them on and off. I started the engine again and had a check engine light with error codes related to the tcm, transmission control module. In addition, while driving, the heater blower motor intermittently stops working. All of this appears to be the result of a faulty tipm, totally integrated power module. This has happened twice in the last two weeks. First occurrence was 1/11/18 and second occurrence was 1/16/18. Searching online revealed that mine is not an isolated problem as there are many reported instances of tipm failures with similar symptoms.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #39

Jan 032018

Grand Caravan

  • 125,000 miles
I was driving on a busy main city road at night, traveling around 35 mph when my van shut off and the wipers and horn went crazy. I lost all power steering and brakes. Headlights also cut out. I struggled to get to the side of the road and into a parking lot. The front wipers stopped when I turned the key off, but the back wiper and horn continued for about 10 min. I did not have tools to disconnect the battery. Suddenly there was a flash of all the lights in the car and everything seemed to be back to normal with the exception of the check engine light appearing on the dash. I was able to restart the vehicle and drive another half mile to my home. This is the first time this has happened while driving, that I have lost all engine power and steering, it is not the first time the van has acted out. Wipers will suddenly start moving when I am driving or the horn with suddenly sound and radio will cut out. I have also had it go crazy with windshield wipers moving, horn honking, locks malfunctioning and fluid sprayed all over the car when I unlocked it. My wife once had my kids trapped inside of the care for 10 mins until I could I drive over and disconnected the battery. I have been told it is the tipm acting up. It has happened more than 10 times. I do not trust the vehicle. I have read about many more instances online. This could cause an accident if it was in rush hour or on a busier road.

- Burley, ID, USA

problem #38

Jul 292017

Grand Caravan

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Several times the horn began sounding a long blare, the windshield wipers came on, the washer fluid started spraying, the doors locked, and the headlights and rear lights began flashing, all lasting several minutes. It began while driving and continued after I stopped the car, turned it off, and removed the key. The symptoms worsened about a week later when all of the above happened as well as the gear shift indicator lights began flashing, the stability control light came on, the check engine light came on, the bas light came on, and then the car shifted itself into neutral. This has happened several times and has become more frequent.

- Conway, AR, USA

problem #37

Feb 212017

Grand Caravan

  • 100,000 miles
Vehical's horn will sound, windchill wipers go off and spray washer fluid, and doors will lock themselves. This will happen whether the van is running or not. Started 1 and half years ago. Taken it to dealership twice and they cant find anything wrong with it.

- Peoria, IL, USA

problem #36

Jul 012009

Grand Caravan 6-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
My van was one year old (2009) when it first activated the horn (off and on making a weird warbling half honk sound) and wipers/spray while driving down the highway on a highway switch ramp at 65 mph. It lasted about a minute and then stopped. We were on a trip so we asked when we got back to the Arkansas dealership. They told us it was likely corrosion (on a brand new car that was driven in normal circumstances). They said it wasn't covered under warranty and we didn't have proof. It repeated about once every 6 months or more. Now (about once a month)the battery dies randomly and the horn/wipers/etc go off randomly while it's just sitting there and driving down the road. I've had to jump it 5 times without any warning. I've double verified that the alternator/battery are in great shape. Really Dodge ! a brand new car and you couldn't help us!

- Providence, UT, USA

problem #35

Nov 182016

Grand Caravan

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Bought this van in Aug. 2009 loved it at first..then things started happening. Would hesitate while driving, never die on me but still feels like it will sometimes.. steering wheel has locked on me several times. Different panel lights come on and go off since day one. Have changed brakes way more than should of been necessary..other repair to brake system. Had power steering line changed. About 6 months ago, panel lights started coming on more often, then the gauges wouldn't work, wipers come on and won't stop. Headlight flash on and off or don't work at all; turn signals work on and off, power locks come on and off, can't roll windows down or up from drivers side or lock or unlock doors.everyday it gets worse. Took it to Dodge dealer 11/2016 cost about $100 to tell me, its not a call back and not related to the ignition problem, and in my passed complains they had didn't have any of these problems listed, even tho I had told them about them before. So because control lights had went off at that time they couldn't do anything. It was probably an electrical problem and the last time they did one it too about 10 hr.to find the problem. ($128 an hr) I can't afford that and I think Chrysler should stand behind their cars. Now for the last 2 weeks all of these things stay on and continue to do it all. Low mileage 81000 always taken care of, now I'm 70 yrs old and have a van that I'm afraid to drive...this happens while driving and sitting still.

- Lake Station, IN, USA

problem #34

May 022016

Grand Caravan

  • 80,500 miles
Frequently will not start-have to raise hood & smack top of black box & then it will start, will go "crazy" while parked with no keys in ignition-horn honks, lights flash on & off, wipers go & fluid sprays-again have to smack box to make it stop. Between 5/2/16 & 5/18/16, while driving down the road, four times the motor has shut itself off, horn has begun honking, wipers go, fluid sprays, running lights go off. ** it twice on 5/18/16! thank god, was going slowly down a side street-again had to raise hood, smack on top of that black box-fuses and sensors must be in there-and it stopped acting crazy and restarted. My husband has been driving it as I refuse to!! very surprised and concerned that there has not been recall as this seems to be a very frequent issue with these vans-wish I had never bought mine!

- Warren, PA, USA

problem #33

Mar 172016

Grand Caravan

  • 140,000 miles
Sept 2015-my engine shut off while driving at 25mph and the horn and wipers went crazy. I was able to pull car to side of road safely. Feb 2016- took van in for recall for new key fab. The following week the car went crazy when I pushed unlock button to get into the vehicle using the new key fab. Horn went off, wipers squirting fluid and doors locked on me except for the rear hatch. Took into dealer they changed the clock spring. March 2016- vehicle went crazy again (horn, wipers, doors) I got into vehicle through rear hatch, unlocked hood, turned key to start to see if I could unlock, car started. I tried to turn off and engine kept going without key in ignition. I got out disconnected battery cable and the vehicle. Was still going crazy and the engine was still running for about 10 minutes. I took vehicle into dealer they first stated it needed new battery cables.. I told them that will not fix the issue.. it is more than that. Keep the vehicle until you find the real solution. Now the dealership is telling me it is the integrated power module ($950) on top on the clock spring that they replaced for ($550). I feel like the dealership is just reaching for solutions and ion the meantime I have to keep paying for their testing.

- Southgate, MI, USA

problem #32

Feb 112016

Grand Caravan

  • 114,000 miles
All the electronics in my car started going crazy. My windshield wipers (both fwd and aft) started, while the washer fluid was being dispensed, the car horn was blaring, and the electronic door locks were very rapidly being cycled. While driving on the highway the car stalled. Luckily, I was able to pull over to the side of the road without being hit or causing an accident. The Dodge dealership diagnosed it as a bad totally intergrated power module (tipm) and replaced it. Apparently, it distributes electrical power to all the systems in the vehicle. So, when the car stalled it was due to power being cut off to the fuel pump. I could have easily been killed, due to the sudden loss of engine power or another electrical component such as the air bag, brake, or traction system could have been affected.

- Cherry Hill, NJ, USA

problem #31

Dec 132015

Grand Caravan

  • 78,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The instrument panel randomly lights up with all warning lights and chimes going off simultaneously, the windshield wipers activating and headlights flashing. Stopping the car, turning it off and on doesn't reset the problem, but it randomly goes away and doesn't happen again for two weeks or a month. It happens when the vehicle is stopped or in motion, while the vehicle is running. I see an open NHTSA investigation matching this on my vehicle, for a tipmodule

- Wailuku, HI, USA

problem #30

Nov 172015

Grand Caravan

  • 160,000 miles
I have had my car in many times for horn blowing, wipers and washers going, all lights going off at night ( I could have been killed) blower not working, car not starting, doors not closing. It has cost me several thousand dollars in repairs and the last time I was told the tipm computer would fix everything. The car computer was already replaced. The car was on the highway at 60mph and also at stop lights. This all happened over several years.

- Bethlehem, CT, USA

problem #29

Oct 082015

Grand Caravan

  • 66,450 miles
The front and back wipers came on. The back wiper fluid was squirting. The horn came on and stayed on. The interior and exterior lights turned on and the accelerator stopped working. This occurred twice on the day listed. The second time, I disconnected the battery and the problem would not stop. Also, with both terminals of the battery disconnected, I was able to start the car up.

- Johnstown, PA, USA

problem #28

Oct 072015

Grand Caravan

  • 66,300 miles
The front and back wipers came on. The back wiper fluid was squirting. The horn came on and stayed on. The interior and exterior lights turned on. All of this occurred while the vehicle was parked in the driveway. The engine had been off for 10 minutes. The battery had to be jumped because it was drained too much.

- Johnstown, PA, USA

problem #27

Oct 042015

Grand Caravan

  • 66,100 miles
The front and back wipers came on. The back wiper fluid was squirting. The horn came on and stayed on. The interior and exterior lights turned on and the accelerator stopped working.

- Johnstown, PA, USA

problem #26

Sep 212015

Grand Caravan

  • 65,860 miles
The front and back wipers came on. The back wiper fluid was squirting. The horn came on and stayed on. The interior and exterior lights turned on and the accelerator stopped working. I disconnected the battery and everything stopped. It happened twice on this day.

- Johnstown, PA, USA

problem #25

Sep 202015

Grand Caravan

  • 65,800 miles
The front and back wipers came on. The back wiper fluids was squirting. The horn came on and stayed on. The interior and exterior lights turned on and the accelerator stopped working.

- Johnstown, PA, USA

problem #24

Oct 102015

Grand Caravan

  • 95,000 miles
Driving down the highway, engine stalled, horn was blaring with no way to turn it off, wipers at full speed and couldn't stop them, car wouldn't start back up. Engine light and gas light(not empty) are now on.

- Fulton, NY, USA

problem #23

Aug 092015

Grand Caravan

  • 98,148 miles
We were driving down the I5 in California when the all the warning lights on the instrument cluster lit up or started flashing. The indicators, wipers and windshield wiper fluid started and would not shut off. I could not turn any of these items off. This lasted for about 1-2 minutes before the van all of a sudden went back to its normal operation. It has happened one other time since then.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #22

Aug 012015

Grand Caravan

  • 76,100 miles
As others have documented, whether at a stand still or driving at varying speeds, horn starts beeping on its own along with wipers going and washer fluid spraying. After the event, front A/C control knob starts controlling the back vents or does nothing at all. No center buttons (defrost, A/C, etc..) work - it's like they're all dead. Just purchased vehicle. Will probably return as a lemon.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?