10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
24 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
107,417 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Ford Fusion brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Ford Fusion Owner Comments (Page 2 of 21)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #399

Feb 072020

Fusion

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have filed one report already about the brakes. Wanted to inform you that the brakes are currently out as described in the recall letter. We have zero brakes and had to use the emergency brake to be able to slow down. Took to the dealership, they havent looked at it bc there is no replacement part which leaves us in limbo. We found the brakes we not working while driving and trying to slow down. Pedal went to the floor did not slow the car down without using the E-brake. There was no warning.

- Bedford, VA, USA

problem #398

Dec 272019

Fusion

  • 192,000 miles
On December 27th 2019. My daughter slide into the back of another car and she complained the breaks were taking to long to come to a complete stop. The car was totaled and on January 23rd, 2020 we received safety recall notice 19S54/NHTSA recall 19V-904. Had we received this notice before 12/27/19 we believe repairs would have prevented the accident and the car would not have been sold for parts.

- Lutz, FL, USA

problem #397

Jan 102020

Fusion

  • miles
The brake pedal has to be pressed all the way to the floor to stop. This happens on and off without warning. It has happened several times. We received a recall notice. No part available to replace it. Called dealership and they advised us to call Ford customer care to see if since we are experiencing the described recall issue they may put us in a rental. Called and spoke to a rep several days in a row. Asked for a supervisor to call us back and they say they will but dont. Recall says it raises risk of accident. Since the part in the recall sticks without notice we are concerned putting our family in it. However it is our vehicle of transportation. We are experiencing the described issue that is stated in the recall. The brakes work fine one day and the next they dont. We dont know until the pedal goes to the floor. Thats alarming. This happens at any time and any where without warning.

- Bedford, VA, USA

problem #396

Feb 062020

Fusion

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Received recall on ABS system, valve sticking open. A couple of days later the car was in an accident, brakes locked up and abc did not seem to function. Now brakes have a lot of travel and unsure if car is safe to drive. Ford said they will not have the parts until end of first quarter.

- Jeffersonville, IN, USA

problem #395

Feb 012019

Fusion

  • 151,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while operating the vehicle, the brake pedal would extend to the floor causing the braking distance to be extended. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer apple Ford (8800 stanford blvd, columbia) who diagnosed that ABS valve in the brake control unit was faulty and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was not included in the NHTSA campaign number 19V904000 (service brakes, hydraulic). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 151,000.

- Millsville, MD, USA

problem #394

Aug 192019

Fusion

  • 130,000 miles
Brakes wouldnżT work causing 2000 in bodily damage to another vehicle, as well as damage to my 2008 Ford Fusion. The Ford Fusion was traveling at a rate of less than 5 miles an hour and the vehicle that was hit was stopped at a red light. I paid out of pocket. In the seven to eight years I have owned this vehicle Iżve had two recalls. The first was the airbag. That took Ford years to replace after the initial letter went out 2015. Just this past summer of 2019, they finally replaced it. The brakes have always been spongy, also the acceleration has stuck twice, with the pedal going all the way to the floor, I was able to get it to pop out but it was very scary. I would not recommend a Ford to anyone.

- Wayne, NJ, USA

problem #393

Jan 192020

Fusion

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I received a recall notice from Ford (#19S54 / NHTSA #19V-904) regarding the hydraulic control unit / anti-lock braking system. After an anti-lock brake incident, the brake pedal requires additional distance to start braking and it takes longer to stop. This has already happened twice in the past, and I am currently experiencing the issue after the ABS activated while trying to stop on ice. Previously I took my car to a mechanic who was able to temporarily restore full brake function, but this time that temporary fix didn't work. I live in Wisconsin (winter time) and it is unsafe to drive this car with the limited brake function, especially if I need to stop quickly to avoid an accident. I've been trying to work with Ford via their customer care line call center outside of the U.S., but they have been unhelpful as the recall is in the "advance notice period". the representative said I needed to have a Ford dealer diagnose the issue to ensure it was related to the recall. I did this and the dealer confirmed that it matched the recall. They contacted Ford corporate to determine the next action, and Ford stated that the fix and parts for it are unavailable until late 1st quarter 2020. Ford suggested that the dealer complete an advanced diagnosis process to determine the issue, at a cost of $300 to me. I am unwilling to do this, as there is no step towards fixing this after spending the $300, and Ford may not reimburse this cost. The dealer cannot help, unless I choose to spend my own money and hope that Ford will reimburse me for the costs. Ford call center managers have been unwilling to help as well. I have now been without a car for 2 weeks, and it appears I may be until March. This is unacceptable, and Ford's unwillingness to act on this safety issue is appalling. Is there anything that can be done to help get my car safely back on the road sooner?

- Fort Atkinson, WI, USA

problem #392

Jan 012011

Fusion

  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving at 30 mph, the brake pedal was depressed but failed to stop the vehicle. The contact stated that the parking brake was activated along with the brake pedal and was able to stop the vehicle. The contact stated that there were no warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to (big valley Ford Lincoln located at 3282 auto center cir, stockton, ca 95212) to be diagnosed. The technician was unable to duplicate the failure. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 19V904000 (service brakes, hydraulic) however, the part for the recall repair was not available. The contact stated the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. Parts distribution disconnect. The failure mileage was 41,000.

- Stockton, CA, USA

problem #391

Dec 302019

Fusion

  • 87,457 miles
I have been having problems with my brakes since April 2019. At that time, a new brake master cylinder was installed.when returning home from Oklahoma city ok on 12/30/2019, my brakes failed. It is a 3 1/2 hour, 215 mile trip from Oklahoma city to my home in hutchinson ks. Thankfully and fortunately or I wouldn't be here to send this "incident information", my brakes did not fail at highway speeds. I was traveling on city streets at 30-35 mph when they failed. I have had a new master cylinder installed but my brakes still do not feel right. Today, I received notice about the NHTSA recall 19V-904. Since I have already experienced brake problems, I would like to have my vehicle repaired asap because I am terrified of driving it at highway speeds.

- Hutchinson, KS, USA

problem #390

Dec 292017

Fusion

  • 114,200 miles
Further information for the recall notice 19S54 / NHTSA recakk 19V-904. Mileage at first event 111,287. Three times when braking hard the brake pedal went to the floor and barely slowed down the car. 1.) first time August 2017 while slowing down and making a right turn over a man hole cover. Dealer bleed the brakes but this did not fix the issue. 2.) reoccurred mileage 14459 December 28, 2017 on interstate where traffic had come to a hault. Had to brake fairly hard but the pedal went to the floor and only slowed the car slightly. Had over 100 yards before the stopped traffic. I almost hit the stopped cars ahead but they started to move forward just in time. I then rode the emergency lane, stopped and turned the car off and waited a while, then drove to the dealership. I left the car with them and had to get a rental car. This was a Friday before new years so they needed many days to get to look at it. Picked up car Jan 2, 2018 but they did not know for certain how to fix it but thought I might need a new hydraulic control unit, hcu. 3.) mileage 114520 January 23, 2018 this happened again on city roads and that was enough. I found a video online from a mechanic that described the issue completely. I sent the link to the Ford dealer and put a printed copy on the driver seat. I called the dealer and had them pick up the car because I was to scared to drive it anymore. In shop Jan 24 to 27, 2018. Total paid to dealer for three visits on this issue $1,409.61 plus $501.63 in rental car charges. Total out of pocket cost = $1,909.61. 1/27/2020 I just received a recall notice on this issue. I disagree with the comments that says " "Ford has not issued instructions to stop driving your vehicle...you can continue to safely drive your vehicle." It certainly is a safety issue! here is the issue: Https://www.youtube.com/watch?V=0R46_unyyk8

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #389

Jan 212020

Fusion

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving at 35 mph, the brake pedal was depressed and went to the floorboard which extended the braking distance. The contact stated that there were no warning lights illuminated during the failure. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic to be diagnosed. The mechanic was unable to duplicate the failure or retrieve a fault code for the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure was intermittent. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 19V904000 (service brakes, hydraulic). Neither the Ford dealer nor the manufacturer was contacted nor notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 65,000.

- Cedar City, UT, USA

problem #388

Nov 012019

Fusion

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving at an undisclosed speed, the brake pedal was depressed but went to the floorboard. The contact stated that the braking distance was extended due to the failure. The vehicle was taken to epic Ford located at 5200 evergreen way, everett, Washington 98203, (425)-353-7171 to be inspected. The contact was informed that the vehicle operated as intended. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Mountlake Terrace, WA, USA

problem #387

Jan 102020

Fusion

  • 113,000 miles
Extended brake pedal travel

- Bel Air, MD, USA

problem #386

Jan 082020

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 129,400 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving the brake pedel went all the way to the floor to stop the vehicle. The vehicle went to an independnent mechanic who determined there was air in the ABS system and bled the air out. The issue recurred again with another vehicle stopping suddenly in front and the contact's brake pedel again going all the way to the floor and a rear end collision happening. The other vehicle's passanger was injured and transported to the emergency room by ambulance. A police report was filed. The vehicle will probably be totaled and the driver's air bag did deploy properly. Almost all of the damage was to the front end of the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to a body shop. The dealer and the manufacturer had not been contacted yet. The independent mechanic reveiwed the repairs and verified the repairs were done properly. The contact had researched the internet and found that there were a number of complaints about the ABS system with the hydraulic control unit malfunctioning by not providing an immediate stop. The VIN tool found a NHTSA recall number: Awaiting (brakes) the failure mileage 129,400.

- Southgate, KY, USA

problem #385

Oct 012019

Fusion

  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Fusion. While depressing the brake pedal, the pedal traveled to the floorboard and caused the braking distance to be extended. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the brake system was faulty and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. Interstate Ford (125 alexandersville rd, miamisburg, oh) and the manufacturer were notified of the failure, but no assistance was offered. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 19V904000 (brake system), but the part was not available. The contact stated that the vehicle experienced the same failure listed in the recall. The failure mileage was 83,000.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #384

Oct 212019

Fusion

  • 106,725 miles
I noticed that I was having to press the brake pedal lower and lower for my car to stop. I took my car to dunn tire for my six month tire rotation and asked them if they would check my brakes because of the problem mentioned. They rotated the tires but said my car was not safe to drive because of the brakes. I had to leave it there and they got me a ride home. They said the master cylinder needed to be replaced so they had my car from Friday to Monday. I was not expecting to have to pay $499.69, but did so that I could get my car back. When I returned for my car I was told me that the master cylinder was leaking fluid. They replaced the cylinder and performed the procedure multiple times to bleed the brake system. Pedal is better and vehicle stops, but is still not as hard as is should/could be. They recommended taking car to dealer for further diagnosis into the ABS module or booster. When they told me the approximate cost, I could not do it as I am on a fixed income. I heard about the recall the other day on tv and went to this site to see if my car was affected by the recall. It is. I have limited my driving especially in inclement weather because I'm afraid there might be a braking problem or worse. I am very concerned that my brakes might go out at any time.

- Webster, NY, USA

problem #383

Dec 182019

Fusion

  • 89,000 miles
ABS system engaged when coming to stop on icy city street; this was the first time in many months of driving that it had to do so. Immediately after that the brake pedal was extremely spongy and travels nearly to the floor on each subsequent stop. ABS does not engage and ABS light does not come on. No evidence of brake fluid leak, car calipers and brake pads all ok, master cylinder appears full.

- Easton, PA, USA

problem #382

Nov 022018

Fusion

  • 189,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Fusion. While braking, the ABS activated, the brakes malfunctioned, and the brake pedal traveled to the floorboard. The vehicle delayed in finally stopping. The failure occurred at least five times with the brakes returning to normal afterwards. The dealer and the manufacturer were not contacted. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was 189,000.

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #381

Nov 032019

Fusion

  • 97,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Ford Fusion. While the contact's husband was attempting to stop the vehicle, the brakes failed to operate properly. The brake pedal traveled to the floorboard and the emergency brake had to be applied to stop the vehicle. The contact took the vehicle to a certified mechanic who diagnosed that the master cylinder failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred approximately a week later. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer and dealer were not made aware of the failure. The contact stated that she filed a previous complaint with NHTSA (ODI number: 10967298) for the same failure. The approximate failure mileage was 97,000.

- Brandon, FL, USA

problem #380

Oct 012019

Fusion

  • 205,000 miles
When you press the petal, you have to pump the brakes to make the brakes work. The calipers are working correctly and bleeding the brakes doesn't fix it. New brake pads have been replaced. This began once the anti-lock brake system was engaged and the anti-lock brake system won't work. All of the wheels will lock up when there is a sudden stop at moderate speed (40 mph with full braking).

- Raleigh, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?