ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

9.1

really awful
Typical Repair Cost:
$2,790
Average Mileage:
94,700 miles
Total Complaints:
168 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. get new engine (55 reports)
  2. not sure (36 reports)
  3. replace short block (27 reports)
  4. replaced engine (18 reports)
  5. honda paid for full repair (12 reports)
  6. get a new car (8 reports)
2006 Honda Civic engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 1 of 9)

problem #168

Jul 252018

Civic EX 1.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 124,274 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Very disappointing because I never got any letter that this matter was a recall. I was trying to fight for reimbursement although the warranty has expired. It's sad because it only had 200k km on it. So it's very annoying.

- Nylan M., Vancouver, BC, Canada

problem #167

Jul 132018

Civic EX 1.8L

  • Manual transmission
  • 90,000 miles

I bought a 2006 Honda Civic 2 months ago from a small 3rd part dealership. My temperature gauge was spiking so I decided to take the car to a local Honda Dealership. I was told, like so many other people, that I had a crack on my engine block and needed to replace the entire engine.

When I informed the mechanics that my temperature gauge had been spiking for about a week, they were surprised the car made it that long in one piece. They strongly advised me not to drive the car as is for safety reasons.

How is this not a recall?

- Frank H., Bethlehem, US

problem #166

Jun 292018

Civic

  • Automatic transmission
  • 137,000 miles

Yet another 2006 Honda Civic with a cracked engine block. No warning whatsoever. Had it serviced two weeks ago and fluid levels were fine. The cars been in the family since brand new and I have maintenance records since date of purchase. Honda needs to step up and deal with this. 10 years is an arbitrary time period for a known manufacturing defect. This is not a normal wear and tear issue. I buy cars new and expect 200,000 miles out of them. I've got a Toyota that is going strong with almost 300,000. At the moment I have a piece of scrap metal with 137,000 miles on it because the cost of repair greatly exceeds value of car. If Honda doesn't make this right they have lost a customer and a family of customers for life.

- Christine G., Austin, US

problem #165

Apr 042018

Civic

  • Automatic transmission
  • 135,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Original owner. No other problem with vehicle. Well cared for. Car began overheating. No visible signs of problem. Had checked several times and problem couldn't be found except to say it was losing coolant. Last time to my mechanic he said it was a probable small crack in the block and the engine needed to be replaced. This is a large financial burden. I took very good care of my car. Upon reading about the problem online I read it was a manufacturers defect and am upset I was never informed about this problem. I wish to seek help for the repair.

- Elizabeth K., Cleveland, TN, US

problem #164

Mar 292018

Civic EX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 260,000 miles

My 2006 Civic slowed to a crawl and started smoking from under the hood on Thursday, March 29, 2018 while driving down the highway. There were no warnings or precursors to this event. Luckily I was able to find a safe place on the side of the highway without being struck by another vehicle or precipitating an accident. AAA towed to our mechanic who ran a coolant pressure test which revealed a cracked engine block. I am the 2nd owner. The vehicle was bought in 2007 as certified from local dealer. I was given no notice of warranty extension or TSB 10-048. Had I known, I would have sold the vehicle before incurring these unexpected costs for an obvious manufacturing defect.

Honda Civics manufactured between 2006 - 2009 have this defect. If was due to a redesigned engine that had a weak aluminum casting defect which causes a coolant leak. Over time this leak worsens. In my case, it appears that all of the coolant was released at once causing catastrophic failure. Honda issued Technical Service Bulletin 10-048 was issued on January 9, 2015 that covered all VINs begins with 1HG or 2HG. My Honda Civic VIN begins 1HG. The TSB states that the engine block may leak engine coolant resulting in engine overheating. The TSB also stated that the vehicle warranty would be extended from eight to ten years for affected vehicles. The TSB was extended to include 2009 Civics with the 1HG and 2HG VIN numbers. VIN’s starting with 19X were also added at this time.

This is an obvious safety concern which should have been escalated into a recall instead of a TSB.

Why is a Safety Recall not in effect for this? With a Safety Recall...Honda would have to send out a mandatory notice for a Safety recall. Obviously if a car just stops while driving and catches fire, it can result in serious injuries. Only a secret warranty...TSB (Technical service bulletin) was put out for this. With a technical service bulletin..tsb...honda does not have to notify the owners of their mistakes or defects in the vehicle they sold.

If anyone has information on the Class Action Lawsuit with honda on this " TSB" secret warranty defect, please advise. The defect which Honda admits to (because of the TSB) meets the requirement for a safety recall, so what's going on?

- RECALLvsTSBsecretWarranty S., Indianapolis, US

problem #163

Mar 032018

Civic LX 1.81L 4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 141,000 miles

We purchased the Honda Civic from the dealership and were never apprised of any warranty extension in 2010. If we had, we would not have purchased this vehicle. Honda notified us of two other recalls (airbag, visor) but never notified us of problems with the engine. The Honda has been seen at three different Honda dealerships and all repairs/maintenance done at them, but never did any of the three tell us about the engine. The dealership we purchased it from won't pay, even though they were aware that they were selling us a defective car. The Federal Trade Commission Act of 1985 states they must let buyers be aware of problems, but they didn't. New legislation indicates that it must be marked on cars that they sell second hand. Since this is a manufactures defect, it should be repaired by the manufacture and not the owner. This car is still in great condition, but not worth more than $3,000. The quote for a new engine was $5,766. This continues to be a major safety issue and Honda needs to be held responsible for faculty vehicles.

- Eileen J., Eugene, US

problem #162

Aug 242017

Civic LE 1.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 101,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am the original owner and purchased the 2006 new with continually maintenance. I was never notified by Honda or the dealership that an issue with their was an issue with the engine block. Without notice!!! the car started to overheat and in approximately .4 of a mile the engine shut down. Assuming a water pump the pump was replaced but that did not stop the coolant leak. I had to taken to a Goodyear shop for evaluation thinking it was a hose underneath. After another $100 I was told I had a cracked engine block. I call the dealership for the service manager who never called me back.. I borrowed a car for work and then drove to the dealership to see the mgr. (not available) service write up person said he could help even though I wanted the mgr. Explained what happened and that I found a technical bulletin posted on the web under consumer reports and showed him the posting for a 10 yr extension. He check the computer and said I was absolutely right and to have the car towed in 1st thing in the a.m. and I would get a NEW engine and it would be ready for the weekend. When I questioned the 10 yr limit posted and that I am about 10 months past this he said it did not matter as I was the original owner and that was waived for original owners. I paid $155 to tow the vehicle in and then then approximately 4:30 the next day he said he could not cover it under warranty. Obviously, I asked why he had me tow it to the dealership. Mgr still not available and I said that was not good enough and I wanted the phone number of Honda USA. I called and opened a claim. Honda said each case is looked at on a case by case basis. After weeks of run around I was told they would not do anything.

I tried working with Honda and said I understood it was not a new car but I was the original owner and it is not a buyer be ware situation. I even was willing to work with them and accept a used engine with a year warranty but still no cooperation.

I feel this is wrong! They new the engine was bad an admitted so. They even reimbursed cost to owners who were forced to pay out of pocket. Why should consumers be taken advantage of? It is now 4 months and I am not letting go. I am seeking legal counsel to peruse formal action. How many others are willing to join me?

- Lina R., Pitsburgh, US

problem #161

Aug 122017

Civic LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 129,000 miles

Purchased a used car from a certified Honda dealership around 2007. A few days ago upon inspection, my engine block had a crack in it. when I contacted Honda regarding the recall, they told me that the ORIGINAL owner was made aware of the recall on the 2006 engines, however, I was never made aware of it! I am furious because I would not be in the financial situation that I am currently in now had I been made aware of the recall. Purchasing the car should have made me the rightful owner, especially from a Honda dealership, and now i am stuck deciding to replace the engine or scrap the car for a new one as it is already 10 years old.

- Logan A., San Diego, US

problem #160

Aug 112017

Civic EX 1.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 190,000 miles

Add my civic to the list of those with a cracked block, I just bought it and only had been driving it for 2 weeks. I called Honda and they said the warranty on the problem expired in 2015, my luck. I guess this problem is common in the 2006 to 2009 Honda civic's so do not buy one. Not worth taking a chance on a used engine and a new one is $4000.00.

- Bret U., Topeka, US

problem #159

Jun 232017

Civic LX 2.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,000 miles

Head cracked at 72,000 miles, left me stranded 2 hours from home in the middle of nowhere, had to pay $1100 to have car towed to Larry H Miller Honda in Spokane where they sat on the car for two weeks before they would tell me how much it would cost to get fixed. They told me Honda would cover half of the repair cost because it was a year out of extended warranty but, my portion was going to be over $5000.00! It needs a new block and head and some other parts.

The dealer refused to give me a written estimate and would only communicate via phone calls, no emails. I finally threw a fit and they sent me a hand written estimate with a disclaimer basically saying the estimate is not accurate. The service person at the dealership would not give me contact info for anyone at Honda USA, including the regional rep he was allegedly talking to.... I will never buy a Honda again nor would I promote the local dealership.

- E E., Spokane, US

problem #158

Jun 282017

Civic EX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2006 Honda Civic, it developed a cracked engine at 100K+ miles and coolant leaked. Thankfully, we were able to pull over safely, but had to have the car towed.

This is a known issue with Honda Civic with a weak point in their new aluminum engine with a warranty issued number 10-048. However, I never received my notice they claimed to have sent.

Initially the warranty was issued for 8 years and then increased to 10 years. How ever my Honda is 11 years old and Honda refuses to do anything. Shame on Honda for knowingly providing a defective product and not fixing it.

- kwdreams, Chicago, US

problem #157

Apr 032017

Civic LX 1.8L

  • Manual transmission
  • 156,000 miles

Didn't receive my recall letter, and I had to come to this website and make deeper research to find out that I was out of warranty and I had to pay for a new engine block. The problem was fixed however, I had to take out unexpected funds for Honda's poor communication. I have been with this company for as long as I can remember, both of my vehicles where hondas. Now is time to change to a new company.

- LZ M., Stockton, CA, US

problem #156

Apr 202017

Civic LX

  • Manual transmission
  • 110,000 miles

I have a 2006 Honda Civic, it developed a cracked engine at 110K miles and coolant leaked. Its a known issue with Honda Civic with a weak point in their new aluminum engine with a warranty issued number 10-048. Initially the warranty was issued for 8 years and then increased to 10 years. How ever my Honda is 11 years old and in spite of low mileage Honda refuses to do anything. Shame on Honda for providing a defective product and not fixing it.

- Khurram K., Shawnee Mission, KS, US

problem #155

May 092017

Civic

  • Automatic transmission
  • 111,000 miles

We bought this 2006 Honda Civic from AutoFair Honda, Manchester, New Hampshire in Oct. 2015. At that time, Honda already was aware that there was a problem w/ the engine block on this car and leaked coolant. Nevertheless, they sold us the vehicle w/ a two-year warranty. Yesterday, May 9 2016, the engine block problem arose and left us stranded -- technically, we are no longer under warranty but shouldn't have the Honda dealership dealt with this before selling it?.. We are a married couple, seniors who live in subsidized housing in a rural area of New England. We have no idea how we're going to deal with this.

- Ray C., Warner, US

problem #154

May 012017

Civic EX Cope 1.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,000 miles

Pulled my 2006 Honda Civic EX Coupe out last weekend (after being stored for the winter) and my thermostat started reading very hot while I was driving. Pulled the car over and noticed smoking from under the hood (barley had coolant in). Took the car to my repair man and he told me I'm leaking coolant from my engine block (cracked block). Took the car to the Honda dealership and was just notified that American Honda is refusing to help me with the issue because I am passed the 10 year extended warranty. I told the dealer I bought the car in 09 and the recall was issued in 07-08 and asked why they never fixed the engine before selling me the car? He told me that there wasn't an "issue with my car at the time of sale" so they didn't change the block. I am infuriated and will be calling American Honda on Monday. Though, after reading all of these reviews I have little hope that they will help me as they seem to not want to step up and taking care of other Honda customers.

- Ashly Z., Cudahy, US

problem #153

Mar 272017

Civic DX-G 1.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 172,120 miles

I can't believe how many people have had the same problem as me. I have had my civic for more than 11 yrs with no issue ever. Three weeks ago on my way to work the engine overheats. I stop the car and get it towed to my mechanic. He calls me later to say I have a cracked block and the engine is now useless and needs to be replaced. I did receive a letter from Honda Canada stating that they know there is a problem with the engine blocks and are extending the warranty to 10 yrs with unlimited mileage. After calling their " customer service" number I had to wait two weeks for them to get back to me. And of course it's the old company line of " sorry sir but your warranty has expired so we cannot help you".It infuriates me and utterly blows my mind that they take no responsibility for selling me a car with an engine that they knew was faulty but did nothing about. Where was the recall??? I bought the car brand new believing I was getting Honda quality and reliability. I did everything to maintain and look after my car. Nothing I did caused the engine block to crack and there was nothing I could do to prevent it because it was faulty from the day it was made. The only question was when the engine block would decide to crack. It should not matter when the engine fails because the reason it fails is the same in every case and that is because it was manufactured with a flaw. How is that now my fault just because it did not occur within Honda self imposed time limit. I work in the automotive industry and everyone I talk to can't believe that Honda would not step up and deal with a known problem regardless of time. Honda Canada's customer service has not been interested at all to hear any of my concerns but they stick to their script of sorry but your warranty has expired. That is the biggest pile of bs in the world and I can't believe they would treat their paying customer so poorly. How can you turn your back on a faulty engine block because my car is now literally worthless with a broken engine that is 100% Hondas fault. Never ever will I drive another Honda. I am done with them.

- David N., Delta, BC, Canada

problem #152

Jun 022016

Civic 1.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 184,547 miles

Well... im sure im going to make some people upset with their honda dealers on this one.. On our way to ottawa in 2009 the engine block cracked like most civics did at 90,000km. we pulled over at a mechanic on the side of the road who somehow had a honda engine in stock, he replaced it for about 125$ for extra things he changed out during the service. (and we bought him donuts + coffee)

I think 2006 was their first year producing aluminium blocks and they had made a weak spot in the design causing the crack, in 2010 they started to produce the "upgraded engines" (why the wait I dont know) so I had received another lemon engine in 2009

My new engine block had cracked again in october of 2015 when someone at work pointed to a pile of coolant under my car. At the time I was working & going to school so money wasn't very flexible and I had decided to just keep driving it instead of buying a new car, somehow I managed to drive the car from october 2015-June 2016 (canadian winter season) with the cracked block. (mostly highway driving so very little idling). With the cracked block i put upwards of 30,000km on the car because I was going roughly 40km each way for school everyday 5 or 6 times a week. I even took the car from New brunswick to Ontario and back, im a ballsy 20 year old because its 1100km each way =D. My theory was the crack in the block and the cooler ambient temperature was releasing the pressure that would normally cause the "explosion" in your engine. Along with this the radiator was in an impact collision in 2013 and the AC condenser was pushed into the radiator hard enough to stop the coolant from leaking.

I had called my honda dealer once the car started overheating around june of 2016 (warmer temperatures outside) to just ask about the TSB i had found online, my inital words to the manager were "im contacting you about TSB-1028 (i think its 1028)" to let him know I understood it was a lemon, they completely replaced the block at my dealership free of charge in 2016 at 297,000kms. I had dropped the car off on Monday night and by Wednesday afternoon the engine was already in the car. the car now has 308,000 with no signs of slowing down. I had even asked him before going in if there was a service fee just to figure out if its the block and there was nothing. My car was purchased brand new by my parents in july of 2006 and I was in the 10 year warranty by 2 months, so 2 months longer and it would have costed me about 4800$

The same dealership also tried to quote us 1600 to replace brakes, rotors and pads, we had an independent mechanic do the work and when he took everything off the brakes were at 40% and the rotors were fine so.. be wary of dealing with your dealership, but nothing to say but nice things about this experience.. makes me want to buy another honda (if it doesnt need 3 engines...) All in all the complaint still sticks to my second engine blowing up but I felt the backstory to this little car is great and worth sharing (so if your engine is not covered dont drive in in the summer, wait until the winter and it might be an okay winter car saving a nicer set of wheels from rusting)

- mitchell_d, saint john, NB, Canada

problem #151

Mar 162017

Civic

  • Manual transmission
  • 212,750 miles

I have had my Honda Civic for over 11 years. I bought it with only 1 mile on it and it now has 212,750 miles. I have maintained my vehicle, making sure to do all recommended services when needed. I have NEVER had any major issues with my Honda. I always took it in for any recalls or manufacturer extended warranties that I had knowledge of. In fact, I had just made an appointment to have the airbag replaced that was on recall.

The end of last week my car started overheating. This has never ever happened in the 11 years I've owned the car. I immediately took it to my mechanic who told me that I had a cracked block and the coolant was leaking through the cracks. He advised me to take the car to the dealership immediately because he knew there was an extended warranty for that very issue. When I took it to the dealership, they advised me that the warranty was only good for 10 years from date of purchase. I contacted Honda customer service, who acknowledged there was a warranty but I have exceeded the coverage time of 10 years. I argued that if they knew it was an existing problem, there should be no "expiration" date.

I have always bragged about how good a car my Honda was. I grew up being told that you couldn't go wrong with a Honda and it would last longer than I wanted it to. Even when I heard negative things about Honda, things like the service and quality of the vehicles aren't as good as they used to be, I would still stand up for Honda. I was even looking at buying a new Honda next year. Now, I'm not so sure I want to stay with Honda.

Honda has no problem promoting new business with the "Helpful Honda" campaign. But they don't want to take care of their loyal customers who have driven their vehicles and stood by the company name for many years. I am extremely disappointed!

- laurar, Anaheim, US

problem #150

Jan 202017

Civic LX 1.8L 4

  • Manual transmission
  • 107,000 miles

I bought a used, one owner 2006 Honda Civic with 96K last year for my daughter thinking it would be reliable car for her. While driving it myself I noticed steam coming from under the hood. I thought it would be minor, just a leaking hose and drove it to my mechanic. He later informed me that it was leaking coolant from a cracked engine block. He found that there was a Honda service bulletin and a manufacturers defect and that Honda extended the warranty not once but twice to a total of 10 years. Unfortunately the car is six months past the extended warranty cutoff and Honda refuses to do anything. I also have an 09 Honda Civic for my other daughter and can't get a straight answer if her car is prone to the same issue. The Honda service agent at the dealership mentioned several other Civics they've seen in recent weeks with the same issue. American Honda has been no help and I waisted five days waiting for my case to be reviewed only to hear again that they won't help with the repairs. This is a huge issue and Honda needs to step up and recall all of these cars. I will never buy another Honda and neither will my children. Think about that and multiply it by all the people affected. Word of mouth is a powerful thing.

- patmky, Louisville, KY, USA

problem #149

Dec 162016

Civic

  • Manual transmission
  • 94,000 miles

My daughter purchased this car in Dec 2013 from a car dealership. She has only had this car 3 years with almost a year only driven once a week as she was away for the military. Today she was on her way to work and the car overheated. Determination was the engine block was cracked. She was also advised that there was an extended 10 year warranty as Honda knew about the issue on Honda Civics from 2006 to 2009.

Called Honda today and they stated that the car was purchased new in May 2006 so the extended warranty expired in May 2016. We advised had we known about this issue when we purchased it used we would not have purchased it. We were never notified that this was an issue. Janey at Honda advised that we would not have been notified as it was just an extended warranty and not a recall.

Seriously, they know it is an issue but are doing nothing to fix it. Now my daughter, who is in the military, serving our country is stuck without a vehicle and still owes money on the car to pay off her loan. What now! We have to wait a week for them to review to see if they will do anything for her at all. In the meantime, she will need to pay for a car rental out of her own pocket. WOW!!!!

To top it off, when my daughter called before I called them back, she had spoke to a manager named Warren who hung up on her. How professional is that!

Update from Jan 3, 2017: My daughter ended up trading her car in for another car as Honda Civic refused to help her. The warranty was only extended for the original date of purchase which the original owner purchased in May 2006. My daughter bought the car from a dealership in Dec 2013. The extended warranty expired in May 2006 but we were never made aware of the issue nor did we receive a letter from Honda in 2014 when they extended the warranty. Now my daughter, who only owed $2300 on the car now has a $13,000 car loan because of having to buy another car. The car dealership would only give her $1500 for her Honda Civic which is very understandable so now she had to carry over the remaining to her new car loan.

- Cher R., Watsontown, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?