10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
112,648 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Honda Civic engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #94

Apr 102019

Civic

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine block cracked

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #93

Nov 012018

Civic

  • 103,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Civic. While operating the vehicle, the heater stopped working. The vehicle was taken to crown Honda (7671 us. 19 North, pinellas park, fa) where it was diagnosed that the vehicle was low on coolant. Coolant was added to the vehicle, but the failure continued. While changing the oil, the contact discovered that the engine oil was discolored due to coolant leaking into the engine. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the engine block was faulty and the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 103,000.

- St. Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #92

Mar 062019

Civic

  • 313,617 miles
On 3/6/19 I was driving home on I-95 North when, without warning, my Civic redlined and overheated. I had the car towed to rockingham Honda in rockingham, nh and the mechanic, dan, diagnosed my car with a cracked engine block. After some research it was discovered that '06-'09 Honda had faulty engines knowingly installed which resulted in Honda of America issuing a warranty extension for 10 years for this cracked engine block error. I purchased this vehicle on 8/14/15 completely unaware of the faulty engine, the extended warranty, or the cost it would be to me. I contacted Honda of America on 3/7/19 to inquire about the warranty and the complimentary replacement/repairs for their poor craftsmanship. I was informed that the warranty expired and does not apply to me since I am not the original owner of the car. Turns out Honda only sent out one notice of the warranty extension and it went to the first owners of the Honda who purchased the cars off a dealership lot. Secondhand owners, like me, had no chance of even knowing there was a recall or opportunity to get this "time bomb" of a repair fixed until it's too late. After a month of having no car and communicating with Honda of America and the mechanic, rockingham Honda quoted the repair to cost $5,600 (which is twice the amount of what kelley blue book values the car to be worth). Honda of America said that since I have no record of getting the car serviced at any of their locations that it's "not they're problem" the warranty expired and I had no knowledge of the offer. There are thousands of people who bought '06-'09 used Honda, are driving a with a faulty engine, completely unaware of the danger and damages they are about to incur due to Honda's inability to follow up with their product.

- Haverhill, MA, USA

problem #91

Nov 022018

Civic

  • 99,269 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought this car used in July 2018. Shortly after that the car ran hot. I took it to the mechanic and was told that the engine block had a crack and had to be replaced. I replaced the motor causing me $4257 dollars. The owner of bob morton garage told that she had been told by the Honda's representative that there had been a problem with the engines on the Honda Civic cars and for me to check it out. I was still having problems with the car spurting forward without warning, so they suggested that I take it to the dealership which I did. It was the idler causing problems. I asked one of the employee handling my car that morning if there had been any recalls or problems with the Honda Civic cars and I was told no. Then I went on the internet and found that there had been multiple complaints about the engine block cracking and having to be replaced. Since I have had to replace the engine, I need to know what to do now in terms of reimbursement.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #90

Mar 012019

Civic

  • 111,000 miles
The car is not shifting good is hicking up today my transmission crashed so I need my car to be fixed is not driverbole

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #89

Feb 112019

Civic

  • 106,900 miles
Honda needs to be very considerate and make some type of exception towards what peope go through when they sell car that have a problem. I bought my car back in October of last year and I have had some issue every since. Back in feburwry of this I noticed that I was driving and my car started smoking I let it cool down and my car began to lose power. I took it to a shop who initially diagonosed it as a blown head gasket they told me it woul be $1500 to fix. I took it a Honda repiar shop who did several test and came to the final conclusion that block is leaking. I always thought that Honda was supposed to be the most relaible car. Please try to make some type of exception this is ridiculious.

- Tamarac, FL, USA

problem #88

Feb 142019

Civic

  • 125,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My used 2008 Honda Civic was overheating and I dropped it off at my garage for evaluation. On 2/14/2019, my mechanic informed me that my engine block was cracked and was under warranty. I contacted North american Honda, Inc. And requested they replace the engine under warranty. They refused as the car was totaled and salvaged. I had never been notified about the problems with 2006-2009 Civic engines and the warranty. Had I been notified by Honda, when my car was totaled in 2014 because of a severe hail storm, I would have accepted the $10,000 from the insurance company and bought a replacement car. Since my car in 2014 was six years old, I thought that all warranties had expired long ago and salvaging the car appeared to be a good deal. I got $10K and had a mechanically and operationally sound vehicle with low mileage. Research has since shown that hundreds of Civic owners were not notified and Honda routinely strictly enforces the warranty. For four years Honda was selling a defective car and doing everything possible to hide from the public. Many owners recounted the car just shutting down on them. I often drove in 70mph speed limit zones on the pa turnpike in heavy commuter traffic. Had my engine shut down suddenly there was significant possibility that I would have been killed in the subsequent accident. This was obviously a serious safety issue. I cannot understand why NHTSA did not force Honda to issue a provisional recall. Also, Honda should have issued an unlimited warranty instead of restricting the warranty to 10 years from date of purchase. It appears to be a case of unfair and deceptive business practice at best and outright fraud at the worst.

- Reading, PA, USA

problem #87

Dec 012018

Civic

  • 133,230 miles
While driving down the road smoke began coming from underneath the hood and I noticed the car was starting to overheat. I pulled over into a local bank parking lot and opened the hood to inspect the problem and it was a crack in the engine block that the coolant was seeping out of. Tsb 10-048

- Enterprise, AL, USA

problem #86

Jan 102019

Civic

  • 123,000 miles
Was the proud owner of a Honda Civic(2008) until recently. In January 2019, my Honda unexpectedly started overheating when I was waiting in line in mcdonalds. The overheating occured very fast and I I quickly pulled over and towed the vehicle to nearest Honda dealer (Honda of nanuet). I learned the next day that the car had suffered a engine coolant leak which had the made the vehicle inoperable. I found out that this was a manufacturing defect in the engine block (https://Honda.oemdtc.com/340/warranty-extension-engine-block-2006-2009-Honda-Civic) which is a known defect on 2006-2009 Honda Civics. My cars situation is sad because it is over the 10 year warranty but has very low miles on it for a car of its age. You can see many engine block failures like this for 2006-2009 Honda cars at https://www.carcomplaints.com/Honda/Civic/2006/engine/cracked_engine_block.shtml currently anybody having this defect could have their engine overheat, stall very quickly and Honda is not refunding or acknowledging this is a serious issue and refunding owners for the cost of the car. I ask that Honda issue a recall instead of a warranty extension for this serious issue considering that this would make the engine inoperable and overheat very quickly with this issue.

- Congers, NY, USA

problem #85

Oct 292018

Civic

  • 107,980 miles
Engine block crack at 107,980 mile. 3 months out of the extended warrenty. Honda took 3 weeks to get back with us. The good will assistance program argreed to pay 50% of the block repair. Cost for the block only was $2,200 withe the discount. The repair would have cost close to $6000 for the dealership to fix. Just wanted to file a formal complaint. Wasn't sure were to do this.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #84

Nov 132018

Civic

  • 103,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving the car on the road it overheated and turned off, leaving me stranded in the middle of the road! took it to Honda dealership tech, to find out that the engine block cracks causing the engine to leak the coolant and overheating. This is a safety issue as the problem does not give any warning signs! also, it is a manufacturers defect. American Honda refuses to fix the problem...

- Spring, TX, USA

problem #83

Nov 142018

Civic

  • 131,747 miles
My engine block cracked while I was driving on the interstate, causing billows of steam to erupt from under my hood, partially blocking my vision while driving, the engine now leaks coolant and needs to be constantly refilled to keep the vehicle operable. Engine blocks don't just crack. Honda knows this is an issue with their vehicles, but they want me to pay more than $7000 to repair the engine! this is unacceptable. A cracked engine block does not fall under regular maintenance or wear and tear, not at any mileage, and especially not at 130,000. I want to reiterate that the engine block was the initial point of failure, as confirmed by both Honda and the dealership I took it to (hendrick Honda, charleston SC) and that the engine got so hot that it burned and melted the dipstick/top of the engine

- Hampstead, NC, USA

problem #82

Nov 062018

Civic

  • 50,400 miles
I have a 2008 Honda Civic with 50500 miles. I bought used a year and two mins ago. I bought it off someone I knew that had full maintence records. About a month ago I started having temperature issues with it slowly leaking cooloant. I took it to a trusted mechanic and he said I had crack in my engine block. I called Honda and that I was outside of the ten year warranty extension. They have a known defective issue with there engine block and they said I would have to pay 4000 to replace the engine. I found this ridiculous that a car with 50000 has a cracked engine block. I bought a Honda because they are supposed to be reliable. Never again

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #81

Oct 312018

Civic

  • 143,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Civic. The contact stated that when the brake pedal was depressed, the vehicle inadvertently accelerated. The contact stated that the vehicle was then shifted into park and the engine began to rev. The vehicle was taken to O'malley Honda (3405 stewart ave, wausau, wi 54401 (715) 842-2131) but a diagnostic test was not completed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 143,000.

- Merrill, WI, USA

problem #80

Oct 042018

Civic

  • 136,000 miles
Catastrophic manufacturing engine block failure, as set forth in Honda tsb 10-048 & 08-044, which resulted in the sudden and immediate expulsion of all coolant from the vehicle rendering the vehicle inoperable. Please note that in its' technical service bulletins, Honda describes the manufacturing defect as "the engine (cylinder) block may leak coolant". however, it is not a slow leak, because the engine coolant system is under pressure, while you are driving, when the engine block cracks all the coolant is sudden expelled from the system forcing a motorist to immediately pull over. Because you cannot keep driving with no coolant in the vehicle, it is an extremely dangerous manufacturing defect that forces a driver to take evasive action to safely stop the car. It's no different than if a car suddenly lost all its' oil or its' brakes because all these events force you to immediately and unexpectedly stop driving, which is dangerous to you, your passengers, and to other drivers on the road.

- Merrick, NY, USA

problem #79

May 202018

Civic

  • 147,000 miles
I purchased a 2008 Honda Civic in may of 2018. I brought it to a mechanic to make sure the car was in good enough shape to get me from Massachusetts to Montana as I had just graduated college and was moving for my first job. I was four hours into my trek when my car broke down leaving my mother and I completely stranded in the middle of nowhere in New York. We had to get the car towed and found out 3 days later it was a crack in the engine block (a very common problem in these Honda Civics). The reason the engine block cracked was because Honda used a cheaper metal. The dealership told us it would cost around $6,000 because the 10 year warranty ended. My mother and I were stranded for 4 days while we waited this out. I am thankful everyday this didn't occur in the mid-West of the country where there is no cell service as we would have been stranded with no food or water and no way to contact anyone. Honda put all of us Honda Civic owners in danger and they need to fix there mistake. Honda is putting anyone who buys an older car in danger.

- Westminster, MA, USA

problem #78

Oct 122018

Civic

  • 160,000 miles
Noise from engine when stationary or parked. In 2010, serpentine belt tensioner and pivot bolt replaced noise went away but dealer did not know how long would last. Now, same noise is returning which can only be tensioner and pivot bolt again. Very distinct noise for this problem.

- Bristol, TN, USA

problem #77

Oct 042018

Civic

  • 112,000 miles
Seeping coolant from the engine, small crack on motor behind alternator

- Bridgeport, CT, USA

problem #76

Sep 102018

Civic

  • 140,000 miles
This car started leaking coolant on the driveway. One day later my wife drives car and when she returns home steam is coming from engine and a lot more coolant is leaking on driveway. Towed it to the dealer. Turns out there is a factor defect causing engine block to crack prematurely. Luckily engine didn't overheat and lock-up while on the freeway. Scary that the symptoms and onset of crack were so sudden. Only started dripping on driveway one day previous to near overheat. Not sure if my wife or I would have been able to safely get the car to the side of the road if it overheated while driving on the freeway.

- Magna, UT, USA

problem #75

Aug 242018

Civic 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,375 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Civic. After parking the vehicle overnight, the contact noticed radiator fluid under the hood of the vehicle the following day. The vehicle was taken to a dealer (the Honda store, 448 boardman-canfield rd, youngstown, oh 44512, 800-211-9345) where it was diagnosed that the engine block was cracked. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and informed the contact that someone would call him back in one to three days. No one called the contact back. The failure mileage was approximately 74,375. Updated 12/03/18

- Canfield, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?