8.3

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$1,690
Average Mileage:
40,900 miles
Total Complaints:
44 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. replace air compressor (13 reports)
  2. not sure (12 reports)
  3. replace A/C condenser (12 reports)
  4. compressor replaced (1 reports)
  5. replace A/C evaporator (1 reports)
  6. replace AC lines (1 reports)
2017 Honda Civic AC / heater problems

AC / heater problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2017 Honda Civic:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2017 Honda Civic Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #44

Jan 062021

Civic Touring 1.5L

  • CVT transmission
  • 35,418 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Bough the CIVIC in 2017 as new and AC stopped working. Dealer changed the condenser in 2020. AC broke again in 2021. Recharged it. Now April 2022, AC stopped working again. I know it is in Canada, but you still need a working AC in the summer. Not sure what to do.

- Simon W., Ottawa, ON, Canada

problem #43

Feb 012022

Civic

  • CVT transmission
  • 41,000 miles

I will never buy a Honda again. We have to replace all AC system compressor, condenser, A/C lines, everything from the dashboard to the end. The condenser is under warranty, but the rest is not, so we have to pay $4300.00 without the condenser. The car is 4 years old with 40,000.00 miles and we are the first owners.

- Sevasta K., Jacksonville, US

problem #42

Aug 302019

Civic EX-L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles

AC started blowing warm air in humid July weather during my son's wedding week. The problem gradually started at around 38,000 miles, but I did not actually get hot air with no cooling until after the factory warranty had expired.

Took it in to my Honda dealer, they said there was a recall on the Condenser, but NOT the Compressor - which is what they told me actually needed replacing with a new one! This was unbelievable to me as I have owned over seven new Hondas in my lifetime, and this is unheard of, and completely unacceptable.

I did replace it. I called Honda to complain (to no avail) as it was so close to the factory warranty, and this is not the quality I expect from Honda. Nothing.

- Debra L., Woodbury, US

problem #41

Aug 162021

Civic EX 2.0L

  • CVT transmission
  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2017 Honda Civic had the condenser replaced under the recall extended warranty a year ago. Now the dealership says that the evaporator is leaking. Hoping there is a new lawsuit out there for the entire AC system as every component of the AC system is prone to failure.

- Nick C., Rancho Cucamonga, CA, US

problem #40

Jul 222019

Civic LX 2

  • CVT transmission
  • 21,748 miles

AC started blowing hot air in July, and I could not get an appointment with Dealership to have it looked at until August 16th. They said it was the compressor but not to worry, it was covered under warranty and parts should be in within 5-10 days. That was over 8 weeks ago and numerous calls and email to dealership have provided no results other than parts are on back order. I called Honda HQ and advised the same thing...with really very little concern. This on the heals of dealing with our 2nd vehicle, a Honda CRV, the one with the fuel in oil dilution issue am frustrated beyond belief with Honda...

Update from Jan 2, 2020: Honda finally had the part, after three months. Our vehicle was taken into the dealership to be fixed. As it is now winter, it is difficult for us to test but it appears to be working. I will know better come spring and or summer time, however, we just received a 10 year warranty extension letter from Honda explaining that there has been a manufacture defect with the AC unit.

- S C., Oakville, ON, Canada

problem #39

Oct 312020

Civic SI

  • Manual transmission
  • 24,000 miles

I noticed my A/C was not able to cool down my car around October. I mistakenly thought this was a coolant issue and delayed the fix because it was getting colder. I went to my mechanic and they said that I have an A/C valve leak and need to recharge my coolant, but it is pricey because Honda decided to change their A/C system.

I took my car to the Honda Dealership and unfortunately it was not covered by warranty because it was not a condenser issue. It is apparently an evaporator leaking issue. The cost to fix it is $1940 + tax. It requires the entire dashboard to be removed so rather than an expensive part gone wrong, it's a labor issue. I have driven the car for 25k miles in 3 years. I used to think that Honda was reliable which is why I was a loyal customer. However, with this issue, unless a TSB comes out soon, I might never purchase a Honda again.

Also, the annoying thing is that if you want to get your car serviced, you have to pay a $400+ diagnostic a/c issue since the coolant is so damn expensive to recharge. I would expect this of a luxury car company but not Honda. Thankfully my service advisor was kind and agreed to just charge me the standard $150 diagnostic fee.

If you are having this same issue, please also add a complaint so we can get make sure Honda fixes this. I am sure that others will be experiencing this in droves but there is just a slight delay due to people not driving much during the pandemic. Additionally, many people are deterred by the expensive diagnostic fee.

Anyway, it suffices to say, after looking at multiple forums, several people have had this issue. It isn't just the A/C condenser that should be covered, it is the entire A/C system. This is clearly a manufactural defect, not a result of wear and tear.

- J P., Los Angeles, CA, US

problem #38

Mar 202021

Civic EX 2.0L

  • CVT transmission
  • 76,677 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When the AC is on, it blows hot air. Sooo many people complaining about this issue but Honda only issued a service bulletin for ac condenser. Will get to dealer on Monday and see what they say.

- Null N., Maple, ON, Canada

problem #37

Sep 222019

Civic EX-T 1.5L

  • CVT transmission
  • 52,000 miles

After less than two and a half years of ownership of this vehicle, my air conditioning started to blow lukewarm air out of the left side. About 1 week later, the left side started to blow completely hot air out of the driver’s side and the HVAC system started to hiss loudly. This then changed again one week later where all of the cold air was completely gone from both sides of the HVAC system. This issue became unbearable living in Southern California where temperatures easily reach over 100 degrees during the daytime.

I took my car to two different Honda dealerships in San Diego and everyone knew this was an issue with the 2016 and 2017 Civics. However, when repair techs worked on my car they said there was an oily residue all over the car’s compressor. Honda was little help with this, as they only pitched in a one-time 70% assistance on the repair. Out of pocket this would have been a $1780 repair. This is completely ridiculous for a practically new vehicle with no damage. The sad thing is that Honda has no recall for this internally known issue, and that 2018 and 2019 Civics are reportedly having the same issues. Google Honda Civic air conditioning, there are tons of reports of this issue all over the internet.

- Dominick M., San Diego, CA, US

problem #36

Apr 022021

Civic

  • Automatic transmission
  • 137,500 miles

I have a 2017 Honda Civic that the A/C is running cool, but not cold. Of course, it takes the newer, much more expensive, freon and very few places even have the equipment to put it in. The minimum cost to fix at the dealer is $375!! This is a 2017 Honda Civic... why am I even having this issue? My friend has the same car and her vehicle is doing the same thing. This sounds like a "Honda" quality issue and something that they should take care of. I have a 2014 Honda Civic with no problems. I use to recommend a Honda car, but not anymore.

- Evelyn A., Lakeland, US

problem #35

Feb 122020

Civic EX 1.5L

  • CVT transmission
  • 65,000 miles

Both the condenser and compressor had leaks. The condenser is covered under warranty but you cannot tell me a significant loss of refrigerant and compressor oil did not contribute to the leak in the compressor. American Honda MUST cover both repairs! This is absurd.

- Dan B., Castro Valley, CA, US

problem #34

Aug 232021

Civic SI

  • Manual transmission
  • 39,841 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a Honda 2017 Civic SI that the AC stopped working in. I have read all the complaints and I am not willing to pay 2500 to have it fixed to just turn around and find that Honda knew and they should have been recalled. As many cars that Honda sells, they should value the customers and fix the problem. I hope they get sued and learn to stand behind the product they sell.

- Ana G., Brawley, US

problem #33

Feb 292020

Civic LV

  • CVT transmission
  • 50,000 miles

Got the car new in 2017. Had heard hissing in the AC over the years but considered it normal as it was a new vehicle and the inspection at each service that came showed the AC system was fine. Around January I got a letter from Honda that some condenser units needed replacement. When I brought the car in for service the next time I mentioned the hissing and the condenser letter but it came up fine. Sound got worse over the following week and I brought it back again. Now both the condenser AND the compressor need replacement. Honda only extended the warranty on the condenser, the latter will cost about $1,200 to replace because I'm over the mileage for the warranty. If you own a similar model I suggest getting them to check that specifically before you go over warranty.

- Jonathan F., WORCESTER, MA, US

problem #32

Jul 102020

Civic Touring 1.5L

  • CVT transmission
  • 67,000 miles

Luckily, I had purchased the extended warranty a couple of years ago. I figured this was a fairly new design (turbo engine) that would probably have issues. It would have cost $2000+ if I did not have the warranty.

- raiste, Charlotte, US

problem #31

Jul 212020

Civic EX-T 1.5t

  • CVT transmission
  • 61,000 miles

They say the AC compressor went bad on a car thats 3 1/2 years old. Thats just ridiculous - and of course its out of warranty and not covered by the current TSB on the AC condenser. TOTAL BS - Honda is not the Honda it use to be.

- Geoffrey M., Haymarket, VA, US

problem #30

Jul 272020

Civic Sedan

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles

Took my Honda CIVIC 2017 in for the AC Problem. Blowing hot air. The dealer said the AC Condenser is under warranty but the compressor that is also leaking is not. To repair compressor it will cost 1800.00.

- Susan K., Fresno, CA, US

problem #29

Jun 012020

Civic Touring 1.5L Turbo

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles

2017 HONDA CIVIC TOURING 1.5L Turbo (purchased 4/2017).

AC blows hot air 6/2020. PA and NJ pandemic shutdown/lockdown prevents college age son from getting service till 3/22/2021 at home in MA. HONDA dealer installs new extended warrantied AC condenser no charge. First hot day in May 2021, AC blows hot air, again! Brought back to same HONDA dealer and now they claim the compressor leaks and needs replacement, $1356.00 out of my pocket. I called HONDA CUSTOMER SERVICE, I told them my story above, was given a CASE NUMBER and I would get a call back with a decision in 3 to 5 business days for "possible" reimbursement (full or part) consideration. Did not get a call back and no help ($) has happened yet. I have even tried calling them a number of times to inquire about a decision and nothing yet.

AND, I have a 2009 HONDA ACCORD EX-L V6 with 205,509 miles on it and the AC WORK PERFECTLY AFTER 12 YEARS (OLD) and NEVER has the AC system ever been serviced!!!

And so, I feel my 2017 HONDA CIVIC AC SYSTEM "SHOULD NOT FAIL" at 3 years of use. It should be as rugged as my 2009 ACCORD.

An extended AC warranty SHOULD INCLUDE the AC compressor TOO!! It is a part of the AC system.

- gebba, Bradford, Ma, US

problem #28

Jul 152020

Civic LX 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles

Found out, Thank God before leaving my house next day for my Honda Civic 2017 service appointment. Honda condenser is a common problem and Honda America inventory on back order for weeks. I would have left house, I am 70 year old retired US Army with under lying health issues (need I say more), and now weeks later still no condenser. I cannot use my car with no a/c or drive with no a/c - I live in Southern CA temperature in low 90"s high 80"s. Now I am stranded without my car. Thank you Honda.

- Thomas L., Poway, US

problem #27

May 112020

Civic

  • Manual transmission
  • 72,000 miles

Honda of Irving lied to me and said they would fix, when I took it in they lied to my mother (cosigner) and tricked her into paying 400 dollars to recharge saying they put dye in it to find the leak. When I took it in to get the dye test checked they had a totally different story and said road damage was the problem. Total bulls***, they are just scumbags.

- Donnie G., Hurst, US

problem #26

Aug 012020

Civic LX 2.0L

  • CVT transmission
  • 9,000 miles

Damaged a/c compressor, just after completing 3 years and Honda won't repair. Hundreds of Honda Civic owners has experienced same a/c issues and Honda won't take responsibility. They've only extended warranty on the condenser but not the other a/c parts that are also faulty or affected by their faulty condenser. This should be a recall. Definitely a safety issue while driving.

If Honda doesn't resolve this, this would be my last Honda vehicle.

- Wilson Y., Hollywood, US

problem #25

Dec 162019

Civic

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,000 miles

Stopped working in the middle of December just after my 36000 miles. We took it in the beginning of Feb 2020 to be told it will be around 500 to test and put new Freon in if nothing was wrong (yikes but okay). They keep for a little under a week and we were told no leaks, just needed more Freon.

It’s my wife’s car and she is pregnant and COVID hits so we never leave the house. I drive it to work a few times and put a total of 2000 miles in 6 months. Then on 4th of July I’m driving and ac stops working six months to the day I got it back from the dealership. Now I take it back and am told ac condenser is bad and now have 4 holes in my ac line (wtf) and I am told it will be $1100 to fix (wtf). I ask the service writer how go from everything is cool and now having ac condenser and holes and I’m told “I’m not a engineer, I don’t know” (wtf).

I did my research and found out about the condenser and it was probably bad back in February but they didn’t want to fix it so they temporarily fixed it and let it be someone else's problem later. I should get a credit for the Freon I just put in but no. Told him I’m picking up my car, went and picked it and took it to another Honda and now they told me ac condenser and compressor are bad and there are no holes in the line and it’s $1300.00. Either I’m the most unlucky person on earth that had 3 different issues at the same exact time fail or Honda made a sh*tty ac system. I’m going to get it fixed because I need ac (f*** you Honda) and I’m guessing this is not going to be my last issue with it.

- Rob A., La Habra, US

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?