ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
6,248 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2017 Hyundai Santa Fe engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2017 Hyundai Santa Fe:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2017 Hyundai Santa Fe Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #35

Aug 282018

Santa Fe

  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When turning left or right from a stop or low speed (<10 mph) on a paved city street, intermittently the vehicle will not respond to my gas pedal. I can have the pedal all the way to the floor and the car will not accelerate. Only after 1.5 to 2.0 seconds will the car react, and when it does, it is violently fast. This causes issues when making left turns because you're going into oncoming traffic with a vehicle that is stalling for almost 2 seconds before the car begins to move forward (violently).

- Plymouth, MN, USA

problem #34

Aug 012018

Santa Fe

  • 12,750 miles
Severe hesitation when coming out of a sharp turn. Also happens upon acceleration after a traffic light. Happening more frequently as time goes on currently 13K miles on vehicle. Happens almost every driving trip but put todays date on it as it happened last today 8/1/18.

- Joliet, IL, USA

problem #33

Nov 162017

Santa Fe

  • 20,000 miles
2017 Hyundai sante fe SE, when first purchased I felt hesitation, according to dealer they was a update for the computer, I took it in for update which actually did not make a difference. At times when getting in vehicle to drive off and put in gear it would not move. Took to dealer for service tech drove car home and stated that there was no issues. After that I stopped using vehicle. I sent Hyundai Consumer Affairs a complaint and they brushed it off. Since I didnt buy the vehicle at the dealer I took for service they could not give me a loner. Suspension has a defect changed tires at 15000 miles due to humming from rear, had vehicle aligned and new tires 6 months later tires are worn Hyundai has suspension issues. Last, so far is engine knocks when starting vehicle. Its a shame that we have to make payments on vehicle that dont serve our needs and Hyundai does not care but to have there payments on time. I contacted my attorney, planning to drop off at dealer and return to Hyundai so the finance company can take it back either I get my issues fixed just like everybody else should or I stop paying and take it back. If you anybody that is interested in buying a Hyundai vehicle like ours send them elsewhere.

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #32

Jul 012017

Santa Fe

  • 4,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Very unsafe vehicle. Vehicle as intermittent acceleration problems when turning. December 15, 2017 1:57 pm 7/8 full tank engine normal temp outside temp 73° pulling out of publix shopping center, making right turn onto 103rd St. Very mild acceleration to get the vehicle moving made right turn press down on the accelerator nothing. Released accelerator and press down again nothing. Released accelerator a second time and press down finally had throttle response Feb 21, 2018 6:26pm just filled fuel tank and automated carwash at sam's wholesale club. Made a right turn from sam's parking lot onto youngerman drive. Parking lot has slight downward incline to street level, resulting in slight car body twisting. Very mild acceleration to get the vehicle moving made right turn press down on the accelerator nothing. Released accelerator and press down again nothing. Released accelerator a second time and press down finally had throttle response April 10, 2018 4:00 P.M. mileage 18092 outside temperature 60゚ over cast light sprinkle rain making a left turn in front of traffic stepped on the throttle only partial response; release the throttle; stepped on it again, still only partial response; release the throttle a second time stepped on it and finally had full throttle response. April 17, 2018 18545 miles temp 75゚ 3/4 fuel. Pulling out of lowe's parking lot turning right, no acceleration. Released the throttle reapply the throttle to get power. April 26, 2018 5:15 P.M. outside temp 80 degrees, sunny. 19056 miles. Making a left turn and failed to accelerate. Very limited acceleration despite full tank of gas. After about 10 seconds of mashing accelerator to the floor, it finally picked up and took off.

- Jacksonville, Fl, FL, USA

problem #31

Apr 122018

Santa Fe

  • 10,000 miles
Upon moving after complete stop and turning vehicle to right or left, there is hesitation before there is throttle response. It occurs more often if while initially making a turn and any size bump or pothole is encountered. A very dangerous situation as there is no way to make an avoidance maneuver if necessary since there is no immediate throttle response. The same situation occurs when at slow speeds a pothole or bump is encountered during a turn. Again, dangerous, because without a responsive throttle no avoidance maneuver is possible. N.B. I put today's date because the "field is required". it occurs on a daily basis, nonetheless.

- Sandy Hook, CT, USA

problem #30

Mar 012018

Santa Fe

  • 10 miles
The vehicle from time to time about once a week stalls while accelerating, it happened so far while doing a left turn on local streets. This is very dangerous and can cause an accident

- Spring Valley, NY, USA

problem #29

Feb 132018

Santa Fe

  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The Santa Fe sport was purchased in July of 2017. When taking off from a redlight or while driving at a steady momentum on the road, the acceleration drops significantly and the rpms begin to rev up high, bouncing up and down, but the Santa Fe sport will stall. While on the highway, the issue continues and panic sents in due to the cars behind us can rear end the Santa Fe sport. No matter how far or hard the gas pedal is pressed the Santa Fe sport will stall. All while no "engine light" turns on. Took the Santa Fe sport for service to the dealer over 6 times between 2017 and 2018 and only an ems part was replaced. The problem continues mostly in very bad traffic, again very concerning for safety. The Santa Fe sport needs to be turned off and back on in order for the problem to cease. No matter what drive mode it is in (eco; sport; normal) the issue persists. We purchased a brand new 2017 Santa Fe sport right off the lot which has been paid for and it is unfair that we are still paying what seems like our lives we continue to spend more with gas, tolls, travel and time from work to take the Santa Fe sport in for service and we do not get refunded for this.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #28

Jan 112018

Santa Fe

  • 5,100 miles
Purchased car in June 2017 and currently have approx. 5100 miles. When going from a standstill stop or a slow rolling start (exiting a driveway) the acceleration is lacking. Car will go high rpms but no speed. And when attempting to merge onto a road way it has become a safety concern as approaching cars from the rear close what was a safe distance to being on top of the bumper in no time since I can not accelerate. 0-40 can take upwards of 30 seconds with pedal depressed full. Car was taken in for service at dealer in December 2017 and was "corrected". now the problem has become worse and car will produce problem more freqently and in any driving condition to include being in traffic. The only way I can somewhat correct the issues (and figured it out during trial and error) is to turn the drive mode to sport and turn off traction control. When car is in eco the problem is much more serve and in normal it frequently happens. I do not feel I should have to adjust or turn off systems in a vehicle to make it safe to drive nor should I have a vehicle I can not drive at safe speeds.

- Middletown, NJ, USA

problem #27

Dec 282017

Santa Fe

  • miles
The contact owns a 2017 Hyundai Santa Fe. While having an oil change performed on the vehicle, the local dealer began to inspect the vehicle for a recall. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V578000 (engine and engine cooling). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The local dealer (gosch Hyundai, 100 carriage circle, hemet, ca 92545) stated that the inspection tool was not available, but was ordered. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Hemet, CA, USA

problem #26

Aug 012017

Santa Fe

  • 16,000 miles
Engine stumbles when accelerator is pressed at low speeds, especially from a stop or turning a corner. I call it throttle lag or stumbling.

- Spokane, WA, USA

problem #25

Sep 122017

Santa Fe

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Had this Santa Fe for a little over a year. I have noticed several instances of not being able to accelerate, or gain speed, especially when turning or starting from a stopped position, it hesitates to start to the point of almost being hit several times. I have taken it to dealer many times, and they keep telling me its the way I am driving it that the engine is like a standard vehicle, but that doesnt seem safe to me if I am trying to start driving and it wont go. When it does finally decide to go, it takes off way too fast and is like, it finally decides to shift into gear. Also while in park, engine revs to 2500rpm for no reason or idols at that RPM. It feels like the engine is pulling the car forward even when it is in park I have been given the run around so many times, I am tired of it. I'm not happy to see others have this issue, but I am also glad that others are experiencing the same problems.

- Morgantown, WV, USA

problem #24

Sep 012016

Santa Fe

  • 2,000 miles
My 2017 Santa Fe sport ultimate 2.0 turbo hesitates badly when coming out of turns or slowing... just short of coming to a stop...and then attempting to accelerate. It is very pronounced when in eco mode, but is an issue to a lesser degree in the other two driving modes. I think it borders on dangerous. It happens all the time, pretty much in this scenario. The date I list below is just the earliest date.

- Castle Rock, CO, USA

problem #23

Jan 012017

Santa Fe

  • 9,000 miles
The contact owns a 2017 Hyundai Santa Fe. While driving, the engine stalled without warning. The dealer and manufacturer were not notified. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 9,000.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #22

May 232017

Santa Fe

  • 3,000 miles
Car leased in Feb. 2017. Just after finalized, noticed this serious problem: The acceleration after a turn is extremely slow and takes an unreasonable amount of time causing danger of vehicle behind slamming into back end. Upon accelerating after a turn there is so much hesitation that it caused driver and passengers to lunge forward once the engine kicks in. The light indicating slipping usually comes on when this happens as well. My son drove it today with my younger boy and they were almost rear ended. I've talked to dealer twice about this.

- East Amherst, NY, USA

problem #21

May 102017

Santa Fe

  • 9,800 miles
My wife and I have had the same intermittent problem since acquiring our 2017 Santa Fe brand new in the late spring of 2016. When turning from a stop or making a very low speed turn, and then starting to accelerate, the vehicle will stall and hesitate, not moving or "catching" for 1-2 seconds. This has happened to us approximately 6-8 times. And I've nearly been rear-ended on several of those occasions because I was stalled in front of traffic behind me, also trying to make the turn. Once I barely cleared the intersection at a light when turning left, having the Santa Fe stall in the face of oncoming traffic. I was nearly broadsided by swift moving, oncoming traffic. Someone is going to be killed if this problem is not fully addressed as soon as possible. The public needs protection and a remedy. I can't imagine Hyundai is unaware of this problem. I did a quick google search on the topic, and found many, many postings regarding this exact same set of circumstances. There were Hyundai message board complaints, NHTSA complaints, "lemon" law firms whoa are advertising, seeking potential 2017 Santa Fe owning clients, citing this exact set of facts. It's difficult to confirm exact dates, as this has occurred multiple times. The most recent time it happened was in early May 2017, at an intersection less than a mile from our home, making a left turn from a stop, with traffic lined up behind us.

- Chico, CA, USA

problem #20

Mar 232017

Santa Fe

  • 8,000 miles
The "check engine light" indicator turned on, and there was a recognizable failure in engine when srtarting. Took it back to dealerand took nearlya month to find the inconvinience and two weeks to fix it. They call me back to annuonce me it was ready and by the time I was reciving I noticed the air conditionar not functioning at all. Once again one more week to find the missfunctioning and reparing, now the veihicle is consumming to much gasoline (almost half tank in 87 kilometer) the injectors problem plevails. I get the Santa Fe in MÉxico, ciudad juarez chihuahua at hyndai penta is the name of the Agency, as a brand new vehicle whit 0 kilometers and I pay it in cash I hope you can help me because they dont want to respond. Thank you.

- Ciudad Juarez Chihuahua, TX, USA

problem #19

Apr 282017

Santa Fe

  • 5,700 miles
The vehicle fails to accelerate past the initial press of the accelerator from a stop leaving you committed in traffic without power for around 2 seconds. Stepping on the accelerator fails to produce any power. Just had the vehicle looked at by Hyundai who said they can find nothing wrong. Hyundai also said there are no bulletins or recalls. A search on the internet shows an alarming amount of chatter from other owners with the same issue. There is under 6000 miles on the vehicle and this has happened numerous times, intermittently.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #18

Mar 182017

Santa Fe

  • 19,554 miles
During acceleration from stop or low speed turn, car has no or little response from accelerator, happens on dry pavement as well as wet, traction control light flashes.at this point there is no traction issues.reported to Hyundai dealer checked 3 times and said all was fine, not satisfied with answer I contacted Hyundai customer service and spoke to chris wells opened a case with them #10059476 on 3/15/2017.ive had phone contact with him, he said he would give it to the guys upstairs but still no satisfaction.big saftey concern!!! please help!

- Lincroft, NJ, USA

problem #17

Apr 162017

Santa Fe

  • 300 miles
My new Hyundai Santa Fe has a hesitation or pause problem. Randomly the engine or power train does not respond when attempting to accelerate. It is a dangerous safety problem when it happens. If you are entering a highway, slowing down and then re accelerating, entering an intersection from a stop sign. The condition can leave you in a panic situation when there is no response for a few seconds and then the acceleration kicks in. Your driving timing confuses others approaching you. The condition happens going straight or turning. You could be completely stopped, rolling slowly.. I have driven this vehicle for 800 miles. It has a 2.0 liter engine with a turbo.

- Allston, MA, USA

problem #16

Mar 042017

Santa Fe 4-cyl

  • 4,000 miles
Engine stalled (died) when attempting to cross 3 lanes of traffic. This occurred 2 times when on vacation. Vehicle was returned to dealer for service. Dealer had vehicle for over a month and said they couldn't duplicate problem. During this time there was a national recall issued by Hyundai for Santa Fe. I thought are problems would be solved. But was informed that the recall only covered upto production year 2015. We received a 2017 Santa Fe loaner for use during the time they assessed our vehicle, this vehicle also stalled. I reported this to the service Mar. He said he couldn't do anything until Hyundai authorized a recall for 2017. I told him that they probably won't until they sold off all their new vehicle inventory. We took our vehicle home. 1 day later the vehicle stalled when my wife pulled out on to a busy highway. These vehicles are a significant safety hazard.

- Webster City, IA, USA

Read the next 15 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?