2015 Hyundai Sonata engine problems: engine stalls/shuts down while driving

Engine Stalls/Shuts Down While Driving

2015 Hyundai Sonata

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Hyundai dealer.

CarComplaints.com Seal Of This Might Hurt

8.4

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
34,500 miles
Total Complaints:
17 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (13 reports)
  2. clean oil sludge replace oil valve (1 reports)
  3. replaced fuel injectors (1 reports)
  4. replacing manifold (1 reports)
  5. reset engine light (1 reports)
2015 Hyundai Sonata engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Hyundai Sonata Owner Comments

problem #17

Apr 142019

Sonata SE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 125,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I normally get an oil change every 6k miles and all of a sudden my car started shutting off on me on the road as soon as I got to a stop light. My car would jerk really hard like the car was getting bumped from the back by another car. Auto zone coded the check engine light as P0017 and P0014 so I took it to the dealer ship because I had a recall for the software update to the engine campaign 953 80CA08R0 and they did a diagnosis and they said it looked like I haven't changed my oil in 60k miles. Now that's ridiculous because I get it done usually every 6k miles from cobblestone or my mobile mechanic. For my engine to shut off like that is horrible because I drive for lyft and uber and now I cant even use my car and put people at risk because my engine shuts off. The dealership wanted $900.00 to fix it and I dont have that type of money. So I did some research on the internet and it seems like a lot of owners of this vehicle are having the same issue and there is a lawsuit out. The dealership even stated that Hyundai outsources their engine parts and they're cheap and this may be the reason. I really hope this gets fixed because I will complain everywhere to get the word out because I am 33 years of age and never had a car do this to me. Please help this issue get fixed before anyone gets hurt from a horrible wreck due their engine shutting off on them. I have a fiance and a 3 year old and I dont feel safe even fixing the issue because it seems like it's just going to build up again if I do but I will do my best to fix it and maintain it while I have it because it seems like I wont have it for much longer now. I really liked Hyundai until this happened to me recently and the dealership put the blame on me when I keep up on the maintenance with my car all the time. Thank you for your time.

- Brandon W., Avondale, AZ, US

problem #16

Dec 202018

Sonata

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,200 miles

2nd occurrence for my daughter's 2015 Sonata. I was driving the car when it started to hesitate and the orange light came on that they say is the check engine light. I made it a mile to the grocery store that I was on my way to. It cranked when I came out of the store but started not wanting to go. I had one more stop across the street so I went there. I was only there a minute and then cranked it again to go the 1.5 miles to my house. It cranked and the engine light came on, but it felt like it was going to die about 3 times during the 1.5 mile ride.

I called Hyundai under the 5 years unlimited mileage towing that Hyundai provides and had them take it to the same dealership from the previous time in June. They have now called us and said nothing is really showing on the diagnostic report - which they want us to pay for even though we brought it in for the same thing back in June. They said they could not duplicate the hesitation or stalling - of course. It's a joke.

However my daughter drives this car and now I do NOT feel safe letting her drive it. I have seen all the engine issues and now the fire issues. I don't have the money to replace the car now, but will as soon as I have it. She needs her vehicle! The reviews are really bad for this particular Hyundai dealership, so we are going to have it towed to another dealership in the hopes that they will be more concerned and less cavalier about the situation.

If the Hyundai dealership supposedly can't figure out what is wrong, where are we supposed to take it? This is a really bad nightmare. We had thought our daughter was all set and sadly she loves the car. I'm out of anything Hyundai from now on.

- Jackie R., Jacksonville, US

problem #15

Jun 222018

Sonata

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,600 miles

In June of 2018, my daughter's 2015 Sonota Hyundai, apx 59600 miles on it, shook and stalled in my driveway with the orange light on. It did not say check engine. I got out the manual and it said the light went with catalytic converter issue. I had the car towed to the dealership. Of course, they said they could find nothing wrong with it. They gave us no reason for what happened. They had it for approximately one week.

- Jackie R., Jacksonville, US

problem #14

Apr 152017

Sonata Limited 2.4L I4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,114 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving on my way to the store when the car just died right in the middle of a busy road. This is so unacceptable for a not even 3 year old car to break down. Will be purchasing a new vehicle, NOT FROM HYUNDAI!!!

- Zach H., Monroe, CT, US

problem #13

Nov 052017

Sonata

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles

Driving my 2015 Sonata as I was coming to a red light, all of a sudden the car started to shutter and shake, make a loud grumbling sound, and then the engine cut off. I was able to restart the car, but it hesitated. I drove it to the side of the road and had a tow truck bring it to a Hyundai dealer. They could not duplicate the event (of course not) and they could not get any "error code" information when they hooked the car up to the diagnostic machine. I was lucky to be a a stoplight, but am very annoyed the dealer can not find the cause. I reported this event to both NHTSA and Hyundai headquarters, which I advise every driver to do, as this might eventually get Hyundai's attention. As of now, no diagnosis has been made for the abrupt engine shutoff.

- Ronald G., Haymarket, US

problem #12

Jun 192016

Sonata

  • 33,000 miles

click to see larger images

engine stalls/shuts down while driving engine stalls/shuts down while driving engine stalls/shuts down while driving engine stalls/shuts down while driving engine stalls/shuts down while driving engine stalls/shuts down while driving

With only 33,000 miles, the engine suddenly seized up. Towed to dealer, they took pictures and sent to warranty company. Warranty company declined to replace engine claiming "Owner maintenance issue". Then they declined to even look at any maintenance records that I had. Since I changed oil myself, I couldn't prove all maintenance was performed. This problem happened on previous years with the same engine, and people were told by the warranty company that it was an "owner maintenance issue" (look online). I figured they'd get around to recalling the 2015 year, as they recalled previous years, but they haven't yet and I haven't been able to drive the car for over a year! New engine cost is $10,000. A used engine would probably cost about $5,000, but nobody has any used engines because so many people are having similar problems. DON'T TRUST THE HYUNDAI WARRANTY. THEY WON'T HONOR THE WARRANTY! I EVEN BOUGHT THE EXTENDED WARRANTY.

- Ken R., Houston, Tx, US

problem #11

Jul 192017

Sonata

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,638 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle dies while driving, cannot restart. Happened 3 times in December 2016.

All electrical tests passed so they replaced the fuel pump in January.

Car died again yesterday 7/19/2017. Same problem. After sitting for a while it restarted.

Some electrical glitches as well like the audio changes modes, display goes blank.

- Ana F., San Antonio, US

problem #10

Jan 262017

Sonata Limited 2.0t

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,030 miles

This is HORRIFIC!

I was driving at 6:20 am on the New Jersey Turnpike. I was in the left lane and going approximately 70 mph using the SCC (Smart Cruise Control). All of the sudden, the lights start flashing and the car completely turns off. Since it was before sunrise, everything was black and I couldn't even see where I was driving, not to mention that the steering wheel became locked. 10 seconds later, the care came back to "life". It did that same intro with the "system check" thing as it does when the car is started from a park position- only I was on the highway going 70 mph.

I have never heard of something so absurd, but I guarantee that if this was during rush hour or a busier time during the day- there would have been a major accident!

Update from Jan 26, 2017: When the car restarted (at 70 mph on the NJ turnpike)- the dashboard ESC was illuminated, the auto hold was illuminated (and could not be turned off) and the screen displayed Check SCC system.

- gavhaller, Highland Park, NJ, US

problem #9

Nov 082016

Sonata Sport 2.4t

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,000 miles

Engine stalled out of no where very dangerous. In addition sunroof makes all kinds of squeaky noises.

- Louis A., SAN DIEGO, CA, US

problem #8

Oct 192016

Sonata Sport

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,403 miles

Again (event #2), driving car and engine stalled just like that. Luckily, again I was in a parking lot and not on the interstate in Houston where I would have surely been in serious accident. Stalled in rush hour traffic with no brake lights in the 5th largest city with the worst drivers is beyond your worst nightmare.

This time had it towed; too afraid to drive it. Diagnosis show nothing. Dealer is trying very hard to pinpoint the problem and are keeping the car to duplicate the event. Murphy's Law says it won't do it again while they have it. I don't want to drive the car anymore until I know problem identified and fixed. How do you report to NTSB to work towards recalls?

Very dangerous!

- birdgirl, Houston, TX, US

problem #7

Oct 162016

Sonata Sport

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,304 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car stalled while driving through parking lot. First it burped, farted and shook. Stuck in the aisle of parking lot with flashers on. Upon 3rd attempt, car restarted. Took to dealer, who worked diligently to find problem, but nothing showed up on diagnosis. This is event 1 of 2 within 4 days.

- birdgirl, Houston, TX, US

problem #6

Oct 202016

Sonata SE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,958 miles

Leased 2015 Hyundai Sonata SE trim in 05/2015.

1) In 02/16 --> Sluggish acceleration reported to dealer and he applied software update to ECM.

2) 10/05/2016 ---> While driving car started to sputter , shudder and heavy smoke (mostly white) coming from tail pipe. Car was not accelerating at all. It was very dangerous situation and felt that car was not under control. Finally it came to stop. After few minutes, tried to start and succeeded in 3rd/4th attempt. Took it to nearby Hyundai dealer, and as per them, they updated ECM (Engine Control Module) software.

3) 10/20/2016 --> Issue appeared again with same symptoms.Car is with dealer and he is looking into it. I am very concerned about safety.

- Salman F., Austin, TX, US

problem #5

Jul 282016

Sonata Limited 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles

click to see larger images

engine stalls/shuts down while driving

While driving down I-95 heading towards a wonderful vacation..... my car started "cutting out" when I tried to accelerate or pass another car. I could accelerate slowly. This was a horrible feeling on a busy (FAST) interstate. Several times a car came onto the interstate and I needed to get over to let them merge.... when I tried to accelerate all power was lost.

At first I thought it may have been my transmission, and then I realized it was every time I exceeded 2500 rpm. I located the closest Hyundai dealership and took it in to be looked at. The check engine light did not come on until I exited the interstate. It did not even indicate that the situation was urgent. Since I was traveling, I did not want to take any chances.

The folks at Auto Nation Hyundai were great and worked me in even though they were fully booked. It took about three hours for the to get the car looked at and diagnosed. Turns out the manifold was bad and needed to be replaced. BAD NEWS... that part is on back order. GOOD NEWS... they arranged a rental for me and I was able to get on the road and make it to my cruise.

After coming back from an eight day cruise, I was hoping to find my car repaired. Unfortunately, the part is still on back order. I had to drive the rental car back home. Once my car is repaired, I will have to drive almost 4 hours (one way) back to get it.

Good: Hyundai is repairing the problem.... They are providing me with a rental.

Bad: Time without my car. I am use to my car with all the bells and whistles (and the XM Radio that I PAY to listen to)... I know that is first world problems.... but still an inconvenience.

REALLY BAD: Someone could have been severely injured with the car not accelerating properly. It was very scary being on the interstate with cars flying past me.

I have thoroughly enjoyed my car. I am usually scoping out my next car before the "new car smell" wears off. Not with this one. It has everything on it that I could want. I seriously hope the problem will be repaired completely and does not result in residual issues.

I will update once I get the car back and let you now how it is doing!

- blawing, West Columbia, SC, US

problem #4

Jul 172016

Sonata SE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,060 miles

I just bought the 2015 hyundai sonato 2 days ago. I don't even know who the lender is yet however on the way home from just signing a loan agreement with a dealership, my vehicle lost power was almost hit by a semi, I was able to start it back up and get home. Called dealership they said to bring it in so I did and they said came up with a code their not familiar with, they reset the code and now I have a appointment with hyundai tomorrow. Let's see how this go, dealer would not take care back I'm scared to drive this vehicle

Update from Jul 26, 2016: Well my vehicles is still at hyundai service they said they can't duplicate the problem and doesn't know what the code that came up meant, they said they had 5 more 2015 hyundai sonatas come in with the same problem. They said maybe fuel injectors need cleaned. I'm shaking my head you have 6 veh all 2015 with the same problem. They said they have someone coming in from the corporate office to take a look. They also said they will enter the vin into some data base, because they can't deem it unsafe if they can't find the problem

Update from Aug 3, 2016: I received my various from Hyundai back and they said sometimes the computer needs to be reset. I know that's not right, I don't have lawyers like they do to fight these Hugh companies so I guess I will drive the vehicle til next time. I HOPE everything stays safe in these vehicles.

- sripley, Columbus, OH, US

problem #3

May 212016

Sonata Sport 2.0t

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,440 miles

Purchased my 2015 Sonata 2.0t a few weeks back with 870 miles on it as a "buy back." Got a great deal on the car because the title was "branded" and the car was already bought back from the first owner because of electrical issues which I can not speak on because I am not aware of details other than sensor incorrect reads. While sitting at a light the car started to sound like a diesel engine and timing was off, I went to make the turn to get off the main road and could feel it losing compression and power. I pulled into a parking spot in the nearest lot and the engine was completely off at this point and would not start back up. Hyundai roadside was called, so was dealer. It was late on a Saturday and they sent a tow truck right away and the dealer provided me with a loaner until they were able to look at car first thing Monday morning. Verdict was Engine needed to be replaced, ok fine it is under warranty. Worst part, I do not know too much about specifics but understand basics as I sell car parts, the turbo will not be replaced as "that is not the part that failed." Even though everyone knows the turbo is very vulnerable to whatever metal contaminants the engine just let loose. Machines are well machines and unpredictable, however this seems to be a common problem so far with this model year. They just recalled all the 2011/2012 models are these next? I turned in a 2013 Turbo Veloster with no issues at all and felt much better in this car that is until the engine failed within my first 500 miles in it.

- Rob S., Wappingers Falls, NY, US

problem #2

Apr 142016

Sonata SE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,500 miles

I was in a slightly "happy" situation: the engine stopped when the red light turned on, which gave me enough time to turn off the key and then restart the car... I don't know if this issue could have happened on the highway, when I drove 50mph... changing lanes, exiting the highway... too many scenarios where I would be in a more dire situation.

I brought the car to the service: they tried to duplicate the event to no avail... They have no idea what happened! Was an electrical issue? Was it the gas? I don't know! They don't know! I am disappointed.

- valchris, New York, NY, US

problem #1

Apr 082016

Sonata SE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles

I have a 2015 Hyundai Sonata and while making a left turn, the car shut off, leaving me vulnerable to oncoming traffic. The lights on the dash went haywire and the engine shut down. I have heard other complaints of this happening while driving on the freeway, a very dangerous predicament. Seems to me that this problem needs to be recalled to avoid injury to Hyundai customers or worse.

- rvilla, Torrance, CA, US

Not what you are looking for?