8.2

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
14,400 miles
Total Complaints:
20 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (18 reports)
  2. repair leak & replace carpet (2 reports)
Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
2016 Jeep Cherokee body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2016 Jeep Cherokee Owner Comments

problem #20

Oct 262018

Cherokee Trailhawk 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,437 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Just noticed this issue on a very rainy day, as I have jeep floor mats that are quite thick I had not noticed this problem till I looked over to see water bubbling over the mats. I now realize that this issue must have been going on for a while as my inside windshield and side windows seemed to steam up on many occasions. I contacted my dealer and they claim they have never heard of this problem but will check my vehicle as it is still under warranty, hoping that they can solve this as this vehicle has been very reliable otherwise.

- Mike R., Georges River, NS, Canada

problem #19

Nov 122018

Cherokee ES

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,486 miles

I was told that the water leak was a factory defect and that it will take 4 weeks to fix because of some welding issue. I shouldn't have this type of issue on a 2 year old car that is made for tough stuff. We has a lot of stuff ruined on the floor. I am concerned about long term impact to rust and corrosion because typically that is OUTSIDE the car not INSIDE.

- Jim B., Needham, MA, US

problem #18

Dec 102018

Cherokee 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,400 miles

My 2016 Jeep Cherokee has a water leak. The water leaks in the driver floor and back seat driver floor. I have had it at a Chrysler dealership (where I purchased) and the water leak can't be found so they stated "they will just give me the vehicle back, if it happens again, bring it back"....This dealership has had my vehicle on 2 different occasions and kept it 4-5 weeks at a time.

ALSO, my Jeep has been shutting off while driving. The Service manager said it was due to lack of oil and needing oil change.....REALLY? this is ridiculous and dangerous.

No answers from dealership or Chrysler.....This seems to be an on going problem from what I can tell with all the complaints....This will be the last Jeep product I purchase........

- Brenda O., Mobile, US

problem #17

Apr 122018

Cherokee Limited 2.4L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased my 2016 Jeep Cherokee the end of Nov. 2017. The rear passenger floor board is soaked every time it rains. It has had mold and smells awful. The dealership had had it back in the shop 8 to 10 times since April 12, 2018 and cannot figure it out but do not seem to want to help me. They dry out the carpet and give it back to me, this is NOT resolving the issue, what kind of customer service is that!?! I even asked them to trade it for something else. I am now waiting on them to call me to send it to a water specialist, seriously, if a dealership has a water specialist there is obviously an issue! I have been patient, a year of waiting for this to be resolved but now I can't help but wonder if all this moisture, mildew and mold has anything to do with all the allergy issues my family and I have been having. There are enough complaints on here about this same issue to form a class action law suit. I have even involved Chrysler in this and it is just a back and forth on what the dealership is NOT doing.

- Katrina B., Frankfort, US

problem #16

Jan 222019

Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,700 miles

Found I had water on the floor in front of the backseat and underneath the back edge of my front passenger seat. It was actually a little puddle. A family member went out and checked the rugs around the car and found the rugs under the dash were damp so figured that is how the water was leaking in. Had also noticed there was a lot of condensation on the front windshield on the inside of the car and on cold nights It was actually iced over.

Called the car dealer the next day and had to wait until their leak specialist would be at there dealership which wasn't until the following week. Dropped the car off the night before and later the next afternoon the dealer called and said the leak was fixed. They discovered the well area under where the wipers sit had separated, was supposedly in a couple of pieces so It was put back together and sealed closed.

Kept a watch on the car and by the following weekend, my daughter who works overnight noticed that the inside of my windshield had condensation on It again, and sure enough the leak had started again and the windshield was frozen on the inside, this was during the last really cold snap with the wind chills below zero in the mid Atlantic so not sure if It was weather related or just a crappy repair.

Needless to say the car is back at the dealership for the second time to be seen again tomorrow for the same problem, when the leak specialist will be back again. I really hope this gets fixed this time, It is a pain to take back every couple of weeks for the same thing and It won't be long before the rugs start smelling.

This car was brand new when I bought It and after only 2 years, has less than 10,000 miles on It. It is a lease so don't want any problems down the road with mold in my rugs when its time to turn in the car. I love the car, but after reading all of these leaking problems in Jeep and not having anything getting done by Jeep to correct these problems, I will no be getting another Jeep anytime soon.

Update from Mar 13, 2019: After second trip back to the dealer about the water condensation. Leak specialist was back and determined that the original leak was not the problem this time. I was told they think it was excess water still in the rugs that was causing the condensation. I am not really buying it, and have been keeping an eye on it the last couple of weeks. Last time the car was there, they did move it into the shop overnight and rolled down the windows so that the heat in the shop could be blown into my car by their fans and would help dry out the carpets. First time they moved my car outside and ran it for a while, using about 3/4 of my tank of gas and my gas light was on when I drove off the lot, so was not happy with that since i had to get gas at the first place I came to to fill up again. At least this time they came up with a different plan. Now the past week I have had a few instances of water condensation on my windshield and my daughter drove it today and said all the windows on the inside had condensation. And I did question about the rugs, and was told that the car is under warranty so if the rugs become a problem, they will be replaced. It is starting to smell, according to my daughter who was in it tonight.
So guess there will be another call to the dealership tomorrow. Will try to update again.

Update from Apr 1, 2019: Latest update on the leak. After the first two trips to the dealer, haven't noticed any excess water anywehere in the car, thank heaven, but now my car is starting to stink really bad. Had posed the question after the second time, what would happen if that started to be a problem, was assured since it's under warranty the rugs would replaced and they would make sure the smell is gone from the car. Took it back last week and the service guy came out and checked to make sure it did smell, and sure enough as soon as he opened the doors, he noticed it. The parts are being ordered to replace all the rugs, and I asked my cloth seats, if they would still smell and was told that there would be no smell after the rugs are replaced. There better not be, because I will be fuming. I need this taken care of before we get this really hot and humid days that come around in the late spring and early summer. Just glad this is getting done now and not a few months from now. Will update after the new rugs are installed.

- amcfan328, Claymont, US

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #15

Feb 232018

Cherokee Limited 6 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles

WATER GETTING INTO THE PASSENGER SIDE FRONT AND REAR FLOOR BOARDS....SUCKED ABOUT 1 1/2 GALLONS OUT EACH TIME. TOTALLY SATURATED CARPET. UNKNOWN WHERE IT'S GETTING IN. IT'S NOT THE A/C LINE BECAUSE THE A/C IS NOT USED DURING WINTER. DOES NOT SEEM TO BE THE SUNROOF DRAIN BECAUSE WATER FLOWS THRU IT AND DRAINS NORMAL. CALLED THE DEALERSHIP TO SET UP AN APPOINTMENT. ANYONE THAT HAD THIS ISSUE FIXED HAVE ANY IDEAS? WHEN IT WAS FIXED? DID THEY REPLACE THE CARPET TO AVOID MOLD ISSUES? THANKS

Update from Feb 25, 2018: LOOKING AROUND ONLINE APPARENTLY THERE WAS A RECALL ON THIS ISSUE IN 2016 THE TSB IS AS FOLLOWS..NUMBER: 23-015-16 REV. A

JUST PASSING THIS ON, FOUND IT LOOKING AROUND THE WEB

Update from Mar 12, 2018: got it back from dealer...they tore out the passenger side carpet and passenger side front seat...dried the vehicle out with a dehumidifier and tested for leaks with a hose. from what i was told they located a leak behind the front wheel well as per the recall that was posted..also re sealed a seam on the interior floor board that had no sealer on it..ill keep all posted if the leak is fixed or not..

- r16674, Robertsdale, pa, US

problem #14

Oct 192017

Cherokee Latitude

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Initially happened within a month of driving it off the lot brand new; drove through a large standing puddle at approximately 7-10 MPH. Within a day, I noticed that my rear passenger side floor was soaked and that there was an inch or two of standing water on top of the entire carpet being soaked. Vacuumed it up and wrote it off as maybe a water bottle spilled.

Naturally, throughout the winter months of 2016, it rained quite a bit (I live in Seattle). After a couple months, I noticed that my car started to smell like mold/mildew. After inspecting the smell, I realized that my rear passenger carpet was molding and was still damp. Vacuumed and cleaned to the best of my ability. Just assumed I had hit another puddle. Then it dawned on me that driving through a puddle should NOT FLOOD YOUR CAR! It was springtime at this point and the rain was mostly gone. Went all summer without incident.

Now, here we are in October. I hit a puddle and my floor is soaked again. I am now realizing on this thread that apparently there is a welding issue where the manufacturer hasn't completely welded the area around the rear passenger side causing the leak?

I would like to know other peoples experience with this problem both with the dealership and with Chrysler as well as if it was resolved.

I am leasing my Jeep Cherokee.

- Josh G., Bellevue, WA, US

problem #13

Jul 122017

Cherokee ES 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles

Developed bad musty smell inside the car. After several days searching, discovered wet rear passenger carpet. Moisture was felt under the mat on the carpet (and this was definitely the source of the bad smell). Dried it out and appeared to stay dry for several days even with the ac running (car is normally garaged fyi). After driving through a heavy rain storm, I felt the carpet wet again. It was wet under the mat but the top of the mat was dry. Definitely coming from under the carpet somehow. Dealer removed the carpet and could not recreate the issue by running water over top of car. Sanitized the carpet and reinstalled. Another trip through a rainstorm resulted in the same moisture problem. Dealer says 'hmmm'. Taking in again, will update after our next visit. If anyone figures this out, please let me know!

- frustratedalot, Gales Ferry, US

problem #12

Apr 252017

Cherokee Sport

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles

I've had the vehicle for around 18 months. 4 months in i noticed there was condensation on the inside of the windows. The driver's side floor and mat were soaked. I took it back to the dealer and they spent two-three days trying to find or recreate the leak. There was a significant amount of water underneath the carpet that they drained. 6 months in it happened again. Called Jeep Customer Care in which they told me to bring in to the dealership again. The customer care center stated they would not provide me with a rental until the problem was diagnosed even when I explained that it was a leak somewhere and they couldn't find it. The service department at the dealership still couldn't find the leak. Same outcome as the first time.

On 4/25/2017 it happened again. Took it back to the dealership. Called today and the dealership stated they contacted Chrysler and "there is a case open" with this issue. They were instructed to replace a body seam which they didn't have, but were getting from another dealership this afternoon. I should be able to pick up my vehicle by the end of today. Bought the vehicle brand new. Before I had a 1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee that I loved and drove until the wheels fell off. Thought buying another Jeep would be a solid choice. I am HIGHLY disappointed so far and DISGUSTED at the service/response I rec'd from Chrysler. Every time I get in my vehicle I feel like I have to check the floor to see if it's soaked again. 2016 car with 15,000 miles on it and it smells like mildew. Thanks Jeep, you managed to treat me worse than VA.

- K P., Greensboro, US

problem #11

Apr 102017

Cherokee Latitude 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,000 miles

Had this Jeep almost a year now. After about 3 months, noticed the rear passenger carpet would get wet after a rain. Have taken it to two different dealerships, most recently last week. no one can find the leak. Just had a 5 minute downpour, and I go out to check, and its wet again. Water comes from underneath the carpet. Have vacuumed up to 1/2 gallon out on previous incidents. Carpet smells soured. I shop vac the water out every time, and try to dry underneath the carpet as best I can after each incident. Its a fleet lease vehicle. I'm reporting it to the leasing company tomorrow to see if they can help. Over it!

Update from May 13, 2017: Update 5/9/17- 3rd trip to dealership per fleet company's request and chrysler got involved. This time a different technician worked on it and had seen the problem before, they did a smoke test and found a a weld seam on the firewall that was not finished, like the welder stopped short of the seam. Water was leaking through the firewall, running down a channel and leaking out into the floorboard, front and rear. They removed the fender, welded the seam, replaced all the carpet (mold was growing at this point). Ive had it back a week, we've had plenty of rain, and its still dry. Fingers crossed.

- Thomas H., Knoxville, TN, US

problem #10

Mar 142017

Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased this Jeep Cherokee Latitude months ago, it has been parked under covered parking since then, recently it has not been covered and I get in the windows are fogged (red flag)after a night of rain and a sunny day. Thought nothing of it, the next day car smelled of mildew ....I knew instantly something bad was happening because the no windows have been left open. Third day checked the rugs, the floor rugs are all damp, not the seats. Taking car back to dealership.

- Over IT A., Fairfield, CA, US

problem #9

Feb 102017

Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles

During major rain/wind storm, approx. 1 gallon of water was found on floor, and under carpeting, in front and back, on driver's side. Took Jeep to a detailer to have water extracted and dried, feeling the possibility the window may have been open during rain. detailer could not get all water extracted, and stated the carpet would need to be replaced. We could already smell the mildew, I said I would take it back to the dealer. Between this time and Feb. 24th, when the dealership scheduled me to come in, we experienced another rain storm. The same issue came up, & again I found water had leaked in and under the carpet. At the dealership on the 24th of Feb., I was advised that Jeep was having a factory problem such as mine, and they needed to tac-weld a defective area, and order a new carpet to install (a 2 week wait). While there, I was discussing with another Cherokee owner, who was experiencing the same problem. At this point, I have not been notified of my ordered carpeting coming in. The mildew odor is getting worse, and I drive my young grandchildren to various activities. Not a healthy situation The dealership did not offer me a replacement vehicle while I wait on them to repair the problem. I paid a lot of $$ for this vehicle, and find this issue from the manufacturer, as unacceptable. I am having to lose work and time to travel to the dealership, which is out of town. I am hoping the problem will be finalized and rectified once and for all. Thank you, Patrick Fisher

- Patrick F., Napa, CA, US

problem #8

Nov 282016

Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles

click to see larger images

water leaking into cabin

I am in Maine and leased this vehicle on July 23, 2016. As the weather changed into fall I noticed moisture on the inside of my windshield. As the temperature dropped I had frost on the inside of my windshield. As I went for another appointment to the dealership I asked them to look at it. The dealership said they couldn't do anything at that time. This weekend over Thanksgiving my vehicle was parked most of it and today I went to work with a lot of moisture on the inside of the windshield. When i came out it was every window on the passenger side of my vehicle was covered. My coworker and I checked the floors...the passenger side was soaked on the front and rear floor boards. I am going to the dealership again in three days. I hope they can figure something out as the vehicle is a lease and I am not going to tolerate an issue not being addressed.

- Brenda C., Northport, ME, US

problem #7

Nov 282016

Cherokee Sport 4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,215 miles

Traded in 2016 Wrangler - never had water leaking issues - Every time it rains or car wash interior floor board has standing water - taking to dealership Monday - bad body seam or poor sealing job by manufacturer

- Bob G., New Braunfels, TX, US

problem #6

Dec 192016

Cherokee 75th Anniversary 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles

click to see larger images

water leaking into cabin water leaking into cabin water leaking into cabin water leaking into cabin water leaking into cabin water leaking into cabin

My husband purchased this vehicle for me new. It is the 75th Anniversary edition with the full sunroof. Other day went out to the car and found water standing in the rear passenger side floorboard. All windows were closed and sunroof was closed. The seats were dry, no signs of water coming in around the closed sunroof. Taking to dealer after Christmas to see what they suggest. Very disappointing as this is a brand new vehicle, never involved in an accident.

Update from Dec 26, 2016: Took the vehicle into dealership at 10,408 miles after calling them and telling them about the issue. Over the phone they said the issue was a clogged AC line. This was not the case. Prior to taking it in, son took a cup and scooped out approximately 1/2 gallon of water.

When guy in service department saw how wet it was, his response was crap. It's not the AC drain. He told me to take the car home and vacuum out the water, bring it back two days later and drop it off.

- Maria M., Jeffersonville, IN, US

problem #5

Oct 012016

Cherokee Limited 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,563 miles

At first we thought a window was left open as we had heavy rain. After cleaning up the very wet floor on the passengers side, front and back, we kept an eye on it. The first time it rained, the floor was soaked. We dropped the car off for service yesterday. Waiting for a resolution! After reading this form and the problems with this, my expectations are not very good! Fingers crossed.

Update from Dec 5, 2016: We picked up the car last Friday Hoping the leak was fixed. They said they found the problem. leaky sunroof!

I did ask them to clean up the water however when we got the car home we found there were still a lot of water. It did not rain yet. but lots of snow today. I'll keep you posted on outcome.

- John E., Ottawa, ON, Canada

problem #4

Aug 102016

Cherokee

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,500 miles

After a rainfall, I found about a gallon of water on the floor in the backseat on the driver side floor. I brought to dealership and they told me that I left the window open. The door and seat were dry. The next time it rained less than a week later, I had another giant puddle on floor of backseat and brought back to dealership. After a week and a visit to the dealership by a Chrysler representative, they gave me a piece of paper that states they are unable to fix the issue and that another representative would be coming to the dealership to attempt to fix the issue. They "released" my leaking vehicle and asked for the rental back. They have called me to set up an appointment for next week with a 2nd representative next week to check my vehicle and perhaps offer a solution as to how to repair it. That will be my 3rd visit to the dealership in less than 2 weeks.

- Kimberly M., Troy, NY, US

problem #3

Mar 252016

Cherokee Latitude 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,700 miles

As I type my Jeep sits in the shop for the 4th time. The car leaks but it is not clear from where. The driver side floorboards become saturated and the wetness comes from beneath the carpet. It appears to be water. There is dripping from a channel between the driver door and the bottom frame of the car so clearly the car is holding water in the frame. I am sure the mold spores are already flourishing in my car, not to mention corrosion. Dealership service keeps sealing various areas but each time I have received the car back the leak returns and quickly--usually by the time I get home from dealership. What a pain! I really do not have time in my life for this. I bought the car so my sick mom could easily get in and out of seats when I take her to Doctor appointments. What a joke. I am now in a Toyota Corolla rental so so much for not having to bend to get in and out. I opened a case with Jeep and made it clear I want my money back. I am underwhelmed by the response I have gotten from Jeep so far. I called to check status after waiting two days and was informed by case manager that she "had other customers". Hello! This is the first call I placed after giving the three business days to respond. The dealership management is involved and have advised they are working with Jeep to help me get resolution. I have purchased many vehicles from this auto dealership group. Sadly, I get the impression I am going to have to use my attorney to invoke lemon law. I had hoped it would not come to this but it looks to be going that way. Although I know this is a manufacturer defect (my husband claims I got a "Monday" car) you can be sure that if dealership does not get results whether it be via jeep or they themselves buy the car back, I will not be purchasing any vehicles from them or any affiliated dealership ever again...even if it means I have to go out of my way to another city to make a purchase. Wish me luck!

- Ingrid D., El Sobrante, CA, US

problem #2

Jan 182016

Cherokee Latitude 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 350 miles

water leaks into drivers side saturating rugs front to rear

I am not happy! This is a brand new vehicle and the floor carpets are totally saturated. Every time it rains or snows it leaks Going to dealership tomorrow.

- sgiggey, Bourne, MA, US

problem #1

Nov 012015

Cherokee Latitude V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 300 miles

click to see larger images

water leaking into cabin water leaking into cabin

water leak driver side wet carpet all the time

Just bought this vehicle brand new and every time it rains or I go through car wash carpet on driver side is drenched.

- tjbouchard, South Hadley, MA, US

Not what you are looking for?