really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,145 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee Owner Comments (Page 2 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #124

Aug 152013

Grand Cherokee

  • miles


The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V175000 (electrical system, power train); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Henderson, CO, USA

problem #123

Jul 042015

Grand Cherokee

  • 120,000 miles
The dashboard went blank, no speed information, etc, all the warning lights lite up as if the vehicle was being started. Steering became hard, was a very scary moment!

- Columbia, NJ, USA

problem #122

Mar 282015

Grand Cherokee

  • 70,000 miles
Drove from ca to AZ. Turned Jeep engine off !!! visit with son & leave trailer I had been towing. I turn ignition on put in drive never touched accelerator. Jeep speed out quickly (sudden acceleration) out of driveway towards home across street - two cars in driveway. Grabbed steering wheel veering Jeep away from home & two parked vehicles. Went down embankment and did 360. I flipped Jeep and it stopped ended up on passenger side. Neighbors & son saw entire crash. Could not breathe due to seat belt crushing chest & me being upside down. Son pulled seat belt from crushing me. Ambulance to er and no neuro on duty told could take me vegas 2 to 3 hours away. Finally went to neuro told post concussion syndrome. After little help, went to boulder co neuro center and told post concussion syndrome, ptsd and vestibular problems was in rehab therapy one month. Keep Jeep in garage to protect the evidence but no attorney firm would take case as stated the crash "did not impact the rest of my life" told by AZ attorney firm. I worked fed courts in los angeles, ca over 20 years and can say emphatically there was no driver error. I kept for 3 months looking for attorney firm but in the interim I found [xxx] with Consumer Affairs and realized other people who dealt with same "sudden acceleration" were given results "driver error". I made a report with Consumer Affairs and was told to bring my story to your Agency as well. Aaa insurance company totaled Jeep and picked it up June 30th and said " not driver error" but mechanical. Please investigate and inform others to protect themselves and their families. A recall needs to happen. Nothing can help me now but I can tell you I am telling everyone on social media and getting the word out as this never should have happened. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lake Havasu City, AZ, USA

problem #121

Feb 022015

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 91,000 miles


Car consistently stalls when coming to a complete stop or idling.

- Lititz, PA, USA

problem #120

Oct 082012

Grand Cherokee

  • 138,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. In addition, the contact stated that there was a chime and an unknown warning light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer had a specialist diagnosed the vehicle. The specialist diagnosed that the control module, the pcp to the power train, and the power train control module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V438000 (electrical system) and 13V175000 (electrical system, power train) however, the parts needed to do the repairs were unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The failure mileage was 138,000.

- Newton, NJ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #119

Jan 252015

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 119,700 miles
My daughter was driving the vehicle on I-40 between raleigh and wilmington. She was going the speed limit and the car just shut off. This is the 5th time this has happened and we have had it into 2 different Jeep dealerships. I drove down and picked her up and drove the car 90 miles further on I-40 without incident. When we arrived in wilmington and exited the interstate I noticed what I believe was the transmission downshift being abrupt and jerky.

- Fuquayvarina, NC, USA

problem #118

Jul 012014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles


The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while park, the shift lever was shifted into drive and the vehicle began to jerk violently. The contact noticed that all four gears were selected on the instrument cluster panel as the check engine warning and transmission light illuminated. The contact had to tap the shift lever before the gear engaged. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unavailable. Updated 03/30/15 updated 9/20/2017

- Langhorne, PA, USA

problem #117

Dec 052014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
The transfer case is bad, the car only have 30000 but the transfer case is bad and it shakes over sixty and once U brake the whole car shakes, I took it to the dealer and they said its a transfer case bad and the 4WD is not working, and the ignition switch keep killing the battery.

- Schererville , IN, USA

problem #116

Nov 152014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
I was driving late Friday night (11/14)/early Saturday morning (11/15) to waterford, wi from palmyra, wi and my vehicle shut off causing me to become startled, which then caused me to deviate from my lane and then was pulled over by a town of mukwonago police officer. I could have killed someone if oncoming traffic was involved! I then received a ticket for unsafe lane deviation and was taken to waukesha county jail under the assumption that I was drinking and driving after I attempted to show the officer the recall for my vehicle. Pending my court date, I could receive a possible owi charge. I am very upset about this because that is an $800 fine and will also cause my insurance premium to increase.

- Palmyra, WI, USA

problem #115

Nov 082014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 51,000 miles
While driving my 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee (11/8/14) I was at a red light and the vehicle just cut off! I heard a beeping sound and noticed all the lights on the dash board were off while the car was in "drive". I put the car in "park" & turned the key in the "off" position--waited a few minutes & started the car again. I had my mother with me & told her about the "recall" & this was it...the ignition switch (recall P41). We decided to go home & when I pulled in her driveway, the same thing happened again...the engine just cut off! I'm very afraid to drive my Jeep now...this could have happened while I was on the highway!! something needs to be done now!! this is my only means of transportation!! what procedures do you have in place to assist people until you are able to get the replacement part(s)? lives are at stake!!

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #114

Sep 132014

Grand Cherokee 4WD 6-cyl

  • 80,200 miles


While accelerating the vehicle lost power and the prndl lights all illuminated. After a few seconds power resumed. This has happened several times and the check engine light has come on. We have been told its error code U0404 and the electronic shift module needs to be replaced. It appears this is a very common occurrence for this year vehicle. It is a safety concern because if it happened during high traffic times it could certainly cause an accident.

- Newport, ME, USA

problem #113

Jul 162014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
TL-the contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated while attempting to accelerate the vehicle, the vehicle failed to accelerate and was not shifting into gears, all of the warning lights illuminated, the vehicle over heated and lost power. Also the anti freeze was spraying from the radiator cap. The vehicle was towed to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The starter, tires and tire sensors was replaced. The VIN was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was unavailable.

- Independence, MO, USA

problem #112

Nov 092013

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
Had my low mileage/ perfectly maintained Jeep in for service. They performed the N23 recall because of a faulty chip that causes the transfer case to go into neutral and roll away. A week or so after having this performed I went to lock my Jeep into 4WD low and my "service 4WD" message appears. Is reading the same code everyone else with this problem is having after having the N23 recall performed. 4WD low worked flawlessly when I used it the week before taking it into the dealer. Whats funny is the service writer said "there have been a few cases the 4WD low stops working, but those cars had high mileage" when I asked him what the recall was and if anything bad had come from it.

- Orion, MI, USA

problem #111

Aug 082014

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
It usually takes a good 10 to 15 minutes to start sometimes then when I do get it started I have the same issues that I have read about on this website and many other websites. The car will not go over 20 miles per hour and you have to pull off the road, turn off the vehicle, wait and turn it back on. It is almost like the Jeep has to be reset. I have talked with several people and had the codes ran. It keeps coming up that it is the solenoid and starter. I have read on many blogs about the same issue that the solenoid wires are not protected from rain water in this vehicle and it causes them to corrode or go bad all together. This is an issue that needs to be recalled. If they know that the wires are not protected from rain water then there needs to be some type of protection that they can put over them or install a different kind of wire. This is costing people hundreds of dollars to repair something that should have never been an issue. Also this is a safety hazard because when we pull out on the road we expect our vehicle to excel properly and go over 20 miles per hour.

- Stuart, FL, USA

problem #110

Jun 302010

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
Driving along trying to pick up speed and just held at 40, wouldn't accelerate. This happened probably 3-4 times. Took it to dealer, they couldn't find anything wrong, said transmission operating normal. In 2012 it started not to accelerate beyond 20. I pulled out of a parking lot from a red light and it wouldn't accelerate. I quickly pulled over to the side of the road and called for a tow truck. I was afraid to drive it home. I was afraid I would get somewhere where I couldn't safely pull over. The dealer at that time replaced faulted esm module and said it was fixed and it was covered under my warranty. In July 2014 it happened again, exact same thing. I pulled out from a restaurant onto a highway and had no power, couldn't go over 20. I pulled to the side of the road, turned it off and started it up again and had no problems the rest of the way home. Took it again to the dealer and he said there was some update to a recall that it should be fine. 8/21/14 - just last week it did it again. I pulled up to a red light, stepped on the gas when it turned green and had no power. I quickly pulled over and waited and tried to go again, it still had no power. I turned it off and tried one more time, and it worked fine the rest of the way home again. It's a safety hazard to turn onto a highway or busy roadway and have to quickly pull to the side of the road. There isn't always a safe place to do this, and each time there has been people behind me that I was afraid to be rear-ended or causing a pileup.

- Jonestown, PA, USA

problem #109

Jul 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
N23 recall was done a while back which has since then turned into no 4 wheel low/ neutral. I was advised by the dealer as have many people it seems that it's the transfercase actuator motor so I replaced it myself it was good for a few weeks then came up on the dash again service 4 wheel drive system. Chrysler has since came out with a reflash it looks like and when I called in today to see what it's about they are going to charge me for it. It's stupid I have to pay to fix their mistake.

- Cloverdale, IN, USA

problem #108

Dec 232013

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 70,850 miles
When stopped at a stop light on a very congested road. I pressed the accelerator to proceed when the light turned green. I experienced a slow sluggish start so I pressed the accelerator further to the floorboard, there was no response by the engine. Car proceeded at a slow rate of speed (10 mph with RPM's at 2500). I had to pull off to the side of the road and restart car which did somewhat fix the problem. I have experienced this numerous times now, usually occurs when the car is shifting in 1st and 2nd gear. My concern is when I pull into a right of way and the car does not properly accelerate I put myself and passengers at a safety risk of being collided in the rear of my car by another car.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #107

Jul 222014

Grand Cherokee

  • 11,850 miles
While driving car it bucked several times and then would not go over 25 mph. I bought the car in Aug 2009, 1 time was Nov 12 2009, then again Mar 15 2013 and then again Jul 21 2014. All three times the esm shift module had to be replaced. The first time the dealer replace but the last two times I have had to replace at a thousand dollars. I have called Chrysler as this is a recurring problem they have assigned a case number [xxx]. in checking online for issues this is a recurring problem with Jeep Grand Cherokee's. if I had been on the highway and the speed dropped to 25 mph I could have been rear ended or worse killed. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Vienna, ME, USA

problem #106

Mar 032014

Grand Cherokee

  • 113,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle independently decelerated and became resistant to acceleration attempts without warning. The failure occurred intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 113,000.

- Bushkill, PA, USA

problem #105

Mar 142014

Grand Cherokee 8-cyl

  • 67,328 miles
I am writing to you requesting your assistance in finding out what is wrong with my 2007, 67,000 mile Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo. For approximately four months while driving the car it has been randomly miss firing, bucking and surging, and stalling when coming to a complete stop. The unpredictability of the cars speed, bucking and surging, and stalling when stopped is a major safety concern to me because this occurs without notice on both street and freeway driving. I have taken my car to the nearest Jeep service dealer, crystal Chrysler Jeep three times now and they have not been able to diagnose the cause to this problem. In fact, my car has been in the service department at crystal Chrysler for nearly three weeks now, and they cannot identify specifically what is causing this malfunction. My frustration over my beloved Jeep grows because without finding the cause there is no telling when my car will be ready. This experience now has me questioning the reliability of Jeep vehicles and the confidence in service dealers like crystal Chrysler. Please help me find out what is wrong with my Jeep vehicle.

- Palm Desert, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?