ANNOUNCEMENT: The Car Book 2018 is now online!

Ratings on over 1,000 new & used models going back 5 years, from the Center from Auto Safety. Learn more about The Car Book 2018 here.

CarComplaints.com Notes: On August 16th, 2012 Jeep stopped production of the the Jeep Liberty, marking the end of a troublesome journey for the SUV.

All in all, the 2012 Liberty actually excels off-road, but since 99% of drivers never take this thing off pavement, that becomes somewhat of a moot point. The Liberty suffers from the worst fuel economy in its class (16/22 MPG) and offers an uncomfortable ride with suspect braking ability.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,729 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Jeep Liberty seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Jeep Liberty:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Jeep Liberty Owner Comments (Page 2 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #127

Aug 152016

Liberty

  • 71,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have had my Jeep Liberty for a few years now. It has never been in an accident. I parked my Jeep in my driveway for the weekend no lights on at that time. I get it it to go to work on a Monday morning and my airbag light is on but only for my passenger. I don't understand how this could happen and with so many complaints why is there no recall set forth!!!!! I have not fixed it because airbag problems could be costly and if I was not in an accident to cause this problem then this should not be my problem to fix!!!

- Valley Falls, NY, USA

problem #126

Sep 032017

Liberty

  • 58,485 miles
2012 Jeep Liberty occupant restraint controller 2 module has an internal failure and needs to be replaced to restore air bag functionality air bags will not deploy until fixed every other year Jeep had a recall for this except 2012 the air bag light is on in the dashboard at all times there was a recall to reprogram the tipm module but not to replace the orc module.

- Toms River, NJ, USA

problem #125

Sep 192017

Liberty

  • miles
The airbag light on my 2012 Jeep Liberty came on right before I received a recall notice for the active head restraints. When I picked the car up from the dealer after the repair for the recall the airbag light was still on. I was told it was a separate and very costly issue- the orc module needs to be replaced. I was given a 100% guarantee by the service manager that my air bags would not deploy in an accident. After looking up the issue online, I found a vast number of complaints for the orc module for my make and model. Many individuals complained that their air bag light came on at the same time as the active head restraint recall. Clearly, this car has major safety issues with the whole air bag system in general. There need to be a recall. If I am in an accident before I am able to afford to fix this issue and my air bags do not deploy, I will sue the company for everything they are worth. At this point, it is straight up negligence that will end in fatalities.

- Evanston, IL, USA

problem #124

Aug 152017

Liberty

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Air bag light stays on. Same issue as the 2011 Jeep Liberty that was covered under a warranty. Same exact error code but Jeep refuses to cover under recall for the 2012 model.

- Ravenna, OH, USA

problem #123

Mar 242014

Liberty 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
I was in a wreck 3/24/2014, I was driving on the interstate when I was hit on the left side of the driver door and back left door behind the driver seat. I saw the car coming towards me at a angle when I looked over to see if I could change lanes, she hit me and the car started to roll over..from that all I remember I woke up bleeding severely from 7 inch cut to my head. I was then transported to uab trauma unit for several days. I have injuries to my cervical neck/spine and shoulder. I am still suffering from the trauma from ptsd. I was called several times after my wreck about the recalls on the head restraint...restraint control (orc) module must be replaced. For 2012 model kk vehicles: The totally integrated power module (tipm) must be reprogrammed... updated 08/21/17

- Birmingham, AL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #122

Aug 162016

Liberty

  • 42,000 miles
In August 2016 at 39000 miles while in motion on a highway the air bag warning light came on and wouldn't go off. I looked up the issue and found hundreds of reports of the issue and found the recall for the orc module. I took the vehicle to frisco Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram in September 2016 and they pulled the code, flashed the device, but this did not fix the issue. I was then told that I would need to pay $550 + labor to have the part replaced. I declined the repair because I knew it was part of a recall and I was not going to pay for it. In April 2017 I was rear ended and the airbags did not deploy and I sustained injuries. The body shop that repaired my vehicle pulled the code and printed out the recall information for me and stated it was indeed the dealership's issue to fix for free under the recall specifications. A few days ago I took the vehicle back to the same dealership, recall printout in hand. The service advisor that assisted me, whom also was the service manager, stated that they would look into the issue and if they couldn't do anything regarding the recall he would personally contact Chrysler to see if they would be able to do anything for me. I was told I would be called the next day, never received a call. On the second day I received a call from the service tech stating that it would be $550 + labor for the repair and it was due to an internal fault with the orc module. I stated that I was not paying for the repair due to it being under recall. I advised that if the issue wasn't remedied that I would file a lawsuit on them & Chrysler and that would cost much more than replacing the part. After ending the call the same tech called back 45 minutes later & demanded I pick up the vehicle if I wasn't going to pay for the repair. I now have my vehicle back with the air bag light still on, & cannot register my car, won't pass inspection with this issue.

- Frisco, TX, USA

problem #121

Jun 012017

Liberty

  • 17,612 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle dash light for passenger air bag remains illuminated with and without a passenger present. Remains illuminated driving and stationary. The center console below the radio indicated that the passenger air bag is off. Took it to the dealership where they ran a system diagnostics. Fault 17612 failed orc 1.00. Dealership recommended the orc be replaced. Price quoted was $358.69. Only drove the vehicle for 2 years and the mileage is at 17,612.

- Apo, AP, USA

problem #120

Jul 072017

Liberty

  • 77,000 miles
Air bag warning light comes on. Sometimes flashes.

- Webster, NY, USA

problem #119

Jul 092014

Liberty

  • miles
Airbag light came on at about 38000 miles and has remained on ever since. Presumably I would have no airbags in a wreck. I'm writing because I read that the NHTSA was looking into the 2012 Liberty for this exact issue.

- Salem, OH, USA

problem #118

Jul 052016

Liberty

  • 72,000 miles
The orc module and the ABS modules both failed and had to be replaced. The dealership couldn't tell me why so I had to replace out of pocket. The airbag and break lights among other lights were always on and also the door locks would randomly trigger to lock and unlock. The speedometer would also not work at times. These problems would happen when the vehicle was stopped or in motion and on any type of road.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #117

Jun 032017

Liberty

  • 48,423 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Airbag light came on, won't go off. Took it in the Jeep dealership they ran a diagnostic and said that the orc module had to be replaced to the tune of $437 plus taxes etc. Knew that was going to be the diagnosis because of all the complaints on the internet about the 2011 and 2012, apparently it was ok for the 2011's but isn't important enough of a safety issue for the 2012's, when it is the same issue as the 2011's and it truly is a safety issue.

- Sugar Hill, GA, USA

problem #116

Aug 022014

Liberty

  • 20,000 miles
Airbag warning light is illuminated because occupant restraint controller has failed

- Fairview, PA, USA

problem #115

Mar 152017

Liberty 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Jeep Liberty. The contact stated that the air bag warning indicator illuminated the contact took the vehicle to a certified mechanic who diagnosed that the air bag computer module failed. The contact took the vehicle to the beyer Jeep dealer who informed the contact that the vehicle was not included in a recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 36,000. Updated 08/08/17

- Branchville, NJ, USA

problem #114

Mar 062014

Liberty

  • 50,000 miles
It came on about 50 thousand miles. Car never been in an accident. Only driven to work. There are 3 kids in that car on daily basis. I can not trust the car from what I hear everyone else complaining about the air bags.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #113

Jun 052017

Liberty

  • 54,000 miles
The air bag light stays on randomly

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #112

Feb 012016

Liberty

  • 75,000 miles
At about 75,000 miles, the air bag light came on while I was driving. It was diagnosed as ocr module failed. Dealership told me it was already recalled on 2011 Liberty, but not 2012. I am submitting this report to hopefully fix this issue. Chrysler Jeep needs to be held responsible for defective parts. I have owned this vehicle since it was new, I take very good care of my car, there is no reason for this to be an issue. Recall the ocr module on the 2012 Liberty.

- Dobbs Ferry, NY, USA

problem #111

Feb 252017

Liberty

  • 75,000 miles
About 75,000 miles, the air bag light came on while I was driving. It flashed and went off, then came back on. Was diagnosed as occupant restraint control. Dealership told me it was already recalled on older vehicles, but not this year. I am submitting this report to hopefully fix this issue. Chrysler needs to be held responsible for defective parts. I have owned this vehicle since it was new, so I know that it has never been in any wrecks or had any reason for this to be an issue.

- El Reno, OK, USA

problem #110

May 022017

Liberty

  • 49,000 miles
Just turned over 49,000 miles and the airbag light came on" bill marsh dealership said it was the orc sensor" they said it had a recall but looked it up and it did not help so now I have to pay over $540. To get a new sensor!

- Traverse City, MI, USA

problem #109

Apr 152016

Liberty

  • 50,000 miles
Air bag light came on and remains on. Took it to dealership and they charged $75 to tell me the orc module is faulty and not covered under warranty. This is a safety issue and should be recalled. There are hundreds of complaints on this issue. Also heated seats do not work. Clock stays 2 minutes behind.

- Paragould, AR, USA

problem #108

Feb 062017

Liberty

  • 70,000 miles
Restraint control module has failed, airbag light is on.

- Crystal Lake, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?