10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
64,563 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2017 Kia Optima engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2017 Kia Optima:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2017 Kia Optima Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #32

Oct 012021

Optima

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Unknown - Right in the moment I started the car. My car turned on the check engine light and it started a fault as if it wanted to turn off, it shakes and the engine works without power. Since that moment it-s doing it constantly.

- Kissimmee , FL, USA

problem #31

Oct 222021

Optima

  • miles
My Kia Optima was burning three (3) quarts of oil for every 1,200 miles driven. I brought the vehicle to Willowbrook Kia and they stated that they would need to do an oil consumption test. After the 1st test, it showed that I burned 3 quarts after 1,200 miles driven. Kia completed an intake carbon test and had me drive it for another 1,000 miles. After the 2nd test, it showed that I burned 1.5 quarts of oil after 1,000 miles. Willowbrook Kia stated that the engine needed to be replaced and it will be under warranty. They rented me a car which they paid for and it took me to call after 1 week in a half and they stated that the vehicle is not covered under warranty as I am the 2nd owner of the vehicle. The gentleman (Vic) at Kia told me the only way to get Kia to replace the engine is to drive it until their is no oil and the engine seizes. I explained to him that I drive on the expressway everyday and that is kind of like an accident waiting to happen. No accident has happened as of yet, but thought I would at least try and send a complaint your way. If there is nothing that can be done, I completely understand, but was trying to avoid a possible accident in the future.

- Willowbrook, IL, USA

problem #30

Aug 072021

Optima

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2017 Kia Optima. The contact stated while stationary at a traffic light, while depressing the accelerator pedal, the vehicle hesitated. The check engine warning light was illuminated. The contact was able to continue driving to her residence. The contact took the vehicle to an independent mechanic and was informed that the engine knock sensor needed to be replaced. The contact called the local dealer and made them aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. Upon investigation, the contact associated the failure with NHTSA Campaign Number: 18V907000 (Fuel System, Gasoline, Engine) however, the VIN was not included. The manufacturer had been informed of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 68,000.

- Hutchins, TX, USA

problem #29

Jun 142021

Optima

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2017 Kia Optima Hybrid began losing oil rapidly (more than 1 quart a week), and then knocking. There was never a warning light or an engine light. The mechanic at Kirby Kia (the dealership) confirmed engine knocking in the lower pistons. Kia will not honor the 100,000 mile drive train warranty because I am the second owner, and there is no recall on the hybrid engine. However, it's irrelevant that they won't cover the cost of the engine since they are not making engines available to anyone outside of the recall, so I cannot fix my car. I'm a little confused on why this engine is withheld for the recall, but mine is not recalled.

- Ventura, CA, USA

problem #28

Mar 192021

Optima

  • miles
Engine has too much oil consumption, went to do my oil change 200 miles before it was due and the automotive place told me there was no oil on my drip stick. Also have a rattling noise in my engine when I accelerate. Noise has been happening for a few months but they can't seem to find a problem.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #27

Mar 032021

Optima

  • 74,200 miles
The wiring harness was replaced in my 2017 Kia Optima in 2019 at approximately 45,000 miles. Kia replaced my engine January 2020 because it was consuming large amounts of oil. I just got my car back in January 28, 2021 with a supposedly new engine. On March 3, 2021, my car caught fire while pulling out of my neighborhood actually driving down the street. Smoke and flames were coming out from underneath the hood the of the car. The entire front end of the car burned. Thankfully, the fire department got the fire out and no one was injured.

- Sevierville, TN, USA

problem #26

Dec 312020

Optima

  • 64,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Getting onto the freeway accelerating, when heard rattling and saw smoke, exited the freeway and parked the vehicle. There was no warning or lights that came on prior or during this time. Had the car towed to the nearest Kia dealership in city of carson. I received a phone call on Saturday 1/2/2021 from tony at the dealership asking for permission to diagnose the vehicle. I agreed to the diagnostic testing. Received a call back within an hour to notify me that there was a hole in the engine, no repairs could be done and I needed a new engine. I asked how did the hole get in the engine. He said there was an internal rod that shot out of the engine creating a hole. It will cost $8,875 and will take around 3-4 weeks to repair. I purchased this vehicle in October 2017 with approx. 3000 miles on it. Started having issues with electrical about a month or two after purchase 2017-2018. I had to have it towed to the Kia in cerritos because it was inoperable, since then we have had it in to be serviced and have had multiple issues. Including another major issue in August 24, 2020 when they repaired the active air flaps and a new battery.

- Lakewood, CA, USA

problem #25

Nov 132019

Optima

  • 18,000 miles
I've taking my leases vehicle into carson of Kia 3 times for oil light they replaced the oil pressure switch twice of the 3 times while driving after the cars warms up I get ticking noise you can hear the better when when driving next to a retaining wall at this I've filed a complaint with the manufacturer and after reviewing the work order from the dealer all they offer me was 2 months of car payment which I decline so I'm contracting NHTSA for help and advise

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #24

Oct 152020

Optima

  • 96,500 miles
My 2017 Kia Optima caught on fire on October 15, 2020. I was driving to the store and heard a ticking sound and some noises. The check engine light also came on. I pulled over in the left turning lane on the highway to exit the vehicle. I heard a popping sound and saw flames. I exited the vehicle and immediately called 911. My car burst into flames.

- Locust Grove, GA, USA

problem #23

May 202020

Optima

  • 68,000 miles
Bought my Kia 1 ago & always had a problem w/headlights always turning on & off when in auto mode. Trunk latch had to be replaced due latch not locking when trying to close trunk. Dealership said they get 20-30 latch issues w/my make & model of Kia every week. After vehicle starts car just dies & engine light comes on. At times car will stay on but stutters like its going to die.

- Las Cruces, NM, USA

problem #22

Aug 282020

Optima

  • 17,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I just purchased my 2017 Kia Optima two months ago. I was driving to work today in the center lane on the highway at about 65 miles per hour. Out of nowhere without warning my car shutters and the check engine light comes on. My vehicle immediately lost acceleration and got down to about 45 mph and was falling fast. Cars were flying around me and I was afraid for my life, I had to fight my way off of the highway to get to safety. I was loosing speed the whole time and almost got into an accident. I got into a parking lot and let the car rest. I checked all my fluid and oil and everything was full/ fine. I decided it was a fluke and to take a back road to work. Big mistake. The car wouldn't go over 20 mph and I pressed the accelerator down with no luck. Then all of a sudden the accelerator worked and my car sped up to 25 mph from 15. This was also extremely dangerous. I pulled back over and called rick case Kia. My boyfriend used his code reader and found out it was the knock sensor. Thats when I found out about the lawsuit. I scheduled an appointment and got a tow truck to take the car to the dealership. When I arrived I mentioned what happened and said that I just found out about the lawsuit from this issue. The one service manager freaked out that I mentioned the lawsuit in front of other customers and jumped to explaining how my car was already handled and this one issue is covered for life. This means they admitted to knowing about this life threatining recall when selling me the car. If they disclosed this crucial information that I had the right to know, I never would have bought it. They will attempt to fix it again but I am terrified to drive it.

- Hallandale Beach, FL, USA

problem #21

Jul 282020

Optima

  • 35,000 miles
My vehicle has had multiple issues with its hybrid battery management system since purchase. It has been towed 4 times. While driving my car will start to jerk and a warning system telling me there is a problem with the battery management system (bms) and the power train. It will tell me to pull over or to contact the service department. This car has had its battery replaced and software upgraded numerous times, but I keep having the same issue. I'm concerned the battery system is faulty and it's dangerous to drive at this point, as nothing preceeds the issues - they happen out of nowhere.

- Clinton, MD, USA

problem #20

Jul 162020

Optima

  • 61,000 miles
A loud knocking noise in the car 61K miles..basically the dealship is saying the car needs a new engine

- Escondido, CA, USA

problem #19

Jul 152020

Optima

  • 960,000 miles
2.4 L have metal shavings in the oil

- Evansville, IN, USA

problem #18

Jul 082020

Optima

  • 78,000 miles
A loud sound coming from engine. Car well maintained.

- Lakeview Terrace, CA, USA

problem #17

Nov 212019

Optima

  • 10,500 miles
Driving to work at about 70 mph on the freeway car lost power, check engine light turned on. Had to have the car towed off the freeway. Took to dealership &' they couldn't duplicate the problem after having my car for a week gave it back &' said nothing was wrong with it. Vehicle only had about 10.5K miles

- Santa Paula, CA, USA

problem #16

Mar 102020

Optima

  • 30,000 miles
When accelerating there is engine knock noises. There may be a blue smoke upon acceleration. The engine is using oil at a rate of 1 quart of oil every 1100 miles.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #15

Mar 052020

Optima

  • 29,000 miles
Engine is using 1 quart of oil every 1100 miles

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #14

Jul 022019

Optima

  • 68,000 miles
My 2017 Kia Optima, the engine light comes on at numerous times and when it does it starts to ride rough like it is in the wrong gear, seems like it is ready to die out when slowing down. Also feels like it won't pick up speed. I was driving on freeway most of the time at speeds from 40 to 70 mph. It also does this when driving in town. I am crying out for help. The dealership does not seem to care about my safety. I commute in the mid morning hours and very unsafe if I break down. My life is at stake. Thank you

- Stockton, CA, USA

problem #13

Feb 072020

Optima

  • 41,800 miles
Bought vehicle new from ricart Kia in columbus, oh in 2018. Vehicle has 41,917 miles now. Vehicle developed flashing check engine light while driving at 65mph. Vehicle immediately reduced power to 1800-2000rpms. Vehicle will run and drive but will jerk violently at 1800-2000rpms to limit engine revolutions. Took vehicle immediately to dealership where bought. Service department confirmed dtc P1326. Dealership performed wiring inspection and replacement of ksds (knock sensor). Released vehicle to customer. Immediately upon reception of vehicle, check engine light flashes and vehicle exhibits same symptoms as stated before. Took vehicle back to dealership within 24 hours. Vehicle is inspected and dtc P1326 is discovered again. Dealership performs ECU update for ksds. Vehicle released back to customer. Within 48 hours, check engine light begins flashing, limits power, and speed. Currently scheduling 3rd appointment for same concern. Check engine light began flashing each time after being at highway speeds for roughly 20 minutes. Vehicle has been serviced only at ricart Kia. All paperwork/recalls performed by dealership.

- Westerville, OH, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?